Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Graphical Performance Readme

387 replies to this topic
saberon
  • saberon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#1

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:37 AM Edited by saberon, 03 December 2008 - 01:03 AM.

Here is an interesting README i found on R* website, looks like performance problems might be "intentional"






THE GRAPHIC SETTINGS OF GRAND THEFT AUTO IV PC

Most users using current PC hardware as of December 2008 are advised to use medium graphics settings. Higher settings are provided for future generations of PCs with higher specifications than are currently widely available.

Graphics settings are limited by system resources by default. 256MB video cards force minimum settings by default. If a user bypasses these safety measures using command line arguments and exceeds their system resources, the users gaming experience may be compromised.


Video Mode
Resolution scaling effects water, reflections, shadows, mirrors and the visible viewable distance. The resolution settings relate to the amount of available video memory. At 2560*1600 the game will require 320MB of video memory in addition to all the memory required for content. At 800*600 the game will require 32MB of video memory in addition to the content. Medium resolution settings are recommended for most users as higher settings are only usable if there is available video memory.

Texture Quality
Texture quality affects the visual quality of the content of the game. High setting for textures will require 600MB of video memory at a setting of 21 View Distance in addition to the memory taken by the Video Mode. A medium texture setting is recommended for most users.

Render Quality
Render quality is the texture filter quality used on most things in the world rendering. Most people would know this as anisotropic filtering. Medium settings are recommended for most users and will provide filtering beyond what the console versions can execute.

View Distance
View distance scales the distance in which different objects in the world such as building and cars are seen. Raising this option increases the distance in which high quality objects must be loaded and will increase the memory it requires. Restrictions are established to ensure the game runs optimally for most users. A setting of 22 or more will provide PC users an enhanced experience over the console versions.

Detail Distance
Detail distance scales aspects of the environment that the View Distance setting does not including vegetation, trash and other moveable objects. A setting of 10 would be the equivalent to the performance on a console. This setting has little effect on memory.

Vehicle Density
Vehicle density scales the traffic density of the traffic in the game. It has no effect on the mission vehicles or difficultly of the game, but can have a significant impact on CPU performance

Shadow Density
Shadow Density controls the number of shadows generated for positional lights in exterior environments. These shadows are exclusive to the PC version and can have a major impact on CPU and GPU performance.

Crossfire/SLI
With the latest ATI driver (8-11 series) the game supports crossfire modes (ie. 4870x2)
SLI is currently unsupported. Support will be added through a future game patch as well as an updated Nvidia driver.


NOTE: Background Processes
Certain background processes can have a detrimental effect on system performance when playing GTA IV, especially on systems with minimum required system memory. Users should ensure they disable their Virus scans when running the game to maximize performance.

Ottae
  • Ottae

    (/'ɒteɪ/)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005
  • None

#2

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:40 AM

QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
b) Its next-next gen *rolls eyes*

No, it's a next-gen port. We're currently in a Generation which allows medium settings. The next gen will allow high settings. Pretty clever if you ask me.

GTAMonkey2012
  • GTAMonkey2012

    Hustler

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#3

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:40 AM

Interesting and after pissing about most of the day this all rings very true.

dr.whiz
  • dr.whiz

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#4

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:43 AM

pretty good hands on information which im sure most people have ignored reading smile.gif

Democrab
  • Democrab

    Tornado of Souls

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2008

#5

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:45 AM

QUOTE (Ottae @ Dec 3 2008, 11:40)
QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
b) Its next-next gen *rolls eyes*

No, it's a next-gen port. We're currently in a Generation which allows medium settings. The next gen will allow high settings. Pretty clever if you ask me.

The problem is, PCs are a Generation above Consoles at the moment, but because of crappy coding (I guess), IV won't run to the full usability of PCs today, Minimum should be consoles, Medium should be above consoles and high should be Crysis-like if they Optimised it correctly.

DarkZenith
  • DarkZenith

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2008

#6

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:47 AM

They're basically trying to prevent their support staff having to deal with thousands of irate customers, who don't seem to realise that their 5 year old PC can't run the game on maximum settings! But, as with most people, reading appears to be an art that they have yet to master.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#7

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:48 AM

Useful info. This should be pinned.

Dual Weilder
  • Dual Weilder

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2008

#8

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:51 AM

This is very good information. Now people can stop complaining about why there top end computers cant even run gta4 max graphics... Read it and weep

disposeablehero
  • disposeablehero

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2008

#9

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:53 AM

QUOTE (Dual Weilder @ Dec 3 2008, 00:51)
This is very good information. Now people can stop complaining about why there top end computers cant even run gta4 run it max graphics... Read it and weep

Actually, this is BS propaganda to make people think it takes 1.5 GB Vram to play a game that conmsoels with 512 MB total ram were able to run. BS.

DHoff
  • DHoff

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2008

#10

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:53 AM

A very good read, thanks.

smokeythedemon
  • smokeythedemon

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2006

#11

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:54 AM

QUOTE (Dual Weilder @ Dec 2 2008, 16:51)
This is very good information. Now people can stop complaining about why there top end computers cant even run gta4 max graphics... Read it and weep

Lol um no. It's a bad port and it needs a patch ASAP.

