Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV 180.84 GTA IV drivers are out!

337 replies to this topic
bishman82
  • bishman82

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#121

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:32 AM

Tried the new drivers, can't be bothered to run a benchmark but the game runs quite a bit better

Core 2 Duo 6420
8800 GT 512
2 GB ram

Not perfect but it's certainly better icon14.gif

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#122

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:33 AM

wow... downloading at 4kb a second i see this is going to take awhile sad.gif I did update my drivers yeterday about 15 hours ago. Does anyone know when this driver was released?

Knyte
  • Knyte

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2008

#123

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:34 AM

QUOTE (2lame @ Dec 6 2008, 00:15)
QUOTE (miocene @ Dec 6 2008, 00:12)
How do you get that benchmark report?
And is it possible to get a fps count in the game?

The benchmark is located on the Graphics options ingame, near the bottom of the list, you should spot it. It runs for ~30 sec and at finish creates a text file in your Documents dir named something like "Benchmark0812xxxxxxx.txt"
Fps can be measured only by fraps for now as far as i know

If you have an nvidia card you can also use EVGA Precision 1.3.3.

If you have a registered EVGA card you can download them from evga.com. If not, you can get them here:
http://downloads.gur....3.3_d2112.html

Just turn on the "On Screen Display" under options.


trip
  • trip

    ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2007
  • United-States

#124

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:34 AM

QUOTE (akjs123 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:21)
People are reporting 8-10FPS boost with it. Heres hoping

they are correct. i just tested the drivers out.

i will spare you my cranky old story about why i don't spout out the fps and such details, but there is a noticable difference for sure.

this game seems to not really follow any rhyme or reason with the issues.
i am actually playing on a pentD 2.something with 4gigs and an 8800. -norestrictions and i have textures on high and render on high. sliders set to 40 except shadow slider is at 3. i get the red resource warning yet the i have no complaints. like i say......strange.....

and yes the drivers did make a noticable difference.

keep in mind i am only running essential services....did i mention i am also running vista....mp even works smooth for me. like i say this game is weird with it's issues. what if it is something stupid like the 'windows search indexing' service causing problems. i can't see why i am not having issues running on my old pentD

aNdReSk
  • aNdReSk

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2006

#125

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:34 AM

turn.gif : Weeee, Ati's next biggrin.gif then rockstar tounge.gif


slowrider
  • slowrider

    Mr. Boring Over Here

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#126

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:35 AM

QUOTE (soqzippo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:33)
wow... downloading at 4kb a second i see this is going to take awhile sad.gif I did update my drivers yeterday about 15 hours ago. Does anyone know when this driver was released?

just had a look on my computer. apparently it reads december 2nd '08. hmm...

Apo-TTCC
  • Apo-TTCC

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#127

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:37 AM

A gain of ~2FPS for me in the build in benchmark, when changing from 180.48 WHQL to the new 180.84 Beta.

user posted image

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#128

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:37 AM

weird because after i installed that driver.. i seemed to be able to play much better... I dont really feel like waiting for this one to download everyone and their grandmother are downloading this driver right now so...

trip
  • trip

    ~

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2007
  • United-States

#129

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:38 AM

QUOTE (slowrider @ Dec 6 2008, 01:35)
QUOTE (soqzippo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:33)
wow... downloading at 4kb a second i see this is going to take awhile sad.gif  I did update my drivers yeterday about 15 hours ago. Does anyone know when this driver was released?

just had a look on my computer. apparently it reads december 2nd '08. hmm...

yup 12/2/08 for my vista drivers

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#130

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:41 AM

QUOTE
180.48 WHQL to the new 180.84 Beta.


just checked and i have .48 Does anyone know where there is another download of this 180.84? 3kb a second for me.. wth

Sarmagedon
  • Sarmagedon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#131

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:42 AM

uninstal my old drivers and instal the new one? or ?

cuvip
  • cuvip

    Jefra Bland, miss teen kentuckey US 2009

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008

#132

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:42 AM

i just want to say one thing: does the patch work with VGA 8600GT

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#133

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:45 AM

QUOTE (cuvip @ Dec 6 2008, 01:42)
i just want to say one thing: does the patch work with VGA 8600GT

Stick to vice city man.

Ziggy77
  • Ziggy77

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#134

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:46 AM

I've just installed this for my XFX 8800GT 512mb, I noticed a slight performance increase (5fps max). I didn't have any problems in the first place though luckily.

