Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA:IV Multiplayer F.A.Q.

226 replies to this topic
Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#121

Posted 26 December 2008 - 09:55 PM

QUOTE (tj11 @ Dec 25 2008, 21:09)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Oct 24 2008, 06:12)
QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

It is still incorrect!

Well get me the correct amounts and I'll fix it.

tj11
  • tj11

    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#122

Posted 28 December 2008 - 11:44 AM

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Dec 27 2008, 07:55)
QUOTE (tj11 @ Dec 25 2008, 21:09)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Oct 24 2008, 06:12)
QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

It is still incorrect!

Well get me the correct amounts and I'll fix it.

Rank 1: $1,000
Rank 2: $10,000

The rest are correct.

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#123

Posted 31 December 2008 - 01:21 AM

QUOTE (tj11 @ Dec 28 2008, 07:44)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Dec 27 2008, 07:55)
QUOTE (tj11 @ Dec 25 2008, 21:09)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Oct 24 2008, 06:12)
QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

It is still incorrect!

Well get me the correct amounts and I'll fix it.

Rank 1: $1,000
Rank 2: $10,000

The rest are correct.

Added. icon14.gif
I have also added, "Can I play online with someone on a different console?"

haroon
  • haroon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#124

Posted 12 January 2009 - 07:35 PM

I have a question...

is it require to be less than 25ms ping for playing online?

~cuz i really want to get the game but im not sure about that info~


ty

Zack-X-Hill
  • Zack-X-Hill

    Z mPϮ Mf & Hill mPϮ Mf - Godfather -

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2009

#125

Posted 12 January 2009 - 08:37 PM

They Should Make A Game online for GTA 5 like WoW. Make GTA 5 and online game. I mean Geeze Guns Cops Gangs Etc but it would not be a shoot shoot gang gang etc. A Real World Jobs Buy Cars Houses Airlines Liscences. Etc They could make a lot of money with a monthly Subscrip.

coldmurda
  • coldmurda

    ̡̱͐̈́͋ͦͮ̎͊̒R

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2007

#126

Posted 12 January 2009 - 08:52 PM

QUOTE (Zack-X-Hill @ Jan 12 2009, 16:37)
They Should Make A Game online for GTA 5 like WoW. Make GTA 5 and online game. I mean Geeze Guns Cops Gangs Etc but it would not be a shoot shoot gang gang etc. A Real World Jobs Buy Cars Houses Airlines Liscences. Etc They could make a lot of money with a monthly Subscrip.

Its Grand Theft Auto not GeT a wife have a child and puchase an Auto.

You can't have the game be called gta when your buying everything that you would normally be stealing. Go and play Sim's.

haroon
  • haroon

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#127

Posted 13 January 2009 - 08:05 AM

guyz anyone knnow if i did buy the game is there a ping limit?

i mean i must be under 25ms ping to play online?

please answer goin to buy the game soon

junkpile
  • junkpile

    Liberty City, it's over! Next Stop. Los Santos.

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2009

#128

Posted 31 January 2009 - 07:33 PM

yesterday i played the multiplayer for the first time.
i got a few questions:

- there is a note up in the screen that says "i have to start a new game to unlock the trophies."

i gained one trophy so far and started a new game. what about that trophy, what do i get now?

- will my "effort" be saved in the multiplayer without saving as niko in a savehouse?

- how do i gain more clothes, trophies, etc?


punisher.ita
  • punisher.ita

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2008

#129

Posted 06 February 2009 - 07:06 AM

Is it possible to update the first post for PC version?

ChristopherD
  • ChristopherD

    D1RTY4L1FE

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 30 May 2008
  • United-States

#130

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:30 PM Edited by ChristopherD, 03 March 2009 - 10:29 PM.

I looked all over for an answer to my Q, and couldn't really find any discussions about it. I also didn't think it was worth a new thread in MP forum...

Has anyone played online both with their PS3 wirelessly AND wired?

My question is basically how much real difference in online MP gameplay is there between a wireless connection and a hardwired one?

I have everything I need to run an ethernet cable from my modem to the PS3, but will have to pull up carpet, go through a wall, etc. to do it (wife's orders...she won't allow visible wires. lol).

So, before I go to all that trouble, is it worth it?

What do you guys think?

EDIT: Nevermind. Found answers on a different forum.

Not bitching (love this forum) but since the powers that be here hate it when ppl post the same questions over and over in the MP section, it would be helpful if someone came in here to answer questions asked in the "Frequently Asked Question" thread... confused.gif

ptej
  • ptej

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2009

#131

Posted 01 March 2009 - 10:57 AM Edited by Azazel, 01 March 2009 - 11:33 AM.

