Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Help with Grand theft Auto IV PC

1,839 replies to this topic
HenningM92
  • HenningM92

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2008
  • Norway

#211

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:35 PM

Greetings

Im running Vista 32-bit on my Macbook Pro:
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
GeForce 8600M GT - 256MB VRAM

Im struggling with missing textures and tiny FPS, even with 800x600 resolution and minimum settings.

I bought the game via Steam, if that would help.

vestax
  • vestax

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#212

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:44 PM

How can i make my saves work after reinstalling windows? I tried to backup C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Rockstar Games and then place it back after reinstalling, but that didn't work.
PS I use offline Games For Windows profile.

adridodo
  • adridodo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#213

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:51 PM

I am VERY disappointed with GTA IV and Rock Star. I have been a fan of GTAs and played every single one of them till now.

1. Paid euro 45 for it in Europe
2. Installed SP1 on my Win Vista JUST FOR THIS GAME
3. My system crashed during SP install and took me 5 HOURS to reinstall vista, read that sp1 is a disaster zone for all
4. Tried it on my Win XP PC, had to install SP3
5. The first SP3 crashed during install so I have got another one and took me 5 hours in total: reg-sys-HDD backup/download/install
6. After 2 days got GTA working just to realize u need million other things to run e.g. social club/silly win live tool to SAVE you GAME AND GET THE DIVIDENDS.
7. ROCK STAR made friends with Microsoft and that really complicates things not to say that pisses a lot of us off. Win is only good for Games and
that is the only reason I have it. It is useless for anything else real-time/simulations/etc. If it becomes even more complicated than it is to simply save a game without Microsoft knowing about it then I am sorry I have to give GTA up. If there are no games Win will disappear . This was a massive effort for me just to run a bloody game. It is not worth it.
8. I have returned the game, got my money back and ended my GTA era ... maybe it is time to give up games altogether...and do something more
educational...like learning Linux for a change. I will play GTA again when it runs on Linux

I hope I wont meet any of the Rock Starts while I am in Toronto next year ...I am gonna be tougher than Harper devil.gif

B good.

keenu
  • keenu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#214

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:58 PM

I wish they fix Games for windows live e.g. last night I couldnt log in to GFW and I couldn't retrive my saved game! I know I can create an offline profile but I'm already on the 10th or so mission and dont really want to start again.


eguilherme
  • eguilherme

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#215

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:00 PM

well 2 things..

first you say "We are working on making ", and then you say "The patch is already at Microsoft"..

so is the patch ready and waiting microsoft approval or are you still making it ?


and
"-A fix to the crash after legal screen that some German customers were reporting."

well im not german, neither im from german but i do have also this error, so i hope you have this released asap, since i have still to play the game ever since i bought it.. but i guess i should not be too much happy about it, since, even if i manage to play i ll probably have several other erros after like missing textures and such.. sad..

just for obs. my pc:

Q6600 2.4
4gb dd2
8800gt
vista sp1 x64

Zcool31
  • Zcool31

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#216

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:05 PM

Hey Rockstar, I haven't' seen any replies to this except the first post.

Single player runs fine with an offline live profile, but logging in to my online live profile causes the game to crash.

Specs:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 8400 @ 3.0Ghz
RAM: 2GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz
Graphics: EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS 512 factory overclocked (new version, g92 architecture)
Motherboard: XFX nForce 780i
HDD: Seagate 750 GB split into several partitions. The C drive (main one, where I put the game) has about 100GB free
OS: Windows Vista ULTIMATE 64bit.

I bought the game at Gamestop.

