Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Lounge for The Chain Game: San Andreas

5,243 replies to this topic
OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#31

Posted 16 November 2007 - 05:43 PM

Latest Word: We hope to have Chain Game Round 22 online Saturday morning.

I'm sorry it is taking so long to get the next round up and running. I'd hate to lose the enthusiasm and momentum that has built over the last several rounds. Most of the problem has been bad timing. Several team members have been unavailable for various periods of time since the end of round 21, and this has slowed down the process. However, the delays have provided time to discover and work the bugs out of several new features.




Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#32

Posted 16 November 2007 - 05:47 PM

No problem, OrionSR. We know that the outcome is going to be worth the wait. smile.gif

Stefan.
  • Stefan.

    OG

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2006

#33

Posted 17 November 2007 - 03:38 AM

That's good news. I'm assuming that you're basing the predicted starting time on US?Canandian time? If so, less than 12 hours!

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#34

Posted 17 November 2007 - 05:35 PM

QUOTE (Stefan Matovic Cvetkovic @ Nov 17 2007, 00:38)
That's good news. I'm assuming that you're basing the predicted starting time on US?Canandian time? If so, less than 12 hours!

Well Im pretty sure since JAJ lives in Cincitanti (forgive me off my spelling of it), he is in eastern time. So that is 5 hours behinde GMT (Greenwhich mean time)

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#35

Posted 17 November 2007 - 05:36 PM

Also for all those that are new to the Chain Game This is the offical lounge for The Chain Game.

Bad~Boy#17
  • Bad~Boy#17

    duh

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#36

Posted 17 November 2007 - 05:39 PM

On witch GMT does this forum clock work ?
I often have problems in the chain game because I don't know blush.gif

JAJ
  • JAJ

    -Hitdog-

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2005
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [The Chain Game]

#37

Posted 17 November 2007 - 05:49 PM

QUOTE (Bad~Boy#17 @ Nov 17 2007, 12:39)
On witch GMT does this forum clock work ?
I often have problems in the chain game because I don't know  blush.gif

Click on 'My Controls' at the top by where your 'Logged on as' name appears
Then click on 'Board Settings'
You can set your time zone there

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#38

Posted 17 November 2007 - 05:50 PM

QUOTE (Bad~Boy#17 @ Nov 17 2007, 14:39)
On witch GMT does this forum clock work ?
I often have problems in the chain game because I don't know blush.gif

I don't know but it is easy to change the forum clock to your local time.

Just go into your profile> Board Settings> And it is right there.

Bad~Boy#17
  • Bad~Boy#17

    duh

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#39

Posted 17 November 2007 - 06:04 PM

Are the adrenaline pickups just in the ChainGame or can you find them in the normal game ?

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#40

Posted 17 November 2007 - 06:09 PM

They are a special feature to the round. Congrats on finding it. Have a cookie cookie.gif

JAJ
  • JAJ

    -Hitdog-

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2005
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [The Chain Game]

#41

Posted 17 November 2007 - 06:09 PM

They are just in the special starting save for the chain game

Bad~Boy#17
  • Bad~Boy#17

    duh

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#42

Posted 17 November 2007 - 08:32 PM

Why don't races count as missions ?
They change the name of the save.

JAJ
  • JAJ

    -Hitdog-

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2005
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [The Chain Game]

#43

Posted 17 November 2007 - 08:46 PM

Yeah, you are right they change the save file name & we used to play it that way but we decided to make them an exception to the rules.
This is from the Rules/Guidelines :
QUOTE (Rules/Guidelines in the first post)
"Lame Missions":
Some missions are Named Missions although they are in fact only cut scenes without any action going on. These missions *are now Free Missions* and can be combined with any other one Named Mission. --> Examples: Verdant Meadows, Fish in a Barrel

Stadium Events:
All Stadium Events *are now Free Missions* and can be combined in any number with any other one Named Mission.

Race Tournaments:
With the exception of the 3 races you do within the storyline (Lowrider, Badlands A/B), all races *are no longer Named Missions*.
--> You can do up to 3 races if you don't do a Named Mission as well.
--> You can do up to 1 race if you also do a Named Mission.[/color]
Note that the number of races per turn has changed.
(Thanks to rubregg for putting the 'Lame' missions rule together)



And this is from the Supplement to the rules of the Chain Game (V 1.0 and V 2.0):
QUOTE (from the Supplement to the Rules of the chain game)
(3) Missions exempt from the 'One Named Mission' rule:

• The Chiliad Challenge
• "Verdant Meadows", as mentioned above
• "Fish in a Barrel"
• "Stadiom Events"
• Los Santos Race Tournaments
• San Fierro Race Tournaments
• Las Venturas Race Tournaments (Cars)
• Las Venturas Racing Tournaments (Aircraft)

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#44

Posted 17 November 2007 - 11:02 PM Edited by ryan92, 17 November 2007 - 11:05 PM.

