Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL] Vice City Widescreen Fix

63 replies to this topic
Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#31

Posted 30 October 2008 - 11:44 AM

When using a 16:10 resolution and not activating the widescreen option some people, including me, noticed errors I described in the first post.

I cite:
QUOTE
This showed in a difference between the crosshair and the actual hit point.
[...]
- HUD not stretched anymore
- Crosshair match hit point
- perspective adjusted

While the perspective is probably a matter of taste, at least I had problems with the crosshair not matching the point of bullet impact, as shown here: http://squiddy.marwa...beforeafter.jpg

g30dud3
  • g30dud3

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007

#32

Posted 30 October 2008 - 07:21 PM

QUOTE (Squiddy @ Oct 30 2008, 11:44)
When using a 16:10 resolution and not activating the widescreen option some people, including me, noticed errors I described in the first post.

I cite:
QUOTE
This showed in a difference between the crosshair and the actual hit point.
[...]
- HUD not stretched anymore
- Crosshair match hit point
- perspective adjusted

While the perspective is probably a matter of taste, at least I had problems with the crosshair not matching the point of bullet impact, as shown here: http://squiddy.marwa...beforeafter.jpg

Okay, its just when I play using a widescreen 16:10 resolution everything looks normal*. Only when activating Widescreen while also using a 16:10 resolution do I get the aforementioned error of crosshair not matching hit point, yet as I said if you were using a 16:10 resoltution there is no need to enable the Widescreen option - Everything looks squashed. That's why I was confused.


*The HUD and Radar are still stretched regardless of widescreen being enabled.

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#33

Posted 01 November 2008 - 11:22 AM

Yes, I probably mixed things up. I've developed this on a 4:3 lcd, because a friend notified me of these errors. It's been to long ago for me, so I can't really remember what the real problem was. I read somewhere, that the widescreen option was for using widescreen resolutions on a 4:3 display. So activating it for playing on a widescreen probably is a mistake, but I didn't know that before, so I was developing with it.
At least it fixes the hud stretching. tounge.gif

ThomasPL
  • ThomasPL

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2007

#34

Posted 06 December 2008 - 08:13 PM

Someone maybe have a Fix for GTA3 which is working like that?

Dingleman
  • Dingleman

    SA:LC Mod Leader

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2005

#35

Posted 30 April 2009 - 09:34 AM

Bump, but the guys post above me is right, this problem really bugs me in GTA 3. Could you possible make a fix for that too Squiddy?

Slavovitsh
  • Slavovitsh

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2009

#36

Posted 27 August 2009 - 04:20 PM

We need the a same solution for the GTA 3 crosshair-bug!!!
Somebody help!

OmeXr
  • OmeXr

    Soldier

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2009

#37

Posted 24 September 2009 - 02:21 PM

QUOTE (Slavovitsh @ Aug 27 2009, 16:20)
We need the a same solution for the GTA 3 crosshair-bug!!!
Somebody help!

yes please!

L!mon
  • L!mon

    Custom member title

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2008

#38

Posted 26 September 2009 - 11:57 AM

Can somebody so th same for 16:9?

panayotoff
  • panayotoff

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2009

#39

Posted 14 November 2009 - 02:37 PM

if somebody have the fixed widescreenfix (i mean map fixed) please contact me skype: george.panayotoff

spanch
  • spanch

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2009

#40

Posted 30 November 2009 - 09:12 AM

please, help fix this bug in gta 3!

GIXXER
  • GIXXER

    MOTORCYCLE LOVER

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jan 2010

#41

Posted 19 February 2010 - 07:42 PM Edited by GIXXER, 19 February 2010 - 07:44 PM.

can l run 1920x1080 widescreen?!...
l have a 21,5 monitor...full hd...

is there any *app that helps me with custom resolution?!...

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#42

Posted 21 February 2010 - 08:00 PM Edited by spaceeinstein, 21 February 2010 - 08:04 PM.

If anyone is bothered by the "widescreen" cutting too much top and bottom, get a memory editor that can be used while in the game and set 7E46F5 to 0 everytime a widescreen pops up to remove the widescreen. This is a cheap fix so there could be problems. A better solution is to move the bars but I don't know what values are optimal. For anyone who's more advanced, the top bar position is at 68AEE0 and the bottom bar position is at 68AEE4, both float values.

Thuriazs
  • Thuriazs

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2010

#43

Posted 27 April 2010 - 07:39 PM

Hello, first of all, thank you for what seems to be a great job on the widescreen fix.
As people have posted before, there is a problem with Steam version of the game, it crashes when it loads if widescreen fix is being used. Is there any way to fix this? I bought the game and it would be a shame if I couldn't play it properly (I'm referring to the shooting, I'm not sure if I'd even beat the game).
Someones advised to use an older gta-vc.exe. I assume you mean a crack, which I tried and it most definitely doesn't work.

