Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Possible fix for USB gamepad problem

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
87 replies to this topic
monkii
  • monkii

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:07 PM Edited by monkii, 21 December 2008 - 06:05 AM.

Those having problem with the camera looking up/down when using USB gamepad could try this fix. It works for me, maybe it'll work for you too.

Go to Control Panel - Printers and Other Hardware - Game Controllers. Note your gamepad OEM name in the Game Controllers. Now open REGEDIT and search for your gamepad OEM name. When you found it (I found 2 of them by the way) rename it to " Logitech Dual Action " (without the quote sign). Now start GTA IV and good luck icon14.gif

rad_ also provided this to fix the problematic right analog stick (up = right, left = down):

QUOTE (rad_ @ Dec 14 2008, 15:20)
I use a "3in1 Conversion Box" from Bigben interactive to connect my PS1 Analog Pad wit the PC. As descriped I rename it.

But the right analog stick not working properly, right/left becomes up/down. I cant find "Axes" under
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM\VID_0F30&PID_010A

(NOTE FROM ME: THE VID NUMBER MAY BE DIFFERENCE, THIS IS THE SAME FOLDER WHERE YOU CHANGE THE OEM NAME TO LOGITECH DUAL ACTION IF YOU FOLLOWED MY WAY)

If you have the same problem add it manually to perform an axis override, works for me:

- unplug your Gamepad
- right click on your "VID-PID code"- folder, create a new key called "Axes"
- right click on the "Axes" folder, create a key called "2"
- inside "2"  create a binary value named "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 35 00 "
- after that cerate in "Axes" a second key: "5", create a binary value called "Attributes", set it to " 00 00 00 00 01 00 32 00 "
- restart you maschine and connect the pad.

under control panel/calibration you can take notice of the change.

see also:
hxxp://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms789852.aspx
hxxp://www.usb.org/developers/devclass_docs/Hut1_12.pdf (page 26)


Or you can also try DeathJester's fix:

QUOTE (DeathJester @ Dec 13 2008, 19:11)
Here is a solution to the axis being backwards on the right analog stick, I had the same problem in another game and found this solution and it worked fine. I didn't have to rename my controller just the axis was flipped so I only did part 2 but I'll post the whole thing for everyone.

Part one
In Windows, click start ->run then type regedit.exe and click ok

Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SYSTEM, open ControlSet001, then Control, media properties, private properties, joystick, OEM.

view each folder (should look like VID_0428&PID etc) until you find the controller you have. (should be USB GAME PAD) if its PS2
mine was "Twin USB Vibration Gamepad"
When you see you controller, double click where it says OEMName to the left of where its says the name of your controller, change it to "Logitech Rumblepad 2 USB".

The above will make the stick work...Below explains how to flip the axis

Part 2
Whilst still in the registry editor, expand the Axes folder and find folders 2 and 5, they represent axis Z and Rz respectively.
In folder 2 (the Z axis), find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00" and change it to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00"
And then in folder 5 (the Rz axis) find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00" and change to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00"
effectively you just swap existing numbers.
Then bingo!
Check the controllers in your control panel, then check them in game.
Might be worth mentioning this will probably effect how the controller behaves in other games, it doesn't cause me any so far.

polmania
  • polmania

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:33 PM

it f*ckin works. u r god. u got to change the value data of the these value names: OEMname to "Logitech Dual Action"

monkii
  • monkii

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:38 PM

Wow, finally a reply, and a good one too lol.gif

Now we just need someone to find a way to change the button binding...

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#4

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:43 PM Edited by camdean, 13 December 2008 - 06:49 PM.

EDIT: Nevermind, I got it working, now to test it out ...

GTAander
  • GTAander

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#5

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:45 PM

you probably need to run it "as administrator".

I advise backing up your reg before doing this. hope it works though.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#6

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:55 PM

This did work, but I have the original problem before the patch where my right analouge stick needs to be edited as look up=right, look down=left !!



So someone please figure out a way to remap the controller again, please.

PUD1974
  • PUD1974

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#7

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:58 PM

This works!!!

I had to re-map some of my buttons, but thankfully my game controller* driver allows for that.
*Original PS2 Controller via Super Joy Box 3 Pro

Nice work smile.gif

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#8

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:02 PM

I tried using the hack after using this method but with no luck.