Event viewer says that my game crashes whenever I try to log in to windows live because of ntdll.dll
For most other people its system32/xlive.dll
What gives?

xavier00
  • xavier00

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#217

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:05 PM

yeah i dont belive them .....in a state of an emergency with the company future a stake you think they will wait for microsoft???,,,this is their greatest franchise and its a stake ,,is like nintendo puting out a mario game like this and then wait 1 week to fix it.. i can just imagine the reviews that this game is going to have ..... 2 out of 10

Neorg
  • Neorg

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#218

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:06 PM

QUOTE (jortaman @ Dec 6 2008, 14:41)
Hey,

I hope someone could help me because when I play for some minutes my screen turns black and I need to restart the computer. I downloaded the Nvidia patch but it didn't help. I hope this patch will stop this crash, but I'm not quite sure if its caused by my computer or the game. This is my system:

user posted image Computer
  • Fabrikant: Winfast
  • Computermodel: AWRDACPI
  • Computernaam: JORT
  • Systeemtype: X64 (64-bits) systeem
user posted image Moederbord
  • Fabrikant: Winfast
  • Model: K8T890M2AA
  • BIOS Fabrikant: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
  • BIOS Model: Phoenix - Award BIOS v6.00PG
user posted image Processor
  • Model: AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+
  • Kloksnelheid: 1800 MHz
user posted image Geheugen
  • Grootte: 2046 MB RAM
user posted image Harde schijf
  • Bestandstype: UDF
  • Grootte: 232,88 GB
  • Vrije ruimte: 127,24 GB
user posted image Videokaart
  • Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GSO 512
  • Beeldprocessor: GeForce 9600 GSO 512
  • Geheugengrootte: 1024 MB
  • Drivers: nvd3dumx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2um, versie 7.15.11.8084
user posted image Beeldscherm
  • Fabrikant: (Standaardbeeldschermtypen)
  • Model: Algemeen PnP-beeldscherm
  • Schermresolutie: 1280x1024
  • Kleurkwaliteit: 32-bits
  • Frequentie: 60 Hz
user posted image Geluidskaart
  • Fabrikant: Realtek
  • Model: Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA ® Audio Controller
user posted image DirectX
  • Versie: 10.1
user posted image Besturingssysteem
  • Naam: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium
  • Versie: 6.0.6001
  • Service Pack: Service Pack 1
user posted image Gegenereerd door user posted image Flitskikker InfoTool

Ihave the same problem, after plaung the game for aboutt 20-30 minutes game my screen goes black and whole computer crashes. So i have to restart. I have allready send a information to Rockstar 2 days ago. But no respond.
My computer is
Intell Quad9400 2.66GHZ
4GB DDR2 800MHZ
CLUB3D ATI 4850 512MB (Catalyst 8.11)
Windows VISTA Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-P35-S3G Motherboard
550W Power

Chenquie
  • Chenquie

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#219

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:07 PM

After the R* and GTA IV logo the game just crashes. "GTA IV has stopped working"
I tried it on steam and my friend tried it retail, none of it is working.
Windows Server 2008 is my OS but I've tried on Vista and XP too, no luck.

LilPuppy
  • LilPuppy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#220

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:08 PM

got an AMD 64 dual 5500 and 4 gigs of ram Nvidia 9600gt 512mb and after installing the new drivers I went from 9fps to 6 fps...wow this sucks and my rig aint that bad

bp2018
  • bp2018

    Cheese Doodle

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008

#221

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:15 PM Edited by bp2018, 06 December 2008 - 04:19 PM.

Well they are not making one patch and then leaving it like that, they will likely work on more issues for the next patch but wont release it until the first patch has been tested a little out in the community to see if the fixes implemented in that patch are working right.

Most likely something like this.

First patch released, community uses the patch and then (hopefully) responds to how it works back here.
Patch two in mid development, wont be released until the first patch has had a reaction so they can tweak those fixes in the second patch if they are still not right, if they are right, then the second patch would be ready for release and would be sent to Microsoft for digital verification.

Atleast that would be the smart way of going about it, why rush a second patch out if that patch contains the same fixes as the first... and they don't work.

Would rather have the first patch tested by us for a few days so they can tweak and be sure those fixes are 100% and then have the second patch released with the other fixes included.

