Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA4 - File Modding Ability Patch

240 replies to this topic
ahmad34
  • ahmad34

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2007

#181

Posted 28 January 2009 - 04:22 AM Edited by ahmad34, 28 January 2009 - 04:30 AM.

After i installed this, GTA would not load up anymore, the screen would just stay black and if i alt-tab i hear the music play then stop as if it was loading but the screen would stay black. I replaced the files with the originals and it still does it. What do i do?
EDIT: NVM i just moved the backup folders from the game directory and it's working now.

Lil Charma
  • Lil Charma

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2008

#182

Posted 28 January 2009 - 03:59 PM

QUOTE (Dvt-MedShot @ Jan 26 2009, 18:39)
I have the Realistic Handling Mod installed on GTA IV 1.0.1.0 and I want to install R*'s patch 1.0.2.0. But I'm not sure if I must download it because of my mods.. sad.gif

Is this what I'll have to do?
  • Download and install R* patch 1.0.2.0
  • Download the Magicpatch for 1.0.2.0 and read in the readme that you'll have to restore the original files. So I restore the .magic files with the original MagicIV 1.0.1.0 program.
  • Then I install MagicIV 1.0.2.0.
Now, do I still have my Realistic Handling Mod installed, or are all handling and car mods now incompatible with 1.0.2.0? Or do I have to reinstall the mod?

This is why I am not sure about installing R* patch 1.0.2.0 wink.gif

Thx, Dvt

Don't worry about that, download it and do your job... and then you have to download the magic for version 1.02. and you just replace the filelist.pak and that's all... the mod will work again...

g4mGunner
  • g4mGunner

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2008

#183

Posted 31 January 2009 - 08:06 PM

Uhhh, i just removed filelist.pak, no need for patched filelist, everything works great when you just remove it.

Nhani
  • Nhani

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2009

#184

Posted 03 February 2009 - 06:45 AM

I haven't installed any of the patches..
Do I have to install Version 1.0/1.0.1 before I install Version 1.0.2? Can I go straight to latest patch?

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#185

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:55 AM

What files your patch for 1.0.2.0 modify?
Because i install 1 release your pathc on 1.0.1.0, i install patch 1.0.2.0 on modifed files. And I must click "Recover"?

Straubinger82
  • Straubinger82

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#186

Posted 09 February 2009 - 12:00 AM

Hello Guys,

I am a real noob in GTA IV modding or editing... I have some memories about GTA-SA but thatīs another story.
To be honest, I just want to use a "Cockpit-View-Mod".. so what do I have to do?

I have the vanilla version of GTA IV 1.0.2.0 on my HDD, havenīt messed with it yet.
Do I just need to overwrite the filelist.pak file... and then I can mess around with vehicle.ide, carcols.dat and so on?

Plese give me a shot response.. thanks in advanced.

gorgonut
  • gorgonut

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2009

#187

Posted 21 February 2009 - 09:59 PM

Hi people. This is a message from Nikzilla in behalf of whom I am posting it;

"I have installed filelist.pak and even tried putting the magic one in main folder but my game keeps freezing in the loading menu. Could you please help I need it really bad."

Please post help if anyone knows
Thank you facedesk.gif

Nikzilla
  • Nikzilla

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009

#188

Posted 25 February 2009 - 07:56 PM

Hey guys!!!

I am trying to make some mods and I have a problem while installing this pak hak or any other (xliveless or blades .asi one)

What happens is the game crashes with the "GTAIV.exe has stoped working because R* made a stupid ass patch" kinda bs exactly halfway through the loading screen. sly.gif

Please help I have people waiting for my mod.

cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

COOKIE SPAM IS AWSOME

EDIT:

Ohoh, gorgounut has done da post! Well I got my gtaforum account working finally turn.gif

bladorz
  • bladorz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009

#189

Posted 01 March 2009 - 07:18 PM

So now I copied the modified filelist, and all I want is to use the dashcam, if I wanna play online, I have to put the original files?

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008
  • None

#190

Posted 02 March 2009 - 01:25 PM

aru, you ever thinking of updating the installer to Patch #2? Sorry for the bump

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#191

Posted 02 March 2009 - 01:37 PM

...why? patching the 1.0.2.0 version is the easier thing... just replace the filelist.pak with the one in the first page. If you can't do that, you better leave modding...

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008
  • None

#192

Posted 03 March 2009 - 10:31 PM

I'm just a lay old sod tounge.gif

g4mGunner
  • g4mGunner

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2008

#193

Posted 04 March 2009 - 10:19 AM

BECAUSE FILE CHECKS ARE PARTIALLY REMOVED YOU CAN JUST DELETE FILELIST.PAK NO NEED FOR A 'PATCHED' ONE

Straubinger82
  • Straubinger82

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#194

Posted 07 March 2009 - 01:22 AM

Sry!

