Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Territory Glitch Cheat-Device Code: PS2

617 replies to this topic
gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#511

Posted 24 May 2013 - 08:25 PM Edited by gtafan1110, 24 May 2013 - 08:29 PM.

Oh, sorry, probably should have elaborated a bit.
I activated each code one at a time. I would use the specified button combo, kill CJ, then save. After that, I restart the ps2 and disable the code I just used and activate the next one. The Rifa/Aztecas/etc. gang war codes (the ones that change the territory colors), however, I am using all at once.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#512

Posted 24 May 2013 - 08:43 PM

QUOTE (gtafan1110 @ Friday, May 24 2013, 20:25)
Oh, sorry, probably should have elaborated a bit.
I activated each code one at a time. I would use the specified button combo, kill CJ, then save. After that, I restart the ps2 and disable the code I just used and activate the next one. The Rifa/Aztecas/etc. gang war codes (the ones that change the territory colors), however, I am using all at once.

Don't use the Aztecas, Rifas, Triads, etc gang war codes all at once. Only use specific gang war codes at a time. For example: you can activate all 4 Azteca gang war codes at once (takeover the territories, save and go onto the next), but don't combine Triads with Rifas, etc.

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#513

Posted 24 May 2013 - 08:58 PM

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Friday, May 24 2013, 20:43)
Don't use the Aztecas, Rifas, Triads, etc gang war codes all at once. Only use specific gang war codes at a time. For example: you can activate all 4 Azteca gang war codes at once (takeover the territories, save and go onto the next), but don't combine Triads with Rifas, etc.

Alright, after disabling all the other codes and only using one gang code group, the territories are still not working. I even tried reentering the codes.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#514

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:04 PM Edited by GTASAddict, 24 May 2013 - 09:20 PM.

QUOTE (gtafan1110 @ Friday, May 24 2013, 20:58)

Alright, after disabling all the other codes and only using one gang code group, the territories are still not working. I even tried reentering the codes.


What all codes do you have in your database? As of yet, the only codes you're having trouble with is the Azteca, Da Nang, Mafia, etc gang war codes, right?

PAL v1 game id is 06A3.

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#515

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:10 PM Edited by gtafan1110, 24 May 2013 - 09:12 PM.

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Friday, May 24 2013, 21:04)
What all codes do you have in your database? As of yet, the only codes you're having trouble with is the Azteca, Da Nang, Mafia, etc gang war codes?

I only have my Enable Code and the codes I mentioned before.
And yes, the new gang codes are the only one I am having problems with.
I am using a Codebreaker, so there is no need to convert the raw codes.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#516

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:20 PM

Unfortunately, I have no experience with Codebreaker. Which version of Codebreaker do you have? BabeRuth uses multiple versions of Codebreaker and I know he uses Rics codes. You could ask him.


gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#517

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:22 PM

I'm using Codebreaker 9.3. Would the cheat device used change the outcome of the code?

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#518

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:28 PM

No, the cheat device won't affect the codes effects. The thing is, the cheat device used might need certain lines to process properly which can only be acquired through conversions.

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#519

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:37 PM

Sorry to come in late without thoroughly reading all that's been said, but... Are the zone colors the only problem? The non-standard colors tend be be flaky. The changes don't save well, and the game is constantly trying to adjust all of the colors based on changes in density and are liable to undo the coded changes. If the correct gangs aren't appearing in the correct zone there might be a more serious problem.

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#520

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:50 PM Edited by gtafan1110, 24 May 2013 - 09:54 PM.

QUOTE (OrionSR @ Friday, May 24 2013, 21:37)
Sorry to come in late without thoroughly reading all that's been said, but... Are the zone colors the only problem? The non-standard colors tend be be flaky. The changes don't save well, and the game is constantly trying to adjust all of the colors based on changes in density and are liable to undo the coded changes. If the correct gangs aren't appearing in the correct zone there might be a more serious problem.