Can PS3 or Xbox GTA IV online players play WITH PC version GTA IV online players? Or they are on different servers?

Advertising is prohibited.

ChristopherD
  • ChristopherD

    D1RTY4L1FE

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 30 May 2008
  • United-States

#132

Posted 03 March 2009 - 10:30 PM

QUOTE (ptej @ Mar 1 2009, 06:57)
Can PS3 or Xbox GTA IV online players play WITH PC version GTA IV online players? Or they are on different servers?

Advertising is prohibited.

Nope...no cross-platforming for GTA.

ChristopherD
  • ChristopherD

    D1RTY4L1FE

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 30 May 2008
  • United-States

#133

Posted 03 March 2009 - 10:39 PM

QUOTE (junkpile @ Jan 31 2009, 15:33)
yesterday i played the multiplayer for the first time.
i got a few questions:

- there is a note up in the screen that says "i have to start a new game to unlock the trophies."
The note is to tell you that you have to start a new game to get single Player Trophies.  Multiplayer Trophies are seperate.

i gained one trophy so far and started a new game. what about that trophy, what do i get now?
The Trophy you gained BEFORE starting a new SP game had to be a MP trophy...and those are not linked to SP mode.

- will my "effort" be saved in the multiplayer without saving as niko in a savehouse?
Yes.

- how do i gain more clothes, trophies, etc?
Look around here (use search feature) to find Trophy lists and Rank list...I would do it for you but am the laziest man on earth and have a reputation to maintain...lol

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#134

Posted 08 March 2009 - 11:51 AM

Some more question for FAQ

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Dec 12 2008, 20:21)
QUOTE (birdis0n @ Dec 11 2008, 12:32)
I would like to make a multiplayer game for just me and a friend. What's the quickest way to do this. Other people keep joining sad.gif


You can either just do party mode and invite your friend or go to your phone in single player > multiplayer > player match > custom > Free mode > and set private slots to max. Then set up your settings and invite whoever you want.



- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#135

Posted 08 March 2009 - 08:40 PM

- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

You can't. The other players choose what team they want; 1, 2, 3, etc.

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Godmode? Go to the phone > then phonebook > then the players name > and vote to kick.


ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#136

Posted 08 March 2009 - 11:18 PM

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 8 2009, 20:40)
- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

You can't. The other players choose what team they want; 1, 2, 3, etc.

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Godmode? Go to the phone > then phonebook > then the players name > and vote to kick.

Thanks very much.
For kicking you mean to pop up the guide and send a complaint to xlive?!
Does not really have much effect, not immediately.

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#137

Posted 10 March 2009 - 09:08 PM

QUOTE (ZAZ @ Mar 8 2009, 19:18)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 8 2009, 20:40)
- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

You can't. The other players choose what team they want; 1, 2, 3, etc.

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Godmode? Go to the phone > then phonebook > then the players name > and vote to kick.

Thanks very much.
For kicking you mean to pop up the guide and send a complaint to xlive?!
Does not really have much effect, not immediately.

No you can vote to kick people via the phone.

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#138

Posted 11 March 2009 - 08:37 PM

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 10 2009, 21:08)
QUOTE (ZAZ @ Mar 8 2009, 19:18)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 8 2009, 20:40)
- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

You can't. The other players choose what team they want; 1, 2, 3, etc.

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Godmode? Go to the phone > then phonebook > then the players name > and vote to kick.

Thanks very much.
For kicking you mean to pop up the guide and send a complaint to xlive?!
Does not really have much effect, not immediately.

No you can vote to kick people via the phone.

Thanks, I got it, but its not available in ranked mode.
Why is it missing there ? I was on RTDM last weekend and had contact to a godmode cheater, posted message to inform the others and sended complained to xlive.
Also an other player posted that he made report but nothing happend. 2 minutes later I canceled the game.

And, because of I could not test the kick function in normal play,
does it need kicks from more players to have an effect ?

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#139

Posted 13 March 2009 - 12:02 AM

QUOTE (ZAZ @ Mar 11 2009, 16:37)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 10 2009, 21:08)
QUOTE (ZAZ @ Mar 8 2009, 19:18)
QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Mar 8 2009, 20:40)
- How can I set the amount of teams in TDM ?
I was more time the host of a game but the amount of of teams was changed without my controle
Why did this happens ?

You can't. The other players choose what team they want; 1, 2, 3, etc.

- How can we kick cheaters with godmode during playing ?

Godmode? Go to the phone > then phonebook > then the players name > and vote to kick.

Thanks very much.
For kicking you mean to pop up the guide and send a complaint to xlive?!
Does not really have much effect, not immediately.

No you can vote to kick people via the phone.

