Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA4 - modding ability

244 replies to this topic
Sabiancym
  • Sabiancym

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2005

#211

Posted 15 December 2008 - 12:00 AM Edited by Sabiancym, 15 December 2008 - 12:12 AM.

So after using this and patching the correct file. I can no longer launch the game with or without the hook.........

I even got rid of the modded file and replaced it with the backup file.....still can't launch.


God damnit...

*Thank for Steam* If anyone else is having problems, just right click on the game. hit properties and go to verify game files. This will fix everything so you won't have to completely reinstall.

KillerEST
  • KillerEST

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#212

Posted 15 December 2008 - 06:30 PM

How exactly I must use this mod?

Patch the game->run game...no more things?

KillerEST
  • KillerEST

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#213

Posted 15 December 2008 - 06:59 PM Edited by KillerEST, 15 December 2008 - 07:04 PM.

QUOTE (KillerEST @ Dec 15 2008, 20:30)
How exactly I must use this mod?

Patch the game->run game...no more things?

Ee..or I must patch the game->don't exit from patch file->play...?

Anyway, when I go to playing, then hook.exe automatically exit.

and hook.exe status is always: "Waiting..."

wesley123
  • wesley123

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2008

#214

Posted 15 December 2008 - 07:20 PM

start hook.exe, then start the game.

hook,exe will shut down when its done and then gta4 will start

KillerEST
  • KillerEST

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#215

Posted 16 December 2008 - 01:37 PM Edited by KillerEST, 16 December 2008 - 02:38 PM.

mhh..I start hook.exe, and start game, hook.exe shut down, but IV doesn't start.(Always is hook.exe status "Waiting...")

And hook.exe can be everywhere where I want?

IV stopped working..reinstall, and IV is OK biggrin.gif

I did more backups now, so I hope, those will help me, if I get info trouble.

KillerEST
  • KillerEST

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#216

Posted 16 December 2008 - 03:45 PM Edited by KillerEST, 16 December 2008 - 04:10 PM.

In hook.txt:

[ 17:43:22 ] Hooking success!
[ 17:43:22 ] Screenshot format: bmp
[ 17:43:47 ] Restored checks!

But there aren't any screenshots, I don't have patched game..it's first release, I think..

-e-

oh, it's now working..I don't have patch now..

Ftmch
  • Ftmch

    I'm selling these fine leather jackets...

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#217

Posted 16 December 2008 - 11:03 PM Edited by Ftmch, 16 December 2008 - 11:16 PM.

This doesn't work for me, using the latest version, it tells me the program has stopped working etc. (when I try to start GTAIV with the launcher on), using the version before, nothing happens, it tries to start GTA IV, but then nothing happens, no error messages. I'm using Vista 32bit.

oh, and I have the patch installed.

solecist
  • solecist

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#218

Posted 17 December 2008 - 04:53 AM

this program no longer works with the latest GTAIV patch installed. any chance of an update?

Ftmch
  • Ftmch

    I'm selling these fine leather jackets...

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#219

Posted 17 December 2008 - 01:19 PM

QUOTE (solecist @ Dec 17 2008, 04:53)
this program no longer works with the latest GTAIV patch installed. any chance of an update?

ah, that explains it.

And yes, an update would be nice.

AssassinMessenger
  • AssassinMessenger

    Your {Name} AssassinMessenger

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2008

#220

Posted 19 December 2008 - 02:11 AM

sweetness!!!!!

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#221

Posted 19 December 2008 - 09:01 AM

hi ho, im back now.

i will work on it as soon as i can! thanks!

ill release a version that detects which version is installed, my final release on this project will load addons (but the natives code is not finished, so that will be a separate release)

ill work on it tonight, thanks for the good comments and sorry i was busy working on other things to reply to this thread.

Philmeister
  • Philmeister

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2008

#222

Posted 24 December 2008 - 12:35 AM

Ah this is awesome biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Shame I don have a proper rig to run it.

