Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Help with Grand theft Auto IV PC

1,839 replies to this topic
DAV1D90
  • DAV1D90

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#241

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:17 PM

you must delete SETTINGS.CFG

QUOTE
C:\Documents and Settings\***YOUR ACCOUNT***\Local Settings\Application Data\Rockstar Games\GTA IV\Settings

mad1723
  • mad1723

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#242

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:18 PM

QUOTE (Comrade_Niko @ Dec 6 2008, 17:15)
I have just one problem that hasn't already been mentioned. My graphics settings are not saved after re-starting the game. So I have to edit every time I start the game. Nothing major, only annoying.

That out of the way, it's good to see Rockstar working on this bad release. Hopefully we'll get this lousy port up to the usual Rockstar standards.

I guess it'll be fixed too with the multiplayer model not saving... smile.gif

DeadlyAvenger
  • DeadlyAvenger

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#243

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:21 PM

QUOTE (Wheelman @ Dec 6 2008, 16:48)
QUOTE (xavier00 @ Dec 6 2008, 16:41)
yeah ,listen this is just a bounch of crap rockstar is saying,,,they did not test this game ,, i know a lot of people are getting fired in rockstar as we speak

Uh-huh... sure. sigh.gif

All I can say is, the guy(s) behind the Rockstar Toronto account must have the patience of saints to read through all the abuse, crap, and general sh*te spouted by you n00bs. They come here to help and keep us directly informed (which is a fantastic development for developer/user communication that very few developers or communities have the luxury of), and you abuse them. Nice going. suicidal.gif

Thankfully I'm sure that the silent majority appreciate the frank and direct communication available with Rockstar here.


Kissing ass won't get you any freebies like a cap or a T-shirt you know. So stop it, you embarrass us all.

I'm not going to mollycoddle them when they have released a defective product.

kbarber29
  • kbarber29

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#244

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:21 PM

Can someone clarify if GFWL is like the Gears of War version or is it something entirely new? Is there like a GFWL toolbar always on your windows screen after installing from GTA IV? What I'm trying to get at is GFWL now like Steam that you have to go through GFWL to get into GTA IV?

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#245

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:24 PM

Solve the 22-23FPS CAP BUG on every game settings please, look here how many users are experiencing it:
http://www.gtaforums...entry1058716917


LadyTasera
  • LadyTasera

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#246

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:28 PM

QUOTE
PROPER SLI SUPPORT PLEASE!


This.

I have two NVIDIA GeForce 8700M GT dual graphics cards, each with 512MB of memory. When I go to edit the graphics, I'm told that I only have 256MB to play with. That's bull.

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#247

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:28 PM

QUOTE (Chris1508 @ Dec 6 2008, 09:40)
Why wont anyway help me out!! I cannot connect to any online game I get "You have been removed from the game"

Please provide your system specs and other details related to your issue. See full ist of what info is helpful specified on the first post in this thread. We need to know more about what is happening in the game when you see the error and the machine you are on.

For instance are you able to connect to a deathmatch and able to play for a while before experincing an issue, or is it when you try to join a match? Those are the kind of details that help a lot! Thanks!

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#248

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:29 PM Edited by Spider-Vice, 06 December 2008 - 05:32 PM.

Hey, Rockstar , is this graphics card good for GTA IV?
nVidia GeForce 8500GT.

Thanks.

DAV1D90
  • DAV1D90

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#249

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:31 PM

Rockstar Toronto: What about Frame Limiter? I Think will be great three options: 25FPS, 30FPS and OFF.

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#250

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:32 PM Edited by punisher.ita, 06 December 2008 - 05:35 PM.

QUOTE (Rockstar Toronto @ Dec 6 2008, 17:28)
QUOTE (Chris1508 @ Dec 6 2008, 09:40)
Why wont anyway help me out!! I cannot connect to any online game I get "You have been removed from the game"

Please provide your system specs and other details related to your issue. See full ist of what info is helpful specified on the first post in this thread. We need to know more about what is happening in the game when you see the error and the machine you are on.

For instance are you able to connect to a deathmatch and able to play for a while before experincing an issue, or is it when you try to join a match? Those are the kind of details that help a lot! Thanks!


ROCKSTAR TORONTO
What about the 22-23FPS cap problem?

