Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[BETA|WIP] Things To Do In San Andreas

2,334 replies to this topic
GamerShotgun
  • GamerShotgun

    The main protagonist.

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2005

#31

Posted 14 December 2007 - 12:25 PM

QUOTE (CthulhuFhtagn @ Dec 14 2007, 03:16)
QUOTE (MasterK @ Dec 13 2007, 07:28)
Hmm, but wouldn't be cool to try it? Sorry for asking that, but i really want it to be a ponyfarm feature. So cops could do it, not only in missions.

Anywayz, nice work on the mod, it's very nice from what i've seen yet.

Would you like it after the 100th time?

Yes, i would like it because it's a challenge so...

@ceedj: I really got to try your SA Studios stuff...it sounds very promising tounge.gif

rstomrs
  • rstomrs

    Looking for a good ped rigger.

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2006

#32

Posted 14 December 2007 - 12:33 PM

"Ceedj" said :
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What exactly are you doing that would prevent it from working? Or is this the "GTAF Disclaimer" at work? Just wondering if you know something maybe some of the rest of us don't. sly.gif
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Share your knowledge biggrin.gif

Tom

DeeZire
  • DeeZire

    Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#33

Posted 14 December 2007 - 03:35 PM Edited by DeeZire, 14 December 2007 - 03:39 PM.

QUOTE (rstomrs @ Dec 14 2007, 12:33)
"Ceedj" said :
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What exactly are you doing that would prevent it from working? Or is this the "GTAF Disclaimer" at work? Just wondering if you know something maybe some of the rest of us don't. sly.gif
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Share your knowledge biggrin.gif

Tom

I never really intended for it to work out this way, it was an unexpected side-effect of modifying so many of the games original files as well as the scripts - at least that's my guess.

The main.scm extends the required global variable memory accordingly, recycles & uses all the 'unused' globals to save room as well as adding more, and has built-in fixes in the globals to prevent the MaDDog save/gym & basketball glitch. Added to that is the fact that absolutely each and every single bit of main.scm has been modified somehow, including number of missions, the stats, number of objects, number of threads, number of external scripts etc etc, so my hunch is that the saves it creates are somehow incompatible with any modified exe.

During testing, a number of users have got the mod to work perfectly but yet all suffered crashes when trying to load a saved game. I could not replicate the problem until I instaled it my friends system (identical to mine) and he has a no-cd patch and got the same error. Turned out that it was the no-cd exe that caused save game files to trigger a game crash on reload.

Cant explain it better than that, other than to say I may have inadvertantly stumbled on a way to ensure mods only work with the original game!

ceedj
  • ceedj

    PEDS Creator

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 21 May 2005
  • United-States

#34

Posted 14 December 2007 - 03:39 PM

Really appreciate you sharing this. I certainly wasn't advocating using anything other than an original exe, and the way it affects save games is interesting indeed.

Thanks for the insight. smile.gif

DeeZire
  • DeeZire

    Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#35

Posted 14 December 2007 - 03:45 PM

QUOTE (ceedj @ Dec 14 2007, 15:39)
Really appreciate you sharing this. I certainly wasn't advocating using anything other than an original exe, and the way it affects save games is interesting indeed.

Thanks for the insight. smile.gif

If its any help, Im pretty damn sure it was re-using the 'unused' (or defined once but not used) globals that caused the effect. Users did not report the problem much (if at all) before I made that change, and I only did it to save declared memory.

markiij
  • markiij

    Anywhere City, 3 weeks in the future

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006
  • None

#36

Posted 15 December 2007 - 07:48 PM

Wow, great mod! Are you also gonna make some map improvements (like adding alcatraz or something).

CthulhuFhtagn
  • CthulhuFhtagn

    Thug

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2007

#37

Posted 15 December 2007 - 10:32 PM

QUOTE (markiij @ Dec 15 2007, 13:48)
Wow, great mod! Are you also gonna make some map improvements (like adding alcatraz or something).

Meh, why? This mod is very cool without it.
Now, some bugs in missions:

Los Sepulcros... os...
If you target Sweet before he comes into the car, he puts his hands up and when you get the aim away he just starts walking casually. Then, when you recruit 2 homies, he returns to the car in the opposite of slow-motion. Um, fast motion.

ceedj
  • ceedj

    PEDS Creator

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 21 May 2005
  • United-States

#38

Posted 17 December 2007 - 06:42 PM Edited by ceedj, 17 December 2007 - 09:31 PM.

