Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA:IV Multiplayer F.A.Q.

226 replies to this topic
SuperJude™
  • SuperJude™

    Lifelong fan of the number "42"

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 21 May 2008
  • None

#91

Posted 08 July 2008 - 02:10 AM

Well my rank got reset and I've now seen firsthand what snobs TDM players can be. People will leave my team or in a couple cases straight up try to kick me because I had 0 and 1 stars. Kind of amusing actually, wonder how it feels when I then kick some ass?

But seriously, what is it with people who don't want to game with the lower ranked players?

Rover
  • Rover

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2008

#92

Posted 08 July 2008 - 02:22 AM

QUOTE (SuperJude™ @ Jul 8 2008, 02:10)
Well my rank got reset and I've now seen firsthand what snobs TDM players can be. People will leave my team or in a couple cases straight up try to kick me because I had 0 and 1 stars. Kind of amusing actually, wonder how it feels when I then kick some ass?

But seriously, what is it with people who don't want to game with the lower ranked players?

It just feels more secure playing with higher ranked players even though it doesn't mean they won't suck. I am guilty of joining teams with higher ranked players myself.

SuperJude™
  • SuperJude™

    Lifelong fan of the number "42"

  • D1RTY12
  • Joined: 21 May 2008
  • None

#93

Posted 08 July 2008 - 03:35 AM

Sorry I meant to post this in the thread about favorite online mode. My rank is back and people now want to play with me again biggrin.gif

tj11
  • tj11

    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#94

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:50 AM

Hey, I just had a look at the first page and thought I should mention that the cash amounts for leveling up are incorrect.
Please ignore this post if that has already been established. Cheers icon14.gif

006
  • 006

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2008

#95

Posted 10 July 2008 - 07:10 AM

I cannot start ranked games from party mode, only unranked.

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#96

Posted 10 July 2008 - 09:33 PM

QUOTE (tj11 @ Jul 10 2008, 02:50)
Hey, I just had a look at the first page and thought I should mention that the cash amounts for leveling up are incorrect.
Please ignore this post if that has already been established. Cheers icon14.gif

QUOTE
Rank 1: $5,000

Rank 2: $20,000

Rank 3: $50,000

Rank 4: $100,000

Rank 5: $250,000

Rank 6: $500,000

Rank 7: $1,000,000

Rank 8: $2,500,000

Rank 9: $5,000,000

Rank 10: $10,000,000

Note: This is not confirmed.


QUOTE
I cannot start ranked games from party mode, only unranked.

Is it only certain game types or all?

tj11
  • tj11

    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#97

Posted 13 July 2008 - 05:07 AM Edited by tj11, 13 July 2008 - 12:27 PM.

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Jul 11 2008, 07:33)
QUOTE (tj11 @ Jul 10 2008, 02:50)
Hey, I just had a look at the first page and thought I should mention that the cash amounts for leveling up are incorrect.
Please ignore this post if that has already been established. Cheers icon14.gif

QUOTE
Rank 1: $5,000

Rank 2: $20,000

Rank 3: $50,000

Rank 4: $100,000

Rank 5: $250,000

Rank 6: $500,000

Rank 7: $1,000,000

Rank 8: $2,500,000

Rank 9: $5,000,000

Rank 10: $10,000,000

Note: This is not confirmed.

Yeah, they are the figures I was referring to.
They are incorrect. For example; $1,000,000 gets you to level 8.
I'm currently level 8 myself and need to reach $2,500,000 for level 9.
I'm not too sure how much money you need for level 10 - but I'll ask someone.
You need to alter the figures so that they are correct. smile.gif



***EDIT - Well I just spoke to my friend serendeep and he confirmed everything I said.
He also told me that level 10 is indeed $5,000,000 - so there it is.

zeroskater2011
  • zeroskater2011

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2008

#98

Posted 14 July 2008 - 07:09 AM


Zump
  • Zump

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 May 2008

#99

Posted 18 July 2008 - 01:09 PM Edited by Zump, 18 July 2008 - 01:32 PM.

Can anyone tell what costumes you get on each rank? And has anyone gotten on Rank 10 yet?