I think this is a question only a member of the Chain Game development team can answer. I'll feel really stupid if this is something special about the save that I didn't know about. blush.gif tounge2.gif

I was just fooling around with the game and I was bored and just started shooting things, when I noticed, instead of the ammo going down, it was going up. dontgetit.gif Is this on of the features I missed,is it some glitch, or is it something that was always there and I just didn't know about it?

pdescobar
  • pdescobar

    Conformist Scum Panda

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2005

#45

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:05 AM

Ammo should never go up. At 100% when you have true infinite ammo it sorta goes up because when you finish a clip the ammo count is restored to where it started, but if anything like that's happening now, it's not intended...

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#46

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:10 AM

QUOTE (pdescobar @ Nov 17 2007, 22:05)
Ammo should never go up. At 100% when you have true infinite ammo it sorta goes up because when you finish a clip the ammo count is restored to where it started, but if anything like that's happening now, it's not intended...

Well I had downloaded the save file from orions turn in the Chain Game and I had got on a bike and i started shooting things with the Teck9 (I think) or the Uzi one of them, and instaed of the ammo going down it went up.Weird dontgetit.gif

Thanks PD

pdescobar
  • pdescobar

    Conformist Scum Panda

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2005

#47

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:46 AM

The tec9 seems to work normally for me on that save; ammo count goes down as expected. Were you using the v2 exe? If you get a chance, please try it again and see if it recurs.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#48

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:50 AM

QUOTE (pdescobar @ Nov 17 2007, 22:46)
The tec9 seems to work normally for me on that save; ammo count goes down as expected. Were you using the v2 exe? If you get a chance, please try it again and see if it recurs.

JAJ and I both tryed it. It didn't happen to him but it did happen to me again. This was with the V2 exe. Mabee this is just with V2 or somethng.

pdescobar
  • pdescobar

    Conformist Scum Panda

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2005

#49

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:55 AM

Could you try the starter save as well and see if the same thing happens on that save with v2? And is it like the 100% reward where the ammo count is really just staying the same or does it actually add to ammo instead of taking away? Just fire off a couple hundred rounds and see where the ammo count winds up... This here, is truly bizarre. notify.gif

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#50

Posted 18 November 2007 - 02:07 AM Edited by ryan92, 18 November 2007 - 02:15 AM.

QUOTE (pdescobar @ Nov 17 2007, 22:55)
Could you try the starter save as well and see if the same thing happens on that save with v2? And is it like the 100% reward where the ammo count is really just staying the same or does it actually add to ammo instead of taking away? Just fire off a couple hundred rounds and see where the ammo count winds up... This here, is truly bizarre.  notify.gif

The first time it happened to me, I watched the ammo go from 70 something up to 200 something.

Ok so I gave the starter save a try. With the V1 exe on the V1 starter save it only happend when CJ was in a vehicle. With the V2 exe on the V2 starter save it only happened when CJ was in a vehicle.

So this only happens when Cj is on a vehicle it seems.

Stefan.
  • Stefan.

    OG

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2006

#51

Posted 18 November 2007 - 03:10 AM

All I can say is: "Yay, we're back up!"

With more free time, this should be more enjoyable. devil.gif

Bad~Boy#17
  • Bad~Boy#17

    duh

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#52

Posted 18 November 2007 - 12:34 PM Edited by Bad~Boy#17, 18 November 2007 - 12:46 PM.

Sorry about my last turn. We had a snow storm raging and we had a 12 hour power loss.
But now everything is back again running great and the skiing session is open rah.gif rah.gif
Oh, and I found a vortex when playing.
user posted image

dxk
  • dxk

    The Boss...

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2007

#53

Posted 18 November 2007 - 04:21 PM Edited by dxk, 18 November 2007 - 04:26 PM.

F*cking school..........one more day passes by and i haven't had one try tommorows the thirday ,a charm..............good night all

EDIT::I was just thinking and saw that a mission from og loc(the one before house party i think is a lame mission) just cut scen

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#54

Posted 18 November 2007 - 04:34 PM Edited by girishb, 18 November 2007 - 04:37 PM.

QUOTE (dxk @ Nov 18 2007, 21:51)
EDIT::I was just thinking and saw that a mission from og loc(the one before house party i think is a lame mission) just cut scen

No OG LOC missions are cutscenes. They are all full-fledged missions. You must have confused it with something else.

