Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA IV System Requirements

4,180 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you meet the requirements? (4312 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you meet the requirements?

  1. Yes (Recommended Requirements) (1722 votes [49.99%])

    Percentage of vote: 49.99%

  2. Yes (Minimum Requirements) (1001 votes [29.06%])

    Percentage of vote: 29.06%

  3. No (722 votes [20.96%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.96%

Vote Guests cannot vote
AuSsIeThUnDeR36
  • AuSsIeThUnDeR36

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2012

#4081

Posted 07 May 2013 - 07:34 AM

QUOTE (Girish @ Sunday, May 5 2013, 18:02)
QUOTE (insideman40 @ Saturday, May 4 2013, 22:59)
Can this PC run GTA IV and if it can how well

http://www.officedep..._cat=2000000353

Nah, you're going to need a dedicated GFX card.

@AuSsIeThUnDeR36:
What graphics card does it have?

It has 1 GB dedicated AMD Radeon whatever that is. It uses crossfire to enable cpu to go to high performance when gaming. I dunno I'm no tech guru. I have original Far Cry and I can max the settings on that which makes the game look awesome but a steady warm stream of air comes through the vents, i guess that's normal when gaming at high graphic rate.

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4082

Posted 07 May 2013 - 09:06 PM

You may run it on Medium settings at most then - but that depends on the GPU. Use GPU-Z to find out more about it.

coolboy.rp15
  • coolboy.rp15

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2013

#4083

Posted 08 May 2013 - 03:09 PM

when I run gta iv from LaunchGTAIV.exe a black screen comes and goes backs and a n error cones that "GTA IV has stop working"
plsss help me........ barf8bd.gif

insideman40
  • insideman40

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2013

#4084

Posted 11 May 2013 - 07:17 PM

how well will this run GTA IV

http://www.amazon.co...#productDetails

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4085

Posted 11 May 2013 - 07:22 PM

I'd say somewhere around Medium settings.

@coolboy: Where did you get the game from? Is there any crack installed?

Crixus
  • Crixus

    Gladiator

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2013

#4086

Posted 18 May 2013 - 11:15 AM Edited by Crixus, 18 May 2013 - 11:17 AM.

my pc can run gta 4 based on pc requirments but eflc still lag..i can run it on low setting sad.gif sad.gif
my specs
Windows Xp (Service Pack 3) 32 bit
Amd Athlon IIx2 260 processor , MMX , 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
2GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce Gt 630 (2GB memory 128 bit)confused.gif confused.gif

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4087

Posted 18 May 2013 - 11:37 AM

How's your performance/framerate? You could use FRAPS or a benchmark to find out.

TheRaid2
  • TheRaid2

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2013

#4088

Posted 18 May 2013 - 06:56 PM

How about me? cryani.gif

i3, Intel HD, RAM 2gb, Windows 7, 2,6ghz. blush.gif

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4089

Posted 18 May 2013 - 07:00 PM

I'd say Lowest settings, or probably even Low settings.

Wheatley
  • Wheatley

    The World Has Turned and Left Me Here.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2010
  • Scotland

#4090

Posted 19 May 2013 - 05:16 PM

According to some statistics, my laptop can't run the game but it appears it can with a few tweaks here and there. Last night I did some testing with settings in the menu and command lines.

My Specs:

Compaq Presario CQ57

1.3 Ghz Dual Core AMD Processor
ATI HD Radeon 6680 2GB
4GB Ram
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium

Running Grand Theft Auto IV Retail Version 1.0.7.0

Settings:

Resolution - 1366x768 60Hz
Texture Quality - Low
Reflection Quality - Off
Night Shadows - Off
Water Quality - Low
Shadow Quality - Off
VSync - Off
Definition - On
Draw Distance - 1
Detail Distance - 1
Vehicle Density - 30

266MB/386MB available.

Game runs at about 15 FPS outside while 30 FPS in doors. It appears to run just fine for a £275 laptop. I'm also running VisualIV with FPS increase tweak and these command lines:

-nomemrestrict -norestrictions -noprecache -novblank

I'm also running Razer Game Booster as well before I boot the game which sees about 5 FPS increase too.

Any other helpful advice would be needed but for now it will do I suppose.

-Wheatley

Wolf of Badenoch
  • Wolf of Badenoch

    Labore et Scientia

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2013
  • Scotland

#4091

Posted 29 May 2013 - 02:34 PM Edited by Valenta, 29 May 2013 - 06:50 PM.

