Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL] Vice City Widescreen Fix

63 replies to this topic
Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#1

Posted 20 March 2008 - 12:36 PM Edited by Squiddy, 05 April 2008 - 10:15 AM.

Hey all,

a friend noted on gtareactor that Vice City has problems with 16:10 resolutions (like widescreen monitors have). This showed in a difference between the crosshair and the actual hit point. See the screenshots below if you don't know what I'm talking about. smile.gif
From that on I worked on improving the display and fixed some minor stuff.

Fixes
- HUD not stretched anymore
- Crosshair match hit point
- perspective adjusted

Download
http://squiddy.marwa...cwidescreen.zip
(http://squiddy.marway.org/gta)

Install
Extract into vice city directory. Enable the widescreen option in the display menu. Be sure to keep the file in the directory only if you're playing in widescreen. Otherwise it will affect 4:3 displays.

Before/After comparison
screenshot

ESMazter
  • ESMazter

    http://www.erhan.es

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2004

#2

Posted 20 March 2008 - 02:01 PM

Great thing for laptop users like me! icon14.gif

[CTD]LaBan
  • [CTD]LaBan

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2006

#3

Posted 22 March 2008 - 11:15 AM

Great! Now i can play correctly on my laptop, too smile.gif

5*

Rbn 3d
  • Rbn 3d

    Rbn_3D

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2008

#4

Posted 22 March 2008 - 03:56 PM

Nice!! But.... any release for SA??

Alexander Blade
  • Alexander Blade

    Come As You Are

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Nov 2006

#5

Posted 22 March 2008 - 06:53 PM

N1ce fix !
may be if Squiddy will tell me how he did it for VC i'll do this 4 SA

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#6

Posted 22 March 2008 - 08:54 PM

Thank you all.

Does SA really have the same problems? I am surprised, I expected them to handle this better. Of course I do my best to help you Alexander, you might want to check the source, it really is not much I did, research lasted longer than everything else:
http://squiddy.marwa...cwidescreen.txt

But if you don't work with VC it probably doesn't help you much, maybe I can explain it better.

First priority was to fix the crosshair position, which is drawn in CHud::Draw. The calculation used some floats for scaling. As I changed them, the bullet hit position was changed too, so I had to change the code and manually adjusted them to fit.
CODE

float shoot_scale_x = 0.5362989902f;
float shoot_scale_y = 0.3810000122f;

DWORD p = vcversion::AdjustOffset(0x5575FA);
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, PAGE_EXECUTE_READWRITE, &dwProt);
*(DWORD*)p = (DWORD)&shoot_scale_x;
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, dwProt, &dwProt);

p = vcversion::AdjustOffset(0x55760A);
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, PAGE_EXECUTE_READWRITE, &dwProt);
*(DWORD*)p = (DWORD)&shoot_scale_y;
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, dwProt, &dwProt);


Second was the vertical scale of the whole display. Strechnutter had that option in VC Camhack, called 'Height stretch'. Maybe it's present in SA too. This value is changed when activating cutscenes for example.
CODE
p = vcversion::AdjustOffset(0x54A29E);
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, PAGE_EXECUTE_READWRITE, &dwProt);
*(float*)p = 1.56f;
VirtualProtect((void*)p, 4, dwProt, &dwProt);


The horizontal scaling of the HUD was corrected. Everything was affected, excepts the radar map sprites. They had to be adjusted seperatly.
CODE
*(float*)vcversion::AdjustOffset(0x697A70) = hud_scale_x;
*(float*)vcversion::AdjustOffset(0x68FD14) = radar_scale_x;


When I corrected the huds horizontal scale, the sniper mode had a bug. The black rectangles left and right to the sniper texture had to be made wider, otherwise a small coloumn was not black. This is how it looked in the end:
See here: http://gtareactor.pl...achmentid=32712


Well, I hope this helps you somehow. smile.gif
If there is any question, feel free to ask.

-/TNT\-
  • -/TNT\-

    not like any other rainbow.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2006

#7

Posted 22 March 2008 - 09:08 PM

San Andreas on my PC always looks all stretched upwards. I've resorted to the CamHack, it fixes the problem. I haven't noticed any aiming difficulties though, but I'll be glad if you can fix this. It just eliminates another app I keep open when gaming. smile.gif

Alexander Blade
  • Alexander Blade

    Come As You Are

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Nov 2006

#8

Posted 23 March 2008 - 08:51 AM

2Squiddy : thx a lot )

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#9

Posted 24 March 2008 - 03:33 PM

I f*cking love you.

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#10

Posted 04 April 2008 - 02:36 PM

I'm having a problem with this. When I put the .asi in my game foler, the screen looks more stretched in widescreen mode.

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#11

Posted 04 April 2008 - 02:48 PM

Did you enable the widescreen option in the display settings? It is needed, as the mod is correcting the settings done by VC. If this doesn't help, could you post a screenshot?

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#12

Posted 05 April 2008 - 11:38 AM

Here's how it looks without this fix:
user posted image
And here's what it is with the fix:
user posted image

With the fix, the hud doesn't look so stretched, but the view is stretched down verticaly.

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#13

Posted 05 April 2008 - 12:12 PM

Well... that's going to be difficult. Thing is, I asked a friend what vertical scale he prefers, that's the one I chose for the fix. It's really a matter of personal taste I assume, but imo on the second screenshot Tommy does look more natural than on the other one.
If you prefer a different setting, I need to make it configurable.

