Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

help stuck on loading screen

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic
craigmcg1979
  • craigmcg1979

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:33 PM Edited by craigmcg1979, 06 December 2008 - 06:58 PM.

hi all first post so after hours of messing about i finally got gta 4 installed so i start the game the menu loads and i select start game so the game goes to the loading screen that shows a slideshow of the games characters and nothing else happens it just continusly shows pictures of one character after another i have waited for up to 20 minutes on that screen and nothing else happens, Any advice folks?
the same thing happens when trying to run the benchmark aswell
my system is vista fully updated, 8800gt 320mb with 180.48 drives, 2.6ghz athlon x2

HomoUniversalis
  • HomoUniversalis

    Zarathustra

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2005

#2

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:38 PM

Yeah, I have that problem too. Have you tried pressing Enter, or Home? I've found that that works. At first, I didn't even know it was a loading screen and was afraid the game had been caught in some sort of background loop without a menu. Rather curious.

craigmcg1979
  • craigmcg1979

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:54 PM

tried that nothing happenes strangely though if i press the home button in the first few seconds the windows live tab drops down if i wait any longer though it doesnt

yeeeeman
  • yeeeeman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:44 PM

Have you got this working?I have the same problem too.

craigmcg1979
  • craigmcg1979

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#5

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:54 PM

still no progress yeeeman, you are the only other person i have found so far with this problem, think i'm going to have to email R* tech support

chapsy
  • chapsy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#6

Posted 06 December 2008 - 08:44 PM

Hi i had this problem and i used the commandline what you put in your GTA folder

in the text it has got

-norestrictions
-nomemrestrict
-novblank

the game does not do it no more

Hope this helps

kllhu
  • kllhu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#7

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:03 PM

same damn problem . anyone know how 2 fix it?

megahustler
  • megahustler

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:10 AM

Just want to let you know that I have the same problem. Maybe 3-4 out of 5 times, the game just get stuck at the loading screen. Only remedy I found, is to try again until it works, but it is extremely annoying.

craigmcg1979
  • craigmcg1979

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 07 December 2008 - 01:48 AM

installed .net 3.5 180.84 drivers reinstalled game workd fine now

SliCk07
  • SliCk07

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#10

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:58 PM

This worked for me.
Uninstall game, use a secuRUM remove tool to remove any securum files from your registry, instal a fresh copy of gta and the gme won`t stuck anymore.

hope this will be usefull colgate.gif

mYkSiNaToR
  • mYkSiNaToR

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 09 December 2008 - 08:04 PM

Phew, I will try it, I have the same problem.

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=381035

mYkSiNaToR
  • mYkSiNaToR

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#12

Posted 10 December 2008 - 05:49 AM

This didn't work for me. sad.gif

kllhu
  • kllhu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#13

Posted 10 December 2008 - 06:37 AM

deleted your sound card driver and it will work ... try

mYkSiNaToR
  • mYkSiNaToR

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#14

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:03 AM

I tried even though I knew I shouldn't have. I had to look for the drivers CD for half an hour. suicidal.gif

Anyway, when I did this, GTA IV simply said 'No sound card found, GTA IV requires sound card to run, bla-bla'

Stefmani
  • Stefmani

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013

#15

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:36 PM Edited by Stefmani, 29 June 2013 - 11:43 PM.

So I just installed Grand Theft Auto IV on my PC Like 3 days ago from thepiratebay (torrent website), and throughout those days, I've been experiencing this problem. The first day I got it, I didn't install any mods or anything, I just installed the patch and crack, Launched GTA 4, pressed start, and then a continuous loop of characters were on the screen, and the theme music, and then the music stopped, and the loop just continues without music. IF THERE'S ANYONE OUT THERE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Miro
  • Miro

    Time Killa™

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2009
  • None
  • GTANet Contribution Award [Newbie Guide]
    Most Improved 2010

#16

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:39 PM

We can't help you with a pirated game. Go buy GTA IV and you won't face this issue. Sorry mate.

Stefmani
  • Stefmani

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2013

#17

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:46 PM Edited by Stefmani, 29 June 2013 - 11:54 PM.

thanks man but its not pirated i downloaded it on bittorrent it had gta iv disc 1 and disc 2 see i formerly had windows xp (2009-2011) and now i have windows 7 (2012-Present) and im afraid that if i buy it ill still have the same problem plus i don't have any money

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    Weekend Answerer

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#18

Posted 30 June 2013 - 01:42 AM

QUOTE
thanks man but its not pirated i downloaded it on bittorrent it had gta iv disc 1 and disc 2
lololololololol are you a lawyer for Mosanto chemicals? tounge.gif you even said
QUOTE
So I just installed Grand Theft Auto IV on my PC Like 3 days ago from thepiratebay (torrent website)

i think the moderators should just delete your posts and not lock the thread though... not the thread's fault how you are




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users