Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Help with Grand theft Auto IV PC

1,839 replies to this topic
Devils Dog
  • Devils Dog

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#271

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:56 PM

Hi Rockstar Toronto,

I know you all must be busy, but could you let me know how will the patch be set out, will it be by GFWL (Games for Windows Live), Rockstar Social Club or other, if other what means ?

Thank you smile.gif

DAV1D90
  • DAV1D90

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#272

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:57 PM

well and that Framelimter and bug whit radio station??

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#273

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:57 PM

QUOTE (Devils Dog @ Dec 6 2008, 12:56)
Hi Rockstar Toronto,

I know you all must be busy be could you let me know how will the patch be set out will it be by GFWL (Games for Windows Live), Rockstar Social Club or other, if other what means ?

Thank you smile.gif

Probably all of the above.

Games For Windows Live offers automatic patching, but we know not everyone signs in online and want to make sure everyone can get the patch.

NTxC
  • NTxC

    GTA V.

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2006

#274

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:59 PM

Dear Rockstar Toronto,
are you planning to fix the Grainy Shadows issue?

Please reply.

coppyslock
  • coppyslock

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#275

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:59 PM Edited by coppyslock, 06 December 2008 - 06:06 PM.

QUOTE (Rockstar Toronto @ Dec 6 2008, 17:51)
QUOTE (coppyslock @ Dec 6 2008, 12:43)
Can us ATI HD48xx users expect a fix for the poor performance (even with fairly decent CPUs) and eventual 1fps constant (memory leak?)

I'm running the catalyst 8.12RC3 beta and there was no improvement, unfortunately. Are you certain the official release on the 10th will provide significant performance boosts/fixes?

If you are already using the latest beta drivers then you may not see any addtional performance increase with the offical drivers. In Toronto we have seen good improvements and that is why we felt comfortable making that statement.

As for your 1fps issue my only guess is the power managment issues listed in the first post at the top of the thread. Have you tried following those suggestions?

I appreciate the response, however I don't use any power management and I've logged both my GPU and CPU activity and both are running as they should.

If its of any use, the game will run semi-decently for about 10 mins or so and then suddenly come to a standstill regardless of the scenario (even whilst standing inside safehouse). Accessing the menu is nearly impossible and the game begins to stutter and run at 1fps. It takes a ctrl+alt+del and a manual closing of the GTAIV.exe process to quit the game.

Edit - also, could we possibly see the inclusion of the console's blurring technique?
It appears as though the PC's simply blurs the entire screen rather than say an area in the distance.

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#276

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:01 PM

Will there be some kind of an offline patch or something? Or we have to log in to GFWL to get the patch?

vestax
  • vestax

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#277

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:03 PM

Rockstar Toronto, how can i use my savegames after reinstalling windows? I tried to backup C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Rockstar Games, after reinstalling i put them back, and i have error at loading them.

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#278

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:03 PM

LOL just ignoring me... how sad seeing that I have all GTA bought original...

Rockstar Toronto
  • Rockstar Toronto

    Rockstar Games Technical Support

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • None

#279

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:05 PM

QUOTE (CEMEH_CEMEHbl4 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:42)


THE THIRD MAJOR PROBLEM IS:
the Grainy Shadows - they looks so worse... that i even cant look at them!

actually my video card fully support DX10,so where the f*ck is the DX10's soft shadows?

Our game is currently only Direct X 9. We've done everything possible to make it look great for DX9.

We use a Deferred Lighting model that most other game don't use. Ill try and get some more info up next week since the technical details since this will probably be interesting to many of you. AA does not work very well with our lighting model unless the game is DX10.

For the forums it's clear that there is huge demand for AA support, so we will be looking into it.

jortaman
  • jortaman

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#280

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:07 PM Edited by jortaman, 06 December 2008 - 06:10 PM.

Rockstar Toronto I have a problem, when Im playing for some minutes Ill get a fully black screen and the game crashed and I need to restart the computer. I have a Nvidia GF 9600GT videocard and a AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ - 1800 MHz

I don't know if this is caused by my processor or system or the game?