CPU
Recommended: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, AMD Phenom X3 2.1GHz
You Have: AMD A4-5300 APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics

CPU Speed
Recommended: 2.4 GHz
You Have: 3.4 GHz Performance Rated at: 6.8 GHz

RAM
Recommended: 2 GB (Windows XP) 2.5 GB (Windows Vista)
You Have: 3.5 GB

OS
Recommended: Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3 / Windows 7
You Have: Microsoft Windows 8 (build 9200), 64-bit

Video Card
Recommended: 512MB NVIDIA 8600+ / 512MB ATI 3870+
You Have: AMD Radeon HD 7480D

Sound Card
Recommended: Yes
You Have: IDT High Definition Audio CODEC

Free Disk Space
Recommended: 18 GB
You Have: 872.7 GB

Looks like I'm safe for the most part.

Jamees
  • Jamees

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2013

#4092

Posted 03 June 2013 - 12:11 AM Edited by Jamees, 03 June 2013 - 12:24 AM.

hey

Officer Swat
  • Officer Swat

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2013

#4093

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:00 PM

I have these, Im not sure if I'm allowed to run.. If I am Than my game is screwed up.. The ground is invisible.. I really want to play this game just because I have it for ps3, but I want it for PC I can run Farming Simulator 2013, 2011, and 2009 just fine.. Than I try this and plop doesn't work.. notify.gif notify.gif notify.gif notify.gif notify.gif notify.gif




Intel HD Graphics 3000 Mobile


Intel Pentium Processor B960


4002 MB

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4094

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:03 PM

It's because your PC specs are the minimum requirements, and there isn't enough video memory, thus "the ground is invisible."

Canes21
  • Canes21

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2008

#4095

Posted 05 June 2013 - 03:52 AM

So I've been playing on everything High, literally everything high, with the view distance and detail distance at 60, vsync off and getting a steady 30 FPS easily.

My current setup is

Intel i5 2500k @ 3.8GHz
8 GB Ram
EVGA GTS 450 1GB
Windows 7

Tomorrow I will be receiving my GTX 660 in the mail and I'm pretty excited to see what's in store for me. My CPU is already a great one, but the GPU has been bottlenecking me with this build. Finally tomorrow I will have a nice build all around and I'm pretty excited and I think I have the confidence at all High, all 100 I should have a playable 30 FPS game on my hands.

What do you all think?

Prometheus
  • Prometheus

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011
  • None

#4096

Posted 05 June 2013 - 07:29 AM

I'd say maxed out @ 60FPS. Say something around 45FPS with ENB.

ugotsmoked
  • ugotsmoked

    TROLLING DOES NOT EXIST IF YOU ARE STRONG.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2010
  • United-States

#4097

Posted 24 June 2013 - 02:37 AM

I am slowly converting my regular PC into a gaming PC, can anyone give me some pointers?

ad007gtafan
  • ad007gtafan

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2013

#4098

Posted 01 July 2013 - 11:53 AM

QUOTE (adamcs @ Sunday, Nov 9 2008, 17:33)
I appear to be safe. tounge.gif

user posted image

biggrin.gif Where did u got this test or something?

Xayias
  • Xayias

    Twitter @ItsThatJeremyC

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 May 2010

#4099

Posted 10 July 2013 - 09:53 AM

user posted image

No run for me. sad.gif Can anyone suggest any good gaming laptop's that are on more of the cheap end if not totally expensive!? Something a little than $1,000?

cp1dell
  • cp1dell

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2008
  • None

#4100

Posted 20 July 2013 - 07:31 PM Edited by cp1dell, 22 July 2013 - 05:24 PM.

Huh, I thought I posted here. Oh well.

I'm hoping someone can provide a bit of advice. Currently my setup is an:
Windows 7 SP1 - 64-Bit
Intel i5-2310 Quad Core @ 2.9Ghz
8GB RAM
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB

Using the launch commands:
-norestrictions -noprecache -novblank -nomemrestrict -percentvidmem 100

I can run the game with these settings:
1600x900
Textures: High
Reflections: Very High
Water: Very High
Shadows: High
Night Shadows: Off
Anistrophic: x8
View Distance: 25
Detail Distance: 31
Vehicle Density: 51

And I get a stable framerate of 30FPS. I used to have Shadows at Very High, but I kept View and Detail Distance at 21 and 10, and Vehicle Density at 33 (these are the console settings). It would dip below 30 once and a while, mostly near Middle Park.

I'm wondering if I should upgrade my CPU or my GPU. I'm leaning more towards GPU, and getting a GTX 660 Ti (2GB). I think my CPU is good enough as it is, though I'd like to hear your say on it. Shadows are more GPU dependent, right? So a GTX 660 Ti would probably help a lot, and free up some Video Memory since my settings right now are only using up around 750 out of 1024.

What do you think?

EDIT: I just ran a benchmark on GTA IV.

Statistics
Average FPS: 64.09
Duration: 37.63 sec
CPU Usage: 55%
System memory usage: 39%
Video memory usage: 85%

What do you think about the CPU and GPU usage?

I do think this isn't a very good benchmark though. As it says, my average FPS was 64. But that's a load, I usually get 30 ingame. Is there a better benchmark video available somewhere? I don't think the default one is a very good representation of the game.