But enjoyed and still enjoy the other GTA mods so much.

inlove.gif the community

Eurogeneraal
  • Eurogeneraal

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#223

Posted 25 December 2008 - 08:11 PM

Is it ready, my game is f*cked now it doesnt start.

_CP_
  • _CP_

    Group: Vice City Stories team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2007
  • Poland
  • Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#224

Posted 26 December 2008 - 04:07 PM Edited by City_Poke912, 26 December 2008 - 04:15 PM.

This fuc*ed up my game cryani.gif
This only modify filelist.pak?

Eurogeneraal
  • Eurogeneraal

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#225

Posted 26 December 2008 - 05:27 PM

and where is the backup, there is no backup just an original filelist.pak but i dont know what to do with that

violentj69
  • violentj69

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2008

#226

Posted 28 December 2008 - 09:45 AM

wow great app. if you want your game not to work.. now i gotta reinstall, and run the contig.exe...a f*ckin gain...garbage.. icon13.gif

oletheking92
  • oletheking92

    its time to kick ass and chew bubblegum, and im all out of gum

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2007

#227

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:03 PM

This is the only way of installing mods for Gta right?
If so im gonna watch this thread and really hope that you make something that works for me and everybody else. ( i had the nothing-happends error+ gta crash error).

Killuminati91
  • Killuminati91

    Brucie

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2008

#228

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:26 PM

this is how I do it:

1. backup filelist.pak to filelist.pak.magic and replace the original with the "cracked" one
2. backup files.txt in mainfolder to files.txt.magic
3. open files.txt and change "pc\data\filelist.pak" to "pc\data\filelist.pak.magic"
4. also in that file change "files.txt" to "files.txt.magic"

5. Now search a file that you want to mod (file.dat) and make a backup of it (file.dat.magic)
6. Mod your file.dat however you want
7. open files.txt and search for your "...file.dat" and change it to "...file.dat.magic"

Example:
5. search for "handling.dat" and make a backup named "handling.dat.magic"
6. mod the original (handling.dat)
7. open files.txt and replace "common\data\handling.dat" with "common\data\handling.dat.magic"


Thats it, i do it that way cause both tools dont work for me.

Zonked223
  • Zonked223

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2008

#229

Posted 31 December 2008 - 05:01 PM

I can't get the download mirror to work, could someone upload a copy? That would be very helpful

buzbegone
  • buzbegone

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2007

#230

Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:04 AM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 6 2008, 02:37)
QUOTE

<weapon type="PISTOL">
  <data slot="HEAVY" firetype="PROJECTILE" damagetype="EXPLOSIVE" group="ROCKET" targetrange="50.0" weaponrange="100.0" clipsize="17" ammomax="1500" timebetweenshots="333">
   <damage base="25" networkplayermod="3.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
   <reload time="2000" fasttime="2000" crouchtime="2000"/>

   <aiming accuracy="0.5">
    <offset         x="0.15" y="1.0" z="0.55"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.2"  y="1.0" z="0.05"/>
    <reticule standing="0.65" ducked="0.55" scale="0.3"/>
   </aiming>

   <pickup regentime="120000" ammoonstreet="30"/>

   <controller>
    <rumble duration="110" intensity="0.02"/>
   </controller>

   <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>CREATE_VISIBLE_ORDNANCE</flag>
   </flags>
  
   <projectile>
    <typetocreate type="ROCKET"/>
    <offset    x="0.54" y="0.0" z="0.055"/>
    <rotoffset x="0.0"  y="0.0" z="-1.571"/>
   </projectile>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_glock">
   <anim group="gun@handgun" meleegroup1="firearm_core"/>

   <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_pistol_small"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_pistol"/>
   </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>

Hey Opium, does this rocket code also work with the Deagle?
Every time I transfer it over, it doesn't show up

I obviously went wrong somewhere, but where?
Could you post the code for it?

gta4expert
  • gta4expert

    The Help Is On The Way!

