Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA 3 Freezing

16 replies to this topic
NinjaCat101
  • NinjaCat101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2008

#1

Posted 11 October 2008 - 02:01 PM

Hey,
I just recently installed GTA 3 again on my computer. It was running fine until I started to shoot my weapon. After a few seconds of shooting, the game will just freeze. This is really annoying because nearly every mission requires shooting. Another time when the game freezes is when I drive my car through glass. It smashes, but then the game freezes. I have never had a problem with this game before or any other of the GTA games. Any help would be appreciated.

Girish
  • Girish

    LFM

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#2

Posted 11 October 2008 - 03:16 PM

Do you have any mods installed? Have you tried reinstalling the game and deleting the set file from the User Files folder?

What changes have you made to your PC (hardware or software) since the last time the game worked?

NinjaCat101
  • NinjaCat101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2008

#3

Posted 11 October 2008 - 03:24 PM

No, I dont have any mods installed. I also have tried uninstalling the game and deleting the set file several times. And the last time I played this game was about 4 years ago, and my computer now is completely different to what is was then.

Girish
  • Girish

    LFM

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#4

Posted 11 October 2008 - 03:50 PM

Post your system specifications.

NinjaCat101
  • NinjaCat101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2008

#5

Posted 11 October 2008 - 04:20 PM

Here.

NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS
AMD Sempron 2800+
1 Gb Ram
Windows XP Professional (SP2)

Girish
  • Girish

    LFM

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#6

Posted 11 October 2008 - 04:51 PM

Make sure you have the latest video driver updates. If the game freezes randomly, it could indicate overheating. Check CPU temperature and make sure all your fans are working, clean them if necessary.

Also, try running the game in Windows 98 compatibility mode.

NinjaCat101
  • NinjaCat101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2008

#7

Posted 11 October 2008 - 04:57 PM

I have tried running the game in windows 98 compatability mode. As soon as I launch, the screen goes black, then an error message comes up. In the other compatability modes the game has major lag whenever i move the mouse, including while in the menu.

Girish
  • Girish

    LFM

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#8

Posted 11 October 2008 - 06:12 PM

Start the game > Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to minimise the game and open Windows Task Manager > Processes > Right-click on gta_vc.exe > Set priority > High.
Then check if the game still crashes at the said points.

NinjaCat101
  • NinjaCat101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2008

#9

Posted 12 October 2008 - 04:28 AM

Changing the priority to high did not work. I also tried all of the other priority settings, and they did not work either.

sweet_johanson
  • sweet_johanson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2008

#10

Posted 30 October 2008 - 05:17 PM

me game sometimes gets stuck when the game is lowerd is says "UNHANDLED EXCEPTION" how to fix it LEP PLEASE nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif

Girish
  • Girish

    LFM

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#11

Posted 30 October 2008 - 05:27 PM

QUOTE (sweet_johanson @ Oct 30 2008, 22:47)
me game sometimes gets stuck when the game is lowerd is says "UNHANDLED EXCEPTION" how to fix it LEP PLEASE nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif

Please start a new topic with a detailed explanation of your problem. And read the pinned posting requirements.

Kantesh
  • Kantesh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009

#12

Posted 01 March 2009 - 12:19 PM

hello there!so every one i have a problem in gta 3 when ever i start the game and i shoot just 2 seconds after the shooting the game freezes.whats the problem i cant understand.please help me out. colgate.gif

Kantesh
  • Kantesh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009

#13

Posted 01 March 2009 - 04:36 PM

devil.gif helloooooooooo!i am trying to fix it out but cant fix it.why?one of the man say's that when u r playing the game gta 3 Ctrl+Alt+delete
then i go in proceses then there was gta 3 i right click than piority high before there was normal.i do it but nothing happen.why?i cant understand
please help me.

Vinnie
  • Vinnie

    Fido Purist

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2004
  • None

#14

Posted 01 March 2009 - 09:23 PM

QUOTE (Kantesh @ Mar 1 2009, 12:19)
hello there!so every one i have a problem in gta 3 when ever i start the game and i shoot just 2 seconds after the shooting the game freezes.whats the problem i cant understand.please help me out. colgate.gif

argh Pinned Posting Requirements Make your own thread too instead of bumping this one with a different problem. And don't double post so soon.

Kantesh
  • Kantesh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009

#15

Posted 07 March 2009 - 08:47 AM

Hello guys.i have a problem in gta 3.i have the all higher than the gta 3 says.but i cant understand.user posted image devil.gif

kewun
  • kewun

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2013

#16

Posted 3 weeks ago

Just get an audio hardware. It is caused because of lack of audio hardware. I had the same problem.


ClaudeIzABadAzz
  • ClaudeIzABadAzz

    "Did you turn up to rescue Maria, or to get me back?"

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2016
  • None

#17

Posted 3 weeks ago

Just get an audio hardware. It is caused because of lack of audio hardware. I had the same problem.

 

Just get an audio hardware. It is caused because of lack of audio hardware. I had the same problem.

You're great help buddy but uh......that was 9 years ago....I think that problem was resolved a long time ago.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users