Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV: Screenshots

4,873 replies to this topic
1ManArmy
  • 1ManArmy

    Pirate

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2008

#91

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:19 AM

There are alot of pc gamers here... and out of them all, i'm sure there is atleast one guy with a really epic top notch pc that is probably the best for gaming. Can that guy post some screenshots of the game and give us his/her opinion about the gtaiv pc?

Levitch
  • Levitch

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2008

#92

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:19 AM

we want more pics!!!

please

Rickzu
  • Rickzu

    Hay guys!

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2006
  • Finland

#93

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:20 AM

QUOTE (Malik @ Dec 2 2008, 10:15)
did they even test this or just spent 7 months partying and just last week or so ported this in a hurry

I've been wondering about the same thing. I spent a good amount of money on upgrading my PC, and if R* really did such a horrible job...people are going to DIE....I'm serious...

user posted image

Cojage
  • Cojage

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#94

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:21 AM

Thanks for the lowest settings screenshot dave. Hopefully i can play it with the options to 40-50% and it will look a bit better but the lowest settings are still playable at least.

No disrespect to ati users but i do hope that the problem is with ati cards personally and that it will play smoother on nvidia cards, or R* messed up and should have took their time instead of rushing it.

Ron Taboga
  • Ron Taboga

    Silent Sniper

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2008

#95

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:21 AM

These Graphics (Maxxed Out) definitevily look not better than Fallout 3 which runs like a Dream. And the Traffic is only a matter of the CPU.

Devilz_89
  • Devilz_89

    SandBox_playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2008

#96

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:21 AM

Hey Boostaa,
Can you tell which particular setting effects the frame-rate the most. Does reducing the shadow/vehicle-density bar significantly effect the fps?

divinee
  • divinee

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 May 2008

#97

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:22 AM

QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 02:12)
From memory those screenshots had about 25 fps. Drops down to the mid teens quite often, rarely goes above 30. If i lower the sliders all the way down it runs above 30 for the most part but looks really awful. Those screenshots look better than it looks in game as well because they had to be resized for photobucket. Shadows look bad all the time, and anything like a wire fence looks terrible. If anybody can host pics let me know and i can send some full size ones.

1 word.... fck

Malik
  • Malik

    IV

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Feb 2008

#98

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:24 AM

QUOTE (Cojage @ Dec 2 2008, 10:21)
Thanks for the lowest settings screenshot dave. Hopefully i can play it with the options to 40-50% and it will look a bit better but the lowest settings are still playable at least.

No disrespect to ati users but i do hope that the problem is with ati cards personally and that it will play smoother on nvidia cards, or R* messed up and should have took their time instead of rushing it.

Its with both, look at how good the screens from bostaa look and thats ATI

Vasil
  • Vasil

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#99

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:24 AM Edited by Vasil, 02 December 2008 - 10:26 AM.

QUOTE (Ron Taboga @ Dec 2 2008, 10:21)
These Graphics (Maxxed Out) definitevily look not better than Fallout 3 which runs like a Dream. And the Traffic is only a matter of the CPU.

The minimum ones look worse than Just Cause. How did they have the nuts to say that minimum=console versions?

edited as seen you were talking about the maxed out ones tounge.gif .

Shadow Kipper
  • Shadow Kipper

    [★] The Crook Department™

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2008

#100

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:26 AM

QUOTE (Cojage @ Dec 2 2008, 10:21)
Thanks for the lowest settings screenshot dave. Hopefully i can play it with the options to 40-50% and it will look a bit better but the lowest settings are still playable at least.


I agree with you.
My specs are nothing special but they do meet the Minimum Requirements (except SP3 which Im hoping can be avoided seeing as SP3 is just an update and not a BootDisk, if it has to be obtained then I'll try and install it)

I'm not hellbent on playing this game with OMG MAX WIDESCREEN 1204X1048 100 100 100 100 HIGH HIGHEST FLAWLESS 30FPS.

No.