QUOTE
If you target Sweet before he comes into the car, he puts his hands up and when you get the aim away he just starts walking casually. Then, when you recruit 2 homies, he returns to the car in the opposite of slow-motion. Um, fast motion.

This might be a R* bug, but I can't seem to target Sweet before he gets into the car to check. In any case, *adding an "is_actor_targeted" check, then readding Sweet to the player group would probably sew this up.

*idle speculation. tounge.gif

creative madman
  • creative madman

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2005

#39

Posted 18 December 2007 - 04:31 AM

i rember this mod!

ages ago, i helped out with a few things

thought it was long dead

would you look at that?

CthulhuFhtagn
  • CthulhuFhtagn

    Thug

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2007

#40

Posted 18 December 2007 - 04:44 AM

QUOTE (ceedj @ Dec 17 2007, 12:42)
QUOTE
If you target Sweet before he comes into the car, he puts his hands up and when you get the aim away he just starts walking casually. Then, when you recruit 2 homies, he returns to the car in the opposite of slow-motion. Um, fast motion.

This might be a R* bug, but I can't seem to target Sweet before he gets into the car to check. In any case, *adding an "is_actor_targeted" check, then readding Sweet to the player group would probably sew this up.

*idle speculation. tounge.gif

Yeah, I think I remember that moment in the original SA... Fix it up?
Some suggestions.
Make a LCSesque tourist guide mission, if you haven't already.
When CJ comes near the Observatory the first time, there could be a monologue like "Near here I've seen my first gunfight", as in Rebel Without a Cause.
Maybe... Asking JohniX for his Empire Building system?

javi13
  • javi13

    Doa backflip

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 May 2007

#41

Posted 19 December 2007 - 09:57 AM

QUOTE (Wu-Tang Clan @ Dec 12 2007, 13:43)
really you need to put beta smoke, sweet and on some screenshots a beta ryder wow.gif wow.gif or is not ryder
but make them:
user posted image

i think that is big bear...might be wrong tho :S

RaifalM3n
  • RaifalM3n

    ~ BMW Specialist ~

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2005
  • Romania

#42

Posted 19 December 2007 - 05:57 PM

Damn` man smile.gif Deezire 2 years of hard work` smile.gif i remember the first beta on Gtagarage...

keep up the great work wink.gif

freak2121
  • freak2121

    I'm bored.

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2007

#43

Posted 19 December 2007 - 09:19 PM

QUOTE (DeeZire @ Dec 12 2007, 21:57)


2 - the mod wont work on no-cd patch EXEs - it must be run from the original DVD via the original unmodified EXE

aw man everything from Iran has a no cd patched exe sad.gif

reitz90
  • reitz90

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2005

#44

Posted 31 December 2007 - 03:06 PM Edited by reitz90, 31 December 2007 - 04:57 PM.

In some missions i had crashes. I think i have a different version of the game.
So i put all the backed up files back to their places. Eve rebuilt the back up'ed archives.
But now are all the interiors messed up. For example: When i exit CJ's house, i end up outside that house near the mad dog's grib you can buy, When i enter four dragon casino, i end up in B dub's house where a cut scene was.
So, what files are responsible for directing interiors with entrances?

Edit: Oh nevermind, i missed some files. It's working now.

Claude GTA3
  • Claude GTA3

    I am awesome.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2007

#45

Posted 01 January 2008 - 02:14 PM

QUOTE (DeeZire @ Dec 12 2007, 17:29)
I'm not trying to recreate the BETA, I'm enhancing the game. That YouTube video makes a LOT of assumptions that are simply not true.

Some of the things in the mod are already in the game files, you just never get to see them - the FBI Truck for example is in the mod as it featured in 'The Truth Is Out There' mission.

Wait,the truth is out there actually exists?!

Can't wait for the recreation.

Midnightz
  • Midnightz

    Populus vult decipi.

