Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

German Magazine tests the PC Version

174 replies to this topic
ROFL2008
  • ROFL2008

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2008

#1

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:18 PM Edited by ROFL2008, 27 November 2008 - 07:17 PM.

A German gamemagazine called "Gamestar" has tested GTA 4 on PC:

The result:
On a Pentium 4 and on a Pentium D Processor the game crashed!
the magazine dont tested it with ATI cards because the game crashed but rockstar said that they will fix this problem!
On older card then a geforce 7900 it maybe will run on 800x600 or lower. on 1024x786 on a geforce 7600 it laggs like hell they say!
The graphics on low are looking like the graphics on the consoles.
Remember that Gamestar only tested all low end cards with 1024x768 and not with 800x600 or 640x480!! (because its the default game resolution today)
they had an older version of the game were ati cards were not supported but in the final version they will be supported<!

You need atleast for the lowest graphics settings:

3,8 Ghz Intel Pentium D or an AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1 Gb Ram
14,9 Gb HDD Space
A Geforce 7300-7800(not on the requirements but it will run the game on lower settings then 1024x786)(for 640x480 or 800x600) or a 7900 GTX for (1024x768)(You will also run it on a Geforce 6800 but only on 640x480 on low graphics and without trafic or it will lag they say)

For medium graphics settings with resolution 1280x1024

Core 2 Duo E4400 or an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+
2 Gigs of Ram
14,9 GB HDD Space
An Geforce 8800

For High graphics settings with resolution 1680x1050

An Core 2 Duo E8600 or AMD Phenom 9650
4 Gigs Ram
14,9 Gigs HDD Space
Geforce GTX 200


If you wanna know something just ask!

Edit: Scans deletetd! If someone wants the scans PM me!

spudz47
  • spudz47

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2008

#2

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:20 PM

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD - A MILLION BILLION THANKS TO YOU!
I totally needed that. Man I am calm now, all I wanted to know is the graphics aspect.
But... scans from magazines are frowned upon here. I suggest you delete them and just give brief info...

DHoff
  • DHoff

    Li'l G Loc

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2008

#3

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:22 PM

Looks like I should run it fine....

Tomern11
  • Tomern11

    forums.gamer.co.il

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2008

#4

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:22 PM Edited by Tomern11, 25 November 2008 - 08:34 PM.

EDIT: oops, my bad
it's not good

SLAYERMAGGOT
  • SLAYERMAGGOT

    Stay Wild

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2008

#5

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:24 PM

When this is really true, than Rockstar Games would bring out some patches which fixes the game peformance

ROFL2008
  • ROFL2008

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2008

#6

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:24 PM

Yes i hope that

Tomern11
  • Tomern11

    forums.gamer.co.il

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2008

#7

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:31 PM

They didn't review it or something?

Neon25
  • Neon25

    Proud PC gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2005

#8

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:35 PM

QUOTE (ROFL2008 @ Nov 25 2008, 20:18)
The graphics on low are looking like the graphics on the consoles.

Eat that, console kiddies.

*shouts in awe*

lscratcher
  • lscratcher

    LScratcheR

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008

#9

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:41 PM

wow wo wow is this magazine trying to say that it carshes with any ati card? Even the HD 4850? ............. i think no way!!

ROFL2008
  • ROFL2008

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2008

#10

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:43 PM

no they had an older version of the game were ati cards were not supported but in the final version they will be supported<!

NTxC
  • NTxC

    GTA V.

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2006

#11

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:45 PM

OK, that scared the sh*t out of me.
I personally think my X2 5000+ with 8800GT 512 will run IV on low-to-medium details in 1024x768 with (PERHAPS) constant 20-25 FPS.

Rockstar..... WHAT THE HELL.

ROFL2008
  • ROFL2008

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2008

#12

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:51 PM

Here some more information translated into english:

- It needs finally 14,9 GB on HDD.
- With a High-End-PC (Core Quad, 4 GB RAM and GeForce GTX280) u can play it on 1680x1050 and maximum details solid, but there also are a bit droprate at fps..
- With a Low-PC (AMD X2 4000+, 1 GB RAM and GeForce 8600 GT) u can play it on 1024x728 and low details without droprates..
- Using a Pentium D or an other Single-Core-CPU the Game crashed..
- ATI Radeon Cards have a lot problems with the performance. It will be fix soon, Take2 said.
- Also with Geforce 7series Cards there are problems.. it will be fix, too.

SLAYERMAGGOT
  • SLAYERMAGGOT

    Stay Wild

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2008

#13

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:54 PM

QUOTE (NonToXIC @ Nov 25 2008, 20:45)
OK, that scared the sh*t out of me.
I personally think my X2 5000+ with 8800GT 512 will run IV on low-to-medium details in 1024x768 with (PERHAPS) constant 20-25 FPS.