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2008

#231

Posted 01 January 2009 - 07:45 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 4 2008, 16:48)
GTA4 LAUNCHER BY OPIUM - - -

ALLOWS FOR MODDED FILES ON GTA4 (SINGLE PLAYER ONLY!!!!)

README:
QUOTE
///////////////////////////
// s0beit.org production //
///////////////////////////

TITLE:   GTA4-Launcher
PURPOSE: Modifying your GTA4 files (tested on STEAM release ONLY!)
CREDITS:   s0beit (aka opium), Sinner, P47R!CK, sp0rk
PROPS:   www.s0beit.org :: www.myg0t.com :: www.gtaforums.com :: www.mtavcsux.net

HOWTO:   Open the launcher, if you have not already then use the new patching tool,
  use it to locate the "filelist.pak" which should be in /GTAIV/pc/data/
  of your Grand Theft Auto 4 installation, patching this file allows for modding ALL the files
  in your GTA4 installation.

  Credit for the filelist.pak patch goes to "aru" of gtaforums.com

  From then on, you do not need to patch this file again.
  Next, while the loader is running; start GTAIV.

  You will need to run the loader each time before running GTAIV to use modified files.


instructions:
QUOTE
Run the "hook.exe", then run GTA4. That is all!


Releases:
Version 1.0, Source code included:
[ Mirror 1 ]: http://www.project-j...her_release.rar
[ Mirror 2 ]: http://irc.thisgames...her_release.rar

Version 2.0 Crash fix (No Source Code):
[ Mirror 1 ]: http://irc.thisgames...4mod/bin_v2.rar

Version 3.0 Full revision, allows modding of all GTAIV files (credits to aru)
[ Mirror 1 ]: http://irc.thisgames...4mod/bin_v3.rar

Version 4.0 addon, allows taking screenshots of the game without any other software needed. (Non-Vista compliant)
[ Mirror 1 ]: http://irc.thisgames...4mod/bin_v4.rar

Media:

Pictures:
[ Rocket Glock ]: http://files.uploadf...ket_glock_1.PNG
[ Screenshot taken with v4 ]: http://files.uploadf...008_12_8_35.jpg

Video:
[ opium's modded weapon frenzy ]:

please answer this! I CANT OPEN THE SITE! IT SAYS PAGE CANNOT BE FOUND. is the site out of date or something. please help me becouse i really want the mod loader and i cant find it anywhere else!!!!!!!!! confused.gif confused.gif sad.gif sad.gif cry.gif cry.gif notify.gif notify.gif

nitro_hedgehog
  • nitro_hedgehog

    pc gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2008

#232

Posted 01 January 2009 - 08:02 PM

^^^^ same issue site not found. and i don't know which one to download if any of them worked either....

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#233

Posted 01 January 2009 - 10:06 PM

QUOTE (nitro_hedgehog @ Jan 1 2009, 21:02)
^^^^ same issue site not found. and i don't know which one to download if any of them worked either....

Try this
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=388658

Tix
  • Tix

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2008

#234

Posted 08 January 2009 - 08:37 AM

didnt work for me sad.gif

Less
  • Less

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2009

#235

Posted 08 January 2009 - 02:41 PM

try http://www.gtavision...ownload&id=1180

Slotter
  • Slotter

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#236

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:26 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 18:37)
here is a mod i made with changes to the weapon file tounge.gif



here is how
QUOTE

<weapon type="PISTOL">
  <data slot="HEAVY" firetype="PROJECTILE" damagetype="EXPLOSIVE" group="ROCKET" targetrange="50.0" weaponrange="100.0" clipsize="17" ammomax="1500" timebetweenshots="333">
   <damage base="25" networkplayermod="3.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
   <reload time="2000" fasttime="2000" crouchtime="2000"/>

