Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Anyone playing GTA IV on mac?

26 replies to this topic
playaindahood
  • playaindahood

    Cooljunk Productions

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008

#1

Posted 04 December 2008 - 02:02 AM

Well. first of all, it can be done, with any of the available windows running software for mac like Parallels Desktop. The program opens on another window with the new versions, and it looks exactly like the Windows xp or vista desktop. So anyone playing it on a mac?

Nem Wan
  • Nem Wan

    The Artist Formerly Known As Magic_Al

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2006
  • United-States

#2

Posted 04 December 2008 - 03:02 AM

My Mac is too old/underpowered so I'm not going to even try, but I'll point out that Boot Camp is another option that requires no additional software (besides Windows), as it simply partitions the hard drive allowing you to install Windows on the other partition and provides a way to select the boot partition at startup.

Programs like Parallels will have a performance penalty because Mac OS X is still running too, but Boot Camp lets you run just Windows, so GTA IV should be as good as on a PC with the same hardware specs as the Mac.

mast
  • mast

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2008

#3

Posted 04 December 2008 - 04:16 AM

QUOTE (Magic_Al @ Dec 4 2008, 03:02)
My Mac is too old/underpowered so I'm not going to even try, but I'll point out that Boot Camp is another option that requires no additional software (besides Windows), as it simply partitions the hard drive allowing you to install Windows on the other partition and provides a way to select the boot partition at startup.

Programs like Parallels will have a performance penalty because Mac OS X is still running too, but Boot Camp lets you run just Windows, so GTA IV should be as good as on a PC with the same hardware specs as the Mac.

Don't play it through Parallels Desktop. JUST DON'T! This game is insanely intensive, and playing it through a 'wrapper' isn't a good idea. Magic_Al is right: if you have a copy of Windows, just set up Boot Camp. You have to do this, otherwise your performance will be absolutely abysmal. Parallels is only if you need to run non-intensive Windows apps alongside your Mac without restarting.

I use Boot Camp essentially every day for playing Team Fortress 2. It works great.

For reference, I have a MacBook Pro (not the latest one, but the one that came out earlier this year). It's got a 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo, 8600M GT and 2 gig ram, Windows XP.

playaindahood
  • playaindahood

    Cooljunk Productions

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2008

#4

Posted 04 December 2008 - 05:36 AM

Oh. How much is Boot Camp? I might be getting a new Mac and I wanted a windows running program that can also play games like gta iv but I guess parallels won't work.

mast
  • mast

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2008

#5

Posted 04 December 2008 - 06:29 AM

QUOTE (playaindahood @ Dec 4 2008, 05:36)
Oh. How much is Boot Camp? I might be getting a new Mac and I wanted a windows running program that can also play games like gta iv but I guess parallels won't work.

Free. But it requires a copy of Windows.

chesss
  • chesss

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2007

#6

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:41 PM

running gta 4 in a virtual OS .. lololol!!
are all Mac user so intelligent?

sjaak327
  • sjaak327

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008
  • None

#7

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:48 PM

Not going to happen. You need a direct 9 compatible GPU, no way they are going to emulate that in a VM envirornment, hell they cannot even get aero to run under either paralles or vmware fusion. Boot camp is the only option.




rappzula
  • rappzula

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2008

#8

Posted 05 December 2008 - 03:17 AM

I'm running GTA IV fairly well through Boot Camp on my MacBook Pro (it's the late 2008 model with the 256MB nVidia 9600M GT / 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo / 4GB RAM, but Windows XP recognizes it as 3GB). Right now it doesn't seem like I can do much better than highest render level, resolution 1152x864, and low settings on everything else. It looks pretty darn good to me, though. If I could get some anti-aliasing on this baby it would be perfect.

Oh and about running GTA IV in Parallels... that was a good joke man.

MrVercettti
  • MrVercettti

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 05 December 2008 - 05:57 AM

Id love to play gat4 on the new MacBooK pros

Cdnalsi
  • Cdnalsi

    PC Gaming Masterrace

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2008

#10

Posted 05 December 2008 - 06:20 AM

I'll be playing it on my new Macbook Pro

fatalxploit
  • fatalxploit

    You have been exploited.

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 05 December 2008 - 08:09 AM

I'm playing it on my iMac. It runs fine, I just hate having to have the disc in sad.gif And the game desperately needs AA.

Here are my specifications if you're interested.

Windows XP SP3 32bit (boot camp)
Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz
4GB DDR2-800 (well windows only detects 3GB of those though)
WDC 500GB HDD
GeForce 8800GS 512MB
24inch screen

GTA IV Settings
Textures Medium
Render Quality Highest
View Distance 25
Detail Distance 25
Traffice Density 20
Shadow Density 5

GTAGman
  • GTAGman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2010

#12

Posted 02 June 2010 - 04:38 PM

if anyone knows ANY way of getting GTA IV for mac without Bootcamp or Parallels please tell. if u dont know then please try nd look it up cuz i have been looking for the last eleven moonths, literally.

Thnx. suicidal.gif

cgb6397
  • cgb6397

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2010

#13

Posted 02 June 2010 - 10:09 PM

If i run bootcamp with my mac and play GTA IV will I still be able to use mods ?

Voodooman
  • Voodooman

    v00d00m4n

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005

#14

Posted 03 June 2010 - 01:28 AM

QUOTE (chesss @ Dec 4 2008, 22:41)
running gta 4  in a virtual OS .. lololol!!
are all Mac user so intelligent?