The colored territories do not stay under my control. If I win a gang war in a Azteca/Rifa/Triad/Mafia territory, the territory changes to their correct color (Cyan, blue, red, grey) instead of green. I cannot gain control of any of their territories. I can, however, take a Vagos or Ballas territory with no problems.

Also, when the color changes to cyan/red etc after the gang war, if I suicide, start another war, or enter an interior it changes back to purple or yellow and I have to take it over again.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#521

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:56 PM

QUOTE (gtafan1110 @ Friday, May 24 2013, 21:50)

The colored territories do not stay under my control. If I win a gang war in a Azteca/Rifa/Triad/Mafia territory, the territory changes to their correct color (Cyan, blue, red, grey) instead of green. I cannot gain control of any of their territories. I can, however, take a Vagos or Ballas territory with no problems.

Also, when the color changes to cyan/red etc after the gang war, if I suicide, start another war, or enter an interior it changes back to purple or yellow and I have to take it over again.

Okay, that's not normal at all. The territories are supposed to be blue, red, orange (whatever) and the specific gang & Ballas are supposed to spawn. You are to kill at least 3 Ballas then the specific gang will come in 3 waves. After killing them, the territory is supposed to turn green and only Grove is supposed to spawn. That leads me to the theory that when you activated them all at once and saved, it bugged (or worse, corrupted) your file. You might need to erase your file (if it's bugged) or get a new memory card (if it's corrupted).

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#522

Posted 24 May 2013 - 09:58 PM Edited by gtafan1110, 24 May 2013 - 10:42 PM.

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Friday, May 24 2013, 21:56)
Okay, that's not normal at all. The territories are supposed to be blue, red, orange (whatever) and the specific gang & Ballas are supposed to spawn. You are to kill at least 3 Ballas then the specific gang will come in 3 waves. After killing the, the territory is supposed to turn green and only Grove is supposed to spawn. That leads me to the theory that when you activated them all once and saved, it bugged (or worse, corrupted) your file. You might need to erase your file (if it's bugged) or get a new memory card (if it's corrupted).

Alright, I'll try a new save. I'll be sure to activate a single gang wars group this time

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#523

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:43 PM Edited by gtafan1110, 24 May 2013 - 10:48 PM.

The new save changed nothing. Same result. Only activated one gang war group (Aztecas).

suicidal.gif

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#524

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:50 PM

That means either A: your memory card got corrupted or B: Ric made a mistake when porting those codes to PAL v1.


gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#525

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:53 PM

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Friday, May 24 2013, 22:50)
That means either A: your memory card got corrupted or B: Ric made a mistake when porting those codes to PAL v1.

It isn't just my PAL copy that does this. I also tried the codes on my NTSC copy (with a different memory card) and it did the same thing.

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#526

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:04 PM

Probably not a 'porting error since the same problem was reported for NTSCv1 which I'm sure what thoroughly tested. I'm wondering if the code is still running, which would overwrite any changes from the gang war. Perhaps the jokers work differently on codebreaker, although that seems unlikely. Do the color/density changes occur before the button is pressed? One test would be to make all changes, save, and restart the game without any codes active.

The jokers are supposed to prevent the codes from working unless the button is pressed. If things are working as expected it should be possible to have several codes in memory and active them one at a time.

How are you starting wars against gangs other than Ballas or Vagos? I know ric knows how to get other gangs to show up for a war or attack, but didn't know those codes were included in this set, and it's the kind of code that needs to be active to work. Even then, wars can only be started against Vagos and Ballas. The other bit of gang war mechanics: normally if Ballas and Aztecas share a turf, it should only be possible to trigger a war in that zone if the Ballas have a higher density than the Aztecas. The war will be against the Ballas, but grove will get all of the density after the war.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#527

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:05 PM

QUOTE (gtafan1110 @ Friday, May 24 2013, 22:53)

It isn't just my PAL copy that does this. I also tried the codes on my NTSC copy (with a different memory card) and it did the same thing.

I'm running out of ideas. I tested all Rics NTSC v1 codes (on the first page anyway) at least once and no problems arose with them. Ric-013, OrionSR & Skills might have some theories for you.

