Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Can popups be fixed by a software update via Live?

22 replies to this topic
frosse
  • frosse

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2008

#1

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:38 PM

Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s). Can these kind of issues be fixed by a software update on Live for example?

Don't flame if this has been asked before.

GTA-US
  • GTA-US

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2007

#2

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:42 PM

I hope they add a HD install option. That might help. It's not THAT bad IMHO. It's better than previous GTA's but it's still there. My main gripe is the lack of look left/right in the car with R2 L2.

Simon Balthier
  • Simon Balthier

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2008

#3

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:46 PM

QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 12:38)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s). Can these kind of issues be fixed by a software update on Live for example?

Don't flame if this has been asked before.

lol...donīt stress yourself...its not annoying...you hardly get to see those things when you are gaming...

About your question: No, i donīt think this will work...Streaming from HDD recommends changes of programm code iirc...and i dont think that MS will allow it, too... confused.gif

frosse
  • frosse

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2008

#4

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:50 PM

Okay, so no HDD install and no Live update. Hope ur right about not noticing it.

Only 3 hrs left and then I get to play G to the T to the A. smile.gif

Jay
  • Jay

    1984 - 2011

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#5

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:51 PM

QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

Hobo-Lord
  • Hobo-Lord

    you jelly? yah u jelly

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 May 2007

#6

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:01 PM

i got used to it in SA, i didnt really care. even with pop ups, its still x5 better graphics then san andreas

Jay
  • Jay

    1984 - 2011

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2004

#7

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:02 PM

QUOTE (Hobo-Lord @ Apr 29 2008, 22:31)
i got used to it in SA, i didnt really care.

There's only so many times you can crash into a tree flying a hydra that hasn't even loaded yet.

GTASIX
  • GTASIX

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2007

#8

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:02 PM

I dont know if theres popup (not played it yet) but usually if theres little glitches or something in a game they will release a patch to fix it.

Sinor
  • Sinor

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2008

#9

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:03 PM

Don't totally rule out that the 360 might get an which allows HD installation. It's been done before as far as I know

Johny
  • Johny

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2005

#10

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:03 PM

I haven't seen any huge popup, only small things, but that doesn't matter.

derty
  • derty

    My member's custom title is "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2007

#11

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:03 PM

QUOTE (Jayzamann @ Apr 29 2008, 07:51)
QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

sooo, an iso running from the HDD even stutters like that? nervous.gif

GTASIX
  • GTASIX

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 May 2007

#12

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:05 PM

QUOTE (derty @ Apr 29 2008, 13:03)
QUOTE (Jayzamann @ Apr 29 2008, 07:51)
QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

sooo, an iso running from the HDD even stutters like that? nervous.gif

The pirate version was meant to be a BETA test version. Or pre-gold version.

snoopek
  • snoopek

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2007

#13

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:06 PM

QUOTE (derty @ Apr 29 2008, 13:03)
QUOTE (Jayzamann @ Apr 29 2008, 07:51)
QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

sooo, an iso running from the HDD even stutters like that? nervous.gif

Dear God, you don't run iso from HDD, it ain't PC :-) You need to burn it to DVD.

And no, I don't have modded xbox, I don't even have an xbox till tomorrow.

gummybear
  • gummybear

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#14

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:06 PM

QUOTE (derty @ Apr 29 2008, 13:03)
QUOTE (Jayzamann @ Apr 29 2008, 07:51)
QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

sooo, an iso running from the HDD even stutters like that? nervous.gif

running from an hdd isn't exactly 100% reliable wink.gif

derty
  • derty

    My member's custom title is "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2007

#15

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:07 PM

What am I looking for on that board index?

I dunno, I just know 40mBps > 4mBps

Again, load a LIVE CD linux, watch it run sh*tty. Then install it, watch it Fly

gummybear
  • gummybear

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#16

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:09 PM

there's more than one thread about it, i'm sure your brain can point you in the right direction

BrummieSteven
  • BrummieSteven

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2006

#17

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:10 PM

I've been playing on 360 and had no popups smile.gif

Amnesia180
  • Amnesia180

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#18

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:13 PM

Hi All,

I haven't played the game yet... the CD is starting up at me from my work desk, lol.

Anyway, what you have to remember is, some people thought they were going to be in a "Movie" like it was at the cinema or something. These people, are also sorely disapointed.

So when they get a popup (and by this I assume they mean a tree, or a car, or a person appearing out of nowhere because it's taken a while to load it) they think it's the end of the world.

Lots of people are saying it's not that bad...

The same can be said for LOTS of games. We expected to much!

The reviews gave it 10/10 - they don't just make these things up you know smile.gif

You also need to remember that MS release updates quite regularly, if they get wind of the problem, something may be done to rectify it.

Just enjoy the game smile.gif

//Amnesia

derty
  • derty

    My member's custom title is "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2007

#19

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:14 PM

QUOTE (gummybear @ Apr 29 2008, 08:09)
there's more than one thread about it, i'm sure your brain can point you in the right direction

oh, I guess you're talking about the 60gb issues that are the same as I experienced on my PS2 with Parallel Lines and Ico? Caused by leaving the system running with a disc in it for days. All the sudden, some games don't work. Doesn't happen to all discs, but Does happen to All optical drives.

I sense some hostility - if their is any, please, send me a PM and be clear about it. I'll correct you as politely as possible sarcasm.gif tounge.gif

frosse
  • frosse

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2008

#20

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:18 PM

I guess I'll find out in about 3 hours if it bothers me or not smile.gif

J Hater
  • J Hater

    Crows

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2002
  • Romania

#21

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:18 PM

QUOTE (GTASIX @ Apr 29 2008, 15:05)
QUOTE (derty @ Apr 29 2008, 13:03)
QUOTE (Jayzamann @ Apr 29 2008, 07:51)
QUOTE (frosse @ Apr 29 2008, 22:08)
Okay, I havent played the game yet nor have I seen ANY gameplay vids what so ever but I'm reading alot about these anoying pop-ups (especially on X360s).

A lot of those popups were filmed on pirated versions of the game

sooo, an iso running from the HDD even stutters like that? nervous.gif

The pirate version was meant to be a BETA test version. Or pre-gold version.

LOL lol.gif the pirate version was actually made after a full copy of the game colgate.gif they took it from a store who had it!
where the F do u get such info that it was pre-gold =)) that really made me laugh

gummybear
  • gummybear

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2008

#22

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:21 PM

there's more than just the 60gb problems but if you're too blind to see then i understand cool.gif

emigrating
  • emigrating

    Playa

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2008

#23

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:27 PM

QUOTE (J Hater @ Apr 29 2008, 13:18)
LOL lol.gif the pirate version was actually made after a full copy of the game colgate.gif they took it from a store who had it!
where the F do u get such info that it was pre-gold =)) that really made me laugh

That's not really the issue though - running from a burnt DVD, no matter how good your writer or media is, will never stream as fast as a factory pressed silver disc.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users