Millard55
  • Millard55

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2013

#4101

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:46 AM

Got the game a while ago and half the graphics didn't load. Recently had an urge to play it after seeing the trailer for GTA 5 but again realized I couldn't play it. I emailed a few companies with my PC name and they said I need a new graphics card. I have a HP Pavilion P6-2010uk but don't know what graphics card to get. Can anyone help me out???

wraaker
  • wraaker

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2008
  • Netherlands

#4102

Posted 05 August 2013 - 02:40 PM

QUOTE (Millard55 @ Sunday, Jul 28 2013, 10:46)
Got the game a while ago and half the graphics didn't load. Recently had an urge to play it after seeing the trailer for GTA 5 but again realized I couldn't play it. I emailed a few companies with my PC name and they said I need a new graphics card. I have a HP Pavilion P6-2010uk but don't know what graphics card to get. Can anyone help me out???

If you are missing textures it's most likely your graphics memory filling up. I would recommend anything above 1GB of memory.

Seems I'm save smile.gif

eee333
  • eee333

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2013

#4103

Posted 07 August 2013 - 03:51 AM Edited by eee333, 10 August 2013 - 06:03 PM.

edit: thanks guys.

Vercetti42
  • Vercetti42

    I have moved to a new account.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 May 2013
  • India
  • Best Contributor [Gaming] 2012

#4104

Posted 17 August 2013 - 03:29 AM

Nice, I can run it on High settings with about 35 FPS. Nearly everything on max except for the View Distance, Draw Distance, Vehicle density Shadow Density and a few other things.

High Settings - 35+ FPS
Medium Settings - 40 FPS
Low Settings - 50 FPS.

Runs smoothly on High, enjoying the game so far. I am also using the 1.0.4.0 patch.

Laptop Specs:

Intel Core I5 Mobile 2.5 Ghz
4GB RAM.
Windows 8
500 GB Hard Disk
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 7650m 1GB.

wwjoshdew
  • wwjoshdew

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2013

#4105

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:29 PM

My Laptop is a little dated now, but it seems it can play it just fine.

http://clients.futur...InfoId=21492698

user posted image

BlackScout
  • BlackScout

    A Nintendo Console

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2013
  • None

#4106

Posted 08 September 2013 - 07:26 AM

Game runs well here, just lags if I enable shadows, and to fix sttuter I use commandline : /.
However, wanna my see yougamers result? Here it is. Not a bad computer, it was expensive here in my Country, 1300 Bucks.
mVmNKBq.png


LoreLegend
  • LoreLegend

    -

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2011
  • None

#4107

Posted 08 September 2013 - 12:16 PM

Maxed settings at 40+ FPS

 

PC Specs:

 

i7 3770k 4.2 GHz

EVGA GTX 690 4GB

20GB DDR3

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits

OCZ Fatal1ty 750W

Asus P8Z77-V LK


chriskid44
  • chriskid44

    Green Ranger

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2013

#4108

Posted 25 September 2013 - 05:43 PM

Aaahh just too breezy Alienware 17 all the way

 i7-4700MQ

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650M

32GB of RAM

1TB solid-state drive


32gusti
  • 32gusti

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2013
  • Indonesia

#4109

Posted 06 October 2013 - 01:06 AM Edited by 32gusti, 06 October 2013 - 01:13 AM.

i have a computer the specification is:

 

Procesor : AMD Athlon X2 250

Memory : 2 GB DDR2

VGA/Graphic card : ATI Radeon HD4600 series

 

i can play the GTA 4


Rahul73157
  • Rahul73157

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2013

#4110

Posted 16 October 2013 - 12:23 PM

Well yougamers finally released their benchmarking tool for GTA IV. You can test your PC here. Although I have to say, it is very odd that it puts the minimum / recomended requirements so close to each other on the scale, that the Quad core literally has no effect, so this might be of no indication at all as to whether or not your PC can really run it.

But I would say it is safe to say that you will be able to run the game well if you exceed the requirements by a comfortable margin.

Yougamers GTA IV test

Click on "Can you play it?" if you didn't figure that out already.

System Reqs are as follows:
 

Minimum System Requirements
Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
1.8GHz Intel Core2Duo or 2.4GHz AMD Athlon X2 64
1 GB of RAM (Windows XP) or 1.5 GB of RAM (Windows Vista)
16 GB free hard drive space
256MB NVIDIA 7900 / 256MB ATI X1900

 

Well, i am new here and the said option is not coming up. Please help.

Recommended System Requirements
Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Quad or 2.1GHz AMD Phenom X3
2.5 GB of RAM (Windows XP) or 2.5 GB of RAM (Windows Vista)
18 GB Free Hard Drive Space
512MB NVIDIA 8600 / 512MB ATI 3870

 

 





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users