EDIT: I started searching YouTube and found these:
http://uk.youtube.co...yW9q0kL6Dk&NR=1
http://uk.youtube.co...h?v=tf81TS60nJY (The costumes are in the end of the video)

There is no suits? WHAT!? NO SUITS!?! DAMN!

CapnRedChops
  • CapnRedChops

    Gamer since 1980

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jun 2008

#100

Posted 05 August 2008 - 10:01 PM

* FOR POSTERITY *

Hi all,

Is your friends list not showing all your buddies? Is this a constant source of frustration for you?

Well worry no more!

CavinRovi (remember, there is no L in Cavin) advised me to sign in BEFORE you start up the game, WAIT until your friends list is loaded THEN load up the game.

And it works.

FYI I was loading the game, and signing in during or after that, and getting the error every time.

Thanks again Cavin!

P.S. Now let's get the headsets right!!!

CavinRovi
  • CavinRovi

    Mark Chump

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008

#101

Posted 22 August 2008 - 10:33 AM Edited by CavinRovi, 22 August 2008 - 10:35 AM.

QUOTE (CapnRedChops @ Aug 5 2008, 22:01)
* FOR POSTERITY *

Hi all,

Is your friends list not showing all your buddies? Is this a constant source of frustration for you?

Well worry no more!

CavinRovi (remember, there is no L in Cavin) advised me to sign in BEFORE you start up the game, WAIT until your friends list is loaded THEN load up the game.

And it works.

FYI I was loading the game, and signing in during or after that, and getting the error every time.

Thanks again Cavin!

P.S. Now let's get the headsets right!!!

NO PROBLEMO MATE! wink.gif icon14.gif

Glad to help where I can!

NOW - get your HEAD-SET! tounge.gif
Just a Note: Head-set WILL disconect from a game session and appear to get STUCK in a GTA Lobby!
THIS IS NOT YOUR HEAD-SET Messing Up, but somethign to do with GTA.4!
DO NOT Throw away your Head-sets as soon as it happens! sly.gif

RoAcHcliP
  • RoAcHcliP

    bong system

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Sep 2002

#102

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:20 PM

Probably been mentioned a few times before but, does anyone else get disconnected from multilayer games often? Sometimes it happens to me after every race I do, then I have to load the single player and go back into mp. Its very annoying!

Bunni
  • Bunni

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2006

#103

Posted 30 September 2008 - 03:06 PM

QUOTE (CavinRovi @ Aug 22 2008, 10:33)
NOW - get your HEAD-SET! tounge.gif
Just a Note: Head-set WILL disconect from a game session and appear to get STUCK in a GTA Lobby!
THIS IS NOT YOUR HEAD-SET Messing Up, but somethign to do with GTA.4!
DO NOT Throw away your Head-sets as soon as it happens! sly.gif

This is soooo annoying. Im using a bluetooth on the PS3 and its connected and on in the PS3 system menu but for some reason, it disconnects after awhile in multiplayer. Theres no way I can get it back on in the game unless i quit everything and then start up GTA all over again.

GRRR suicidal.gif

.:nemesis:.
  • .:nemesis:.

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2008

#104

Posted 06 October 2008 - 08:22 AM Edited by .:nemesis:., 09 October 2008 - 08:02 AM.

Don't know if this has been mentioned, cba to look through the pages...

In GTA Race, your car health is affected by crashing or w/e and thus can end up being unusable/wrecked, GTA Race mode allows you to drive any vehicle you see, plus you can't re-spawn at the last checkpoint you went through when you hold the respawn button.

Put simply...it's a Deathmatch and and Race at the same time, so you can get money for both killing people and winning the race.

sammyman88
  • sammyman88

    Psycho =MB=

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2008

#105

Posted 18 October 2008 - 08:47 PM

Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#106

Posted 23 October 2008 - 08:12 PM

QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

ByronG
  • ByronG

    Turf Warrior

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 May 2008

#107

Posted 09 November 2008 - 03:18 PM Edited by ByronG, 18 November 2008 - 03:50 PM.