Like I said I am not sure how they are going about it, but that would make most sense to me.

QUOTE
yeah i dont belive them .....in a state of an emergency with the company future a stake  you think they will wait for microsoft???,,,this is their greatest franchise and its a stake ,,is like nintendo puting out a mario game like this and then wait 1  week to fix it.. i can just imagine the reviews that this game is going to have ..... 2 out of 10


They HAVE to wait for microsoft, all games for windows live games MUST have patches checked by microsoft to ensure compatibility with the OS, im sure if it wasn't necessary Rockstar would of released it already.

mahen
  • mahen

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2005

#222

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:16 PM

QUOTE (Chenquie @ Dec 6 2008, 16:07)
After the R* and GTA IV logo the game just crashes. "GTA IV has stopped working"
I tried it on steam and my friend tried it retail, none of it is working.
Windows Server 2008 is my OS but I've tried on Vista and XP too, no luck.

same problem...ROCKSTAR PLEASE TAKE NOTE

eguilherme
  • eguilherme

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#223

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:28 PM

QUOTE (mahen @ Dec 6 2008, 16:16)
QUOTE (Chenquie @ Dec 6 2008, 16:07)
After the R* and GTA IV logo the game just crashes. "GTA IV has stopped working"
I tried it on steam and my friend tried it retail, none of it is working.
Windows Server 2008 is my OS but I've tried on Vista and XP too, no luck.

same problem...ROCKSTAR PLEASE TAKE NOTE

same here.. i want to play this game at least once b4 getting a refund lol

M·O·
  • M·O·

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#224

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:34 PM

actually found a solution for the server problem - i initially thought it's a graphics problem, but it isnt:

just download the xinput9_1_0.dll and put into your game folder!

http://www.m3fe.com/content/xinput

pretty easy^^

but the game is tooooooo slow.

my system isn't the best but it can run games that a look a lot better than GTA 4

DeadlyAvenger
  • DeadlyAvenger

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#225

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:39 PM

QUOTE (bp2018 @ Dec 6 2008, 16:15)
They HAVE to wait for microsoft, all games for windows live games MUST have patches checked by microsoft to ensure compatibility with the OS, im sure if it wasn't necessary Rockstar would of released it already.

The process makes perfect sense, IF it actually made things better. But if the title was released in the state it is WITH this supposed "approval" from Microsoft, it doesn't say much for their quality assurance on "Games For Windows" titles.

I'd love to know what PCs they are testing this game on for them to think all is well.


Stuflo
  • Stuflo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#226

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:41 PM

I used to have that problem. The trick is not to sign into the social club. when you have the option just click play offline.

xavier00
  • xavier00

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#227

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:41 PM

yeah ,listen this is just a bounch of crap rockstar is saying,,,they did not test this game ,, i know a lot of people are getting fired in rockstar as we speak

xavier00
  • xavier00

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#228

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:46 PM

they problably gave microsoft a super computer when they tested this game,so they could get aproved in time to cash on crhistmast time

Wheelman
  • Wheelman

    n00b patrol

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2002

#229

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:48 PM

QUOTE (xavier00 @ Dec 6 2008, 16:41)
yeah ,listen this is just a bounch of crap rockstar is saying,,,they did not test this game ,, i know a lot of people are getting fired in rockstar as we speak

Uh-huh... sure. sigh.gif

All I can say is, the guy(s) behind the Rockstar Toronto account must have the patience of saints to read through all the abuse, crap, and general sh*te spouted by you n00bs. They come here to help and keep us directly informed (which is a fantastic development for developer/user communication that very few developers or communities have the luxury of), and you abuse them. Nice going. suicidal.gif

Thankfully I'm sure that the silent majority appreciate the frank and direct communication available with Rockstar here.


kbarber29
  • kbarber29

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#230

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:51 PM

Can someone clarify if GFWL is like the Gears of War version or is it something entirely new? Is there like a GFWL toolbar always on your windows screen after installing from GTA IV? What I'm trying to get at is GFWL now like Steam that you have to go through GFWL to get into GTA IV?