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#14

Posted 05 April 2008 - 12:24 PM

QUOTE (Squiddy @ Apr 5 2008, 12:12)
Well... that's going to be difficult. Thing is, I asked a friend what vertical scale he prefers, that's the one I chose for the fix. It's really a matter of personal taste I assume, but imo on the second screenshot Tommy does look more natural than on the other one.
If you prefer a different setting, I need to make it configurable.

He looks too short in the second picture.

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#15

Posted 05 April 2008 - 12:28 PM

Well, yeah. I guess I can find 10 people claiming he is too tall in the first picture. tounge.gif

Okay, I make it configurable then, maybe today, maybe tomorrow.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#16

Posted 06 April 2008 - 05:18 PM

I don't know if other people have this issue but someone posted this problem with the widescreen fix.
http://img228.images...3417/bugcr3.jpg

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#17

Posted 06 April 2008 - 07:28 PM Edited by Squiddy, 06 April 2008 - 08:18 PM.

Oh, never checked that. biggrin.gif

Makes sense, because that map is rendered in the same function as the HUD I think. When I corrected the scale factor for the hud, the icons position stayed the same. Two possibilities.. stretching the map in that display or correcting the icons position. I think the first is easier. I'll check that out.

Edit
Okay, figured out where the problem is, just need to find a good way to fix it. Maybe I do it the lazy way, at least the bug will be fixed then. tounge.gif

The Kirbster
  • The Kirbster

    Dragon

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2008

#18

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:41 PM

Thanks man, I really needed this. icon14.gif Good job. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you just made the aiming circle at the location of where the Widescreen mode fires, instead of changing the line of fire location to where the aiming circle is. Yes?

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#19

Posted 10 April 2008 - 09:00 PM

Yes, I found this to be the easiest solution and I think it doesn't really makes a difference in playing, does it?

The Kirbster
  • The Kirbster

    Dragon

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2008

#20

Posted 10 April 2008 - 09:12 PM

No, I find it easier to use sometimes tounge.gif . Great job on the mod, and good luck with fixing the map glitch. smile.gif

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#21

Posted 10 April 2008 - 10:28 PM

Thank you. I think I fixed the problem with the map, could someone try it out please? I do not have a widescreen here, which makes it harder to decide if it really was fixed.

I uploaded the new .asi temporarly for testing. Thanks to anyone who tries. If it works, it will be updated on my webpage.
http://squiddy.marwa...descreenfix.asi

The Kirbster
  • The Kirbster

    Dragon

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Apr 2008

#22

Posted 11 April 2008 - 12:18 AM Edited by The Kirbster, 11 April 2008 - 01:28 AM.

OK, I'll go test it out after I finish re-installing (my game can't load for some reason cryani.gif )

Edit: Alright, I tested it, and the map is good. All the icons are good. BUT, the new version has the problem that is displayed in the "Before" of the Before/After pic. (Like I aim at a cop's head with the targeting thing, and it completely misses) Strange... confused.gif

BruTaLysT
  • BruTaLysT

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 May 2008

#23

Posted 09 May 2008 - 05:07 PM Edited by BruTaLysT, 10 May 2008 - 11:51 AM.

If you still use a 4:3 CRT, it's quite easy to simulate a 16:10 widescreen resolution. Just set the display to 1920x1080 for instance (or 1680x1050, 1440x900 etc.) and scale the image with your monitor's OSD settings to get the correct aspectratio. This will result in black bars on top and bottom, but it will represent a 16:10 display correctly. It could be very practical for you to test the changes you make.

But lot's of tnx for making the fix anywayz. Although I hope u will fine-tune it a bit further

Oh and i you can't get these resolutions to work, there should be ways to add custom resolutions within nVidia or ATi control panel. If this does not work either, Powerstrip will be able to biggrin.gif

Diabhal
  • Diabhal

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2008

#24

Posted 10 May 2008 - 03:35 PM

I tried it on the Steam version of VC, and the game crashes on loading a savegame. Anybody got it to work on the Steam version?

Using Geforce 8800 GT 512, Forceware 169.12, 1440x900 resolution


dinamit04
  • dinamit04

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2008

#25

Posted 14 July 2008 - 01:30 PM

Can someone please upload it somewhere else? For some reason, the website is blocked for me. Thanks in advance.

Squiddy
  • Squiddy

    Back!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2004

#26

Posted 14 July 2008 - 01:40 PM

Weird, hope this one works:
http://rapidshare.de...screen.zip.html

dinamit04
  • dinamit04

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2008

#27

Posted 14 July 2008 - 01:48 PM

Works Great! Thanks alot, this was bugging me alot lately...Great Work biggrin.gif

wildstoo
  • wildstoo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2008

#28

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:47 PM

QUOTE (Diabhal @ May 10 2008, 15:35)
I tried it on the Steam version of VC, and the game crashes on loading a savegame. Anybody got it to work on the Steam version?

Using Geforce 8800 GT 512, Forceware 169.12, 1440x900 resolution

Nope, crashes for me too in the Steam version.

GeForce 9800 GX2
Forceware 175.16
1680x1050

Any ideas? confused.gif

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#29

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:49 PM

You need to replace gta-vc.exe with an older version.

g30dud3
  • g30dud3

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007

#30

Posted 29 October 2008 - 04:36 PM

Sorry for bumping this topic, but I have a question thats been bugging me for a while - Why on earth should this be an issue in the first place? If you are using a 16:10 resolution you don't need to enable the "Widescreen" option confused.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users