No matter O.S. (I have both XP SP3 and Vista SP1):
Puni's DAILY: Asus A8N32-SLI + Toledo 939 4200X2 @266*11=2933Mhz STOCK VOLTAGE + EVGA 8800GTX @621/1566/1900Mhz STOCK COOLER + 2GB of DDR1@SYNC 266Mhz 3-3-3-8 @2,7V or 4GB of DDR1@ASYNC 210Mhz 2,5-3-3-7 @2,8V on XP32 + Vista64 | 8800GTX with low consumption 2D profiles BIOS PACK & SCALING\OVERSCAN COMPENSATION FIX by Puni

THREAD: http://www.gtaforums...entry1058716917

See also the thread linked! Many and different hardware configurations and same probl.!

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#251

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:32 PM

QUOTE (kbarber29 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:21)
Can someone clarify if GFWL is like the Gears of War version or is it something entirely new? Is there like a GFWL toolbar always on your windows screen after installing from GTA IV? What I'm trying to get at is GFWL now like Steam that you have to go through GFWL to get into GTA IV?

Games For Windows Live is the same for all games that are GFWL titles (Gears of War, Fallout 3, etc.)
There isn't a toolbar always on windows for it. You access it only in game by pressing the HOME button on the keyboard.

Spider-Vice
  • Spider-Vice

    Let's Bounce

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006
  • Portugal
  • Contribution Award [GTA V]

#252

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:33 PM

I hope my 8500GT works smile.gif

aNdReSk
  • aNdReSk

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2006

#253

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:34 PM

Will the patch/drivers updates make the minimun requirements work? Cuz so far the minimun requirements i've seen is a NASA computer >_>

sanalishhh
  • sanalishhh

    A.K.A WARHAWKPC

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2007

#254

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:36 PM

ROCKSTAR IS IT TRUE THAT INDIAN VERSION OF GTA 4 IS FOR 10$ ??? ALSO DO NEW GTA 4 DRIVER WORK FOR MOBILE GPU'S LIKE 8600M GT....

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#255

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:38 PM

QUOTE (Spider-Vice @ Dec 7 2008, 00:33)
I hope my 8500GT works smile.gif

Some people claims it works well with quad cores of course. You know, that card is slow as hell and wasn't designed for gaming at all. You can see in my profile that I own one.

DAV1D90
  • DAV1D90

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#256

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:41 PM

well I think that serious minimum for this game is 8600GTS 512MB and recommended 9600GT 512MB

CEMEH_CEMEHbl4
  • CEMEH_CEMEHbl4

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#257

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:42 PM Edited by CEMEH_CEMEHbl4, 06 December 2008 - 05:47 PM.

THE FIRST MAJOR PROBLEM FOR NOW IS:

The Missing Textures for this video card:
ATI HD 2600 XT 512RAM (PCI-e) + LATEST 8.11 Catalyst Drivers

so i even cant play single... its a shame... after 2 minutes textures automatically go away!
like this:
http://floomby.ru/content/rkExsZbiEK

THE SECOND MAJOR PROBLEM IS:

this thread about black stips:
http://www.gtaforums...entry1058714711

with ATI card again

THE THIRD MAJOR PROBLEM IS:
the Grainy Shadows - they looks so worse... that i even cant look at them!

actually my video card fully support DX10,so where the f*ck is the DX10's soft shadows?

IF IT ALL WILL BE FIXED - i will be able to play the game!

my specs:
ATI HD 2600 XT 512RAM (PCI-e)
2GB RAM
Intel Core Duo 2.33GHz (x64)
Vista x64 service pack1

*******************
good luck Rockstar...
i'll go away from this forum...

and thx for the [NOT WORKING] game

coppyslock
  • coppyslock

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#258

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:43 PM Edited by coppyslock, 06 December 2008 - 05:45 PM.

Can us ATI HD48xx users expect a fix for the poor performance (even with fairly decent CPUs) and eventual 1fps constant (memory leak?)

I'm running the catalyst 8.12RC3 beta and there was no improvement, unfortunately. Are you certain the official release on the 10th will provide significant performance boosts/fixes?

gta4fan4life
  • gta4fan4life

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#259

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:43 PM

rockstar toranto please, please answer me this quick question, i never had a chance to ask you but, how do you get the fingerless gloves in gta 4 on all platforms? or are they even in the game, please answer this small question and please dont ignore me, please.

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#260

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:45 PM

QUOTE (MattHackin @ Dec 5 2008, 22:06)
Wondering if you're going to address the issue of missing textures?

I have tried all suggested methods of fixing this problem including downloading the 180.84 nvidia drivers but none of these suggestions have worked.

This is still all I can see:

user posted image

Athlon 3500+ 2.21ghz
1gb ram
ASUS GeForce EN9800 GTX+
Windows XP (SP3)

Thanks

You have followed the advice on our support page here? It should help.

http://www.rockstarg...IDIA_ISSUES.doc

If that doesn't work please post dxDiag and info on if your copy is retail, steam, etc. and we will see what we can find. Thanks!

