Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Cheat Code Creation

285 replies to this topic
OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#271

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:17 AM

Sweet! I fixed the error you found and changed the color to green (btw, your activate code used the joker value that wasn't reversed).

Yeah, these changes won't be included in the save, but there is promise of doing so much more. I wish I knew more about how these cheat procedures work. It would be fun to make a code that did something more interesting. For example, instead of spawning a vehicle maybe I could add a car generator, something that would be saved. Or, the Weapon Set cheat procedures look quite long. Perhaps the procedures could be replaced with something fairly elaborate if I had any idea of how these procedures work. All I can do now is recreate existing procedures with slightly modified variables. Unfortunately, the cheat procedures for PC are much different than on PS2. If I wanted to continue I'd probably need to recruit help from an exe diver.

King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#272

Posted 28 June 2013 - 01:21 PM

But you already implemented vehicle generators: http://www.gtaforums...st&p=1058182311 Unless you mean an improvement; an improvement such as pausing the game, selecting a vehicle at whim thus emerging it. Edison Carter formulated codes to alter the vehicle spawn cheats. Thanks to that, you can make the Trashmaster cheat spawn a Swat tank. Perhaps it'd be possible to combine the vehicle cheat digits, assign various joker-ed vehicle values to each and abracadabra. You see what I'm suggesting here? In the event this were maneuverable, the code length would be incessant. Therefore, we'd require "patch" codes for the merging.

King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#273

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:11 PM Edited by King Andreas, 03 July 2013 - 09:17 PM.

This was getting shoved off the page, so pardon the bump.

A question about the pickup generators & vehicle generators: when you created a new pickup, you sacrificed (deleted) a default pickup; when you created a new vehicle spawn location, you didn't nullify a default vehicle spawn location. In example, you voided the Garver Bridge camera when you created the Big House Desert Eagle, yet you didn't void the El Corona Voodoo when creating the Four Dragons Rustler. Is it somehow more efficient to alter (and move) a pickup than create a new one? If so, why are vehicle spawn generators different?

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#274

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:27 PM

After the game has started no new cars are created, so it should be safe to put new cars at the end of the pool without worrying about what's getting overwritten. Anything that happens to be at the end of the pool will be a random vehicle streamed in from binary files and will get replaced whenever CJ re-enters the area - so no harm done.

The pickup pool is nearly full to start with, and after only a few minutes of game play can be completely full of expired dropped money and pickups from peds, or maybe even your new Johnson house pickups from spraying all the tags. In order to avoid replacing important pickups specific lame pickups are targeted.

King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#275

Posted 04 July 2013 - 09:34 PM Edited by King Andreas, 04 July 2013 - 10:23 PM.

Another question: why are pickup generators influenced by the fresh game index vs restart game indexes whereas the vehicle generators aren't? Good strategy destroying lame pickups, and so perhaps destroying "lame" vehicles such as the Flint County mower could be beneficial too.

Hold up, are you sure no new vehicle generators are created at the beginning of the game? The Hotknife doesn't spawn at driving school by default, nor does the NRG-500 at motorcycle school by default. Most likely, I'm misunderstanding your comment.

King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#276

Posted 13 July 2013 - 04:34 AM Edited by King Andreas, 13 July 2013 - 04:39 AM.

http://www.gtaforums...st&p=1058206700

Just shifting our private conversation to the public, is all.

Many thanks for the data. Perhaps a prior review is in order; lets analyze:

NTSC v1 restart save

Caligula's South Parachute #274
E0050112 006B5088
208053B8 00000000
208053C0 31CA46E1
208053C4 0000032A
108053C8 00000173
008053CC 00000002

Foster Valley Camera ID - E0050112 006B5088
Ammo tally (if need be) - 208053B8 00000000
What's this line: 208053C0 31CA46E1 for?
What's this line: 208053C4 0000032A for?
New item ID (in this case, parachute) - 108053C8 00000173
Spawning speed - 008053CC 00000002

I intend to update you on my projects, though I need help prior to embarking.

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#277

Posted 13 July 2013 - 06:17 AM

QUOTE
What's this line: 208053C0 31CA46E1 for?
What's this line: 208053C4 0000032A for?


208053C0 31CA46E1 Ycoord*8, Xcoord*8 (word, word)
208053C4 0000032A Asset Rate, Zcoord*8 (word, word)

See: http://www.gtaforums...st&p=1058231975

King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#278

Posted 04 August 2013 - 06:14 AM Edited by King Andreas, 08 August 2013 - 04:59 AM.