Hope you can help.

eternaljarin
  • eternaljarin

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2008

#44

Posted 29 April 2010 - 04:01 AM

i'm having the same problem with the steam version. i can't believe that if i would have just pirated it i could have proper widescreen right now

[raspy61]
  • [raspy61]

    AlterStar GTA ModMakers Team (st. Chapter)

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2010

#45

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:58 AM

Make Widescreen Fix only for GTA 3

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#46

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:40 PM

I'd like a 16:9 version myself, but I've looked at the file and have no idea how to change the settings to alter it, shame the original maker has vanished.

Alt
  • Alt

    BugBear's Fan

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2007

#47

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:19 PM

Guys, look here and you'll find nice solutions of wide-screen FOV problem for Vice & III (except radar, moon and maybe other round objects).

Ash_735
  • Ash_735

    1 627 826 3789

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [GTA] 2013
    Best Map 2013 "ViceCityStories PC Edition"

#48

Posted 26 May 2010 - 03:24 AM

But this one fixes the HUD and Radar to, which would be nice, though that other fixes the cutscenes, which were horribly done on III and VC when switching to Widescreen.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#49

Posted 05 August 2010 - 11:00 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 05 August 2010 - 11:04 AM.

My own update
This will fix the cutscene borders and menu map problems.
Before:
user posted image
user posted image
After:
user posted image
user posted image
I might try to find how the game controls the field of view in the future.

L!mon
  • L!mon

    Custom member title

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2008

#50

Posted 07 August 2010 - 06:14 PM

Can you please make it for 16:9 ?

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#51

Posted 09 August 2010 - 11:30 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 12 August 2010 - 02:56 PM.

I'm continuing the widescreen fix here so that I can work on my mod at the same time work on this. The next update will fix the FOV problem and multiple tweaks and fixes to the HUD and menu title texts. It will also support widescreen resolutions with ratio greater than 1.6 (16:10).

FullMetal
  • FullMetal

    Non-Retard

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2004
  • None

#52

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:06 PM

Can we expect this to be released as a 'stand alone fix' or will it only be a part of your mod?

Still, good job. I'll probably reinstall the game again once it's out. Finally, proper widescreen Vice City! Now if I could only get AA to work in Vice City on my PC...

jfred-silva
  • jfred-silva

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2010

#53

Posted 25 November 2010 - 07:09 PM

Don't let this die.
Make this file working on Vice City from Steam.

teenagemutantninjaturtlesplOx
  • teenagemutantninjaturtlesplOx

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2010

#54

Posted 18 April 2011 - 10:36 AM

Does it work with the steam edition?

xxTrustNo1xx
  • xxTrustNo1xx

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2010

#55

Posted 09 July 2011 - 12:57 PM

QUOTE (Squiddy @ Thursday, Mar 20 2008, 12:36)
Hey all,

a friend noted on gtareactor that Vice City has problems with 16:10 resolutions (like widescreen monitors have). This showed in a difference between the crosshair and the actual hit point. See the screenshots below if you don't know what I'm talking about. smile.gif
From that on I worked on improving the display and fixed some minor stuff.

Fixes
- HUD not stretched anymore
- Crosshair match hit point
- perspective adjusted

Download
http://squiddy.marwa...cwidescreen.zip
(http://squiddy.marway.org/gta)

Install
Extract into vice city directory. Enable the widescreen option in the display menu. Be sure to keep the file in the directory only if you're playing in widescreen. Otherwise it will affect 4:3 displays.

Before/After comparison
screenshot

Thanks, can you do the same with GTA 3, or at least tell me how to make an ".asi" file that supports GTA 3?
I'm sick of using the tool "FOV". I don't like to press hot buttons within the game to scale the image into the right position everytime. (especially the crosshair)

Alt
  • Alt

    BugBear's Fan

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2007

#56

Posted 09 July 2011 - 10:04 PM

^
Take a look here.

xxTrustNo1xx
  • xxTrustNo1xx

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2010

#57

Posted 09 July 2011 - 10:31 PM

QUOTE (Alt @ Saturday, Jul 9 2011, 22:04)
^
Take a look here.

Thanks, but where do I have to put the CLEO folder and do I need FOV tool again?
Sorry, I don't understand how to install it.

Puerkl8r
  • Puerkl8r

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2010

#58

Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:07 PM Edited by Puerkl8r, 30 July 2012 - 06:16 PM.

Anybody know of a version of this that works with steam?

kal-el5676
  • kal-el5676

    Zombie Killa

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008

#59

Posted 02 October 2012 - 05:46 PM

So, I'm not sure what the deal is but NOTHING changes my display at all. It stays square no matter what. VC camhack doesn't work, the asi fix doesn't work, the cleo fix doesn't work. I'm on an hdtv not that it should matter. Pretty annoying though.

XPEHOPEzzz
  • XPEHOPEzzz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2013

#60

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:00 PM

please update link on this file on first post




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users