But I read the whole thread, and I tried all given tipps -> no success.

I have GTAIV 1.0.2.0 and deleted the filelist.pak file... like said in the last post.
And the game wonīt f*cking start my savegame.. mainmenu, fine... but then back to desktop.

What am I missing?

Nikkola bellic,Belgrade,Serbia
  • Nikkola bellic,Belgrade,Serbia

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009

#195

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:21 PM

QUOTE (Straubinger82 @ Mar 7 2009, 01:22)
Sry!

But I read the whole thread, and I tried all given tipps -> no success.

I have GTAIV 1.0.2.0 and deleted the filelist.pak file... like said in the last post.
And the game wonīt f*cking start my savegame.. mainmenu, fine... but then back to desktop.

What am I missing?

Yeah I use to have same problem with 1.2 patch :devil

g4mGunner
  • g4mGunner

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2008

#196

Posted 07 March 2009 - 03:29 PM

Works just fine here.. and for a lot of people because the gta4 mod installer uses the same technique..

alex_oslo
  • alex_oslo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2008

#197

Posted 11 March 2009 - 09:47 PM

Thank you for this tweak, it works great for me. easy to install as well. good job man!

DeathbyMike
  • DeathbyMike

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#198

Posted 18 March 2009 - 04:31 AM Edited by DeathbyMike, 19 March 2009 - 01:11 PM.

QUOTE (Straubinger82 @ Mar 7 2009, 01:22)
Sry!

But I read the whole thread, and I tried all given tipps -> no success.

I have GTAIV 1.0.2.0 and deleted the filelist.pak file...  like said in the last post.
And the game wonīt f*cking start my savegame.. mainmenu, fine... but then back to desktop.

What am I missing?

I have the same problem, the only file I'm modding is handling.txt, and im only tweaking three or four fields.

Game will start, then begin to load, but it just crashes right after the initial loading screens. As soon as i use the original handling.dat, it runs fine.

I've patched to 1.02, but I had the same problem with 1.0

maybe its just my copy of the game :S


EDT: Just reinstalled, fresh install + 1.02 update. Removed filelist.pak, edited 2 fields in handling.dat, same deal.

Launches the game, begins to load the level, then crash right before it gets in.

Freakin lame, I've hardly even played gta4 simply because gta games arent half as fun without some decent speedy cars. sad.gif

UltimateGTR
  • UltimateGTR

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2007
  • None

#199

Posted 06 April 2009 - 02:12 PM Edited by UltimateGTR, 06 April 2009 - 02:14 PM.

I tried to use in v1.0.3.0 and it works! biggrin.gif
It seems is working under the latest patch!

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal

#200

Posted 06 April 2009 - 02:28 PM

You don't need to put that in 1.0.3.0. It's already moddable, it just doesn't let you play MP.

Costar
  • Costar

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2006

#201

Posted 06 April 2009 - 03:58 PM

QUOTE (DeathbyMike @ Mar 18 2009, 04:31)
QUOTE (Straubinger82 @ Mar 7 2009, 01:22)
Sry!

But I read the whole thread, and I tried all given tipps -> no success.

I have GTAIV 1.0.2.0 and deleted the filelist.pak file...  like said in the last post.
And the game wonīt f*cking start my savegame.. mainmenu, fine... but then back to desktop.

What am I missing?

I have the same problem, the only file I'm modding is handling.txt, and im only tweaking three or four fields.

Game will start, then begin to load, but it just crashes right after the initial loading screens. As soon as i use the original handling.dat, it runs fine.

I've patched to 1.02, but I had the same problem with 1.0

maybe its just my copy of the game :S


EDT: Just reinstalled, fresh install + 1.02 update. Removed filelist.pak, edited 2 fields in handling.dat, same deal.

Launches the game, begins to load the level, then crash right before it gets in.

Freakin lame, I've hardly even played gta4 simply because gta games arent half as fun without some decent speedy cars. sad.gif

I've not tried deleting filelist.pak, so I can't verify that worx.

I still have 1.0.2 because I havent played this MP. I have simply followed the same guidelines as w/ the original game version & the first patch.

When aru first released his filecheck package last year, I got it & then pretty much decided what files I wanted to edit (handling.dat, weaponinfo.... etc) and made a copy of them, then renamed one of the copies of each file to its respective .magic name. "handling.dat.magic" etc..

