Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA4 - modding ability

244 replies to this topic
Mania-92
  • Mania-92

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2007

#31

Posted 05 December 2008 - 01:39 PM

Tried setting the key to 0 as a QWORD (64-bit) but that didn't work either.. Does anyone have a solution?

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#32

Posted 05 December 2008 - 01:55 PM

OK there was a bug that caused the game to crash in the middle of the game while modding, i am addressing this now and i will release a fix (NO SRC) later.

JKM
  • JKM

    [BM] Projectleader

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2005

#33

Posted 05 December 2008 - 03:12 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 13:55)
OK there was a bug that caused the game to crash in the middle of the game while modding, i am addressing this now and i will release a fix (NO SRC) later.

Pls could you make a support for vista, too?
I think its not that bad to add some lines for you to enable the ASLR for Vista....

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#34

Posted 05 December 2008 - 03:33 PM

QUOTE (JKM @ Dec 5 2008, 09:12)
QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 13:55)
OK there was a bug that caused the game to crash in the middle of the game while modding, i am addressing this now and i will release a fix (NO SRC) later.

Pls could you make a support for vista, too?
I think its not that bad to add some lines for you to enable the ASLR for Vista....

read aru's post, fix it that way; that security technique is not something i am aware that i can fix.

Thunderfuckrapist
  • Thunderfuckrapist

    Turdler Durpden

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2005

#35

Posted 05 December 2008 - 03:53 PM

Ahahaha, 3 days and gta4 is already moddable. nice try R*, but you failed.

Mania-92
  • Mania-92

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2007

#36

Posted 05 December 2008 - 03:58 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 15:33)
QUOTE (JKM @ Dec 5 2008, 09:12)
QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 13:55)
OK there was a bug that caused the game to crash in the middle of the game while modding, i am addressing this now and i will release a fix (NO SRC) later.

Pls could you make a support for vista, too?
I think its not that bad to add some lines for you to enable the ASLR for Vista....

read aru's post, fix it that way; that security technique is not something i am aware that i can fix.

It doesn't work, atleast for me and DexX.. So or the fix just doesn't work or we're doing something wrong.

Andylg
  • Andylg

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2008

#37

Posted 05 December 2008 - 05:33 PM

If it possible with this tool to start the game with "fonts.dat" replaced with "fonts_r.dat" (Russian .dat)?
Does anyone know how to use russian fonts "fonts_r.wtd" & "fonts_r_streamed_1.wtd" in the game?

ikt
  • ikt

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006

#38

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:15 PM

Lol s0beit, didn't expect you'd be still active @ GTA =D

JKM
  • JKM

    [BM] Projectleader

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2005

#39

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:20 PM

I asked because the way with the registry didnt work for me too...
i tried the dep way too but nothing changed... still the crash while loading the gta4.exe...

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#40

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:37 PM

here is a mod i made with changes to the weapon file tounge.gif



here is how
QUOTE

<weapon type="PISTOL">
  <data slot="HEAVY" firetype="PROJECTILE" damagetype="EXPLOSIVE" group="ROCKET" targetrange="50.0" weaponrange="100.0" clipsize="17" ammomax="1500" timebetweenshots="333">
  <damage base="25" networkplayermod="3.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
  <reload time="2000" fasttime="2000" crouchtime="2000"/>

  <aiming accuracy="0.5">
    <offset        x="0.15" y="1.0" z="0.55"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.2"  y="1.0" z="0.05"/>
    <reticule standing="0.65" ducked="0.55" scale="0.3"/>
  </aiming>

  <pickup regentime="120000" ammoonstreet="30"/>

  <controller>
    <rumble duration="110" intensity="0.02"/>
  </controller>

  <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>CREATE_VISIBLE_ORDNANCE</flag>
  </flags>
 
  <projectile>
    <typetocreate type="ROCKET"/>
    <offset    x="0.54" y="0.0" z="0.055"/>
    <rotoffset x="0.0"  y="0.0" z="-1.571"/>
  </projectile>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_glock">
  <anim group="gun@handgun" meleegroup1="firearm_core"/>

  <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_pistol_small"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_pistol"/>
  </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>


and shotgun

QUOTE
<weapon type="SHOTGUN">
  <data slot="SHOTGUN" firetype="INSTANT_HIT" damagetype="BULLET" group="SHOTGUN" targetrange="45.0" weaponrange="50.0" clipsize="80" ammomax="80" timebetweenshots="1233">
  <damage base="20" networkplayermod="5.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
  <physics force="1800.0"/>
  <reload time="2933" fasttime="2933" crouchtime="2933"/>

  <aiming accuracy="0.08">
    <offset        x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.44"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.0"/>
    <reticule standing="1.0" ducked="1.0" scale="0.0"/>
  </aiming>

  <pickup regentime="240000" ammoonstreet="16"/>

  <controller>
    <rumble duration="200" intensity="1.0"/>
  </controller>

  <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>HIGHER_BREAK_FORCE</flag>
    <flag>ARMOUR_PENETRATING</flag>
  </flags>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_shotgun">
  <anim group="gun@shotgun"/>

  <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_shotgun"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_shotgun"/>
  </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>

Dysprosium
  • Dysprosium

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008

#41

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:59 PM

I've also done a little launcher. It works for me with Vista x64.
Copy it to your GTAIV directory and run. Then the game will start automatically.
Download

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#42

Posted 05 December 2008 - 07:25 PM Edited by KickyMcAssington, 05 December 2008 - 07:28 PM.

