Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[3ds MAX][SA]How to make Breakable Object

14 replies to this topic
xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#1

Posted 15 July 2008 - 12:59 PM Edited by xmen, 18 July 2008 - 12:14 AM.

PREREQUISITE: How to add model in SA.

NOTE : EVERY PART MUST HAVE A SEPARATE MATERIAL.

Breakable Objects Script

1. This is an already textured teapot with 2 textures named as "BreakableTeapot".
user posted image

2. Export its dff and col as usual.

3. When done, break it into pieces as like we want to spread on the floor, i break(Detach) it into 8 parts and separate them so that i can set Material IDs easily.
user posted image

4. Select the top one, click on "Polygon" in selection, press Ctrl + A to select all polygons and scroll down the properties and set its Mat ID to 1, do the same with other parts too with increment of 1 Mat. ID
user posted image

5. I've set these Mat. IDs to all parts, it will be better to set same textures' Mat IDs after each other so that all same textures can be in correct order.
user posted image

6. When done, set all parts back to their location(i.e. 0, 0, 0), select "BreakableTeapot" and attach all parts, if it ask for "Attach Options", select "Do Not Modify Mat ID or Material" and press OK, it may possible that textures look change but we do not need to worry about it.
7. Press M to open "Material Editor", select new Material, here i select 3rd, click on "Standard" next Select "Multi/Sub-Object", again it will ask for "Replace Material", select "Discard old material?" and press OK
user posted image

8. Since the breakable parts are 8 so i have to set the No. of Sub Materials to 8, to do this, Click on "Set Number", write 8 and press OK.
user posted image

9. Click on Material whose ID is 1, next click on the square button that follows "Diffuse" and select "Bitmap"(that image should match to the Mat ID 1 that set in step 4)
user posted image

10. when done, press "Show Map in Viewport" and then press user posted image until it get disable.
11. keep doing step 9 and 10 until all 8 sub Materials get assign
12. when done, select "BreakableTeapot" and click on "Assign Material to Selection" and check, are all textures on model looking like before ? if not, correct it before going further, if yes, run the "Breakable Objects" script and export the binary data.
user posted image

Now open the dff in RW analyze, find and select "Mesh Extension" and import that binary data, next save dff and add that model in sa as usual.
user posted image

13. write this Line in object.dat (editing lines in object.dat may little bit tricky)
CODE
breakableteapot  20.0,  20.0,  0.99,  1.0,  50.0,  9999.0, 1.0,    200, 1, 1,  0, 0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0,  none   100.0, 0.0,  0.0,  0.01, 0.07, 0, 0


in game

Known Bug :
Parts get brighter after smash/break

CONCLUSION :
Making BOs is not too difficult task, all things goes same as usual however we just need to apply separate Mat. IDs and Mats. for every part only for exporting binary data and a line in object.dat.

at the end thanks to locO G for his help smile.gif
Enjoy !!

Gouveia
  • Gouveia

    XABLAU!

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2006
  • Jamaica

#2

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:34 PM

Really good guide. I don't use Max/3DS, but it should really help to bring even more custom content in the game icon14.gif

JohnPro
  • JohnPro

    GTAHalo.com

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2007

#3

Posted 16 July 2008 - 10:19 AM

gud topic for a tut xmen

The bright pieces anybody know of a fix?

Gouveia
  • Gouveia

    XABLAU!

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2006
  • Jamaica

#4

Posted 16 July 2008 - 12:40 PM

QUOTE (JohnPro @ Jul 16 2008, 07:19)
gud topic for a tut xmen

The bright pieces anybody know of a fix?

I think it's either an engine bug (as in the way the game engine threats the lighting on smaller objects) or some other lighting problem that was done in 3ds Studio itself.

ljonny
  • ljonny

    :D

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2008

#5

Posted 31 July 2008 - 01:03 PM Edited by ljonny, 31 July 2008 - 01:04 PM.

were do i get 3ds max??

Arvis
  • Arvis

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2006

#6

Posted 31 July 2008 - 01:09 PM

Search net for trial version / buy full one / download Gmax, it's free and there is
all you need for modding GTA.

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#7

Posted 30 September 2008 - 08:52 AM

Update :
Known bug fix, add NVC before export the binary info. wink.gif

Cannot update first post because of BBCodes sad.gif

Paudge
  • Paudge

    ...Return of the Paudge...

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2007

#8

Posted 02 December 2008 - 12:09 AM

Can you use character models and make them breakable and can this work for VC? cookie.gif

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#9

Posted 02 December 2008 - 12:28 AM

QUOTE (Paudge @ Dec 2 2008, 05:39)
Can you use character models and make them breakable and can this work for VC? cookie.gif

never tried

uNi
  • uNi

    instantrum

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#10

Posted 02 December 2008 - 12:32 AM

Thanks for that, I might try apply this to buildings.

cj360
  • cj360

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

#11

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:42 AM Edited by cj360, 14 December 2008 - 07:32 PM.

Really good tutorial! icon14.gif

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#12

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:17 AM

QUOTE (cj360 @ Dec 3 2008, 08:12)
Really good tutorial! icon14.gif But where is the detach command?

press F1 in 3ds max, type "detach" in Index tab.

cj360
  • cj360

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

#13

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:11 PM Edited by cj360, 14 December 2008 - 07:29 PM.

-nothing-

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#14

Posted 03 December 2008 - 06:22 PM

QUOTE (cj360 @ Dec 3 2008, 18:41)
Thx I found the detach command but only for objects in max like a box or teacup I don't see it when importing a custum model. confused.gif

its not important, the object can be in any shape. I will suggest you to read some basic 3d Max tuts before proceed. smile.gif

cj360
  • cj360

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

#15

Posted 04 December 2008 - 02:24 AM Edited by cj360, 14 December 2008 - 07:29 PM.

-nothing-




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users