   <aiming accuracy="0.5">
    <offset         x="0.15" y="1.0" z="0.55"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.2"  y="1.0" z="0.05"/>
    <reticule standing="0.65" ducked="0.55" scale="0.3"/>
   </aiming>

   <pickup regentime="120000" ammoonstreet="30"/>

   <controller>
    <rumble duration="110" intensity="0.02"/>
   </controller>

   <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>CREATE_VISIBLE_ORDNANCE</flag>
   </flags>
  
   <projectile>
    <typetocreate type="ROCKET"/>
    <offset    x="0.54" y="0.0" z="0.055"/>
    <rotoffset x="0.0"  y="0.0" z="-1.571"/>
   </projectile>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_glock">
   <anim group="gun@handgun" meleegroup1="firearm_core"/>

   <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_pistol_small"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_pistol"/>
   </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>


and shotgun

QUOTE
<weapon type="SHOTGUN">
  <data slot="SHOTGUN" firetype="INSTANT_HIT" damagetype="BULLET" group="SHOTGUN" targetrange="45.0" weaponrange="50.0" clipsize="80" ammomax="80" timebetweenshots="1233">
   <damage base="20" networkplayermod="5.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
   <physics force="1800.0"/>
   <reload time="2933" fasttime="2933" crouchtime="2933"/>

   <aiming accuracy="0.08">
    <offset         x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.44"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.0"/>
    <reticule standing="1.0" ducked="1.0" scale="0.0"/>
   </aiming>

   <pickup regentime="240000" ammoonstreet="16"/>

   <controller>
    <rumble duration="200" intensity="1.0"/>
   </controller>

   <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>HIGHER_BREAK_FORCE</flag>
    <flag>ARMOUR_PENETRATING</flag>
   </flags>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_shotgun">
   <anim group="gun@shotgun"/>

   <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_shotgun"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_shotgun"/>
   </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>

GTA IV dont start when I use the Pistol rocket code. Something new in 1.0.1.0?

buzbegone
  • buzbegone

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2007

#237

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:08 AM

Nothing new in addition with the new patch
You went wrong somewhere or another mod has malfunctioned the game
The code has to be exact, meaning that you have to copy the modded pistol text here so there's no extra spaces above or below the actual code itself, highlight the original weaponinfo.xml with again no extra spaces and paste

Make sure you back it up, besides messing the code up one of the biggest mistakes has and will always be not backing up your files

Slotter
  • Slotter

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#238

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:31 AM

QUOTE (buzbegone @ Jan 18 2009, 00:08)
Nothing new in addition with the new patch
You went wrong somewhere or another mod has malfunctioned the game
The code has to be exact, meaning that you have to copy the modded pistol text here so there's no extra spaces above or below the actual code itself, highlight the original weaponinfo.xml with again no extra spaces and paste

Make sure you back it up, besides messing the code up one of the biggest mistakes has and will always be not backing up your files

I highlight from <weapon type="PISTOL"> to </weapon> and then paste the pistolrocket script. Save the script and start the game. Nothing happends.



If i replace the file with the original the game works. I even tested to add the correct amount of "tabs" before each line. Same problem.

buzbegone
  • buzbegone

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2007

#239

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:11 AM

I've modded a fresh, previously unmodded weaponinfo.xml

Only things I've changes in the code are:

-Weapon range
-Maximum ammunition and reloading time
-Most importantly, I've changed the code so that the rocket pistol stays in the pistol slot and not the heavy weapons slot, this enables you to do a drive-by with your modded rocket pistol

To do this yourself or with a Uzi/SMG, simply leave the writing in <data slot and group=
Do not change the HANDGUN, PISTOL_SMALL/LARGE or whatever your desired weapons' code is if you want it to stay in the same slot

Problems?
Post back here

crypt9
  • crypt9

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2008

#240

Posted 24 January 2009 - 05:20 PM

any idea if we are gonna get a new mod patch as of the 2nd patch none of my mods work in any mode wich sucks considering i just started havnig some fun with it 2 days ago lol




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users