Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Error because no DirectX 9 Video Card

14 replies to this topic
zhrooms
  • zhrooms

    Leave No Man Behind

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:30 PM Edited by zhrooms, 03 December 2008 - 04:32 PM.

Hi, bought the game on Steam yesterday and all applications work great except the game itself.

So this is what i get.. "Error DD3D50", according to the forum thread "Meaning for Error Codes, List here", the error means:

"D3D Error - DirectX 9 video card required"

But.. I do have a DirectX 9 card (ATI Radeon X800XT 256MB).. it does Not support Shader Model 3.0 but the system requirements only say X1900/7800, they both do support SM3.0 but it dosnt say so

So, does the game require SM3.0 or not?

Thanks, zhrooms.

fflaguna
  • fflaguna

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:32 PM

I had this problem when I changed some fundamental settings on my graphics card. Try restarting. If you didn't change any of your GPU's settings, then don't bother restarting, because that's probably not the problem, then.

This is a kind shot in the dark, so forgive me, but also try updating your DirectX and your GPU drivers.

Edit: I don't remember what game it was (Maybe Fallout 3? Not sure) but it wouldn't run on my old card because it didn't support higher than SM 2.0 or 2.1. You may need a new card. Is the X800 for laptop? confused.gif

zhrooms
  • zhrooms

    Leave No Man Behind

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#3

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:41 PM Edited by zhrooms, 03 December 2008 - 05:04 PM.

QUOTE (fflaguna @ Dec 3 2008, 16:32)
I had this problem when I changed some fundamental settings on my graphics card. Try restarting. If you didn't change any of your GPU's settings, then don't bother restarting, because that's probably not the problem, then.

This is a kind shot in the dark, so forgive me, but also try updating your DirectX and your GPU drivers.

Edit: I don't remember what game it was (Maybe Fallout 3? Not sure) but it wouldn't run on my old card because it didn't support higher than SM 2.0 or 2.1. You may need a new card. Is the X800 for laptop? confused.gif

I did update Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, after that i updated Catalyst from 8.10 to 8.11 but its not working.

Generation of popular ATI Cards:
9800 Pro SM2.0? DX9
X800 XT SM2.1? DX9
X1900 XTX SM3.0 DX9
HD3870 SM4.0 DX10?
HD4870 SM4.1 DX10.1

Maybe incorrect who cares point is that X800XT is DX9 and does not support SM3.0

fflaguna
  • fflaguna

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:45 PM

zhrooms - Navigate to your GTA IV directory, open up the "Installers" folder, open the "DirectX_jun2008" folder, and run "DXSETUP.exe".

This might not be the answer to your problem, but I have had several games give me errors similar to the DD3D50 code that went away once I installed the DirectX distro that came with the game.

I don't have anything to add here after this post. confused.gif

zhrooms
  • zhrooms

    Leave No Man Behind

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#5

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:07 PM

QUOTE (fflaguna @ Dec 3 2008, 16:45)
zhrooms - Navigate to your GTA IV directory, open up the "Installers" folder, open the "DirectX_jun2008" folder, and run "DXSETUP.exe".

This might not be the answer to your problem, but I have had several games give me errors similar to the DD3D50 code that went away once I installed the DirectX distro that came with the game.

I don't have anything to add here after this post. confused.gif

I did that before, and now again.. still not working mad.gif

I do have a X800 Pro 512MB card that i could try, but basicly same as my current X800XT 256MB..

CameO73
  • CameO73

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2008

#6

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:14 PM

It's very easy: your videocard is not supported. The minimum requirement is an ATI X1900 (or an Nvidia 7900), so you're not going to run it on an older X800.

Keljaden
  • Keljaden

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#7

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:25 PM

Hey Im getting the same error msg, and I've got a ATI Radeon 9800tx. Shouldnt my card be supported?

zhrooms
  • zhrooms

    Leave No Man Behind

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:29 PM

There is 2 errors on my radar

1. DD3D50
D3D Error - DirectX 9 video card required

2. DD3D60
D3D Error - Shader Model 3.0 or higher is required

My card does support DX9, but not SM3.0.. so why the hell do i get DX9 error instead of SM3.0 sneaky2.gif

Well.. i guess i have to buy a HD4870 then, i just hope my crappy 500w will make it

jonathan93
  • jonathan93

    Jonathan

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2012

#9

Posted 01 July 2012 - 01:50 AM

im gettin this error too ive downloaded it time after time and still angry.gif its pissing me off ive beem trying to get this game working for 2 days know ive done everything it wanted on 3 PC and my vista Desktop and my Window 7 Laptop same error but on my moms window 7 i did everything and it load the game and it get to the menu then it want let me click anything ........ HELP

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010
  • None

#10

Posted 01 July 2012 - 10:17 AM

Was it really needed to bump a 3.5 year old topic for that? dozingoff.gif
You should create a new topic if you'd ask me.

Anyway, what are your system specs?
And what do you mean with "I downloaded it time after time"?

jonathan93
  • jonathan93

    Jonathan

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2012

#11

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:47 PM

i download directx and and error dd3d50 video card needed on my vista desktop and window 7 laptop but it works on my mom window 7 desktop but when it get to the menu it wont let me click on anything ....... i should know this but what is (system specs)

Garfield 2
  • Garfield 2

    BMW Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2007
  • None

#12

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:51 PM

QUOTE (jonathan93 @ Sunday, Jul 1 2012, 17:47)
i download directx and and error dd3d50 video card needed on my vista desktop and window 7 laptop but it works on my mom window 7 desktop but when it get to the menu it wont let me click on anything ....... i should know this but what is (system specs)

What's your graphics card? This problem surprisingly relates to the lack of Pixel Shader 3.0 as well. Had it on a different computer back in the days of GTA IV PC Release

jonathan93
  • jonathan93

    Jonathan

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2012

#13

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:09 PM

QUOTE (Garfield 2 @ Sunday, Jul 1 2012, 17:51)
QUOTE (jonathan93 @ Sunday, Jul 1 2012, 17:47)
i download directx and and error dd3d50 video card needed on my vista desktop and window 7 laptop but it works on my mom window 7 desktop but when it get to the menu it wont let me click on anything ....... i should know this but what is (system specs)

What's your graphics card? This problem surprisingly relates to the lack of Pixel Shader 3.0 as well. Had it on a different computer back in the days of GTA IV PC Release

I don't know

lydianduck
  • lydianduck

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Sep 2011
  • None

#14

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:43 PM Edited by Brainsick, 01 July 2012 - 07:34 PM.

That's your problem then; How can people purchase games without knowing if their system is up to the task is beyond me.

unc13bud
  • unc13bud

    I stay mad @ Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2010
  • None

#15

Posted 02 July 2012 - 06:20 AM

because he didn't purchase it. he sounds like he just downloading/pirating. or he could be trolling... or all of the above. until he learns how to list his computer's specifications when asking for help, its not for me to figure out-life is too short.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users