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 18:37)
here is a mod i made with changes to the weapon file tounge.gif



here is how
QUOTE

<weapon type="PISTOL">
  <data slot="HEAVY" firetype="PROJECTILE" damagetype="EXPLOSIVE" group="ROCKET" targetrange="50.0" weaponrange="100.0" clipsize="17" ammomax="1500" timebetweenshots="333">
   <damage base="25" networkplayermod="3.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
   <reload time="2000" fasttime="2000" crouchtime="2000"/>

   <aiming accuracy="0.5">
    <offset         x="0.15" y="1.0" z="0.55"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.2"  y="1.0" z="0.05"/>
    <reticule standing="0.65" ducked="0.55" scale="0.3"/>
   </aiming>

   <pickup regentime="120000" ammoonstreet="30"/>

   <controller>
    <rumble duration="110" intensity="0.02"/>
   </controller>

   <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>CREATE_VISIBLE_ORDNANCE</flag>
   </flags>
  
   <projectile>
    <typetocreate type="ROCKET"/>
    <offset    x="0.54" y="0.0" z="0.055"/>
    <rotoffset x="0.0"  y="0.0" z="-1.571"/>
   </projectile>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_glock">
   <anim group="gun@handgun" meleegroup1="firearm_core"/>

   <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_pistol_small"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_pistol"/>
   </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>


and shotgun

QUOTE
<weapon type="SHOTGUN">
  <data slot="SHOTGUN" firetype="INSTANT_HIT" damagetype="BULLET" group="SHOTGUN" targetrange="45.0" weaponrange="50.0" clipsize="80" ammomax="80" timebetweenshots="1233">
   <damage base="20" networkplayermod="5.0" networkpedmod="1.0"/>
   <physics force="1800.0"/>
   <reload time="2933" fasttime="2933" crouchtime="2933"/>

   <aiming accuracy="0.08">
    <offset         x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.44"/>
    <crouchedoffset x="0.16" y="1.0" z="0.0"/>
    <reticule standing="1.0" ducked="1.0" scale="0.0"/>
   </aiming>

   <pickup regentime="240000" ammoonstreet="16"/>

   <controller>
    <rumble duration="200" intensity="1.0"/>
   </controller>

   <flags>
    <flag>GUN</flag>
    <flag>CAN_AIM</flag>
    <flag>CAN_FREE_AIM</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_RELOAD</flag>
    <flag>ANIM_CROUCH_FIRE</flag>
    <flag>HIGHER_BREAK_FORCE</flag>
    <flag>ARMOUR_PENETRATING</flag>
   </flags>
  </data>

  <assets model="w_shotgun">
   <anim group="gun@shotgun"/>

   <effects>
    <muzzle fx="muz_shotgun"/>
    <shell fx="weap_ejected_shotgun"/>
   </effects>
  </assets>
</weapon>

Very nice(borat voice) biggrin.gif


I was going to go crazy with the weapons until I remembered what happened when I did that in San Andreas
I seem to recall having my car one shot'ed by npc's after ramping up the damage, so my question then, Does this effect the NPC's weapons as well? as in, with this weapon mod will the cops now be shooting rocket pistols at you? tounge.gif

Hopefully the in game crash you mentioned is an easy fix.
I'm going to get back to modding now, hopefully I wont run into the bug before it gets fixed :-)

Johnnnyboy15nl
  • Johnnnyboy15nl

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#43

Posted 05 December 2008 - 07:25 PM

Wow, thats nice man! Very nice! can't wait for the mods tounge.gif.

user21043
  • user21043

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 May 2008

#44

Posted 05 December 2008 - 07:37 PM

It's soo cooll!!!! very nice man!!!! Good luck

DuKtape
  • DuKtape

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#45

Posted 05 December 2008 - 07:47 PM

the hook works with a modified handling.dat, but ingame the handling is exactly the same. i tried setting damage multiplier to 0, and the car still took damage but the game crashed right when the car was supposed to blow up. all handling settings dont seem to affect how the car drives aswell.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#46

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:02 PM

QUOTE (DuKtape @ Dec 5 2008, 19:47)
the hook works with a modified handling.dat, but ingame the handling is exactly the same. i tried setting damage multiplier to 0, and the car still took damage but the game crashed right when the car was supposed to blow up. all handling settings dont seem to affect how the car drives aswell.

