Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA4 - modding ability

244 replies to this topic
KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#61

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:50 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:41)
I'm actually pretty sure you can edit the visualSettings.dat with my launch-injector as well.

Anyway, for the post asking about handling edits, and talking of "subtle" crashes, it could be because i did not update the version (i am using an updated version) there is no ingame crashes.

i will release it in the first post and update links etc.

Thanks, the other loader doesn't seem to work for me so I'm eagerly waiting for your updated loader.
Unfortunately I don't have experience compiling the code into an exe so if you could do that again for those like myself I would be grateful.


And yup after some more testing the first version of the loader definitely crashes fairly consistently after a few minutes of gameplay with my subtle tweaks.
I can't wait for the update :-) thanks again!

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#62

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:53 PM

i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

STEVE124
  • STEVE124

    I got the GTA 3 beta version!! YEAH RIGHT!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#63

Posted 05 December 2008 - 10:19 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:53)
i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

I have vista works great.

WearingNothing
  • WearingNothing

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#64

Posted 05 December 2008 - 10:24 PM Edited by WearingNothing, 05 December 2008 - 10:34 PM.

QUOTE (STEVE124 @ Dec 5 2008, 22:19)
QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:53)
i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

I have vista works great.

Which one are you using? The one on the front page or the one on the 3rd page? If you are using the front page one how did you get it working on vista did you just open it and it worked?

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#65

Posted 05 December 2008 - 10:50 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:53)
i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

Thank you, this new version does indeed fix my in game crash after modding one of the weapons. At least for the 20 minutes I tested.
Now the ultimate test, changing the handling :-)
I'll try the handling.dat first I guess.
Opium_addict do you know if we need to do anything with "filelist.pak"?

Oh and I'm running XP.

morphadron
  • morphadron

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#66

Posted 05 December 2008 - 11:10 PM Edited by morphadron, 05 December 2008 - 11:26 PM.

I am using retail version on xp and the hook isn't working for me.It terminates itself
on start up.But the little luncher from Dysprosium is working , but crashing all
the time little into the gameplay.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#67

Posted 05 December 2008 - 11:34 PM

QUOTE (morphadron @ Dec 5 2008, 23:10)
I am using retail version on xp and the hook isn't working for me.It terminates itself
on start up.But the little luncher from Dysprosium is working , but crashing all
the time little into the gameplay.

The Launcher is supposed to close itself on launch if its working properly.
Make sure you've got the updated file, Then run the launcher, it will open and sit there, after that launch the game from the rockstar games social club "Play" button.
The mod Launcher should close as the game starts up, If you've modded any files the game wouldn't start if the mod launcher wasn't working.
Unless the game just isn't launching for you at all.
Hope that helps.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#68

Posted 05 December 2008 - 11:51 PM Edited by KickyMcAssington, 06 December 2008 - 12:09 AM.

Eureka! icon14.gif

Well done opium_addict, I was able to use hexedit to adjust filelist.pak after finding out editing handling.dat didn't seem to effect the game.
Making the same changes is both files though worked like a charm. I don't know if the changes in handling.dat were even needed, I'll do some more trouble shooting and report back later on that front.

Also I should mention you do need to use a hex editor to view filelist.pak, notepad will corrupt it apparently ;-)

So as test I changed the Nrg900 (easily spawned from the cheat menu on my phone) to be a wee bit more massive, cars were flying outta my way tounge.gif

Here's a short clip:

*Edit, After some more testing it seems either handling.dat doesnt matter or at least its overridden by filelist.pak.

JKM
  • JKM

    [BM] Projectleader

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2005

#69

Posted 06 December 2008 - 12:10 AM

QUOTE (STEVE124 @ Dec 5 2008, 22:19)
QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:53)
i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

I have vista works great.

so I believe its a 64 bit prob? Hope someone can rlly fix this for us xD

WearingNothing
  • WearingNothing

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#70

Posted 06 December 2008 - 12:14 AM

QUOTE (JKM @ Dec 6 2008, 00:10)
QUOTE (STEVE124 @ Dec 5 2008, 22:19)
QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 21:53)
i updated it, it MAY not work for Vista, but if anyone is willing to provide a fix for that i will add it to the next version.

I have vista works great.

so I believe its a 64 bit prob? Hope someone can rlly fix this for us xD

No its also a x86(x32) problem as i have x86, he probally is just using the one posted on the 3rd page.

DuKtape
  • DuKtape

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#71

Posted 06 December 2008 - 12:34 AM

you dont need to edit both files, just the filelist.pak. im working on a drift line atm wink.gif

nlitement
  • nlitement

    Pare mou mia pipa

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 May 2005

#72

Posted 06 December 2008 - 02:49 AM Edited by nlitement, 07 December 2008 - 04:29 PM.

Great.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#73

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:00 AM

I'm trying to make the desert eagle rapid fire.
The problem seems to be the animation, the gun will only fire so fast, but when I caught fire and was running around I was able to use the super-auto fire I had modded in, any idea's on a workaround?

I suppose might not be possible without changing the actual animation.

I'm really liking the handling edits that are pretty easy to do.. Its not hard to get a much more realistic level of traction instead of the slip and slide it used to be. Also the cars feel a bit better with some more mass.

morphadron
  • morphadron

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#74

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:51 AM Edited by morphadron, 06 December 2008 - 08:26 AM.

