Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

dffxbox2pc

71 replies to this topic
AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#1

Posted 18 February 2008 - 03:30 PM Edited by AK-73, 05 February 2012 - 01:20 PM.

dffxbox2pc

March 13th, 2008: New Version (v0.2) is out.

dffxbox2pc is a command line tool that decompresses (and converts) Xbox GTA3
.dffs and .txds (so the name actually ended up being a bit of a misnomer)
so that they can imported by Kam's scripts for Gmax/3DSM or opened with
TXDWorkshop respectively. The tool DOES NOT convert .dffs or .txds so that
they can directly imported into any PC games and be expected to work - you
need to reexport .dffs and rebuild .txds at this point.

How to use converted files:
- txds: extract textures from txds with txdworkshop and build new txds from scratch
- vehicle .dffs: vehicles need some minor makeover (like adding reflections)
- actor .dffs: actors get decompressed and modified so that they can be imported as
PC VC actors into Gmax/3DSM directly. However you need to reposition some bones and
do some minor work, chiefly on the neck area and the clavicles.

IMPORTANT!
I do not encourage anyone freely distributing on the internet XBox GTA3 models
converted with this script on a massive scale. Anyone who does do so is doing
so *at their own risk*. Talking about risk, I do not accept responsibility for
anything that may result from installation/usage of this script. Use at your
own risk.

GTA Garage Mod Page:
http://www.gtagarage...ow.php?id=19428.



Mirror (v0.2):http://almost610.dmo...c_v0_2/2-1-0-19


Mirror (v0.1):http://www.mr-green..../dffxbox2pc.zip

ATTENTION! Last time I checked dffxbox2pc contained some kind of memory leak.
I don't advise to use the batch conversion on more than say 100 or 150 files
at a time.

ALSO: dff2box2pc does have some filesize limitation that I forgot to fix. If a
decompressed file gets too big, it might not get decompressed properly at this
point. Just so you know. (All vehicles should work fine though.)


cheers,
Alex

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#2

Posted 18 February 2008 - 04:32 PM

When I try to convert a single file by typing "dffxbox2pc" and just the name of the model, it gives me some error. But when I type in "dffxbox2pc *" it converts the models just fine.

GTAdedan
  • GTAdedan

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2006

#3

Posted 18 February 2008 - 04:36 PM

wow that's very fast, can't wait to see some results

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#4

Posted 18 February 2008 - 04:41 PM

QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 17:32)
When I try to convert a single file by typing "dffxbox2pc" and just the name of the model, it gives me some error. But when I type in "dffxbox2pc *" it converts the models just fine.

What error message does it state?

Btw, actors are "partially" supported: it seems to import the geometry, just skinning them remains a problem.

Alex

Beep
  • Beep

    Ywa FTW!

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2006

#5

Posted 18 February 2008 - 05:04 PM

Great tool!

I mirrored the file for you smile.gif .

Mirror

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#6

Posted 18 February 2008 - 05:09 PM

QUOTE (Beep @ Feb 18 2008, 18:04)
Great tool!

I mirrored the file for you smile.gif .

Mirror


Cool. Thanks. smile.gif

Alex

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#7

Posted 18 February 2008 - 05:54 PM

QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 16:41)
QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 17:32)
When I try to convert a single file by typing "dffxbox2pc" and just the name of the model, it gives me some error. But when I type in "dffxbox2pc *" it converts the models just fine.

What error message does it state?

Btw, actors are "partially" supported: it seems to import the geometry, just skinning them remains a problem.

Alex

The command prompt says "Proccesing file" and then shows a bunch of random symbols then in the error it says:
CODE
Debug error!

Program c:\dffxbox2pc\dffxbox2pc.exe

Invalid allocation size 4294967295 bytes.

(Press retry to debug the application)

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#8

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:10 PM

QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 18:54)
QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 16:41)
QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 17:32)
When I try to convert a single file by typing "dffxbox2pc" and just the name of the model, it gives me some error. But when I type in "dffxbox2pc *" it converts the models just fine.

What error message does it state?

Btw, actors are "partially" supported: it seems to import the geometry, just skinning them remains a problem.

Alex

The command prompt says "Proccesing file" and then shows a bunch of random symbols then in the error it says:
CODE
Debug error!

Program c:\dffxbox2pc\dffxbox2pc.exe

Invalid allocation size 4294967295 bytes.