LMAO, you asking too much from guys who loves every program to have 1 BIG SHINY BUTTON which perform all features after single click)

they dont think, they iThink different ;-)

Normal users trow Apples through Windows, Apple users trow Windows thought Apple, because they think different)

Most intelligent user if mac is ICE T, and you know why?

Thats why:




viometrix
  • viometrix

    Mildly Aggravating

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2009

#15

Posted 03 June 2010 - 02:22 AM

i have heard rumors that gta iv and eflc will soon work on the mac via steam, the same way they have gotten other windows games running on the mac platform

ikt
  • ikt

     

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2006

#16

Posted 03 June 2010 - 05:25 AM

QUOTE (viometrix @ Jun 3 2010, 04:22)
i have heard rumors that gta iv and eflc will soon work on the mac via steam, the same way they have gotten other windows games running on the mac platform

Lol, I don't think so. The Macification, was so easy because they got the Source engine working on Macs. I don't think porting a badly ported Windows/DirectX 9 game to a Mac without DirectX9 is ever going to be succesful.

The3File
  • The3File

    Dansker er sovs

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2010

#17

Posted 12 December 2010 - 01:56 PM

QUOTE (GTAGman @ Jun 2 2010, 16:38)
if anyone knows ANY way of getting GTA IV for mac without Bootcamp or Parallels please tell. if u dont know then please try nd look it up cuz i have been looking for the last eleven moonths, literally.

Thnx. suicidal.gif

yes a port called wineskin biggrin.gif
http://yambforum.nic...rapper-t423.htm
u can get it here colgate.gif

JohnZS
  • JohnZS

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2009

#18

Posted 12 December 2010 - 02:29 PM

Don't bother.
Save yourself a lot of money and get a Core i5 based PC with a decent Graphics Card and Windows 7.
Much better than ANY Mac.
John

kudoboi
  • kudoboi

    HI

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2009

#19

Posted 12 December 2010 - 02:32 PM

QUOTE (cgb6397 @ Jun 2 2010, 22:09)
If i run bootcamp with my mac and play GTA IV will I still be able to use mods ?

obviously

Jigglyass
  • Jigglyass

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008
  • None

#20

Posted 12 December 2010 - 10:46 PM

Why resurrect a very old thread?

Broman400
  • Broman400

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2010

#21

Posted 13 December 2010 - 03:04 AM

QUOTE (JigglyAss @ Dec 12 2010, 22:46)
Why resurrect a very old thread?

Ukrayinaaa

NYPDPolice14
  • NYPDPolice14

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2011

#22

Posted 18 September 2011 - 01:37 PM

I try to download it but it wont work because it's a windows application

radioman
  • radioman

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2006

#23

Posted 21 September 2011 - 11:08 PM

The ONLY GTA's that are available for the Mac OS are: GTA III, Vice City(VC), and San Andreas(SA)(via the Trilogy Pack for the Mac)-IV and EFLC are for Windows XP, Vista, and 7 ONLY and ARE NOT supported on the Mac OS..Just a friendly heads up... icon14.gif

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#24

Posted 21 September 2011 - 11:53 PM

QUOTE (radioman @ Wednesday, Sep 21 2011, 23:08)
The ONLY GTA's that are available for the Mac OS are: GTA III, Vice City(VC), and San Andreas(SA)(via the Trilogy Pack for the Mac)-IV and EFLC are for Windows XP, Vista, and 7 ONLY and ARE NOT supported on the Mac OS..Just a friendly heads up... icon14.gif

they are discussing running it using boot camp, while a waste to do it will run... read the rest of the topic before you open mouth and insert foot

nightwalker83
  • nightwalker83

    Don't mind me

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#25

Posted 22 September 2011 - 12:35 AM

QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Thursday, Sep 22 2011, 10:23)
QUOTE (radioman @ Wednesday, Sep 21 2011, 23:08)
The ONLY GTA's that are available for the Mac OS are: GTA III, Vice City(VC), and San Andreas(SA)(via the Trilogy Pack for the Mac)-IV and EFLC are for Windows XP, Vista, and 7 ONLY and ARE NOT supported on the Mac OS..Just a friendly heads up... icon14.gif

they are discussing running it using boot camp, while a waste to do it will run... read the rest of the topic before you open mouth and insert foot

The original poster doesn't mention Boot Camp.

SlaveZer0
  • SlaveZer0

    Perveyor of Destruction

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2011
  • United-States

#26

Posted 22 September 2011 - 12:45 AM

QUOTE (nightwalker83 @ Thursday, Sep 22 2011, 00:35)
QUOTE (SlaveZer0 @ Thursday, Sep 22 2011, 10:23)
QUOTE (radioman @ Wednesday, Sep 21 2011, 23:08)
The ONLY GTA's that are available for the Mac OS are: GTA III, Vice City(VC), and San Andreas(SA)(via the Trilogy Pack for the Mac)-IV and EFLC are for Windows XP, Vista, and 7 ONLY and ARE NOT supported on the Mac OS..Just a friendly heads up... icon14.gif

they are discussing running it using boot camp, while a waste to do it will run... read the rest of the topic before you open mouth and insert foot

The original poster doesn't mention Boot Camp.

its mentioned often in the topic and is the only way to do it... lets not play semantics

Sambo404
  • Sambo404

    Sam

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2008

#27

Posted 22 September 2011 - 08:06 PM

I'd love tohhear from somebody running it on a Mac Pro 8 or 12-core machine. Abit overkill really but I've always wondered how it would perform. Probably not much difference from a quad-core because the game doesn't have the means to use all them cores.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users