Please Rockstar, I hope you'll read this biggrin.gif

gta4fan4life
  • gta4fan4life

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#281

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:09 PM

please rockstar answer my last question, before gta 4 came out on ps3 and xbox, there were pictures and trailers of niko wearing fingerless gloves, im just wondering how do u get the gloves. please please tell me.

Wheelman
  • Wheelman

    n00b patrol

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2002

#282

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:09 PM

QUOTE (vestax @ Dec 6 2008, 18:03)
Rockstar Toronto, how can i use my savegames after reinstalling windows? I tried to backup C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Rockstar Games, after reinstalling i put them back, and i have error at loading them.

Good question - I'd also be interested in knowing how to back-up my save games with this GFWL malarky. icon14.gif

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008
  • None

#283

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:10 PM

Rockstar Toronto, in this upcoming patch... or a future patch will there be a patch to fix the issue of "CPU Usage"? GTA IV PC is a very demanding game and I think that the CPU Usage needs to be toned down a bit.

Please reply

Thank You smile.gif

Vanillainy
  • Vanillainy

    Fancy Clown.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2005

#284

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:11 PM

QUOTE (gta4fan4life @ Dec 6 2008, 18:09)
please rockstar answer my last question, before gta 4 came out on ps3 and xbox, there were pictures and trailers of niko wearing fingerless gloves, im just wondering how do u get the gloves. please please tell me.

They are not in the game. Rockstar have more important inssues than the gloves..

evemonbjk
  • evemonbjk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#285

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:12 PM

Could someone reply my post plz? I will buy GTA 4 if i can run it. Thanks. Link

Regards.

RedBu11
  • RedBu11

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#286

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:12 PM

I see im not the only who has 22-23 FPS lock.
Any changes in game - 22-23 fps or lower. Just wasnt any more than 23.

Rockstar Toronto,
will this be fixed too???

Thank You.


Geforce 7950GT
Vista SP1 (32bit)
Intel Dual Core E6400
2GB Ram

screamerjr
  • screamerjr

    Waiting for patch

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#287

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:12 PM Edited by screamerjr, 06 December 2008 - 06:26 PM.

Hi, Rockstar Toronto.
Thank you very much that you are making patch!
But i have one question: What PC configuration has your tester? mercie_blink.gif
Патч делайте блять быстрее! icon14.gif colgate.gif

ldavid
  • ldavid

    Player Hater

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2008

#288

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:12 PM

QUOTE (Rockstar Toronto @ Dec 6 2008, 19:56)
QUOTE (CEMEH_CEMEHbl4 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:42)
THE SECOND MAJOR PROBLEM IS:

this thread about black stips:
http://www.gtaforums...entry1058714711

with ATI card again

my specs:
ATI HD 2600 XT 512RAM (PCI-e)
2GB RAM
Intel Core Duo 2.33GHz (x64)
Vista x64 service pack1

Did you follow ATI support issue posted on our website? I hope it helps.

http://www.rockstarg.....TI MipMap.doc

I have the same problem, and the mipmap settings didn't worked.
Anyways, the mipmap quality settings is always Quality on default...

Indi
  • Indi

    "Party's over, kid!"

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008
  • None

#289

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:14 PM

Rockstar Toronto, in this upcoming patch... or a future patch will there be a patch to fix the issue of "CPU Usage"? GTA IV PC is a very demanding game and I think that the CPU Usage needs to be toned down a bit.

Please reply

Thank You smile.gif

3niX
  • 3niX

    Lazy idiot

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2005

#290

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:15 PM

Well...
QUOTE (Rockstar Toronto @ Dec 6 2008, 20:05)
QUOTE (CEMEH_CEMEHbl4 @ Dec 6 2008, 12:42)


THE THIRD MAJOR PROBLEM IS:
the Grainy Shadows - they looks so worse... that i even cant look at them!

actually my video card fully support DX10,so where the f*ck is the DX10's soft shadows?

Our game is currently only Direct X 9. We've done everything possible to make it look great for DX9.

We use a Deferred Lighting model that most other game don't use. Ill try and get some more info up next week since the technical details since this will probably be interesting to many of you. AA does not work very well with our lighting model unless the game is DX10.