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#261

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:47 PM

QUOTE (gta4fan4life @ Dec 6 2008, 12:43)
rockstar toranto please, please answer me this quick question, i never had a chance to ask you but, how do you get the fingerless gloves in gta 4 on all platforms? or are they even in the game, please answer this small question and please dont ignore me, please.

The new multiplayer outfits are unique to Grand Theft Auto IV PC.

13th_Disciple
  • 13th_Disciple

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2008

#262

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:47 PM

I had to recently change my motherboard and CPU, i was using an AMD x2 6000+ now an AMD x2 5200+ which impacts the FPS by quite a bit, i have a great motherboard now and ram but i have to save for my phenom, once i have that installed, i can optimize my system, i have an 8800GTX and using medium textures i could get away with 25FPS (or there abouts) but it has to be said if your machine isn't tweaking it's face off...then your going to see lag and frame drops, a decent CPU makes all the difference!

-13th

kbarber29
  • kbarber29

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#263

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:48 PM

Cool. Thanks for the response Rockstar. I think once all the fixes are out, I'll buy the game.

Final question: Let's say I buy the GTA IV gamestop digital download version. Will the patch be available for my version or only the cd/dvd retail version?

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#264

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:51 PM

QUOTE (coppyslock @ Dec 6 2008, 12:43)
Can us ATI HD48xx users expect a fix for the poor performance (even with fairly decent CPUs) and eventual 1fps constant (memory leak?)

I'm running the catalyst 8.12RC3 beta and there was no improvement, unfortunately. Are you certain the official release on the 10th will provide significant performance boosts/fixes?

If you are already using the latest beta drivers then you may not see any addtional performance increase with the offical drivers. In Toronto we have seen good improvements and that is why we felt comfortable making that statement.

As for your 1fps issue my only guess is the power managment issues listed in the first post at the top of the thread. Have you tried following those suggestions?

ldavid
  • ldavid

    Player Hater

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2008

#265

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:51 PM

First of all, my specs:
- MSI K9N Ultra, with Nforce 570 ultra chipset, latest nforce driver
- Sapphire HD2600XT 512 MB VGA with catalyst 8.12 beta (used with 8.11 lately, but the problem is unsolved in both)
- AMD X2 5000+ processor

So me and a friend of mine have a problem in the game, he has totally different configuration (and drivers too, of course), but we have the same thing: after a few minutes, maximum 20-30 minutes the game starts "jamming", but before that, everything is ok. So after this, the game became unplayable and only a restart solves this thing. I've tried several video, chipset and sound card drivers, closed every background task, bot none of them help.

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#266

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:53 PM

QUOTE (kbarber29 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:48)
Final question: Let's say I buy the GTA IV gamestop digital download version. Will the patch be available for my version or only the cd/dvd retail version?

Patch will be availalbe for all versions.

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008
  • None

#267

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:53 PM

Rockstar Toronto, in this upcoming patch... or a future patch will there be a patch to fix the issue of "CPU Usage"? GTA IV PC is a very demanding game and I think that the CPU Usage needs to be toned down a bit.

gta4fan4life
  • gta4fan4life

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#268

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:55 PM

no rockstar, i meant the fingerless gloves niko wore on pictures and trailers before gta 4 came out on ps3 and xbox 360, how do u get them in the game? please tell me. thanks

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#269

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:55 PM

ROCKSTAR TORONTO

No position of this PROBLEM affecting many of us? http://www.gtaforums...#entry105871691

22-23FPS CAP BUG?

No matter O.S. (I have both XP SP3 and Vista SP1):

Puni's DAILY:

Asus A8N32-SLI +

Toledo 939 4200X2 @266*11=2933Mhz STOCK VOLTAGE +

EVGA 8800GTX @621/1566/1900Mhz STOCK COOLER +

2GB of DDR1@SYNC 266Mhz 3-3-3-8 @2,7V or 4GB of DDR1@ASYNC 210Mhz 2,5-3-3-7 @2,8V

on XP32 + Vista64

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#270

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:56 PM

QUOTE (CEMEH_CEMEHbl4 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:42)
THE SECOND MAJOR PROBLEM IS:

this thread about black stips:
http://www.gtaforums...entry1058714711

with ATI card again

my specs:
ATI HD 2600 XT 512RAM (PCI-e)
2GB RAM
Intel Core Duo 2.33GHz (x64)
Vista x64 service pack1

Did you follow ATI support issue posted on our website? I hope it helps.

http://www.rockstarg.....TI MipMap.doc




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users