Da Nang members carry empty Desert Eagles:


NTSC v1
Gameshark5+
Codebreaker 7+
Action Replay Max
Gameshark5
760ED950 00000000
289B6FD4 0CA57A3D
289B6F62 0CA57A3D
289B6F66 0CA57A3D

Codebreaker7
033B8717 B12D9887
00EB3B61 9EB1BEC2
A0695493 03B34F42

Action Replay Max
0Q7P-AM6H-YPM83
MKDQ-G63K-HB7V3
GZGY-FU3K-Q2N1C
ZE8N-ZX4Q-3292A

Replacement 1st lines:
(if need be)
VZNE-HJ95-KHAZD

TAAZ-1MD4-NVF9X

4D9W-JJ1U-9106F




NTSC v2
Gameshark5+
Codebreaker 7+
Action Replay Max
Gameshark5
760AE050 00000000
289B9737 0CA57A3D
289B97A5 0CA57A3D
289B973A 0CA57A3D

Codebreaker7
03785957 9C37F1C3
B1AEE58A B66264FD
5F691BB6 D72C72A3

Action Replay Max
V6MY-AN5G-2TZYP
NXA1-03RR-V3V72
58TM-6K0N-R2TBU
VN5Q-Y2WX-RBWZF

Replacement 1st lines:
(if need be)
RDZY-1PXH-4K5JX

24T7-KVP6-YURB6

GU2T-5U0T-9851A




PAL v1
Gameshark5+
Codebreaker 7+
Action Replay Max
Gameshark5
7602B440 00000000
289BDBD4 0CA57A3D
289BDB62 0CA57A3D
289BDB66 0CA57A3D

Codebreaker7
ED34382F BB2E38C9
6B55246B 72F00A18
CF20B312 4AB419AB

Action Replay Max
GHX4-3QAN-W7HUQ
6Z3J-NFY4-6JDHC
G8DT-Y63M-APN12
CUM3-QPFA-4PHGW

Replacement 1st lines:
(if need be)
96GJ-8RK7-AP1PT

J107-Z22W-7P327

C179-7AAU-R8Z9X




PAL v2
Gameshark5+
Codebreaker 7+
Action Replay Max
Gameshark5
760AFD30 00000000
289B3137 0CA57A3D
289B31A5 0CA57A3D
289B313A 0CA57A3D

Codebreaker7
FB10D9C5 D5218D45
880793E1 A875FBA4
473FB612 CE8BE64B

Action Replay Max
UX94-KW3Z-5G5ZB
6AWY-GKX2-EJPB4
F7P9-WADX-6ZUKZ
KBHZ-C9WR-X3DDV

Replacement 1st lines:
(if need be)
6UK7-4Z12-E63UD

FDQP-VEM0-752GJ

N2ER-T6ER-QM0PM




King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#279

Posted 21 September 2013 - 09:47 PM

I am having difficulty applying the joker command to the perpetual RC fuel code. This is what I did:

 

E001FB7F 00700942

201FB268 00000001

E001FBDF 00700942

201FB268 00000000

 

Notes to helper:

 

-NTSC v1.

 

-Unencrypted/Raw.

 

-L1 + left = activation.

 

-L1 + right = deactivation.

 

Useful links:

 

http://www.codemaste...inite Codes.htm

 

http://home.comcast....bri/jokers.html


OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#280

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:57 AM Edited by OrionSR, 22 September 2013 - 04:22 AM.

It would help if you explained what problems you are having. Thanks for the reference links though.

 

I'm not sure what this code is doing, but here is my best guess. Your activate and deactivate codes appear to be reversed. The original code is 201FB268 00000000. I took a look at this address in an old memory dump and the original value appears to be 00 00 00 E6, but properly reversed this would be E6000000. This just doesn't seem right. I think he might be overwriting the upper bits of the previous field. The 2nd code is what I would expect from this data.

 

NTSCv1 RAW Untested

E001FB7F 00700942

201FB268 00000000

E001FBDF 00700942

201FB268 E6000000

 

NTSCv1 RAW Untested

E001FB7F 00700942

201FB26B 00000000

E001FBDF 00700942

201FB26B 000000E6

 

Or maybe change just the significant byte and leave the rest alone.

 

NTSCv1 RAW Untested

E001FB7F 00700942

001FB26B 00000000

E001FBDF 00700942

001FB26B 000000E6

 

Aw.... man! This new format has totally botched my carefully crafted tables. And now the significant posts aren't at the top of the page anymore. This is very disappointing.


King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#281

Posted 24 September 2013 - 07:24 PM Edited by King Andreas, 24 September 2013 - 07:24 PM.

The problem with my defunct code was that activating the joker crashed the game. I should've also pointed out that my motivation behind all this is Aintgottime2bleed and I are trying to swipe the RC Baron from Supply Lines. As it turns out, all my attempts were failures. I verified only your first code, considering it worked fine, so at least these weren't wasted posts. This way, you, I, and others can refer back here for future reference, if need be. I decided to edit a button cheat to spawn the RC plane; it appears the plane isn't pilot-able. Any ways to make it so?

 

Yeah, I'm disheartened by the trashing of the tables too.


King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#282

Posted 11 July 2014 - 04:10 PM Edited by King Andreas, 11 July 2014 - 04:21 PM.

Someone please merge this with the code formation topic: http://gtaforums.com...-code-creation/ instead. Thanks in advance!

 

 

 

I sacrificed the Yellow Bell golf course flowers to put a save disk in the unused safe house that others call the "LA Big House Armory". It's dysfunctional; the disk vanishes upon contact without bringing me to the save menu. Did I do something wrong; did I attempt the impossible?