Alucard155
  • Alucard155

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#135

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:47 AM

QUOTE (soqzippo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:45)
QUOTE (cuvip @ Dec 6 2008, 01:42)
i just want to say one thing: does the patch work with VGA 8600GT

Stick to vice city man.

lol tounge.gif

And yes btw, those drivers will work for 8600GT as well icon14.gif

tiedie
  • tiedie

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2003

#136

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:47 AM

Same, 40-50 inside, 15-22 outside

Ah well, at this point I'm completely used to 15-22fps....I just hope I don't finish the game before this "patch" comes out.

jesushumper
  • jesushumper

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2005

#137

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:49 AM

Very nice

Before, with November drivers:

Statistics
Average FPS: 39.84
Duration: 37.02 sec
CPU Usage: 92%
System memory usage: 83%
Video memory usage: 98%



After, with new beta drivers:

Statistics
Average FPS: 46.85
Duration: 37.07 sec
CPU Usage: 93%
System memory usage: 82%
Video memory usage: 96%

My hardware:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Service Pack 3
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512
Video Driver version: 180.84
Audio Adapter: SB X-Fi Audio [CF00]
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 3.32GHz


7fps boost. Not too damned shabby.

On a side note, these drivers also have the Digital Vibrance working as they should, where as teh old ones only let me select 0, 33, 66, 100%.

Apo-TTCC
  • Apo-TTCC

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#138

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:51 AM

Over at the Guru3d Forums it was mentioned that its is possible to force AA now with the new 180.84 driver.

QUOTE
...
EDIT

Yea, one can use AA now, forced as usual via the driver's "override AA" option. Didn't try the game profile, as it was no need.


Source: http://forums.guru3d...00&postcount=22


bishman82
  • bishman82

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#139

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:52 AM

After checking my FPS i don't seem to be getting any higher than i did before but it does 'feel' a bit better, maybe it's just a placebo, i dunno.

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#140

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:54 AM

Is there another source for this driver? im downloading at 3kb a second ffs... Anyone else d/l this slow

gamesguru
  • gamesguru

    4 Albums. 4 Mixtapes. 2 EPs. 5 Years.

  • Angels of Death MC
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2008
  • England

#141

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:57 AM

QUOTE (soqzippo @ Dec 6 2008, 01:54)
Is there another source for this driver? im downloading at 3kb a second ffs... Anyone else d/l this slow

Well, imagine how many people are downloading it right now.

And I hope that member over at Guru3D is right about the AA; can anyone confirm this?

JBFord4x4
  • JBFord4x4

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2008

#142

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:58 AM

Very cool. Will have to get this with my new PC this week.

soqzippo
  • soqzippo

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#143

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:58 AM

Thanks for the comment.. really helped me a lot. You didn't provide anything but an annoying response. gtfo

slowrider
  • slowrider

    Mr. Boring Over Here

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#144

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:00 AM

QUOTE (gamesguru @ Dec 6 2008, 01:57)
Well, imagine how many people are downloading it right now.

thing is, it was supposedly made on december 2nd. why didn't we know of this earlier?

pokemon4ever
  • pokemon4ever

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2008

#145

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:02 AM

For some reason I can't add launchgtaiv.exe in the custom 3d settings in nvidia control panel? confused.gif

Knyte
  • Knyte

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2008

#146

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:02 AM

QUOTE (slowrider @ Dec 6 2008, 02:00)
QUOTE (gamesguru @ Dec 6 2008, 01:57)
Well, imagine how many people are downloading it right now.

thing is, it was supposedly made on december 2nd. why didn't we know of this earlier?

They were probably in "Final Release Canidate" on Dec 2, but they probably spent a few days testing stability before launching them upon the world.

TiRANB
  • TiRANB

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2008

#147

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:07 AM

After reading the posts about the improvements, I feel a little bit more confident to buy a copy of Grand Theft Auto 4!

icon14.gif

lh1
  • lh1

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2006

#148

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:12 AM

QUOTE (TiRANB @ Dec 6 2008, 02:07)
After reading the posts about the improvements, I feel a little bit more confident to buy a copy of Grand Theft Auto 4!

icon14.gif

I am glad you say that
btw, check this out

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=380088

Liftow
  • Liftow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#149

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:13 AM

QUOTE (Apo-TTCC @ Dec 6 2008, 01:51)
Over at the Guru3d Forums it was mentioned that its is possible to force AA now with the new 180.84 driver.

QUOTE
...
EDIT

Yea, one can use AA now, forced as usual via the driver's "override AA" option. Didn't try the game profile, as it was no need.


Source: http://forums.guru3d...00&postcount=22

This still doesn't work afaict....I've tried using the global settings as well as the two profiles which have been added - one for the gta launger and one for gtaiv.exe....I'm positive that there's too many programs that you have to go through before the game starts which is rendering forced aa impossible. A shame because without it this game looks like utter ass.

slowrider
  • slowrider

    Mr. Boring Over Here

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#150

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:14 AM

QUOTE
QUOTE (TiRANB @ Dec 6 2008, 02:07)
After reading the posts about the improvements, I feel a little bit more confident to buy a copy of Grand Theft Auto 4!

 

I am glad you say that
btw, check this out

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=380088



exactly. i told you they were on the case. hopefully by monday all our complaints will cease.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users