Photo

Driving Tips

8 replies to this topic
inveni0
  • inveni0

Man of the Hour

• Members

Posted 03 May 2008 - 02:50 PM

I know there are some people out there that are having trouble driving in GTA4. So, I thought I'd start a thread about how I am slowly getting the hang of it. I thought that, by sharing information instead of just flaming someone for having trouble, we could help everyone get the most out of driving in GTA4. So, if you wish to participate, list your system/controller and your tips on taking straightaways and corners accident free.

ON PS3
Two weeks ago, I started playing GT5:Prologue. It's awesome. However, this greatly affected my enjoyment of the driving mechanics in GTA4. I thought they were terrible at first. I slowly started to get the hang of it, and I realized that my weakness was in cornering. I found that using the handbrake in conjunction with the regular brake gave me the best results for cornering at high speed. Recently, I've even changed how I hold the controller so that this is easier. I now use my middle finger for R2 and my index finger for R1. The same for L2 and L1 on the left side. Once I started this, it almost felt as if I'd been holding the PS controller the wrong way since I bought a PS2 7 years ago.

I also found that looking ahead into an intersection is smart. You can see what the traffic signal says, and can tell where cars are going because they use turn signals. This makes clearing intersections much easier (though you'll still have the occasional a$$hole pull out in front of you). On straightaways it's also important to look at turn signals because a simple lane change can wipe you out.

The main goal when driving is to keep your car straight--keep the bumper parallel to the ground. If you're rocking and swaying, you'll wind up on two wheels, and steering is impossible, then.

Anyway, this helped me, and may help you.

Freyar
  • Freyar

Crackhead

• Members

Posted 03 May 2008 - 02:55 PM

Xbox 360