Thanks, I got it, but its not available in ranked mode.
Why is it missing there ? I was on RTDM last weekend and had contact to a godmode cheater, posted message to inform the others and sended complained to xlive.
Also an other player posted that he made report but nothing happend. 2 minutes later I canceled the game.

And, because of I could not test the kick function in normal play,
does it need kicks from more players to have an effect ?

Yeah you need a majority vote to get the player out. One vote just wont do it.

ChristopherD
  • ChristopherD

    D1RTY4L1FE

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 30 May 2008
  • United-States

#140

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:26 PM

I can't find any place else to post this question too (no FAQ for Events).

I am interested in starting a new Event...BUT, it is sort of a novelty idea and may be fun once or twice but probably won't be a long-standing event.

My questions is:

Is the Events section for on-going events only, or can you post one-time events as well? Or should I post one or two time events in the MP section?

Thanks in advance! smile.gif

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#141

Posted 28 March 2009 - 03:00 PM

QUOTE (ChristopherD @ Mar 27 2009, 17:26)
I can't find any place else to post this question too (no FAQ for Events).

I am interested in starting a new Event...BUT, it is sort of a novelty idea and may be fun once or twice but probably won't be a long-standing event.

My questions is:

Is the Events section for on-going events only, or can you post one-time events as well? Or should I post one or two time events in the MP section?

Thanks in advance! smile.gif

I'm sure one/two time events would be fine. smile.gif

Sprinks
  • Sprinks

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

#142

Posted 30 March 2009 - 09:45 PM

What game mode is best for making cash quickest?

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#143

Posted 30 March 2009 - 10:54 PM

QUOTE (Sprinks @ Mar 30 2009, 17:45)
What game mode is best for making cash quickest?

Any of the CO-OP modes.

coldmurda
  • coldmurda

    ̡̱͐̈́͋ͦͮ̎͊̒R

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2007

#144

Posted 31 March 2009 - 02:16 AM

QUOTE (Sprinks @ Mar 30 2009, 16:45)
What game mode is best for making cash quickest?

I would said in order:

#1: Hangman's NOOSE
#2: Bomb da Base II
#3: Deal Breaker
Those three games can get you a lot of money fast (HMN being the fastest), the only downside is you don't get cash per kill like the two other, you have to pick up the dropped money adding more time.

enlistedjp
  • enlistedjp

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2009

#145

Posted 02 April 2009 - 10:27 PM

How can i rank up if every time i try to join rank the jerks kick me out because i'm level 1.

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#146

Posted 02 April 2009 - 10:36 PM

QUOTE (enlistedjp @ Apr 2 2009, 18:27)
How can i rank up if every time i try to join rank the jerks kick me out because i'm level 1.

Honestly, I don't know what to tell you. Just tell them to f*ck off or something.

CubA_iLL_BrothA
  • CubA_iLL_BrothA

    666سنة

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2009

#147

Posted 04 April 2009 - 01:50 AM

What's Goin' On

Im new to this

so who want's to battle me in Gta4

Captain_Obvis456
  • Captain_Obvis456

    you're about to be inadequate

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2008

#148

Posted 04 April 2009 - 02:38 AM Edited by Captain_Obvis456, 04 April 2009 - 02:46 AM.

QUOTE (enlistedjp @ Apr 2 2009, 22:27)
How can i rank up if every time i try to join rank the jerks kick me out because i'm level 1.

What platform? If you play on PC I'll play with you. four tha lulz is me. Post back if you do and I'll tell you an easy way to find me.

ZAZ
  • ZAZ

    Kernlochbohrer

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2005
  • European-Union

#149

Posted 09 April 2009 - 05:45 PM

What do the colored icons mean by searching in user defined screen ?
3 bars: green, yellow or red
user posted image
conection quality? I entered a match with red icon and could play very well but there was only one gamer with me in NOOSE Alarm.

floydbloke
  • floydbloke

    eddie low

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2008
  • New-Zealand

#150

Posted 12 April 2009 - 05:24 AM

QUOTE (ZAZ @ Apr 9 2009, 17:45)
What do the colored icons mean by searching in user defined screen ?
3 bars: green, yellow or red
user posted image
conection quality? I entered a match with red icon and could play very well but there was only one gamer with me in NOOSE Alarm.

Anyone? I'm keen to know as well. Although I think I've joined games of all colours with no lag as far as I know, I'm all for the best playing experience for all parties.

Also, I often get killed by one or two shots, while it 'seems' I'm hitting my opponent half a dozen times and he doesn't go down. Must point out here that I'm not much of a hard-core gamer, only really play GTA, and have only just got into MP so I'm very much what you guys call a n00b. So is it because I'm completely sh*te at this game, or could/should I be doing something different to improve my kill-rate.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users