CharmingCharlie
  • CharmingCharlie

    Proud PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2006

#12

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:54 AM

I'll pin it for now, it might calm things down a bit (yeah right I really am not looking forward to getting up tomorrow when the Europeans have the game).

Going to change the topic title too if the TC doesn't mind.

saberon
  • saberon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#13

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:56 AM

Was just going to ask you to change it to something better, thank you!

Democrab
  • Democrab

    Tornado of Souls

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2008

#14

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:57 AM

QUOTE (CharmingCharlie @ Dec 3 2008, 11:54)
I'll pin it for now, it might calm things down a bit (yeah right I really am not looking forward to getting up tomorrow when the Europeans have the game).

Going to change the topic title too if the TC doesn't mind.

Maybe GTA IV is racist to Americans and you'll have no problems from Europeans? J/k. tounge.gif

saberon
  • saberon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#15

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:57 AM

Hey Hey I'm a Canadian.. biggrin.gif


Thank you for the title change!

DarkZenith
  • DarkZenith

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2008

#16

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:58 AM

It's not unusual to have issues with a newly released game, in an ideal world it wouldn't happen, sadly this is far from an ideal world. There will probably be a patch in the coming weeks, I'm going to be getting my copy soon, so I'll see if I have an problems. It's likely something to do with people's systems, as some appear to be running it without so much as a hitch, while others can't run it at all.

camdean
  • camdean

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2004

#17

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:59 AM

Nice post, next gen games are always going to make you feel crappy no matter how good your rig is, unless you don't understand the meaning 'next-gen' then you will just be happy to play a qaulity game on better settings than the console smile.gif


Sleep, wake up, mc.donalds for breakfast, get game and enjoy cool.gif

CharmingCharlie
  • CharmingCharlie

    Proud PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2006

#18

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:02 AM

QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 01:57)
Thank you for the title change!

No problem, thanks for finding the information and bringing it to our attention. Hopefully it will help a few people out or at least clarify things a bit.

I haven't got the game myself yet (postie bringing it tomorrow) but I always had a sneaky suspicion that Medium was the sweat spot for most people. But I won't say anything more till I have tried the game myself.

saberon
  • saberon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#19

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:04 AM

QUOTE (CharmingCharlie @ Dec 3 2008, 01:02)
QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 01:57)
Thank you for the title change!

No problem, thanks for finding the information and bringing it to our attention. Hopefully it will help a few people out or at least clarify things a bit.

I haven't got the game myself yet (postie bringing it tomorrow) but I always had a sneaky suspicion that Medium was the sweat spot for most people. But I won't say anything more till I have tried the game myself.

Yea funny thing is im only 33% done downloading off steam (for some reason its only going 1/3 of my max speed)

E8400
4GB DDR2
HIS 4870 512mb
XP SP3

Posting tomorrow w/ my results

TruXter
  • TruXter

    retXurT

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2004
  • None

#20

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:17 AM

QUOTE (Joe. @ Dec 3 2008, 00:45)
QUOTE (Ottae @ Dec 3 2008, 11:40)
QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
b) Its next-next gen *rolls eyes*

No, it's a next-gen port. We're currently in a Generation which allows medium settings. The next gen will allow high settings. Pretty clever if you ask me.

The problem is, PCs are a Generation above Consoles at the moment, but because of crappy coding (I guess), IV won't run to the full usability of PCs today, Minimum should be consoles, Medium should be above consoles and high should be Crysis-like if they Optimised it correctly.

Crysis like ?

you mean coded so bad that it won't run?

It is probably best if we compare crappy coded games to crappy coded games..
and crysis is one crappy built game..

Good call.

qrpiech
  • qrpiech

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#21

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:20 AM

QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
Here is an interesting README i found on R* website, looks like performance problems might be "intentional"






THE GRAPHIC SETTINGS OF GRAND THEFT AUTO IV PC

Most users using current PC hardware as of December 2008 are advised to use medium graphics settings. Higher settings are provided for future generations of PCs with higher specifications than are currently widely available.

Bullsh*t.



What about this guy? If u believe rockstar, then he must have a time machine in his pc...

Rockstar wants you to think it's supposed to behave this way, but it's not. PERIOD.

Ottae
  • Ottae

    (/'ɒteɪ/)

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005
  • None

#22

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:23 AM

QUOTE (qrpiech @ Dec 3 2008, 01:20)
QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
Here is an interesting README i found on R* website, looks like performance problems might be "intentional"






THE GRAPHIC SETTINGS OF GRAND THEFT AUTO IV PC

Most users using current PC hardware as of December 2008 are advised to use medium graphics settings. Higher settings are provided for future generations of PCs with higher specifications than are currently widely available.

Bullsh*t.



What about this guy? If u believe rockstar, then he must have a time machine in his pc...

