Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

I Give Up!

19 replies to this topic
Mr_Noodles
  • Mr_Noodles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:29 PM

System specs:

Windows XP Service pack 3
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.01 GHz
2 GB RAM
Nvidia 9600GT

Well I tried to avoid posting this but I'm at my wits end. Have gone through 2 installs to try and fix it on my own but like my title saids I'm giving up.

Trying to play single player, press icon to launch, dos window opens, no error messages, LaunchGTAIV.exe starts for about 5 seconds and stops completely. That's it, nothing.

Anyone else experiencing, any suggestions?

exeel
  • exeel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#2

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:31 PM

Almost. I hit the shortcut after install, the mouse cursor shows it's loading for 6-8 seconds, then normal cursor and no window opened. Still at desktop. No errors.
Trying a reinstall...

Gryet
  • Gryet

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2003

#3

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:32 PM

Don't be sad about it ... think the majority is giving up.

I am for sure.

loczek47
  • loczek47

    They call me "Random Funny Guy".

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 May 2008

#4

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:32 PM

I know it can sound stupid but....try to change date in your computer to anything later than 3rd december 2008.

Fuggedaboudit
  • Fuggedaboudit

    Fuggedaboudit!

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2008

#5

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:42 PM

You tried running in admin mode too?

mkf
  • mkf

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#6

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:52 PM

QUOTE (exeel @ Dec 3 2008, 15:31)
Almost. I hit the shortcut after install, the mouse cursor shows it's loading for 6-8 seconds, then normal cursor and no window opened. Still at desktop. No errors.
Trying a reinstall...

don't run it. they create a shortcut that can't launch the game.

1. execute R* Social Crap
2. don't log in (it will just screw u)
3. click the big PLAY on the bottom left corner
4. enjoy 800x600 on LOW setting

m2o2
  • m2o2

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2008

#7

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:00 PM

take a look :I can't get the game to work=/, Game Not Launching Fully!!!

exeel
  • exeel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#8

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:00 PM

I reinstalled, finally I could open the RockStar Club shortcut. I choose to skip login. I look in the right side of the window and followed the link, installing a GWL update.
I then pressed PLAY in the left side of screen. Club window minimized, a proces named LaunchGTAIV_activation.exe started. 6-8 seconds later, nothing loaded, nothing happened.

Howcome? sad.gif

Mr_Noodles
  • Mr_Noodles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#9

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:21 PM

Tried everyones suggestions, even rolled the clock into the future. No results, and by no results I mean NOTHING happens, at least I could work with a reported error or something, but what do you do with nothing!?

I'm not usually the type of person to even post my PC gaming problems, usually just figure them out on forums like this through others posts and problems that match mine but this has reached the point of ridiculous for me. So, I give up, going back to playing CoD:WAW a game that launches and runs perfect.

I'll hold onto this game till maybe Saturday and see if the usually genius's who have to fix multi million dollar corporations problems for them come to the rescue again, after that it's going back and I may join the movement to get Rockstar games banned based on content just out of spite devil.gif


Malik
  • Malik

    IV

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2008

#10

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:23 PM Edited by Malik, 03 December 2008 - 04:53 PM.

QUOTE (Mr_Noodles @ Dec 3 2008, 16:21)
Tried everyones suggestions, even rolled the clock into the future.  No results, and by no results I mean NOTHING happens, at least I could work with a reported error or something, but what do you do with nothing!? 

I'm not usually the type of person to even post my PC gaming problems, usually just figure them out on forums like this through others posts and problems that match mine but this has reached the point of ridiculous for me.  So, I give up, going back to playing CoD:WAW a game that launches and runs perfect. 

I'll hold onto this game till maybe Saturday and see if the usually genius's who have to fix multi million dollar corporations problems for them come to the rescue again, after that it's going back and I may join the movement to get Rockstar games banned based on content just out of spite  devil.gif

Man why did u even buy it.. oh well now its too late maybe you can try and return this beta for wich you paid full price (small chance)

exeel
  • exeel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#11

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:25 PM

I tried everything suggested here. The clock etc. Nothing helped, sadly. Spent 3 hours since I got it, no I take a break, just watching the fora here.
Hope to hear a solution!

exeel
  • exeel

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#12

Posted 04 December 2008 - 09:33 AM

I solved it, but I'm not sure how. I logged into Games for Windows Live and tried again. Then it worked.

TheVigilante
  • TheVigilante

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#13

Posted 04 December 2008 - 09:38 AM

Same problem here, nothing seems to work. Maybe I should just download an illegal version. It seems if you actually buy the game you get screwed.