Im just hoping mine will work let alone bawling over having amazing specs

1ManArmy
  • 1ManArmy

    Pirate

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2008

#101

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:28 AM

Wow, hearing all the problems, i'm glad I didn't use my money for the pc version. I would have wasted one month of a holiday waiting for this day and also alot more money for upgrading my pc( since upgrading my com to the req will cost more then my ps3). Phew...

thereisnospoon
  • thereisnospoon

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2008

#102

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:32 AM

QUOTE (1ManArmy @ Dec 2 2008, 05:28)
Wow, hearing all the problems, i'm glad I didn't use my money for the pc version. I would have wasted one month of a holiday waiting for this day and also alot more money for upgrading my pc( since upgrading my com to the req will cost more then my ps3). Phew...

It'll probably be fixed soon. Have fun missing out.

Shadow Kipper
  • Shadow Kipper

    [★] The Crook Department™

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2008

#103

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:34 AM

QUOTE (thereisnospoon @ Dec 2 2008, 10:32)
QUOTE (1ManArmy @ Dec 2 2008, 05:28)
Wow, hearing all the problems, i'm glad I didn't use my money for the pc version. I would have wasted one month of a holiday waiting for this day and also alot more money for upgrading my pc( since upgrading my com to the req will cost more then my ps3). Phew...

It'll probably be fixed soon. Have fun missing out.

it?

This isnt one generic game fault.

These are multiple faults on different processors and units.


Think before you type. tounge.gif

One-time
  • One-time

    One-man show

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2008

#104

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:34 AM

@1ManArmy:
If you're a gamer, upgrading your PC won't be a disappointment.

Boostaa
  • Boostaa

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2008

#105

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:34 AM Edited by Boostaa, 02 December 2008 - 10:37 AM.

View distance makes the biggest diff. The problem is, even when you are staring at a wall and you turn the view distance up it starts to chugg really badly. smacks of unoptimized code.

Some full size pics- All settings maxed cept draw distance which is on 45.

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-03-55.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-22-09-08-1.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-11-49.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-47-29-81-1.jpg

1ManArmy
  • 1ManArmy

    Pirate

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2008

#106

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:39 AM

QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
@1ManArmy:
If you're a gamer, upgrading your PC won't be a disappointment.

Yeah, but seeing as i'm not working I only have a limited amount of cash to spend on games and stuff. I had to save for months and sell off my psp to have enough to buy a 80gb ps3( my dad paid abit too, since I still didn't have enough.). I'm not saying a ps3 is better then a top notch gaming pc, but i'm saying that it's more worth it for me seeing as I don't work. My pc is practically crap, upgrading it to the req would cost more then a ps3... I can't afford that and luckily I got a ps3. To those who can play the game on high, good for you guys, the graphics is better then the console versions on high and you can also change the traffic density. But unfortunately I can't afford upgrading my pc, so I take what I can get. I love my ps3.

pinky
  • pinky

    "Tooled up and chibbin' ye, ya Bass".

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2005
  • United-Kingdom

#107

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:39 AM

QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 11:34)
View distance makes the biggest diff. The problem is, even when you are staring at a wall and you turn the view distance up it starts to chugg really badly. smacks of unoptimized code.

Some full size pics- All settings maxed cept draw distance which is on 45.

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-03-55.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-22-09-08-1.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-11-49.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-47-29-81-1.jpg

Not much difference from your origonal pics, guess keeping the draw distance down deosnt lose so much detail in the background.
Draw distance was always the killer in SA too, not any different for IV either then.

Shadow Kipper
  • Shadow Kipper

    [★] The Crook Department™

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2008

#108

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:39 AM

QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
@1ManArmy:
If you're a gamer, upgrading your PC won't be a disappointment.

If mine fails its just a loss of money for me.
Im using a Dell Inspirion 17" Inspirion 1720 and the only graphics card I can upgrade to is the 8600 and it isnt the easiest/cheapest thing to get hold of.

Here's hoping

aidan87
  • aidan87

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2006

#109

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:40 AM

Game looks like sh*t sad.gif I wonder if my PC will struggle with this game..

Sniper Pilot
  • Sniper Pilot

    GTA V: George Cloony.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2008

#110

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:42 AM

QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
...smacks of unoptimized code.

Ouch i hope not....