QUOTE (KickyMcAssington)
QUOTE (morphadron @ Dec 5 2008, 23:10)
I am using retail version on xp and the hook isn't working for me.It terminates itself
on start up.But the little luncher from Dysprosium is working , but crashing all
the time little into the gameplay.

The Launcher is supposed to close itself on launch if its working properly.
Make sure you've got the updated file, Then run the launcher, it will open and sit there, after that launch the game from the rockstar games social club "Play" button.



Sorry for being so unspecific.I mean The game terminates when I press play.
I can boot to the first menu, but when i press play its game over.
I really wonder why Dysprosium's launcher is working for me , but
it crashes before u can even test something.

Is it any way confirmed that the hook is working on the retail( non-steam)
version?

EDIT:
YEAH!!! It's working now.I need to run "LaunchGTAIV.exe" not "GTAIV.exe"
I hope that wasnt some where in the instructions lol.

EDIT2: Thank you so much opium_addict !!!!!

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#75

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:02 AM

I uploaded the v3 update which includes "filelist.pak" patcher, credits to aru (ofc, i mentioned it enough tounge.gif),
which allows you to modify all of your GTAIV files.

it also includes the crash fix from v3, this version is flawless.

thanks to the community and those who helped, i am now satisfied with my release tounge.gif

user21043
  • user21043

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2008

#76

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:24 AM Edited by user21043, 06 December 2008 - 10:32 AM.

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 6 2008, 10:02)
I uploaded the v3 update which includes "filelist.pak" patcher, credits to aru (ofc, i mentioned it enough tounge.gif),
which allows you to modify all of your GTAIV files.

it also includes the crash fix from v3, this version is flawless.

thanks to the community and those who helped, i am now satisfied with my release tounge.gif

Nice man!! it's WORK!!!! You the best!!!!

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#77

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:28 AM

use v3 and patch the filelist, then it should work.

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004

#78

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:38 AM

Thank you so much opium and aru! You guys did a great job. You deserve some cookies cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

Kakashevich
  • Kakashevich

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2008

#79

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:57 AM

your loader doesn't work with DVD version
patched filelist file then modified american.gxt
tried to launch a game (with loader enabled) - it doesn't launch

blazer30uk
  • blazer30uk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#80

Posted 06 December 2008 - 12:00 PM

thanks opium_addict good work
all working good for me on Retail dvd.
small prob at start down to using notepad http://tomie-layton....3-59-33-821.bmp.
but all good now using hex editor. gonna try your v3 now

can,t wait to get in the img,s.

thanks

Ezaes
  • Ezaes

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#81

Posted 06 December 2008 - 01:03 PM

Doesn't work for me bug here http://www.noelshack...ds/li011434.jpg

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#82

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:48 PM Edited by FunGt, 06 December 2008 - 04:11 PM.

OMFG THIS f*ckIN ROX, I modified handling.dat, i put mass 50000 and I played. I got the car modded and I smashed another car throught a wall.
LOL check this out:
user posted image


Does this hook works with every IV version?

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#83

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:07 PM Edited by Fabio206, 06 December 2008 - 05:49 PM.

edit: solved, thank you very much man biggrin.gif

gj funghetto asd lol.gif

DrS
  • DrS

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2005

#84

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:14 PM Edited by DrS, 06 December 2008 - 04:26 PM.

Thanx, this is so nice...
I suggest to modify the deagle or the cops will fire rockets at you.
I'm using an ATI videocard, and I have problems launching the game : you don't need to exit the game when editing xml files, just loading a savegame.

I have made a short video :

devil.gif
ps: I'm interested in making mods, I'm a c++/c# programer.

Fabio206
  • Fabio206

    GTA-Expert.it Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2006

#85

Posted 06 December 2008 - 05:49 PM

My colt-rocketlauncher lol.gif rofl

user posted image

FunGt
  • FunGt

    GTA-Modding.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005
  • Italy

#86

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:41 PM

If I use the GTALauncher.exe to run the game, how can I use command line on the shortcut in desktop?

fabio put the link, the image is heavy.

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005

#87

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:11 PM

QUOTE (FunGt @ Dec 6 2008, 19:41)
If I use the GTALauncher.exe to run the game, how can I use command line on the shortcut in desktop?

fabio put the link, the image is heavy.

Just create a file called commandlines.txt in your game folder, then paste all the commands there, followed and separated by spaces

I'm starting to view files, and trying to change some data. I will be creating pages at www.gtamodding.com on whatever I found... Needing a trainer for coordinates

Millenia
  • Millenia

    Gunz 'R Us

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2005

#88

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:13 PM

QUOTE (Fabio206 @ Dec 6 2008, 17:49)
My colt-rocketlauncher lol.gif rofl

user posted image

That's a Glock 17, not a Colt 1911

The Yokel
  • The Yokel

    Boob groper

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2007
  • Jamaica

#89

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:17 PM

When I watched that video I was like holly sh*t while laughing my ass off. A pistol that can shoot rockets and still being able to run and aim with it like a pistol. Instant win. Don't get banned man. You are going in my respect list cool.gif

Divinehammer
  • Divinehammer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2008

#90

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:34 PM

Anyone know which file might hold Nikos health?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users