(Press retry to debug the application)

I'll check it out. Might be that some last minute fixes have caused that bug. Did you start it properly?

Did you type in

dffxbox2pc mydff

instead of

dffxbox2pc mydff.dff

perhaps?

It sounds like it doesn't find the file to convert... but perhaps I am wrong.

Alex

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#9

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:14 PM

QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 18:10)
I'll check it out. Might be that some last minute fixes have caused that bug. Did you start it properly?

Did you type in

dffxbox2pc mydff

instead of

dffxbox2pc mydff.dff

perhaps?

It sounds like it doesn't find the file to convert... but perhaps I am wrong.

Alex

Yes, I typed it in without .dff.


Also, a lot of character or ped models don't work. It just imports those dummies but doesn't get the mesh.

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#10

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:22 PM

QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 19:14)
QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 18:10)
I'll check it out. Might be that some last minute fixes have caused that bug. Did you start it properly?

Did you type in

dffxbox2pc mydff

instead of

dffxbox2pc mydff.dff

perhaps?

It sounds like it doesn't find the file to convert... but perhaps I am wrong.

Alex

Yes, I typed it in without .dff.


Also, a lot of character or ped models don't work. It just imports those dummies but doesn't get the mesh.


"Please note that in dffxbox2pc version 0.1 actor models are not properly
converted yet. I'm working on it though." smile.gif

It has different number of bones and different names, that's why Kam's will not import it.

Alex

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#11

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:31 PM

QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 18:22)
QUOTE (simkas @ Feb 18 2008, 19:14)
QUOTE (AK-73 @ Feb 18 2008, 18:10)
I'll check it out. Might be that some last minute fixes have caused that bug. Did you start it properly?

Did you type in

dffxbox2pc mydff

instead of

dffxbox2pc mydff.dff

perhaps?

It sounds like it doesn't find the file to convert... but perhaps I am wrong.

Alex

Yes, I typed it in without .dff.


Also, a lot of character or ped models don't work. It just imports those dummies but doesn't get the mesh.


"Please note that in dffxbox2pc version 0.1 actor models are not properly
converted yet. I'm working on it though." smile.gif

It has different number of bones and different names, that's why Kam's will not import it.

Alex

But shouldn't the bones not get imported then?

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#12

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:34 PM

In theory it should crash when it does try to set-up the bones. Which happened for example with Claude when I imported him. It imported the geometry, then crashed.

I'll take a closer look at it.

Alex

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#13

Posted 18 February 2008 - 09:03 PM

excellent work. it allowed me to confirm some theories i had about the lighting on the buildings, among other stuff. wonderful job. icon14.gif

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#14

Posted 19 February 2008 - 02:56 PM

I take it that it does not work with Xbox VC?

Alex

g30dud3
  • g30dud3

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007

#15

Posted 19 February 2008 - 08:01 PM

This is an incredible development, and I can't wait for it to be done for Vice City. So far has anyone actually been able to convert and reexport a model to get it working in game? Maybe post a screenshot?

Claude GTA3
  • Claude GTA3

    I am awesome.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2007

#16

Posted 19 February 2008 - 08:05 PM

QUOTE (g30dud3 @ Feb 19 2008, 20:01)
This is an incredible development, and I can't wait for it to be done for Vice City. So far has anyone actually been able to convert and reexport a model to get it working in game? Maybe post a screenshot?

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

mr.blonde
  • mr.blonde

    1.5

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2007

#17

Posted 19 February 2008 - 08:08 PM

i think the hands from gta3's xbox version is better than the PC version's hands tounge.gif

ModelingMan
  • ModelingMan

    Crackalacking!

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2004

#18

Posted 19 February 2008 - 10:38 PM

The vehicles don't need to be re-exported, simple case of changing the file version of both the DFF and TXD in RWAnalyze.

gtamodeler
  • gtamodeler

    GTAGAME

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2007

#19

Posted 20 February 2008 - 09:53 AM

QUOTE (Danny the III fan @ Feb 19 2008, 20:05)
QUOTE (g30dud3 @ Feb 19 2008, 20:01)
This is an incredible development, and I can't wait for it to be done for Vice City. So far has anyone actually been able to convert and reexport a model to get it working in game? Maybe post a screenshot?

