Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

System Reqs / test if your PC can run GTA IV here

4,155 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you meet the requirements? (4286 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you meet the requirements?

  1. Yes (Recommended Requirements) (1703 votes [49.82%])

    Percentage of vote: 49.82%

  2. Yes (Minimum Requirements) (994 votes [29.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 29.08%

  3. No (721 votes [21.09%])

    Percentage of vote: 21.09%

Vote Guests cannot vote
lazloisdavrock
  • lazloisdavrock

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Mar 2008
  • None

#4141

Posted 23 November 2014 - 07:29 AM

those index ratings are so unreliable 


cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#4142

Posted 25 November 2014 - 02:48 AM

Here are the recommended system requirements for GTA IV that Rockstar gave out:

 

  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz, AMD Phenom X3 2.1Ghz
  • Memory: 2GB (Windows XP) 2.5GB (Windows Vista)
  • Video Card: 512MB NVIDIA 8600 / 512MB ATI 3870

Bullsh*t that this kind of setup can run GTA IV at 1080p, with everything set to Very High (minus View and Detail distance, f*ck those options) and get 60FPS. Does anyone have an estimate on what realistic CPU+GPU would be capable of doing this?


Kampret
  • Kampret

    GabeN is fat.

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 23 May 2014
  • Indonesia

#4143

Posted 25 November 2014 - 12:41 PM

Here are the recommended system requirements for GTA IV that Rockstar gave out:

 

  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz, AMD Phenom X3 2.1Ghz
  • Memory: 2GB (Windows XP) 2.5GB (Windows Vista)
  • Video Card: 512MB NVIDIA 8600 / 512MB ATI 3870

Bullsh*t that this kind of setup can run GTA IV at 1080p, with everything set to Very High (minus View and Detail distance, f*ck those options) and get 60FPS. Does anyone have an estimate on what realistic CPU+GPU would be capable of doing this?

 

1080p 60 FPS? Most powerful rigs can't maintain a solid 60, usually drops to low 50's. But this:

 

Intel Core i5 4690K

4GB DDR3-2133

GTX 760

 

Should be able to come close. This game runs great on NVIDIA, not so on AMD.

  • cp1dell likes this

cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#4144

Posted 25 November 2014 - 09:19 PM

Yeah, it seems Rockstar has always leaned towards NVidia. As do most developers.


El Oso Blanco
  • El Oso Blanco

    That guy with the AK

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2012
  • United-States

#4145

Posted 27 November 2014 - 07:45 AM

This game on max with my PC. i3 4330+ r9 270 never went above 40 in a six star chase across Algonquin. Sort of hovered around low 30s. 

 

The fact that I can run newer and better looking games with 60 really says a lot. Then again, a lot of active AI happening in a six star chase with max traffic density so I can't say much but.. damn. Not to mention system ran slightly hotter than normal.


bean123123
  • bean123123

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2014
  • Australia

#4146

Posted 30 November 2014 - 08:54 PM

I turned alot of settings to medium, 40 render distances, 8x AA. With V-Sync 1080p 60hz i get a constant 53 FPS on a GTX 760. Man o man, this 53 FPS is so much better than those the lows of 30-40 when i was running max. It has made the game much smoother and quite enjoyable to play now.


cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#4147

Posted 05 December 2014 - 08:51 PM

i5-4690

GTX 770

 

1600x900

Everything as high as it can go, detail and view distance at 35 because my resolution isn't huge to the point where any higher values would show much difference. I'm getting 50-60FPS. Totally different from playing the game at a locked 30FPS with my old rig.


DaBOSS54320
  • DaBOSS54320

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2014
  • United-States

#4148

Posted 06 December 2014 - 11:57 PM Edited by DaBOSS54320, 07 December 2014 - 09:07 AM.

Hey guys, quick question... soon I'll be upgrading my PC and getting a GTX 970 and i7-4790K @ 4.0GHz. I think that'll allow me to play with max settings, but my question is do you guys know if I'll be able to play with quality ENB mods, and be able to have a lot of modded traffic cars without getting the taxi bug?


El Oso Blanco
  • El Oso Blanco

    That guy with the AK

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2012
  • United-States

#4149

Posted 20 December 2014 - 01:36 AM

I don't see how that would ever drop below 60 fps even in Star Junction. Then again this is GTAIV we're talking about.

 

Anyway my cpu+gpu combo listed above is able to handle the big name enbs like ICEnhancer and Natural ENB, but only at max 40fps. You should be fine.


DaBOSS54320
  • DaBOSS54320

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2014
  • United-States

#4150

Posted 26 December 2014 - 01:45 AM Edited by DaBOSS54320, 28 December 2014 - 05:26 AM.

Thanks for answering, and tomorrow when I put them in I'll be able to actually test it out, and may upload a youtube video of it if anyone cares.

 

Edit: Here's the video.

 


Avenged Sevenfold
  • Avenged Sevenfold

    A7X FAN

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2014
  • Brazil

#4151

Posted 12 January 2015 - 11:40 PM Edited by Avenged Sevenfold, 12 January 2015 - 11:41 PM.