NecroViolator
  • NecroViolator

    Peon

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2008

#14

Posted 04 December 2008 - 10:38 AM

Does ANYONE here see in Windows their Mouse Icon have a turning CD/DVD Icon and then nothing happens ???

Jimmy_Lemon
  • Jimmy_Lemon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:08 PM

QUOTE (NecroViolator @ Dec 4 2008, 10:38)
Does ANYONE here see in Windows their Mouse Icon have a turning CD/DVD Icon and then nothing happens ???

yup, though I seem to be the only one that keeps getting sent back to the Social Club screen, everyone else either seems to just get the dos screen forever or it closes and nothing happens.

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#16

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:17 PM

Thats secuROM kicking in (the icon change) checking the DVD in drive disk 1 and accessing net, then it launches main GTA exe.

Make sure your firewall isn't blocking it and let it online, or you have anything secuROM may object to (yes I know its crap to say). Have you cleaned the DVD .. does the DVD start to spin up?

Try running this :

QUOTE
1.Create a shortcut from the rockstars main folder of the exe called "LaunchGTAIV.exe"

2. Open with "properties" on desktop of that shorcut and in the target add the following additions:

"E:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto IV\LaunchGTAIV.exe" -norestrictions  /high

-norestrictions = lets the game not restrict your settings, this wont do anything for FPS or performance as-is and is just helpfull when testing, some say it doesnt work for them (they still get restrictions) but again this is all about my own experience with my rig and it does work for me.

/high - Runs the game under vista at highest priority, gives mem and cpu access to this over all other processes.

-DX9 & /high have made it so I dont get stutters it runs, before I had same fps without these flags but having to set textures to medium (yuck) ... so I know for a fact this has helped and made a difference. For those with xp still try "/high" even if your in DX9 by default and give it a go.


Cant be certain but try it.

Mr_Noodles
  • Mr_Noodles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#17

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:28 PM

Thought I'd update my thread here with a bit of "good" news.

Despite "giving up" I would occasionally try to start the game, including trying old tricks like setting my native resolution to 800x600, turning dowm sound acceleration, etc. All stuff that had no effect. I even went so far as to put in a customer support ticket with R* (to which I received a reply stating my question would be handled in the next 24 hrs, which was 2 1/2 days ago and no reply).

Anyway, after all the microsoft crap I downloaded to try and get my game to work I thought it would be a good idea to run some spyware removal. So I booted in safe mode and ran Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware. Found some stuff, got rid of it, restarted in normal mode. Windows booted, thought what the hell I'll try GTAIV. Game loads and plays very well on my machine (except for some weird instances when my textures go to pot and my car floats around).

I still feel like I'm on a time bomb and this thing could stop working at anytime, however it's been 2 days now and it still works. I don't get how or why but at least it appears that I don't have to try and return it. Crazy.

Hejsurt
  • Hejsurt

    Hell yeh!

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#18

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:37 PM

Well, when I play for like 20mins my comp shuts down. Strange? mercie_blink.gif

Jimmy_Lemon
  • Jimmy_Lemon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#19

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:11 PM

QUOTE (Mr_Noodles @ Dec 6 2008, 16:28)
Thought I'd update my thread here with a bit of "good" news.

Despite "giving up" I would occasionally try to start the game, including trying old tricks like setting my native resolution to 800x600, turning dowm sound acceleration, etc. All stuff that had no effect. I even went so far as to put in a customer support ticket with R* (to which I received a reply stating my question would be handled in the next 24 hrs, which was 2 1/2 days ago and no reply).

Anyway, after all the microsoft crap I downloaded to try and get my game to work I thought it would be a good idea to run some spyware removal. So I booted in safe mode and ran Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware. Found some stuff, got rid of it, restarted in normal mode. Windows booted, thought what the hell I'll try GTAIV. Game loads and plays very well on my machine (except for some weird instances when my textures go to pot and my car floats around).

I still feel like I'm on a time bomb and this thing could stop working at anytime, however it's been 2 days now and it still works. I don't get how or why but at least it appears that I don't have to try and return it. Crazy.

Glad you got yours sorted smile.gif I am still stuck in a lovely loop between Social Club and Dos screen sad.gif

Highwayman72
  • Highwayman72

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#20

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:17 PM

QUOTE (Hejsurt @ Dec 6 2008, 16:37)
Well, when I play for like 20mins my comp shuts down. Strange? mercie_blink.gif

probbly overheated




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users