 

The code:
E00501BA 006B534C
208068B8 00000000
208068C0 DC4C4845
208068C4 000020D5
108068C8 000004FD
008068CC 00000002

MWUT-X4XM-F9AMF
UJQA-HBW8-ZQZGG
BM1M-865G-CMZZH
K8AN-AMA9-YAX2M
Z85N-QQW1-D14D4
8N31-790J-UX10R
566B-TZXY-PKMMU
03AH-5PBC-9K2T7

 

Clarification: I used to play a restart save; today, I play a fresh save. V1 and NTSC, naturally.


OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#283

Posted 11 July 2014 - 07:13 PM Edited by OrionSR, 11 July 2014 - 07:14 PM.

Nice try. You won't be able to make a new save disk pickup work on PS2 since you can't add a script that will watch that pickup until it is picked up and then show the save screen. Save pickups don't do anything by themselves. Adding a new save pickup is basically impossible on PS2.

 

But moving a save disk is possible. I think you can find two examples somewhere in these codes: something like, Move Madd Dogg's save disk, and Move Queen's save disk. Madd Dogg's was moved to prevent the basketball glitch, and Queens was moved to the armory - since adding a new disk is basically impossible and I wanted to save in the armory.

 

Moving save disks is pretty tricky. The coordinates are stored in an array of global variables so you'll need to figure out which globals to tweak. I'll probably have to help with this part - decompile your PS2 scripts and find the part of the script that destroys and creates the pickups between missions and saves (eg, toggling a mission will move the disk to the new coordinate).

 

Choosing the disk to move is difficult. Catalina's is a logical choice but it's tricky to activate early in the game. It's possible, but would also unlock the Angel Pine disk early. I went with queens since it's a unique interior so it's less difficult to redirect all of the entrances to other interiors. Hashbury is unique and not terribly interesting. Prickle Pine is unique but I like that house. I almost used it for the CG armories.

 

You will need 7 coordinates. Three for the XYZ location of the pickup, three for CJ's position after a save (don't want to spawn right on top of the next save pickup) and one more for the angle he will face. These values will need to be encoded in IEEE 754 floating point format. If you find notes on encoding floating point values for PC, be aware that you don't need to do the reverse encoding on PS2 - AR-Max will handle that for you. Check the examples.

 

IEEE Calculator - SourceForge Project

 

And... you are going to need coordinates, and I don't think we ever found a practical way to do that on PS2. Try to describe where you want the pickup and CJ to respawn in some detail and I'll make the best choices I can find in that area. I've had some practice with this so there probably won't be a lot of fiddling required to get it right.


King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#284

Posted 13 July 2014 - 03:52 PM Edited by King Andreas, 13 July 2014 - 03:53 PM.

Adding an ammunition tally doesn't make a difference. Even though it's fun to look at, it's even more worthless than a bribe when you're on a mission that prohibits wanted levels. I wish I could've seen the expressions on my face change from when I saw the disk to when it vanished.

 

Madd Doggs disk: http://gtaforums.com...n/?p=1058178034

Weapons, assets, and other pickups: http://gtaforums.com...n/?p=1058206700

 

Quite a format difference, though If I can figure out the latter, I can figure out the former too with some tutoring. Also, I can't find anything about moving the Queens disk. The closest I found is you connecting the Queens wardrobe to the armory and other interiors to the Queens interior. Link: http://gtaforums.com...n/?p=1058195504

Note since we're on the subject: I replaced the Chinatown safe house interior with the armory interior on my newest game file. You probably think I put an armory in enemy gang territory, right? I didn't; I took it from the Triads for Grove. I figured it didn't make sense to have the armory, since it's a big interior, connected to a small house such as the one in El Quebrados.

 

Why is Queens a "unique interior"? It looks just like the Camels Toe interior to me.

 

I didn't care about the bribes enough to activate them, so I suppose I'd want the disk atop the table they would surround with CJ appearing around the table, if possible. Yeah, I don't get the decompilation or 7 coordinates aspects. Since the Chinatown interior is gone, moving that disk to the armory might not be a bad idea.

 

Skills talked about moving the Catalina or Angel Pine disk to Bayside awhile ago; maybe he'll join the discussion.


OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#285

Posted 14 July 2014 - 05:23 AM Edited by OrionSR, 14 July 2014 - 05:30 AM.

 I wish I could've seen the expressions on my face change from when I saw the disk to when it vanished.

I remember the feeling well. It was an early lesson when I first started hex editing my saves.

 

Look again. Queens is mostly white and bright, the others are more reddish and all the same. Can that source/destination documentation you've been using be used to find unique or shared destinations by name?


King Andreas
  • King Andreas

    (_)

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2013
  • None

#286

Posted 15 July 2014 - 08:33 PM

Oh, I didn't notice the coloring. Usually, I save and turn the game off, or I save and leave the building. Queens and Camels Toe never interested me much. I've been using your interior address listings: http://gtaforums.com...entry1062445950 for such.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users