I still have an idea though it will take a few questions to initiate it, and so lets use the Aztecas territories to put it into context. Without the codes active, what gang currently occupies the El Corona zones?

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#528

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:10 AM Edited by gtafan1110, 25 May 2013 - 12:14 AM.

QUOTE (OrionSR @ Friday, May 24 2013, 23:04)
Probably not a 'porting error since the same problem was reported for NTSCv1 which I'm sure what thoroughly tested. I'm wondering if the code is still running, which would overwrite any changes from the gang war. Perhaps the jokers work differently on codebreaker, although that seems unlikely. Do the color/density changes occur before the button is pressed? One test would be to make all changes, save, and restart the game without any codes active.

The jokers are supposed to prevent the codes from working unless the button is pressed. If things are working as expected it should be possible to have several codes in memory and active them one at a time.

How are you starting wars against gangs other than Ballas or Vagos? I know ric knows how to get other gangs to show up for a war or attack, but didn't know those codes were included in this set, and it's the kind of code that needs to be active to work. Even then, wars can only be started against Vagos and Ballas. The other bit of gang war mechanics: normally if Ballas and Aztecas share a turf, it should only be possible to trigger a war in that zone if the Ballas have a higher density than the Aztecas. The war will be against the Ballas, but grove will get all of the density after the war.

There is no button combo mentioned by Ric in any of his posts for the jokered gang war codes I am having problems with, and from other posts on the thread it doesn't look like any button press is needed. I think the jokers are triggered by an event in the game (such as loading, dying, being busted, etc) rather than a button press.

As for the color on the map, it shows up as Ballas/Vagos territory, yet Aztecas still show up there. The territory only turns the code's intended color (cyan, red, grey) when I have completely taken over the territory, even though the territory is supposed to turn green when captured. No Grove members spawn, the gang density does not seem to change. If I suicide, go into an interior, or start another gang war, the "captured" territory turns back to purple/yellow.

To start the war, I kill 3 Ballas in that territory. Instead of Ballas, Aztecas come to attack me. That shows that at least part of the code is working correctly.

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Friday, May 24 2013, 23:05)
I'm running out of ideas. I tested all Rics NTSC v1 codes (on the first page anyway) at least once and no problems arose with them. Ric-013, OrionSR & Skills might have some theories for you.

I still have an idea though it will take a few questions to initiate it, and so lets use the Aztecas territories to put it into context. Without the codes active, what gang currently occupies the El Corona zones?

When no codes are active, I find Aztecas and Ballas in El Corona.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#529

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:28 AM

@OrionSR: Ric didn't include a joker with the Azteca, Rifa, Da Nang, etc gang war codes. The only exceptions are the LV Mafia, Gang 9, etc and those are only to implant density, not enable the wars.

PAL v1
raw
ESPN1 = da nang wars
E002A9EF 0066C8AC
0066C8B4 00000004
0066C8DC 00000004
E0040100 307BA9F2
007BA9EF 00000032
207BA9F0 30000000
107BA9FA 000066CC
107BA9FC 0000A000

PAL v1
raw
ELCO2 = aztecas wars
E002AFD8 0066C8AC
0066C8B4 00000007
0066C8DC 00000007
E0060100 307BAFDE
107BAFD8 00000032
007BAFDA 00000000
107BAFDE 00003000
007BAFE3 00000000
107BAFE4 0000FFFF
007BAFE6 000000A0

Refer to Rics first post on the first page.

@gtafan1110: Wow, that's not the response I expected. I expected it to be one (Ballas) or the other (Aztecas). What I expected was Ballas would spawn if the last code you used was the 371 code. Likewise, I expected Aztecas would spawn if the last code you used was the code that restored Aztecas, Rifas, etc to their default territories. I didn't expect both and thus, my theory was erased.

Can you provoke any war without the code active?

