Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Patch released?

695 replies to this topic
stay
  • stay

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008

#121

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:12 AM

I bought the f*cking game u faggit.

I sign in to games for windows live and there is no link to gta iv patch

now can someone just help

webhappy
  • webhappy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#122

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:12 AM

Well, I just received my copy a couple hours ago in the mail. I can't download the update. The stupid interface keeps complaining that I can't d/l the update. I suspect maybe my firewall is interfering? I'm turning off Windows Vista's firewall for now and trying again to d/l the update in-game.

L0uNGeR
  • L0uNGeR

    Ya, that's what I said.

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#123

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:13 AM Edited by L0uNGeR, 13 December 2008 - 03:22 AM.

The download is 32.6 MB and mine came from here
http://msxb-d1.vo.ll...08310000183.cab

ArkangelJosh
  • ArkangelJosh

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#124

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:13 AM

QUOTE (Fuel_81 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:10)
QUOTE (styxantyx @ Dec 13 2008, 03:01)
Hahahaha, I have no sound now. I can hear music but not footsteps, gunfire, cars hitting other cars and etc.. lame sad.gif

Edit: restart of the computer fixed this ^

Did the same blush.gif was about to suicidal.gif

Other sh*t I noticed:
preferences save now (graphics, clip capture). Seem to have a few more fps in-game (maybe because I can now set clip capture to off without it coming back on)
And load times are light years better. As far as performance (fps) - little or none.

yeah indeed loading is much faster i would agree, a full finished patch this is not. and yeah please no newbie flaming on this thread, i don't want it to get locked like the other threads.



nice work lounger was just in the middle of adding the link lols.

Rapter
  • Rapter

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#125

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:13 AM

I STILL GET RESC10 sad.gif I HAVE 1GB OF VIDEO MEMORY AND IT DOESNT USE IT ALL! BS!

Stardog
  • Stardog

    You can't eat the venetian blinds!

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#126

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:13 AM

QUOTE (mva5580 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:05)
No surprises for me, zero changes. Game runs the exact same as it did before. In the mid to high 20's for fps at 1920 x 1080. Never had a problem w/ crashes and textures before so I can't speak to any of that.

As expected, a 2nd patch will need to be released to specifically address all the other issues with the game.

Let the madness on the board continue.....

And why are you expecting more FPS?

Lower your resolution.

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#127

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:13 AM

Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

HazardX
  • HazardX

    pedestrian mangler

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#128

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:14 AM

Wow GREAT patch! The game was running fine before thet patch, now it DOESN'T EVEN START ANYMORE!

supertin
  • supertin

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2007

#129

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:15 AM

QUOTE ({T^E} ThePro @ Dec 13 2008, 03:02)
About the patch ...
  • It's small. It took less than a minute to download and I don't have an uber connection. Don't expect much to change.
  • I still can't map my mouse 4th and 5th button. Has anyone been able to map them?

It's about 32MB in a cab file. Extracts to %userprofile%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\XLive\Updates\5454083b\ for those wanting to know where the installer is. Seems to stay once installed too (yay for MS. I know we all have huge hard disks, but why waste space on purpose?)

I still can't map ENTER as my get in/out of the car key. I kind of played GTA3, VC and SA with that setup, so anything else is just unusual to me.

Oh, and I now get bluescreens with windowed mode, which I wasn't getting before. Damn it!

Demonith
  • Demonith

    PC game player

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2008

#130

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:15 AM

QUOTE (HazardX @ Dec 13 2008, 03:14)
Wow GREAT patch! The game was running fine before thet patch, now it DOESN'T EVEN START ANYMORE!

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif that is nice patch

StealMySoda
  • StealMySoda

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#131

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:15 AM

QUOTE (Demonith @ Dec 13 2008, 02:49)
QUOTE (ArkangelJosh @ Dec 13 2008, 02:48)
im still connected to live
ill try see if i can upload a direct link or something

Ohh..man plzzz cryani.gif cryani.gif cryani.gif

Jesus christ. What the f*ck is wrong with you. Grow a pair. It's a game patch, that doesn't even do that much not the f*ckin cure for cancer.

