Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

-availablevidmem command question.

6 replies to this topic
Nurdle
  • Nurdle

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 08 December 2008 - 06:50 AM

Ok before I start I'm posting my benchmark (auto detected settings)......

-------------------------------------------------------------
Statistics
Average FPS: 45.58
Duration: 37.17 sec
CPU Usage: 55%
System memory usage: 85%
Video memory usage: 96%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1280 x 960 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: High
View Distance: 25
Detail Distance: 37

Hardware
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Video Driver version: 180.84
Audio Adapter: Sound Blaster Audigy
Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz

File ID: benchmark.cli

Retail version of GTAIV
-------------------------------------------------------------

My problem is that GTAIV tells me that I only have 483mb of video memory, but my 8800GT has 512mb.
user posted image

I know there is a command line to alter the amount of video memory you have but I can't seem to get it to register 512mb.
Anybody else suffer from this problem and know what setting I should use for the command line?
I know this isn't going to fix framerate issues etc but I would like the game to use the real amount of video memory I do have.

Nurdle

MicroBit
  • MicroBit

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 08 December 2008 - 06:59 AM

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=381121


Nurdle
  • Nurdle

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 08 December 2008 - 07:17 AM

QUOTE
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=381121


Already read that post and it isn't really constructive now is it? Just a copy and paste from the ReadMe.txt file.
Anyway playing around with the command hasn't helped at all.
First I tried "-availablevidmem 1.0" which gave me the exact numbers as before (483mb), Then I tried "-availablevidmem 512" which reported a whopping 1777mb of video memory! nervous.gif

user posted image

pinkisthenewblue
  • pinkisthenewblue

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 22 December 2008 - 04:43 PM

Its a multiplier, e.g. -availablevidmem 2 will give 2 time you;re video mem. 512 will give 512 times your mem - but the game locks around 1800.

djamos
  • djamos

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2008

#5

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:31 PM

QUOTE (Nurdle @ Dec 8 2008, 07:17)
QUOTE
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=381121


Already read that post and it isn't really constructive now is it? Just a copy and paste from the ReadMe.txt file.
Anyway playing around with the command hasn't helped at all.
First I tried "-availablevidmem 1.0" which gave me the exact numbers as before (483mb), Then I tried "-availablevidmem 512" which reported a whopping 1777mb of video memory! nervous.gif

user posted image

I have same pc like you and i have 438mb too so this commands are worth trying?

Nurdle
  • Nurdle

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#6

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:40 PM

QUOTE
I have same pc like you and i have 438mb too so this commands are worth trying?


I tried for a while to hit 512mb but it's not possible. GTA IV seems to cap your memory at 90% and leave 10% vidmem for overheads or something to that effect.

For me the biggest impact on my game performance was dynamic shadows (Shadow density), Turning this to "0" saw my framerates improve and generally become more stable. I now get 30-40fps practically all the time. No more sudden drops at night and when raining etc.

Pixelated
  • Pixelated

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2007

#7

Posted 22 December 2008 - 10:00 PM Edited by Pixelated, 22 December 2008 - 10:03 PM.

QUOTE (Nurdle @ Dec 8 2008, 06:50)
Ok before I start I'm posting my benchmark (auto detected settings)......

-------------------------------------------------------------
Statistics
Average FPS: 45.58
Duration: 37.17 sec
CPU Usage: 55%
System memory usage: 85%
Video memory usage: 96%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1280 x 960 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: Medium
Render Quality: High
View Distance: 25
Detail Distance: 37

Hardware
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Video Driver version: 180.84
Audio Adapter: Sound Blaster Audigy
Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz

File ID: benchmark.cli

Retail version of GTAIV
-------------------------------------------------------------

My problem is that GTAIV tells me that I only have 483mb of video memory, but my 8800GT has 512mb.
user posted image

I know there is a command line to alter the amount of video memory you have but I can't seem to get it to register 512mb.
Anybody else suffer from this problem and know what setting I should use for the command line?
I know this isn't going to fix framerate issues etc but I would like the game to use the real amount of video memory I do have.

Nurdle

Dude relax. Your PC uses video RAM for other things too. No one who plays GTA IV sees all their VRAM. My Card has 768MB an I only see 748. This is normal and not being able to use 20MB or so is not going to effect your gaming experience. Forcing the game too see more VRAM isn't going to do anything, you even said so yourself. In fact it might even cause more problems for you.

If you really want to use the cammand then use it like this. -availablevidmem=1.0 will use all your VRAM like normally. If you use 2.0 it will double the VRAM available. So I would say use 1.1




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users