Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Unhandled exception

8 replies to this topic
simen_s_k
  • simen_s_k

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2008

#1

Posted 05 March 2008 - 03:52 PM

Hi, when I try to change screen resolution I get an unhandled exception. I also get it when I quit the game. But if I just start the game without changing anything I can play. But it's crap to play at 640x480.

My specs
Nvidia nForce 570-sli (m2n deluxe)
AMD AM2 x2 2,2GHz 1MB L2 cache
ATI Radeon HD2900XT 512 DDR3
2 gb of corsair ram put in twin slots. I think its pc 6200, not sure

I have updated both my video card and mainboard. Have done windows update. What can be the issue here? thanks in advance for help

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#2

Posted 05 March 2008 - 04:24 PM

Right Click The GTA 3 Shortcut, then click, Properties, Compatibility, Check Run This In Compatibility Mode For:, Windows 98, then click apply then ok.

^Do that if you have xp, or if you have vista, choose XP, Rather then 98, as the save directory will be changed.

simen_s_k
  • simen_s_k

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2008

#3

Posted 05 March 2008 - 09:39 PM

wow thanks man

Jakubisko
  • Jakubisko

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2008

#4

Posted 05 April 2008 - 04:58 PM Edited by Jakubisko, 05 April 2008 - 05:20 PM.

Hi, I've got exactly same problem, but if I change the compatibility, I can't even run the game - I just get a message saying "Please insert the correct CD-ROM, select OK and restart application", even though the CD is inserted of course... I don't know what else I can do sad.gif

My PC:
Celeron 3.07 GHz
512MB DDR-SDRAM
WinFast A6600 GT

I know it's nothing special, but it used to work when I had WinME on this PC...so it should work on XP too...hmm...

EDIT: oh and I forgot to say, that it freezes even when I try to quit the game (after clicking the "yes" button) and of course when hitting alt+tab and so on... bored.gif

Jakubisko
  • Jakubisko

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2008

#5

Posted 05 April 2008 - 07:00 PM

btw it does the same thing in Vice City, but there I repair it by the compatibility mode... so anyone pls? sad.gif

sportcrazy60
  • sportcrazy60

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2008

#6

Posted 31 July 2010 - 11:57 AM

TRy win 2k comp mode, it fixed it 4 me!

.Michael De Santa.
  • .Michael De Santa.

    Mastermind

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2010

#7

Posted 04 December 2010 - 05:37 PM

Just delete the Movies folder.
It helped on my old savage graphic.

GTATommyVercetti
  • GTATommyVercetti

    Hey! .................Do I know you??!!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2011

#8

Posted 27 February 2011 - 12:17 AM

QUOTE (gtamodder @ Mar 5 2008, 16:24)
Right Click The GTA 3 Shortcut, then click, Properties, Compatibility, Check Run This In Compatibility Mode For:, Windows 98, then click apply then ok.

^Do that if you have xp, or if you have vista, choose XP, Rather then 98, as the save directory will be changed.

Dude, I also have the same problem, but there is no Compatibility thing. Soo I can't play my game

fireguy109
  • fireguy109

    It's a long way to the top

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2010
  • United-States

#9

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:39 PM

Change your screen res BEFORE starting/continuing a game. Otherwise the game tries to reload when you un-pause and crashes (does not apply to everyone).




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users