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2007
  • United-States

#46

Posted 09 January 2008 - 05:20 PM

Wow DeeZire, I am extremely impressed! You've accomplished some things I've struggled with and finished but some, I continue to struggle with. Maybe I should just wait until you're done? tounge.gif Major props to you for setting the new standard of modding SA. That long list of changes leaves me standing in awe... I wish you the best of luck on your first release candidate.

cookie.gif icon14.gif cookie.gif icon14.gif cookie.gif icon14.gif cookie.gif icon14.gif cookie.gif icon14.gif cookie.gif

Wu-Tang Clan
  • Wu-Tang Clan

    Why ares yous playings the granpas guitars?

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2007

#47

Posted 16 January 2008 - 09:06 AM

QUOTE (javi13 @ Dec 19 2007, 10:57)
QUOTE (Wu-Tang Clan @ Dec 12 2007, 13:43)
really you need to put beta smoke, sweet and on some screenshots a beta ryder  wow.gif   wow.gif   or is not ryder
but make them:
user posted image

i think that is big bear...might be wrong tho :S

i was reding on some site that is big bear

Analog Kid
  • Analog Kid

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

#48

Posted 01 February 2008 - 05:15 PM Edited by Analog Kid, 01 February 2008 - 06:22 PM.

Hello I am trying to get your mod to work and I am having trouble. (Beta 4 ver)

I installed a 2.0 ver clean, used gtasapatch.exe to take it back to 1.0. Started the game to see if the aforementioned patch took ( since I had never tried it before ) and the game started.

1st problem was in trying to use SAMI 1.1, it would not load the mod. I looked at the error(s) and compared them to the TTDISASAMI.sami file and noticed some syntax (typos?) differences. I cant remember all of them (sorry) but by comparing the original to the mod I was able to get it to load thru SAMI.

couple I do remember
Orig TTDISASAMI.sami
|FileAdd|\models\frontend1.txd|gamedir|\models|overwrite|
-->changed frontend1 to fronten1
|FileAdd|\data\animgroup.dat|gamedir|\data|overwrite|
-->changed animgroup to animgrp
|FileAdd|\models\txt\
-->cant remember which one of those was the one I changed \txt\ to \txd\

That may be all, cant remember completely. Erased orig .rar and cant find where I got the mod at ( gtagarage wont let me get it ) so.... anyway start SP and crash. Uninstall the mod with SAMI game now will not run.

Being a bit of a masochist. Rinse and repeat. Same same.

Re-read thread and I am now going to try #4 below once d/l the tools required.

QUOTE
4 - installation errors - the mod may have been installed wrongly, and remember your IMG archives must be rebuilt if your IMG editor requires it. Binary IPL files to be placed in GTA3.IMG are a good example, only IMG Tool 2.0 worked for me when adding/replacing them


Will let ya know how that goes.

Thanks for listenin

Analog Kid
  • Analog Kid

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

#49

Posted 01 February 2008 - 06:20 PM

ok followed the instructions for manual install and it is working. I did lose voices of the other characters after left CJ house for first time. Also lost some other small sounds like footsteps and menu sounds. Is that a 1.0ver problem?

Also in the instructions, the files you said to back up, you left off ( unless it was intentional ) \models\txd\weps.txd and loadsuk.txd

Thanks for your hard, work will let ya know what I think after the next 2 days of no-stop drinkin and smoki...i... I mean playin smile.gif


thOma$
  • thOma$

    Skull Gang: The New Movement To Move Wit

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2007

#50

Posted 04 February 2008 - 07:52 PM Edited by thOma$, 27 February 2008 - 12:30 PM.

this is the best mod i've ever seen really, great work. i had some problems with loading saved games but somehow i fixed it biggrin.gif . what will come after this final beta??

Zerux
  • Zerux

    Limp Bizkit Style

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2007

#51

Posted 11 February 2008 - 06:25 AM

Hi, the mod is excelent...I never see something like that, i start the game and it works biggrin.gif .
But i have some questions...
What is what I have to do to throw the pizzas, in the "Pizza Boy" mission?
Where is the truck of garbage, to do "Trash Dash" mission?
Where the truck of ice creams, to do "Cherry Poppers" mission?
How I can begin the missions of "Car Salesman"?
Im sorry for the troubles, I need to know it for do the missions.