I made copies of filelist.pak and filelist.txt and renamed a copy of each to its .magic. I replaced the "original" filelist.pak w/ aru's replacement. I then edited the filename entries in filelist.txt to match the names of all files I changed to read "filename.ext.magic" that is, in filelist.txt it read ...../data/handling.dat but I changed it to ...../data/handling.dat.magic

I did that for all files, including filelist.pak and filelist.txt entry.

That was it, I tested it before I edited any file contents, it ran fine, then I edited files such as handling.dat, weaponinfo.xml (remembering NEVER to edit the contents of .magic files, these are used for validation), then re-ran the game, no problems! So, I think when I patched the game, I simply made a copy of the new filelist.pak that the patch installed, renamed it to reflect .magic again and I think that was it. I can only say this has worked for me and lots of others.

UltimateGTR
  • UltimateGTR

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2007
  • None

#202

Posted 06 April 2009 - 04:08 PM

QUOTE (Spider-Vice @ Apr 6 2009, 22:28)
You don't need to put that in 1.0.3.0. It's already moddable, it just doesn't let you play MP.

Really? How come after I updated to v1.0.3.0 most of the mods are restored (not for the texture replacement)? After I put the patched filelist.pak file (the original one from v1.0.3.0 is around 13MB), all of the mods enabled!

OutOfTimer
  • OutOfTimer

    PC Enthusiast

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2009

#203

Posted 27 May 2009 - 03:25 AM Edited by OutOfTimer, 27 May 2009 - 08:25 PM.

C06alt, a mod programmer well-known on gtaforums.com, informed me that Aru's modified filelist.pak is no longer necessary to mod the game. Along with Patch 1.0.3.0 R* removed all the restrictions for modding Single Player. wink.gif

sgt.slaughter
  • sgt.slaughter

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#204

Posted 28 May 2009 - 07:04 AM

SAY WHUT?Yay,R* has trust in us!

Kookas
  • Kookas

    Chicken

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2006

#205

Posted 29 May 2009 - 06:32 PM

QUOTE (sgt.slaughter @ May 28 2009, 07:04)
SAY WHUT?Yay,R* has trust in us!

Not for multiplayer, not at all tounge.gif

decaderider
  • decaderider

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2009

#206

Posted 03 July 2009 - 12:26 PM

erm im new mind if i ask something? when i try to download any file from this post i get this thing aru.nd4spdworld.com and its ask me to connect to download tried using my forum acc on it but won't work can anyone help me?

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#207

Posted 03 July 2009 - 12:28 PM

QUOTE (decaderider @ Jul 3 2009, 13:26)
erm im new mind if i ask something? when i try to download any file from this post i get this thing aru.nd4spdworld.com and its ask me to connect to download tried using my forum acc on it but won't work can anyone help me?

You don't need these file anymore with 1.0.4 patch.

decaderider
  • decaderider

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2009

#208

Posted 03 July 2009 - 12:31 PM

QUOTE (FunGt @ Jul 3 2009, 12:28)
QUOTE (decaderider @ Jul 3 2009, 13:26)
erm im new mind if i ask something? when i try to download any file from this post i get this thing aru.nd4spdworld.com and its ask me to connect to download tried using my forum acc on it but won't work can anyone help me?

You don't need these file anymore with 1.0.4 patch.

just wanna ask. if im using 1.0.4 i can just edit the weaponinfo.xml file like that without having the game closing? cause my one is v 1.0.1 and its that version cause i needed godmode hacks for normal mission

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#209

Posted 03 July 2009 - 12:32 PM

QUOTE (decaderider @ Jul 3 2009, 13:31)
QUOTE (FunGt @ Jul 3 2009, 12:28)
QUOTE (decaderider @ Jul 3 2009, 13:26)
erm im new mind if i ask something? when i try to download any file from this post i get this thing aru.nd4spdworld.com and its ask me to connect to download tried using my forum acc on it but won't work can anyone help me?

You don't need these file anymore with 1.0.4 patch.

just wanna ask. if im using 1.0.4 i can just edit the weaponinfo.xml file like that without having the game closing? cause my one is v 1.0.1 and its that version cause i needed godmode hacks for normal mission

When you modify the files you must close GTA, anyway.

decaderider
  • decaderider

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2009

#210

Posted 03 July 2009 - 12:34 PM Edited by decaderider, 03 July 2009 - 12:52 PM.

k thx hope my godmode will still work after i change to v1.0.4

I've updated it but when i start game it says GTA IV fatal error - Invalid resource detected i deleted all hack files inside and i cant start the game help




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users