Sobek
  • Sobek

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2006

#132

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:15 AM

QUOTE (Delta458 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:07)
MY GAME was crashing at the beginning...

the problem has been finally solved now!!! All people with ATI RADEON graphic cards can enter the game smile.gif ))

You sure? I mean, we CAN always just go and get Prime95 and give that a whirl instead...

Picking up my copy of the game today. If most other GFWL games I've played are any indicator, I wouldn't be surprised if it tried to update and spontaneously exploded in a showering of bits and bytes. A paste-in patch is ALWAYS a good idea. Relying on ingame updates has always given people trouble, and I suspect this one will be no different for some.

Frank2368
  • Frank2368

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008

#133

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:15 AM

QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

Maybe that's the whole point of the messed up game?
They first release a poorly optimized game, then they only put the download link only on Windows Live so Pirates can't get it?

tombcatz
  • tombcatz

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2004

#134

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:16 AM

well well...

first off - it improved my FPS a bit..
shadows seem to look less f*cked up.

other then that, and several minor video editor upgrades, i can't see any changes...
oh, and the mini hitches inside the game are still there...so for me = unplayable

i HATE THOSE STUTTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111 icon13.gif icon13.gif icon13.gif icon13.gif icon13.gif

the suprising part was the benchmark tool, that showed a big improvement:
running on 1680X1050, Render quality: Highest, Textures: Medium
game gave me 40.5 FPS AVG

my specs:
Core 2 Dou 8400 3.2 GHZ
4GB DDR 2 RAM 800MHZ
GF 9800GTX 512MB

ArkangelJosh
  • ArkangelJosh

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#135

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:16 AM

supertin its probs the gtaencoder.exe i want to know what this is as it wasn't there before. better not be some more crap from R*

blackforce
  • blackforce

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#136

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:16 AM

QUOTE (Indi. @ Dec 13 2008, 03:09)
QUOTE (blackforce @ Dec 13 2008, 03:07)
QUOTE (stay @ Dec 13 2008, 03:05)
CAN  SOMEONE GIVE ME THE f*ckING LINK TO THE f*ckING PATCH
f*ck SAKES

buy the game you f*cking stealing fag.

YOU, stop flaming. We don't need your childish behaviour on these boards.

you shut the f*ck up cowboy roy, all you turds are going to do is cry about a patch that can't upgrade your sh*tty system lol go play a flash game and get your 40 fps dumbass

mva5580
  • mva5580

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#137

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:17 AM

Going to be a lot (more) of the same at this site for a while, as this patch really doesn't fix any of the major issues people are having.

Blah.

ArecBalrin
  • ArecBalrin

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#138

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:17 AM

QUOTE (Frank2368 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:15)
QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

Maybe that's the whole point of the messed up game?
They first release a poorly optimized game, then they only put the download link only on Windows Live so Pirates can't get it?

That wouldn't work. It would be cracked just as quickly as the retail one, unless Rockstar's programmers tried something incredibly innovative and new. In which case, why didn't they just do that in the first place and save themselves from the zero-day piracy which is statistically the worst?

Chevyboy
  • Chevyboy

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#139

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:17 AM

So as per the earlier post, -norestrictions does indeed still work.

FPS remains unchanged (still averaging 40 with max settings except visual distance) and everything else in game remained identical for me, the one major improvement I did notice was considerably faster loading times. The few screens I did go through seemed to load in about 5 seconds as opposed to the 10 or so before.

Can't comment on any of the "fixes" as I haven't experienced them.

Rapter
  • Rapter

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#140

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:18 AM

I can't play it confused.gif when i exit apartment i instantly get RESC10

stay
  • stay

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008

#141

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:18 AM

OK I SIGN INTO GAMES FOR WINDOWS LIVE
AND I CANNOT FIND THE STUPID DAMN PATCH


WHERE IS IT?