Edit: Damn! The CG's moving so fast, I don't even get a chance to call a turn. confused.gif

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#55

Posted 18 November 2007 - 05:25 PM

dxk is correct, there is a cut-scene before House Party that increments the attempts but can't be completed. I don't think it changes the save name so it probably doesn't even count as much as a Lame mission.

Bad~Boy, keep up the good work on the vehicle hunt. The Vortex at Marina is a standard vehicle. The Vortexes usually get unlocked after Cut Throat Business, but by then the game is almost over so I enabled them early. There are a bunch of karts on the map as well. The CG22 map has these listed correctly, I've started trimming some of these vehicles in order to reduce the total vehicle count and hopefully make the game more stable.

SAM Java Map - This map is an excellent resource for checking locations of standard vehicles. The coordinates used must have been taken from the game code because I can usually translate them directly into hex code and use it to search the save file; people marking a map couldn't possibly be that accurate. BTW, I didn't realize until I started digging into save editing that only 208 of the vehicles on the map are stored in the save file. These are usually mission reward vehicles - vehicles that get unlocked, displayed, or hidden as the game progresses, or vehicles that are required to trigger side missions.

Another thing I figured out when hacking the vehicle generator records was how to flag vehicles to spawn more reliably, and to be player owned. I still can't get the standard Grove BMX to spawn as CJ exits his house, but most of the other vehicles we've placed will appear when CJ loads at that location. Also, most of the hideout vehicles and reward vehicles have been flagged as player owned. CJ won't get a wanted level if he enters them within sight of the cops.

Stefan Matovic Cvetkovic, sorry about the crashes, but I can't find anything that may be causing the problem. I realize this isn't an option for you, but we are at the point where you need to reinstall the game in order to eliminate a whole host of potential glitches. The only other thing I can suggest is to lower all graphics settings and free up some ram. Perhaps all the vehicle additions are stressing your resources. Are you having similar problems with crashes on unmodified games? I think round 17 was started with a normal save, those saves might provide a good comparison.

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#56

Posted 18 November 2007 - 05:29 PM

QUOTE (OrionSR @ Nov 18 2007, 22:55)
dxk is correct, there is a cut-scene before House Party that increments the attempts but can't be completed. I don't think it changes the save name so it probably doesn't even count as much as a Lame mission.

I always thought that the cutscene was a part of the mission 'House Party'.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#57

Posted 18 November 2007 - 06:01 PM

I dont know if it means anything to anybody but, In my turn I just took I had done military service and I didn't have hover to get over the Gant Bridge. I just flew right through the corona. Saddley my game crashed on me on the way back to LS. cryani.gif

OrionSR
  • OrionSR

    Chain Game Development Team

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 23 May 2007
  • None
  • Helpfulness Award [GTA & Modding]

#58

Posted 18 November 2007 - 07:02 PM Edited by OrionSR, 18 November 2007 - 07:08 PM.

QUOTE (ryan92 @ Nov 18 2007, 11:01)
I dont know if it means anything to anybody but, In my turn I just took I had done military service and I didn't have hover to get over the Gant Bridge. I just flew right through the corona. Saddley my game crashed on me on the way back to LS.  cryani.gif

That is strange. That corona seems to be almost completely encased in the invisible barrier. Are the barriers showing at all on your game? I would appreciate it if you followed through on this a little. Perhaps fire up SACC and turn on some protection for the Hydra so you can smash into the wall a few times if necessary.

Is anyone else experience increasing ammo when uzi's, particularly the Micro-SMG or Tec-9, are fired from a vehicle? I am especially interested if anyone with a version 1 executable is experiencing this anomaly.

Stefan.
  • Stefan.

    OG

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2006

#59

Posted 18 November 2007 - 08:22 PM

@OrionSR: Well, thankfully so far, I am yet to experience any crashes this round. However, I have realised in the past that the crashes occur whilst I am in a vehicle.

But I managed to drive quite a distance yesterday without the game crashing, and no problems occured. Hopefully, it will stay this way. icon14.gif But, thank you for your concern.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#60

Posted 18 November 2007 - 08:36 PM

QUOTE (OrionSR @ Nov 18 2007, 16:02)
QUOTE (ryan92 @ Nov 18 2007, 11:01)
I dont know if it means anything to anybody but, In my turn I just took I had done military service and I didn't have hover to get over the Gant Bridge. I just flew right through the corona. Saddley my game crashed on me on the way back to LS.  cryani.gif

That is strange. That corona seems to be almost completely encased in the invisible barrier. Are the barriers showing at all on your game? I would appreciate it if you followed through on this a little. Perhaps fire up SACC and turn on some protection for the Hydra so you can smash into the wall a few times if necessary.

Test results on Panda Town.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users