I am now going to try and find something that will work, there is a programme called Joytokey that lets you use the joypad's axis and buttons as keys on your keyboard but it's not perfect.

foxfire29
  • foxfire29

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:08 PM

Yeeeah! Nice fix!

BTW My oem value was TWin USB and there were three occurances, only bug is as has been mentioned where with one analogue stick left and right is mapped to up and down but I can live without analogue for the time being

Bloody great fix m8 and BTW ROCKSTAR SPEND LESS TIME NULLIFYING PLAYER MADE USEFUL HACKS AND MORE TIME PATCHING THE GAME. AS IT STANDS A MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR COMPANY CANT CONFIGURE A CONTROLLER PROPERLY, ITS JUST WRONG! SO SPEND TIME GETTING RID OF DRM AND CONCENTRATE ON FIXING THE GAME NOT MAKING IT HARDER FOR US PLAYERS

PUD1974
  • PUD1974

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:08 PM

Oddly I'm now stuck with the phone on the screen all the time. Not such a problem in the car, but on foot he won't run confused.gif

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:11 PM

Here is a solution to the axis being backwards on the right analog stick, I had the same problem in another game and found this solution and it worked fine. I didn't have to rename my controller just the axis was flipped so I only did part 2 but I'll post the whole thing for everyone.

Part one
In Windows, click start ->run then type regedit.exe and click ok

Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SYSTEM, open ControlSet001, then Control, media properties, private properties, joystick, OEM.

view each folder (should look like VID_0428&PID etc) until you find the controller you have. (should be USB GAME PAD) if its PS2
mine was "Twin USB Vibration Gamepad"
When you see you controller, double click where it says OEMName to the left of where its says the name of your controller, change it to "Logitech Rumblepad 2 USB".

The above will make the stick work...Below explains how to flip the axis

Part 2
Whilst still in the registry editor, expand the Axes folder and find folders 2 and 5, they represent axis Z and Rz respectively.
In folder 2 (the Z axis), find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00" and change it to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00"
And then in folder 5 (the Rz axis) find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00" and change to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00"
effectively you just swap existing numbers.
Then bingo!
Check the controllers in your control panel, then check them in game.
Might be worth mentioning this will probably effect how the controller behaves in other games, it doesn't cause me any so far.

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#12

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:17 PM

QUOTE (PUD1974 @ Dec 13 2008, 19:08)
Oddly I'm now stuck with the phone on the screen all the time. Not such a problem in the car, but on foot he won't run confused.gif

I had the same problem after the patch, turns out it was my Nostromo speed pad. I had to unplug it then start GTA, once in game I could plug it back in and everything was fine. It's quite a pain in the ass and never happened before the patch but then again this patch seems to have buggered more than it fixed for me anyway.

Tappi
  • Tappi

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#13

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:24 PM Edited by Tappi, 13 December 2008 - 07:32 PM.

Could you please specify which value in which path you've changed? I find my OEM name somwhere in Classes and of course in the Media-Propertys.

EDIT: Holy Cow!! It works! Thank you!
Btw, the exact path is:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\MediaProperties\PrivateProperties\Joystick\OEM\**YourController**]
"OEMName"="Logitech Dual Action"

Alexis27
  • Alexis27

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 13 December 2008 - 07:35 PM

Yay! It worked!

Any way to remap the buttons though? They are completely different from before now, which I can cope with, but it's just a bit annoying still.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#15

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:07 PM

In the folder under axes there a button folder, this has numbers assigned to each button, I have not tried changing them but this must be a way to remap the buttons.

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#16

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:12 PM

To remap the buttons you would have to use profiling software, some gamepads like Logitech come with it. If yours didn't you can search the web for Xpadder or Joy to Key they might do the tick for you.

alf717
  • alf717

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2004

#17

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:20 PM

Awesome fix! I only have one issue though. I use a USB adaptor for a PS2 gamepad and the right stick is messed up. Anyone know of a way to fix this? "Up" is down and "Down" is up, "Left is right and "Right" is left. Tried using the ingame setting but it didn't work.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#18

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:23 PM Edited by camdean, 13 December 2008 - 08:33 PM.

QUOTE (DeathJester @ Dec 13 2008, 20:12)
To remap the buttons you would have to use profiling software, some gamepads like Logitech come with it. If yours didn't you can search the web for Xpadder or Joy to Key they might do the tick for you.