MySt1C
  • MySt1C

    Enthusiast.

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2008

#142

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:18 AM

QUOTE (Frank2368 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:15)
QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

Maybe that's the whole point of the messed up game?
They first release a poorly optimized game, then they only put the download link only on Windows Live so Pirates can't get it?

Seriously, it's good that they only add it on Windows Live.

Here are People registered that have NOT bought the Game and still WHINE a lot (if not the most) about what sh*t game Rockstar published.

That's just hillarious, if you didn't bought the Game, i don't think you have to Whine about if you have just downloaded an cracked Game.

Kids...

muCkk
  • muCkk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#143

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:18 AM

QUOTE (stay @ Dec 13 2008, 03:18)
OK I SIGN INTO GAMES FOR WINDOWS LIVE
AND I CANNOT FIND THE STUPID DAMN PATCH


WHERE IS IT?

http://msxb-d1.vo.ll...B5EDA107F2BA302

pokemon4ever
  • pokemon4ever

    Bustre

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2008
  • Bhutan

#144

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:19 AM

QUOTE (MySt1C @ Dec 13 2008, 03:18)
QUOTE (Frank2368 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:15)
QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

Maybe that's the whole point of the messed up game?
They first release a poorly optimized game, then they only put the download link only on Windows Live so Pirates can't get it?

Seriously, it's good that they only add it on Windows Live.

Here are People registered that have NOT bought the Game and still WHINE a lot (if not the most) about what sh*t game Rockstar published.

That's just hillarious, if you didn't bought the Game, i don't think you have to Whine about if you have just downloaded an cracked Game.

Kids...

Valid points.

Rapter
  • Rapter

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#145

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:20 AM

I'm just gonna get a 360 f*ck the PC Version it's full of bugs dontgetit.gif

Stabhappy
  • Stabhappy

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#146

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:20 AM

QUOTE (L0uNGeR @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
The download is 32.6 MB and mine came from here
http://msxb-d1.vo.ll...B5EDA107F2BA302

Confirmed as patch. Installed fine.

Rather have a stroke than sign up for a live account, my offline account has my save games for all of my other GFWL accounts. Don't want more than 1 smile.gif .

Newby
  • Newby

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2003

#147

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:20 AM

installed the patch and niko is constantly staring at the sky now the game is unplayable

blackforce
  • blackforce

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#148

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:20 AM

QUOTE (stay @ Dec 13 2008, 03:18)
OK I SIGN INTO GAMES FOR WINDOWS LIVE
AND I CANNOT FIND THE STUPID DAMN PATCH


WHERE IS IT?

it's on auto if your sign in with a copy ypu paid for.

Frank2368
  • Frank2368

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008

#149

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:20 AM

QUOTE (ArecBalrin @ Dec 13 2008, 03:17)
QUOTE (Frank2368 @ Dec 13 2008, 03:15)
QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:13)
Does the patch have some kind of a protection system so the pirated version can't install it?

Maybe that's the whole point of the messed up game?
They first release a poorly optimized game, then they only put the download link only on Windows Live so Pirates can't get it?

That wouldn't work. It would be cracked just as quickly as the retail one, unless Rockstar's programmers tried something incredibly innovative and new. In which case, why didn't they just do that in the first place and save themselves from the zero-day piracy which is statistically the worst?

Then the $200,000 was wasted then. $200,000 worth of protection cracked in two days by hackers. R* nice job, you've really done it this time.

bydomCorp
  • bydomCorp

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#150

Posted 13 December 2008 - 03:21 AM

QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 13 2008, 03:04)
Mmmm... can anybody confirm, how much bugs are fixed? I'm curious.

how much are fixed?

i have no more sound now in cutscenes and on telephone...

is this a fix? oO




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users