Does anyone here have an AMD build that can max out GTA IV (other than detail and draw distance) and get 60FPS? Unless I shell out a bunch of cash for a new mobo and cpu, I'm stuck with AMD CPUs until it's worth the price and performance of getting a new mobo and Intel CPU, backing up my data, reinstalling the OS, etc.

 
Heck, my Athlon X4 760K, paired with HD 6770 can run the game at *almost* max (with console draw distance and detail distance, and also vehicle density). Ran between 25 (on crowded areas on Dukes) - 60. FPS.

New specs:
 
AMD Athlon X4 760K (on Turbo mode 4.1 GHz)
4GB DDR3-1600
AMD Radeon HD 6770
 
Settings:
1366x768 @60Hz
Textures: High
Reflections: High
Water Quality: High
Shadow Quality: Medium
Night Shadows: Off
View Distance: 22
Detail Distance: 20
Vehicle Density: 33
Definition: On
V-sync: On
 
FPS: 25 to 60 (any suggestions for a 30 FPS capper?)
Put Textures and reflection on medium and view distance in 1,Also put vsync off

Kampret
  • Kampret

    GabeN is fat.

  • The Yardies
  • Joined: 23 May 2014
  • Indonesia

#4152

Posted 13 January 2015 - 12:34 AM Edited by Kampret, 13 January 2015 - 12:35 AM.

 

 

Does anyone here have an AMD build that can max out GTA IV (other than detail and draw distance) and get 60FPS? Unless I shell out a bunch of cash for a new mobo and cpu, I'm stuck with AMD CPUs until it's worth the price and performance of getting a new mobo and Intel CPU, backing up my data, reinstalling the OS, etc.

 
Heck, my Athlon X4 760K, paired with HD 6770 can run the game at *almost* max (with console draw distance and detail distance, and also vehicle density). Ran between 25 (on crowded areas on Dukes) - 60. FPS.

New specs:
 
AMD Athlon X4 760K (on Turbo mode 4.1 GHz)
4GB DDR3-1600
AMD Radeon HD 6770
 
Settings:
1366x768 @60Hz
Textures: High
Reflections: High
Water Quality: High
Shadow Quality: Medium
Night Shadows: Off
View Distance: 22
Detail Distance: 20
Vehicle Density: 33
Definition: On
V-sync: On
 
FPS: 25 to 60 (any suggestions for a 30 FPS capper?)
Put Textures and reflection on medium and view distance in 1,Also put vsync off

 

 

Why would I? Overclocking the GPU a bit helped quite a bit. I'm perfectly fine with 30 FPS.

 

Also I've bumped the settings:

1366x768

Textures: High
Reflections: High
Water Quality: High
Shadow Quality: High
Night Shadows: Medium
View Distance: 36
Detail Distance: 32
Vehicle Density: 45
Definition: On
V-sync: On
 
Runs at 30-55 FPS. 30 FPS cap via RivaTuner Statistics Server.
  • Avenged Sevenfold likes this

Twilight Sky
  • Twilight Sky

    Driftin' at the apex, sliding into 1rst.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 May 2014
  • United-States

#4153

Posted 15 January 2015 - 02:24 PM

The thing I hate about delays is, the wait til the previously scheduled month of release to announce the push back.


trooperobrien
  • trooperobrien

    Player Hater

  • New Members
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2015
  • United-States

#4154

Posted 29 January 2015 - 02:04 AM

Will this work for GTA IV PC:

 

2.58 GHz

 

4GB RAM

 

500 GB HD

 

WINDOWS 8.1


cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#4155

Posted 02 March 2015 - 05:01 AM Edited by cp1dell, 02 March 2015 - 05:03 AM.

New build for quite some time.

 

  • Patch 1.0.7.0
  • 1600x900 resolution
  • All settings Very High
  • View Distance: 21, Detail Distance: 10
  • Max vehicle density
  • TrafficLoad mod that multiplies the ped density by 3 (3 Times the amount of peds than default, just like how 100 Vehicle density is about 3x the amount of vehicles of the console version)
  • ENB mod that just fixes the reflections to look like Patch 4 (No more square reflections on vehicles)
  • SweetFX to force AA
  • V-Sync disabled in-game, Adaptive V-Sync through NVidia Control Panel

 

i5-4690

GTX 770

 

Nice, solid, 60FPS. Benchmarked just about 5 minutes and Fraps says I get an average of 58FPS.

 

Needless to say I'm pretty happy I went back to Intel and Nvidia. IV has never felt so smooth and fluid.

  • KogerOnControls likes this

Nick
  • Nick

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2013
  • None
  • April Fools Winner 2015
    Best New Gang 2014 [RBE]

#4156

Posted 08 March 2015 - 05:03 AM

Will this work for GTA IV PC:

 

2.58 GHz

 

4GB RAM

 

500 GB HD

 

WINDOWS 8.1

 

What's your GPU? Sounds like you may be able to run it at this point.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users