If that's true I think I will cry :-(
Handling is what I'm most excited to be able to mod, I want better traction damn it! :-)

be right back with a test to confirm handling.dat isn't working yet.

DuKtape
  • DuKtape

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#47

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:25 PM Edited by DuKtape, 05 December 2008 - 08:35 PM.

game loads with handling.dat deleted, it's being loaded from somewhere else (im on retail, maybe cd?)

edit: filelist.pak has handling info in, im gonna try editing that

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#48

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:51 PM

QUOTE (DuKtape @ Dec 5 2008, 20:25)
game loads with handling.dat deleted, it's being loaded from somewhere else (im on retail, maybe cd?)

edit: filelist.pak has handling info in, im gonna try editing that

Good eye sir smile.gif

That explains why editing handling.dat was crashing my game.
Drastic changes would crash the game as it loaded but subtle ones only crashed in game after a couple min. Also The changes didn't seem to take effect, though as I said they had to be subtle to get past the crash so who knows for sure.
I guess the files are conflicting tounge.gif

I'll try editing filelist.pak as well.
Both files may have to match up, I'll have a look anyway.
Thanks.

WearingNothing
  • WearingNothing

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#49

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:59 PM

Ive tried opening the .pak file. I edited somthing then saved it. It crashes on start of gta iv. Its probally because if you look at the top of the file when you open there is some stuff that Notepad can't get right so when you save you just screw up that part. Id guess someone would need to make somthing to open the file correctly.

DuKtape
  • DuKtape

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#50

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:03 PM

well you open it with a hex editor lol. i tried changing the handling in filelist.pak, game crashes some time into the loading screen. tried changing both files so they match, crashes too.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#51

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:16 PM

Also If you delete filelist.pak and leave handling.dat the game will still start up, it only crashed 1 minute into gameplay. weird..
I think I'm out of my depth now :-(

Now after putting everything back to my default backups (other then the weapon tweak) the game is still crashing after a couple min, though now I cant be sure if its because of all the alt-tabbing I've been doing and the extra windows I've got open and the crashes I've had without rebooting or if its the weapon mod :-)
Time to reboot I think.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#52

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:17 PM

QUOTE (Dysprosium @ Dec 5 2008, 12:59)
I've also done a little launcher. It works for me with Vista x64.
Copy it to your GTAIV directory and run. Then the game will start automatically.
Download

Doesn't work. File was removed. Upload a new one?

STEVE124
  • STEVE124

    I got the GTA 3 beta version!! YEAH RIGHT!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#53

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:19 PM

is this working with the non STEAM version.

KickyMcAssington
  • KickyMcAssington

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#54

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:20 PM

QUOTE (STEVE124 @ Dec 5 2008, 21:19)
is this working with the non STEAM version.

Yes

WearingNothing
  • WearingNothing

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#55

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:21 PM

Download < Uploaded the one posted above, and this works with non-steam and steam if im not mistaken

STEVE124
  • STEVE124

    I got the GTA 3 beta version!! YEAH RIGHT!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#56

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:23 PM

QUOTE (KickyMcAssington @ Dec 5 2008, 21:20)
QUOTE (STEVE124 @ Dec 5 2008, 21:19)
is this working with the non STEAM version.

Yes

what files are safe to mod modify at this time.

WearingNothing
  • WearingNothing

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#57

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:25 PM

QUOTE (DuKtape @ Dec 5 2008, 21:03)
well you open it with a hex editor lol. i tried changing the handling in filelist.pak, game crashes some time into the loading screen. tried changing both files so they match, crashes too.

I just changed only the .pak file and gave my stallion alot of Mass. It has worked, i can't really video it but all you need to change is the .pak file.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#58

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:36 PM

QUOTE (WearingNothing @ Dec 5 2008, 15:21)
Download < Uploaded the one posted above, and this works with non-steam and steam if im not mistaken

Thank you.

Using that launcher, I edited my visualSettings.dat (common/data) to give the cars green headlights;
http://img523.images...enlightsrm4.jpg

Not a proper mod by any means, just a quick and obvious test. Now it's time to overhaul that file.

Note that for the visualsettings.dat file, there is also an .xls file of the same name, and it is also in filelist.pak. The only file i edited was visualsettings.dat in the data folder. Nothing else.

opium_addict
  • opium_addict

    CODE WRECKER

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008

#59

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:41 PM

I'm actually pretty sure you can edit the visualSettings.dat with my launch-injector as well.

Anyway, for the post asking about handling edits, and talking of "subtle" crashes, it could be because i did not update the version (i am using an updated version) there is no ingame crashes.

i will release it in the first post and update links etc.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#60

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:47 PM

QUOTE (opium_addict @ Dec 5 2008, 15:41)
I'm actually pretty sure you can edit the visualSettings.dat with my launch-injector as well.

I couldn't start the game with your launcher, thus i never attempted to modify any files until i could launch a stock game first.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users