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#530

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:35 AM

Yes, gang wars work normally while the code is disabled. Ballas/Vagos come in 3 waves, and after it is finished, the territory turns green and Grove St. members replace the previous gang.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#531

Posted 25 May 2013 - 12:48 AM

New suggestion then: takeover the territories without the code in effect, then save it, turn the game off, activate the Azteca war codes and see if it's fixed.

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#532

Posted 25 May 2013 - 01:41 AM

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Saturday, May 25 2013, 00:48)
New suggestion then: takeover the territories without the code in effect, then save it, turn the game off, activate the Azteca war codes and see if it's fixed.

I disabled the codes, reset the PS2, captured an Azteca territory, it turned green and Grove members immediately appeared.
I saved, reset, enabled the codes, and now the territory is purple again. I capture it, it turns cyan. Nothing appears to have changed.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#533

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:01 AM

After it turned Cyan, what gang(s) spawned?

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#534

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:02 AM

QUOTE (GTASAddict @ Saturday, May 25 2013, 02:01)
After it turned Cyan, what gang(s) spawned?

Ballas and Aztecas.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#535

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:04 AM

Try provoking a war again with them again and see what happens.

gtafan1110
  • gtafan1110

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2008

#536

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:06 AM

After attacking the Ballas in the cyan territory, Aztecas attacked me as they should. When the war was over, the territory was still cyan.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#537

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:16 AM

I get it now; no matter how many times you provoke a war and win, it stays the same color and the same gangs keep spawning. It's hard for me to properly analyze these particular codes because Ric didn't give a proper layout of the compositions. As of now, I'm out of ideas. Hopefully someone replies with something that gives me an idea.


OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#538

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:23 AM

Is everyone convinced that the NTSC and PAL version both suffer from the same conditions?
Does the shorter Da Nang code work the same as the Aztecas code?

These codes are more complex than I first thought. I hadn't realized that ric had implemented this strategy. I helped develop the method used and might be able to figure out what's going on but it will take a while. If there is definitely a difference between v1 and PAL then I might be able to detect a problem with the port.

I was mistaking E002A9EF 0066C8AC as a joker code. But if you define "joker" as requiring a button press then these are conditional checks. It's basically the same as a button test but a different area of memory is checked.

GTASAddict
  • GTASAddict

    0_0

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2012

#539

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:34 AM

QUOTE
Is everyone convinced that the NTSC and PAL version both suffer from the same conditions?


The only thing I can attest to is NTSC v1 works accordingly.

QUOTE
Does the shorter Da Nang code work the same as the Aztecas code?


With the Da Nang code, the map turned orange, Ballas & Da Nang spawned, I killed 3 Ballas triggering a war. The waves consisted of Da Nang and when I killed them in 3 waves, the map turned Green and Grove spawned. With the Aztecas code, the map turned Cyan, Ballas & Aztecas spawned, I killed 3 Ballas triggering a war. The waves consisted of Aztecas and when I killed them in 3 waves, the map turned Green and Grove spawned. As you know, no joker was used and I didn't even have to get wasted/busted.

These are the codes I used as to help you analyze the porting:

NTSC v1
raw
ESPN1 = da nang wars
E002A8EF 0066C7AC
0066C7B4 00000004
0066C7DC 00000004
E0040100 307BA8F2
007BA8EF 00000032
207BA8F0 30000000
107BA8FA 000066CC
107BA8FC 0000A000

NTSC v1
raw
ELCO2 = aztecas wars
E002AED8 0066C7AC
0066C7B4 00000007
0066C7DC 00000007
E0060100 307BAEDE
107BAED8 00000032
007BAEDA 00000000
107BAEDE 00003000
007BAEE3 00000000
107BAEE4 0000FFFF
007BAEE6 000000A0

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#540

Posted 25 May 2013 - 02:43 AM

The port from NTSCv1 to PALv1 looks fine. I'm leaning towards a difference in how codebreaker is handling the conditional checks or how Omni/Maxconvert manages the conversion. I have no way to test that.

gtafan1110, can you post one of the raw codes used above whatever you used for codebreaker? Which converter are you using. Do both of the major converters provide the same output?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users