Devilz_89
  • Devilz_89

    SandBox_playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2008

#111

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:43 AM

Great
I really thought that a 7 month delay would mean R* would sincerely sit down and optimize the game for the PC. I mean from what i've heard, the game still struggles at the lowest setting. That is a clear sign of lame-a** optimization. Just when i thought R* had a tin speck of respect for PC gamers, they gave a tight slap of our a**es. And i did not enjoy one bit of it.
Oh well, Back to Fallout 3 and Far Cry 2 for me... mad.gif

nixxio
  • nixxio

    Cow-tippin Crack Baby

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2007
  • None

#112

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:44 AM

QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
View distance makes the biggest diff. The problem is, even when you are staring at a wall and you turn the view distance up it starts to chugg really badly. smacks of unoptimized code.

Some full size pics- All settings maxed cept draw distance which is on 45.

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-03-55.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-22-09-08-1.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-11-49.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-47-29-81-1.jpg

That 2nd screenshot is beautiful!

I've noticed though, is there AA at all in this game?

dannythepetrock
  • dannythepetrock

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2008

#113

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:45 AM

what rig are you running this on, boostaa?

divinee
  • divinee

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 May 2008

#114

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:45 AM

QUOTE (1ManArmy @ Dec 2 2008, 02:39)
QUOTE (One-time @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
@1ManArmy:
If you're a gamer, upgrading your PC won't be a disappointment.

Yeah, but seeing as i'm not working I only have a limited cash to spend on games and stuff. I had to save for months and sell off my psp to have enough to buy a 80gb ps3. I'm not saying a ps3 is better then a top notch gaming pc, but i'm saying that it's more worth it for me seeing as I don't work. My pc is practically crap, upgrading it to the req would cost more then a ps3... I can't afford that and luckily I got a ps3. To those who can play the game on high, good for you guys, the graphics is better then the console versions on high and you can also change the traffic density. But unfortunately I can't afford upgrading my pc, so I take what I can get. I love my ps3.

yeah same with my cousin. his pc is garbage and he wanted to upgrade to play it but it would cost him more then a ps3. we both dont game much and the most graphical intense game he plays is css. so we both agree for him to get ps3 instead. i used $1300 on a new pc this year... more then my ps2, ps3, and its games combined wow.gif

Delite
  • Delite

    Square Civilian

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 24 May 2008

#115

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:46 AM

QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
View distance makes the biggest diff. The problem is, even when you are staring at a wall and you turn the view distance up it starts to chugg really badly. smacks of unoptimized code.

Some full size pics- All settings maxed cept draw distance which is on 45.

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-03-55.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-22-09-08-1.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-11-49.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-47-29-81-1.jpg

WHAT THE HELL!

I hate to say it but that just like or even worse than the 360 version. And your comp is awesome.

And to the people that said the game running on Low would look like the 360 version..you're wrong as you can see.

Failed port with modders coming to clean it up, my prediction was right.

Devilz_89
  • Devilz_89

    SandBox_playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2008

#116

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:47 AM

QUOTE (rdbx1234 @ Dec 2 2008, 10:44)
I've noticed though, is there AA at all in this game?

Someone did mention a lack of AA settings. (Another sign of lazy port-job)

Gordonfreeman
  • Gordonfreeman

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#117

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:48 AM

i feel like being kicked in the balls by R* and they start counting the money that i spent on preording this game *ouch*

CameO73
  • CameO73

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2008

#118

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:49 AM

QUOTE (rdbx1234 @ Dec 2 2008, 11:44)
QUOTE (Boostaa @ Dec 2 2008, 10:34)
View distance makes the biggest diff. The problem is, even when you are staring at a wall and you turn the view distance up it starts to chugg really badly. smacks of unoptimized code.

Some full size pics- All settings maxed cept draw distance which is on 45.

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-03-55.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-22-09-08-1.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...20-46-11-49.jpg

http://i16.photobuck...-47-29-81-1.jpg

That 2nd screenshot is beautiful!

I've noticed though, is there AA at all in this game?

Apart from the really nasty looking rail tracks ... confused.gif

Cojage
  • Cojage

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2008

#119

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:49 AM

We should mail them and ask why they dont respect the pc confused.gif

Vasil
  • Vasil

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#120

Posted 02 December 2008 - 10:49 AM

That or this is a catalyst driver related problem...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users