NTxC
  • NTxC

    GTA V.

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2006

#231

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:51 PM

I'm just counting on fixing general errors that give out messages, fixing SHADOWS and an Anti Aliasing option.

That is what PC players expect.

Zcool31
  • Zcool31

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#232

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:51 PM

Except for the fact that we haven't heard back from them yet. Just one post so far. W00t way to go rockstar.

I keep getting this error:

Faulting application GTAIV.exe, version 1.0.0.0, time stamp 0x49189a0c, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 6.0.6001.18000, time stamp 0x4791a783, exception code 0xc0000374, fault offset 0x000aada3, process id 0xb00, application start time 0x01c957c1f9f63ec5.

- System

- Provider

[ Name] Application Error

- EventID 1000

[ Qualifiers] 0

Level 2

Task 100

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated

[ SystemTime] 2008-12-06T16:48:14.000Z

EventRecordID 20533

Channel Application

Computer GamingRig

Security


- EventData

GTAIV.exe
1.0.0.0
49189a0c
ntdll.dll
6.0.6001.18000
4791a783
c0000374
000aada3
b00
01c957c1f9f63ec5


<Event xmlns="http://schemas.micro.../events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-12-06T16:48:14.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>20533</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>GamingRig</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>GTAIV.exe</Data>
<Data>1.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>49189a0c</Data>
<Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
<Data>6.0.6001.18000</Data>
<Data>4791a783</Data>
<Data>c0000374</Data>
<Data>000aada3</Data>
<Data>b00</Data>
<Data>01c957c1f9f63ec5</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

Vasil
  • Vasil

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#233

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:54 PM

Ok, after installing the 180.84 nvidia driver, I´m not having any noticeable performance boost, but the game runs almost the same no matter what resolution/texture quality I use (around 30 fps). This game need serious optimization. Just do this well this time, rockstar.

mad1723
  • mad1723

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#234

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:55 PM

Little explanation to HD4870X2 users: the memory is mirrored, so you have 2 x 1GB of memory, which results in 1GB of VRAM detected ingame, which is good. It's not R*'s fault, it's the way Crossfire works, to avoid data corruption in their image while rendering with 2 GPUs. wink.gif

sjjsdjjjsjsdjsdhjs
  • sjjsdjjjsjsdjsdhjs

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#235

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:56 PM

i dont know but umm, this might just be a good chance to ask rockstar about the fingerless gloves lol, soo wat happend to them rockstar? or how do u get them?

xavier00
  • xavier00

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#236

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:56 PM

i know what computer can run this game perfectly maybe was the one rockstar used to test this game ,,,here is the link http://www.telegraph...r-unveiled.html

DAV1D90
  • DAV1D90

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#237

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:11 PM

BUG
- selected radio station in car on safe house parking spot its not remember after game loading

Wombatfrog
  • Wombatfrog

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#238

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:14 PM

Things are getting better with my PC, since updating to the latest Nvidia drivers I have played for a good 6+ hours and it runs better for sure. Make 30 patches if you have to! Just don't forget about us PC gamers, please. Merry Crimbo Shifty41s_beerhatsmilie2.gif

Comrade_Niko
  • Comrade_Niko

    My day will come..... on October 16.

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2007

#239

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:15 PM

I have just one problem that hasn't already been mentioned. My graphics settings are not saved after re-starting the game. So I have to edit every time I start the game. Nothing major, only annoying.

That out of the way, it's good to see Rockstar working on this bad release. Hopefully we'll get this lousy port up to the usual Rockstar standards.

thastrogg
  • thastrogg

    PC GAMER And A Strogg?

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2008

#240

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:17 PM

I hope a patch will make the texture problems go away ...although i know how to fix it its anoying to do it all the time your going to play




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users