Rockstar..... WHAT THE HELL.

Are you kidding me, i think it would run very well on your system biggrin.gif
I only have an AMD Core 2 4,7+ and a Nvidia 8600 GT, i hope i can run it with high settings with a resolution of 1280x1024 whatsthat.gif

SISU_RULEZ
  • SISU_RULEZ

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2008

#14

Posted 25 November 2008 - 08:56 PM Edited by SISU_RULEZ, 25 November 2008 - 08:58 PM.

so i see no problem..... smile.gif now i'm relaxed:D
@nontoxic u'll run the game with high details wink.gif ..i have almost the same config. as you only my cpu is stronger:P

spudz47
  • spudz47

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2008

#15

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:06 PM

I'm starting to think the game wont run on a Turion x2 64 2ghz and a 8400M G 512mb...
But only time will tell for sure...

Tomern11
  • Tomern11

    forums.gamer.co.il

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2008

#16

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:06 PM

They have problems with ATI cards?!!!!!
I hope that they've tested it long time ago...

aidan87
  • aidan87

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2006

#17

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:10 PM

OMFG

Vasil
  • Vasil

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2008

#18

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:10 PM

Well, I think the point is...what is "playing solid" for gamestar? Coz if itīs playing on average 25-30fps weīre all f*cked up.

Jeez
  • Jeez

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2008

#19

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:14 PM

QUOTE
The minimum required processor to play the game fine is a amd athlon 64 x2 4000+ or a core 2 duo with the same speed.


E5200 is better or worse from athlon 4000?

*can' find test comparing these two on google confused.gif

turboturd
  • turboturd

    Mayonnaise

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2008
  • None

#20

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:14 PM

WTF? if this is true i think rockstar just shot themselfs in the leg. Not with any old gun, im talking about a RPG here. icon13.gif

R.F.
  • R.F.

    I <3 R*

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006

#21

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:15 PM

Yee i`m happy right now thanks man!!! so i can run gta iv on medium - max YEEEY

spudz47
  • spudz47

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2008

#22

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:16 PM

If the game lags with everything reduced to minimum on this (http://www.specbox.n...id=S1gj7f43z5M=) I pronounce R* the worst optimizers ever.

zbos
  • zbos

    T!CK

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2003

#23

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:19 PM

I simple don't believe it.

These magazines have said before that Left 4 Dead it is not playable on GF7600 too. But it works just fine for me.

I think they just trying to make us purshare new computer hardware now...

texan1985
  • texan1985

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2008

#24

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:19 PM

wow i just saw the scan and the lowest graphics STILL look amazing. This has got me really excited!

gta-evo4
  • gta-evo4

    Pc Gamer since 20th century

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2007

#25

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:23 PM

I'm kinda worried, I know my Q6600 and 4gb ram will do fine I guess, but what about my 8800gt 512, could I play the game at medium-high at 1440@900
Someone tell me, thanks

Ron Taboga
  • Ron Taboga

    Silent Sniper

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2008

#26

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:26 PM

No one can really tell until we get the Game in our hands. For example I read in several Reviews that Stalker Clear Sky is a very demanding Game and runs only on top hardware wit full details...well on my mid range Machine it ran with full Details without AA almost all the time smooth.

Itīs hard to say until now and keep in mind that they only tested some kind of alpha version which even didnīt supported ATI cards.

ROFL2008
  • ROFL2008

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2008

#27

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:29 PM

They tested only at the resoultions 1024x768 and 1280x1024 and not on the resoultions 640x580 or 800x600!
Because this are the most used resolutions for games today!

gta-evo4
  • gta-evo4

    Pc Gamer since 20th century

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2007

#28

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:31 PM

QUOTE (Ron Taboga @ Nov 25 2008, 21:26)
No one can really tell until we get the Game in our hands. For example I read in several Reviews that Stalker Clear Sky is a very demanding Game and runs only on top hardware wit full details...well on my mid range Machine it ran with full Details without AA almost all the time smooth.

Itīs hard to say until now and keep in mind that they only tested some kind of alpha version which even didnīt supported ATI cards.

Clear Sky runs like a charm on my system and any other game so far. Damn I'm confused
Lets wait and see I guess.

gta-man22
  • gta-man22

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2008

#29

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:38 PM

the game will crash!! the game will crash!! the game will crash!!

I HATE THAT a game dont crash because it dont have the minimun requeriments, i played crysis in a p4 with a 6600 gt and yeah it run at like 5 fps on low but it dont crashed!

If the game really crash in my face then POOR JOB ROCKSTAR icon13.gif

gamerzworld
  • gamerzworld

    Why did I move here? I guess it was to bounce.

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2005
  • United-States

#30

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:45 PM

Clam down guys. They didn't even play the final version! These bugs are most likely the reason the game was delayed.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users