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Oct 23 2008, 21:12)
QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

edit: sig no so... turn.gif

I have people on my friends list that dont show ingame?
Do i have to delete them all and re-invite em to get them back u know?

birdis0n
  • birdis0n

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008

#108

Posted 11 December 2008 - 04:32 PM

how can i create a gang? @ PC

AceHamster
  • AceHamster

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#109

Posted 11 December 2008 - 08:59 PM

I would like to make a multiplayer game for just me and a friend. What's the quickest way to do this. Other people keep joining sad.gif
Great FAQ btw smile.gif

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#110

Posted 12 December 2008 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE (birdis0n @ Dec 11 2008, 12:32)
how can i create a gang? @ PC

You can't that I know of. I don't have GTA:IV PC.

QUOTE
I would like to make a multiplayer game for just me and a friend. What's the quickest way to do this. Other people keep joining sad.gif


You can either just do party mode and invite your friend or go to your phone in single player > multiplayer > player match > custom > Free mode > and set private slots to max. Then set up your settings and invite whoever you want.

DazedFinch
  • DazedFinch

    Shaken and Baked

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2008

#111

Posted 13 December 2008 - 09:04 PM

I haven't played GTA: IV MP for awhile now, so I'm just wondering how the servers are and if theres a decent size population on MP during its peak hours?

AMEER157
  • AMEER157

    Cesar Tremor

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2005

#112

Posted 15 December 2008 - 01:24 PM

What is your gamer tag guys? mine is "ameer157"

BfcWalker
  • BfcWalker

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2008

#113

Posted 15 December 2008 - 04:14 PM

mines BfcWalker

user posted image

Anrael
  • Anrael

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2008

#114

Posted 15 December 2008 - 08:11 PM

.gg

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#115

Posted 15 December 2008 - 08:43 PM

QUOTE (AMEER157 @ Dec 15 2008, 09:24)
What is your gamer tag guys? mine is "ameer157"

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=335179

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=357377

S11ULN
  • S11ULN

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2008

#116

Posted 18 December 2008 - 01:39 AM

Hi All,

Im new to the forum, but have been playing online (PSN) for about 2 months-ish.

I am currently a Level 5, and had the joy of playing recently turf wars wih a lvl 8, 9, & 10, and it was them against me (3 on 1).

I have no problems in saying I got hammered. sad.gif

So I have a few question:

Do you get extra abilites in higher levels? eg health etc.

How badly does the connection speed affect the game play?

Were they really shooting me in one shot, or did it just seem like it?

I decided to play many games against them with the theory that "to improve your skills you must play better opponents"
This didnt work for me, and I was so demoralised after several arse whoopings!

Any Advice peeps?

Many Thanks

AMEER157
  • AMEER157

    Cesar Tremor

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2005

#117

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:12 PM

Ricg Information! Thanks icon14.gif

SourChipmunk
  • SourChipmunk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2008

#118

Posted 22 December 2008 - 07:23 PM

I scanned through this thread and didn't see an answer to this seemingly simple question:

How do I join an existing game that meets the criteria I want?

For example (PS3 console), I would like to join a single-player race, with only Super Cars, at the airport, 3 laps, with weapons. However, when I try to connect it puts me into just one game type selected by the King dude, or I have to create the game myself. Can someone give me a walkthrough on finding that game?

Banana
  • Banana

    Ghetto Star

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 23 May 2006
  • United-States

#119

Posted 24 December 2008 - 06:03 PM

QUOTE (SourChipmunk @ Dec 22 2008, 15:23)
I scanned through this thread and didn't see an answer to this seemingly simple question:

How do I join an existing game that meets the criteria I want?

For example (PS3 console), I would like to join a single-player race, with only Super Cars, at the airport, 3 laps, with weapons. However, when I try to connect it puts me into just one game type selected by the King dude, or I have to create the game myself. Can someone give me a walkthrough on finding that game?

You have to create the game to get it to be the settings you want.

tj11
  • tj11

    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2008

#120

Posted 26 December 2008 - 01:09 AM

QUOTE (angrybanana5000 @ Oct 24 2008, 06:12)
QUOTE (sammyman88 @ Oct 18 2008, 16:47)
Those ranking up like how much money you need to rank up is wrong.

I fixed it.

It is still incorrect!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users