For the forums it's clear that there is huge demand for AA support, so we will be looking into it.

Does that mean future support for DX10 or improved DX9 features?
Will you be adding more choices to the "Graphics" menu?

Also, can you estimate how large the patch will be (in size)?

DML
  • DML

    PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2005

#291

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:16 PM

Dear Rockstar Toronto,

You may not know the answer to this, but I just have one quick question (one which is probably not that high on the priority list):

What takes Rockstar so long these days to release (or even announce) the PC versions of the GTA games? Why is there a consistent 6-to-7-month delay behind the console release?

aNdReSk
  • aNdReSk

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2006

#292

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:16 PM

Just a little suggestion since u guys are reading this tounge.gif
It would be nice for the MP to be able to use all pedestrian skins, same way u switch to zombie, so u can either make your own or use one of the pedestrians already made.

Also a custom MP game editor (code based) would be useful for RPG's turn.gif

------------

Will you add dedicated servers? sly.gif

Zeta
  • Zeta

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#293

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:19 PM

Hi again its great to see a Offical RockStar here, It would be great to have some insight into

Dedicated Servers?

Any Plans in the future to add them as a option.

Many Thanks.

Apache-Cobra
  • Apache-Cobra

    Unknown

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006
  • Unknown

#294

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:20 PM Edited by Apache-Cobra, 06 December 2008 - 06:23 PM.

Guys, i don't think R* made an account to answer questions about stuff like gloves and whether your card will work or not. They're here for collecting information on issues about the game. Keep in mind this is probably a single representative that has to sort thru all of these posts, and the less "junk" posts, the faster we can fix the game (I'm sure there are many people who have trouble with their IV that are screaming at their comps as they read these kind of posts, lol)

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#295

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:26 PM

Ok, let's see if you will ignore also this:
user posted image

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#296

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:26 PM

Guys, stop it. Please stop REPEATING your previous posts. It's annoying.

waldoribeiro
  • waldoribeiro

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#297

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:32 PM

QUOTE (punisher.ita @ Dec 6 2008, 18:26)
Ok, let's see if you will ignore also this:
user posted image

Don't be a dick. Tell you what, for homework go and make GTA V, and yes I mean GTA 5, and let's see your shadows and resource usage.

davidb6
  • davidb6

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#298

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:35 PM

QUOTE (iashraf @ Dec 6 2008, 02:23)
When can we see the NVIDIA driver for M GPU's - that driver does not work on laptops

Specs:
Vista SP1 32b
8600M GT
C2D 2.0GHz

(get avg of 20-30 FPS, game quite playable // all settings on the lowest possible, looks a lot like san andreas tounge.gif )

It works you just have to say nv_disp.inf whats your model of mobile nvidia card. i have installed this newest beta on notebook with geforce 8600m gs. works fine! use your original legacy inf of notebook vendor, open it and search at [Manufacturer] for your type of registry string, i.e.
%NVIDIA_G86.DEV_0425.1% = nv_G86_0, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0425&SUBSYS_82531071
%NVIDIA_G86.DEV_0425.2% = nv_G86_0, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0425&SUBSYS_82271071 and copy to 180.84 nv_disp.inf.
Next search for ; Localizable Strings i.e. NVIDIA_G86.DEV_0425.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS" NVIDIA_G86.DEV_0425.2 = "NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS ".

Now the nvidia driver knows your type of model of mobile geforce card. just click setup.exe and have FUN! devil.gif biggrin.gif

Tarp.
  • Tarp.

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#299

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:35 PM

GTA4 и venuto na schifezza piena di bug mad.gif

user posted image

punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#300

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:36 PM Edited by punisher.ita, 06 December 2008 - 06:39 PM.

QUOTE (waldoribeiro @ Dec 6 2008, 18:32)
Don't be a dick. Tell you what, for homework go and make GTA V, and yes I mean GTA 5, and let's see your shadows and resource usage.

I am sure I haven't bought GTA IV than... we pay 50euros for it... these problems are unacceptable. And I speak as a GTA3\ViceCity\SanAndreas buyer!

user posted image

And GTA IV of course... wasted money.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users