QwertyAAA
  • QwertyAAA

    Ceci n'est pas une pipe, c'est le logo de Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2008

#52

Posted 21 February 2008 - 08:39 PM

QUOTE (Zerux @ Feb 11 2008, 06:25)
Hi, the mod is excelent...I never see something like that, i start the game and it works biggrin.gif .
But i have some questions...
What is what I have to do to throw the pizzas, in the "Pizza Boy" mission?
Where is the truck of garbage, to do "Trash Dash" mission?
Where the truck of ice creams, to do "Cherry Poppers" mission?
How I can begin the missions of "Car Salesman"?
Im sorry for the troubles, I need to know it for do the missions.

1. Find a Pizza Boy near Los Santos Well Stacked Pizza.
2. Just find one. Or spawn one.
3. Ditto.
4. Yeah, that's hard. Go to the car dealership by Jefferson Motel.

Awww.
Why is there an engine-activated car bomb? It was useful in 3, but one time in one mission.
How is that golf minigame coming along? Would be cool to play it in Glen Park, that golf club in south SF, and on the north of LV.
Just an idea: Turning the SF garage into a lowriding modshop. I mean, wasn't it its original purpose?
Some of the unused garages (If there are any) could be used for that.

.:Alex:.
  • .:Alex:.

    Bitter and Twisted

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2006

#53

Posted 23 February 2008 - 07:46 PM

Great mod. icon14.gif

I love how you've reenabled many disabled and removed features. The thing is though, I only really want the reenabled and fixed stuff and not the extra stuff you've added such as side-missions from the other games and cars from the other games. Do you plan on releasing a version with just that or make an option to "pick and choose" what we want installed?

LittlePig
  • LittlePig

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Feb 2008

#54

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:05 AM

Bringing back the topic.
The mod sounded nice so i installed it and started a new game. Everything was fine but when i entered the mission "High Stakes, Low Riders" or "Los Sepulcos", it freezes at a black screen. The installation didnt work with SAMI, so i installed it manualy. Checked, everything is fine. I downgraded my game, which is a original one. Uninstalled it, Reinstalled it and sh*t like that. No mods only this one. And I really wanna play this. Or atleast pass the missions. Any help ?

Midnight Special
  • Midnight Special

    I Don't Care

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2008
  • Cyprus

#55

Posted 24 February 2008 - 05:12 PM

get crash in the loading screen. did everything but i still get crash in loading screen.

QwertyAAA
  • QwertyAAA

    Ceci n'est pas une pipe, c'est le logo de Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2008

#56

Posted 24 February 2008 - 05:37 PM

QUOTE (Superpowermind @ Feb 24 2008, 17:12)
get crash in the loading screen. did everything but i still get crash in loading screen.

At about the middle?
Yeah, reinstall the game and install it manually.

Midnight Special
  • Midnight Special

    I Don't Care

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2008
  • Cyprus

#57

Posted 24 February 2008 - 05:57 PM

QUOTE (QwertyAAA @ Feb 24 2008, 17:37)
QUOTE (Superpowermind @ Feb 24 2008, 17:12)
get crash in the loading screen. did everything but i still get crash in loading screen.

At about the middle?
Yeah, reinstall the game and install it manually.

did.Again crashhh

QwertyAAA
  • QwertyAAA

    Ceci n'est pas une pipe, c'est le logo de Rockstar

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2008

#58

Posted 24 February 2008 - 08:48 PM

You installed it by hand, without sami?

thOma$
  • thOma$

    Skull Gang: The New Movement To Move Wit

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2007

#59

Posted 25 February 2008 - 08:04 AM

QUOTE (Superpowermind @ Feb 24 2008, 17:12)
get crash in the loading screen. did everything but i still get crash in loading screen.

i had this problem too but i tried this and the game works fine for me, no problems with loading game,
just run the game in windows 98/ windows ME compatibility mod thats all.

Midnight Special
  • Midnight Special

    I Don't Care

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2008
  • Cyprus

#60

Posted 25 February 2008 - 01:58 PM

QUOTE (thOma$ @ Feb 25 2008, 08:04)
QUOTE (Superpowermind @ Feb 24 2008, 17:12)
get crash in the loading screen. did everything but i still get crash in loading screen.

i had this problem too but i tried this and the game works fine for me, no problems with loading game,
just run the game in windows 98/ windows ME compatibility mod thats all.

How. havent got windows 98




3 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users