I need something that reconfigures my joypad buttons, using keyboard buttons as joypad buttons caused conflicts last time I tried.


Example- When I pressed the run button it was also jump as the joypad has buttons autsigned to it by the game.


Sorry edited my last comment to make sense.

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#19

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:56 PM

I only used the game pad to drive so I never thought of that problem, sorry. I'll have to poke around the web a little and see if I can find anything.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#20

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:09 PM

I actualy use mouse and keyboard for shoot outs and stuff, but I had it set out perfectly before patch and I usualy sit back on my chair to walk around and stuff, so I need the joypad to be workable.



I could go and play with these buttons, but I am fed up of 'second best' with this game and it's problems, this is not what I paid for.



Thanks for the fix anyway, much appreciation for sharing this very useful information, I have been messing about with regedit and the joypad settings in there but nothing seems to swap the buttons.


DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#21

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:19 PM

I feel your pain, luckily I got GTA as a gift so I'm not out any cash but it's still very disappointing. I'm sure someone is working on a config fix as there seems to be alot of peeps with contoller issues so I'll keep searching. If only they could get the performance issues addressed...I can live with having to tweak my game pad.

intbn
  • intbn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#22

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:27 PM

Hey thanks for for fix m8 smile.gif ...Just 1 silly issue,i can't find the axis folder.Should it be in the (OEM Directory) in regedit or is it located elsewhere ?

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#23

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:34 PM

It should be in the OEM directory. There might be a whole bunch of folders in there, the one for my game pad had a + beside it then when expanded it has 3 more folders...Axes, Buttons, OEMForceFeedBack.

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#24

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:39 PM

in 2 and 5 of my axes folders all i can find is calibration =0000 00 00 00 00 7f 00 00 00
0008 ff 00 00 00

DeathJester
  • DeathJester

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#25

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:58 PM

Not sure what to tell you kingofpain, none of mine contain any calibration data like that. Make sure you are in the right folder for the game pad you are using is the best I can say right now, just don't change anything if you're not sure...better safe than sorry.

swickle09
  • swickle09

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#26

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:42 PM

QUOTE (DeathJester @ Dec 13 2008, 19:11)
Here is a solution to the axis being backwards on the right analog stick, I had the same problem in another game and found this solution and it worked fine. I didn't have to rename my controller just the axis was flipped so I only did part 2 but I'll post the whole thing for everyone.

Part one
In Windows, click start ->run then type regedit.exe and click ok

Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SYSTEM, open ControlSet001, then Control, media properties, private properties, joystick, OEM.

view each folder (should look like VID_0428&PID etc) until you find the controller you have. (should be USB GAME PAD) if its PS2
mine was "Twin USB Vibration Gamepad"
When you see you controller, double click where it says OEMName to the left of where its says the name of your controller, change it to "Logitech Rumblepad 2 USB".

The above will make the stick work...Below explains how to flip the axis

Part 2
Whilst still in the registry editor, expand the Axes folder and find folders 2 and 5, they represent axis Z and Rz respectively.
In folder 2 (the Z axis), find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00" and change it to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00"
And then in folder 5 (the Rz axis) find "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 35 00" and change to "Attributes 01 81 00 00 01 00 32 00"
effectively you just swap existing numbers.
Then bingo!
Check the controllers in your control panel, then check them in game.
Might be worth mentioning this will probably effect how the controller behaves in other games, it doesn't cause me any so far.

Awesum fix dude, followed it to the letter and its spot on.

Top Man, Cheers.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#27

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:50 PM

When someone figures out how to remap joypad buttons (swap button 1 with 2 etc) please post up details, thanks.

willhub
  • willhub

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2006

#28

Posted 13 December 2008 - 11:17 PM

Can a mod sticky this?

It's solved my problem too smile.gif

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 13 December 2008 - 11:19 PM Edited by kingofpain, 13 December 2008 - 11:54 PM.

Agreed this needs to be sticky props to monkii/death shame on R*

kingofpain
  • kingofpain

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#30

Posted 13 December 2008 - 11:59 PM

Cant get the axis' right any help would be much appreciated. as i cant find the quoted numbers to be changed could you please direct me to them more specifically?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users