Rockstar wants you to think it's supposed to behave this way, but it's not. PERIOD.

QUOTE (Youtube Video Description)
This is a crazy bug that just occured on my brand new GTA 4 PC Version I purchased today. I played a little, stopped playing, drank a coffee, started the game again (I didn't change any options!) and this crazy bug appeared. Some black blocks are reflected by the cars and the street and the framerate was between 40 and 600! Most of the time it is 40-50 and on some places (like shown in the video) it goes much further!
Forgot to say that I had a crappy 15-30 fps before! The graphics are the same as before , there are just these black things that are being reflected. This bug looks weird but it lets the framerate go megahigh so please analyse this, Rockstar and give us a Patch, I (and many other PC-Players) want to play at this framerate!


It's called a bug, he said the graphics remained the same but the FPS was higher.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#23

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:24 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 03 December 2008 - 01:32 AM.

That's a bug in the game. He explicitly said that. It's cool to have that speed but the game just won't look right.

Edit: Got beaten.

qrpiech
  • qrpiech

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#24

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:29 AM Edited by qrpiech, 03 December 2008 - 01:33 AM.

So IT CAN run fast on a sh*tty (by rockstars definition) computer. The guy just showed something that makes rockstar look idiotic with their "uber future computers will handle it on medium/high" bullsh*t.

Well guys, if you call proper fps a bug, then we're done talking. Doesn't matter if there are black reflection bugs or not - the game looks almost as it should, and runs smooth. You've seen it. And rockstar states it's impossible. Who do you believe? Your eyes or rockstar?

zepman79
  • zepman79

    GTA 1 - IV Player

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2002

#25

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:48 AM

since when is YouTube considered the same thing as seeing something with your own eyes?

Please....

Knyte
  • Knyte

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2008

#26

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:15 AM

QUOTE (disposeablehero @ Dec 3 2008, 00:53)
QUOTE (Dual Weilder @ Dec 3 2008, 00:51)
This is very good information. Now people can stop complaining about why there top end computers cant even run gta4 run it max graphics... Read it and weep

Actually, this is BS propaganda to make people think it takes 1.5 GB Vram to play a game that conmsoels with 512 MB total ram were able to run. BS.

Yes, because the console run this game at 25601600. (Most 30" LCD monitors' native resolution.)

Oh wait... no they don't, they only have to run it at 1280720. (720p)

Try these settings*:

1280x720
Texture Quality = Medium
Render Quality = Low
View Distance = 21
Detail Distance = 10

Now see if you can get 30FPS.

If you can, your computer can run it as well as the consoles.


*Based on R*'s Readme information.

BAMJ6
  • BAMJ6

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2008

#27

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:28 AM

QUOTE (Knyte @ Dec 2 2008, 22:15)
[QUOTE=disposeablehero,Dec 3 2008, 00:53]

Try these settings*:

1280x720
Texture Quality = Medium
Render Quality = Low
View Distance = 21
Detail Distance = 10

Now see if you can get 30FPS.

If you can, your computer can run it as well as the consoles.


*Based on R*'s Readme information.

The resolution is around mine at 1152x864. I use 1152x864 because my 19 inch lcd's native 1280x1024 doesn't feel right to me. 1024x768 my longtime native resolution looks different on the lcd 19 inch. 1152x864 on the 19 inch lcd feels right to me

When my x2 4800 Toledo arrives from the mail for my current mobo, it'll be better than the consoles.


aNdReSk
  • aNdReSk

    O_o

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2006

#28

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:43 AM

I dont really care If i have no shadows, no water reflexion, hell i dont care if i have no rain lol.
As long as GTA IV runs smoothly and looks a little bit better than San Andreas, it's fine with me biggrin.gif

Im just waiting till a new multiplayer mode comes where we can choose any pedestrian skin and we can select car spawn places for online servers biggrin.gif

O_o sort of like a World of GTA (Warcraft tounge.gif ) or SA-MP

Guus
  • Guus

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:46 AM

QUOTE (Ottae @ Dec 3 2008, 00:40)
QUOTE (saberon @ Dec 3 2008, 00:37)
b) Its next-next gen *rolls eyes*

No, it's a next-gen port. We're currently in a Generation which allows medium settings. The next gen will allow high settings. Pretty clever if you ask me.


Is this meant as some kind of bad joke?

This game is released now but it's meant for the future?

Then put a big sticker on the box; that tells every nerd around the world that wants buy this poorly coded game game: DONT BUY THIS GAME NOW, ITS CODED FOR THE FUTURE. THE PC'S AREN'T READY FOR IT YET. rolleyes.gif suicidal.gif mercie_blink.gif

Malik
  • Malik

    IV

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2008

#30

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:50 AM

QUOTE
Crossfire/SLI
With the latest ATI driver (8-11 series) the game supports crossfire modes (ie. 4870x2)
SLI is currently unsupported. Support will be added through a future game patch as well as an updated Nvidia driver.


And who said ATI got screwed over nvidias back sly.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users