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

Hey, Can you me Send Catalina and the Claude for SA? Please, You Can put in on Rapidspahre ok? or you will my Email adress? colgate.gif

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#20

Posted 20 February 2008 - 02:31 PM

QUOTE (gtamodeler @ Feb 20 2008, 09:53)
QUOTE (Danny the III fan @ Feb 19 2008, 20:05)
QUOTE (g30dud3 @ Feb 19 2008, 20:01)
This is an incredible development, and I can't wait for it to be done for Vice City. So far has anyone actually been able to convert and reexport a model to get it working in game? Maybe post a screenshot?


Hey, Can you me Send Catalina and the Claude for SA? Please, You Can put in on Rapidspahre ok? or you will my Email adress? colgate.gif

No, he can't.

atfburner
  • atfburner

    under the trapdoor

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2006

#21

Posted 21 February 2008 - 04:31 AM Edited by atfburner, 21 February 2008 - 04:35 AM.

First of all grats for making this very good tool! cookie.gif

So far textures extracted from vice gta3.img have been editable
but I have problems with any .txd file outside an .img like news.txd
all these result in a 0 byte file created in \output

Edit
same problems with GTA III

ModelingMan
  • ModelingMan

    Crackalacking!

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2004

#22

Posted 21 February 2008 - 08:43 AM

QUOTE (atfburner @ Feb 21 2008, 05:31)
but I have problems with any .txd file outside an .img like news.txd
all these result in a 0 byte file created in \output

The files outside the IMG don't need to be decompressed.

atfburner
  • atfburner

    under the trapdoor

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2006

#23

Posted 21 February 2008 - 03:54 PM

user posted image

ModelingMan i applied your advice changing version (for cars) to other .txd's outside an .img
and presto its working biggrin.gif tx

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#24

Posted 25 February 2008 - 03:14 PM

Concerning file versions: the tool does do a "dirty" change of file version from the original xbox version already (dirty in the sense that it is not precise but has been a quick hack to get on with the decompression/conversion - it does actually replace any xbox version byte sequence with a different version's byte sequence which is potentially error prone, if you think about it).

Anyway I always intended to include an option for specifying the target file version but never got around implementing the option itself.

As I said in the Misc forum, I am currently trying to get xbox GTA3 actor models converted so that they can be easily converted as rigged to VC.

One question there (since I am not an expert): if I have a fully rigged ped - can I readjust the position/rotation of a bone without affecting the vertices somehow? If so, how?

If not, I guess a (max-)script could fix the problem, no?

Alex

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#25

Posted 03 March 2008 - 03:17 PM


Double post, sry.

The good news is that I am short of a new version, this time including support for *fully skinned* actors in the PC Vice City format. The tool decompresses the .dff and rearranges the data automatically so that they can be imported into GMax/3DSM (possibly even used straight away, off into the.img).

Alex

simkas
  • simkas

    That guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2006

#26

Posted 04 March 2008 - 04:24 PM

I saw another bug. As I was checking out the VC cars, some of them didn't get imported, it just gave me some error. The cars I tried were the police car and the taxi. Maybe it's because they have those lights?

AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#27

Posted 06 March 2008 - 03:53 PM

QUOTE (simkas @ Mar 4 2008, 17:24)
I saw another bug.


Which was the first?

QUOTE

As I was checking out the VC cars, some of them didn't get imported, it just gave me some error. The cars I tried were the police car and the taxi. Maybe it's because they have those lights?


I'll check it out.

The next version is coming around very well. I already got the actors skinned (asuka is looking really good), I'm just adding in the finishing touches. I expect an new version release on Monday.

Alex


AK-73
  • AK-73

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005

#28

Posted 13 March 2008 - 02:56 PM

Double-post:

New version uploaded, includes support for fully skinned actors, PC VC-style.

Please note that I'll also release a maxscript tomorrow (I think) that will allow saving the vertex weights of a skin and/or the bone transforms. I believe this will make rigging actors infinitely easier... wink.gif

Beep - can you update the mirror?

Alex

SteaVor
  • SteaVor

    Professional investor

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2005

#29

Posted 13 March 2008 - 06:51 PM

-nvm-

Nach_Scratch
  • Nach_Scratch

    MoDeL iN 3D mAx

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2006

#30

Posted 13 March 2008 - 08:41 PM

Help Error!!

user posted image





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users