Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to install sound mods

41 replies to this topic
gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#1

Posted 08 October 2007 - 11:08 AM

This guide will tell you how to install sound mods. So you've downloaded one from http://www.gta-worldmods.de. But installing them may be tricky at first, but when you get the hang of it, it's easy.
Tools Required

SAAT Tool. Find it at http://pdescobar.hom...t.net/gta/saat/

When you have downloaded that, you need to copy some files to the San Andreas folder. It is located at C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas by default. The files are.

saat_stream
saat_sfx
metadata-full
metadata-generic.

When all them files have been copyed, you ready to export the sounds smile.gif !
Now go to your C drive, and make a folder called "TEMP", without the quotation marks. Now you need to run command promt.
Go to start>All programs>Accessories>command promt.
Now in command promt put this.
cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas
Now press enter. Then type in this.
saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\temp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
Now press enter. And wait a few minuites.

Now go to that temp folder in your C drive that you created, then it will have a folder called SAAT, then GENRL. Open the Genrl folder.

Now before you replace any folders, backup all the sounds! If you don't, you will have to reinstall the game to get the orginal's back confused.gif
Now when you have back'd them all up, copy the new bank folders that came with your downloaded sound mods, and copy them in the GENRL folder.
You will be asked to replace. Click yes.

Now you need to import them. Run command promt again, and copy and paste this into command promt.
saat_sfx -i audio\SFX\GENRL c:\temp\saat\GENRL\sfx_import.ini audio\CONFIG\BankLkup.dat. Now press enter and wait.
You must do this part, or the sound won't work. It's because it imports all the sounds to san andreas and it will import the new one's. That's it, all done!

Now look in the readme and get what car it tells you to get, (or any car that has the same sound as what it tells you to get. E.g, for ferrari challenge, it says get a cheetah, or you can get any car that has the same sound as a cheetah for the ferrari sound.

I hope this guide has helped you. Ask me if you need help.

viper2kool
  • viper2kool

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2007

#2

Posted 24 November 2007 - 04:11 PM

pleaseeeeeeee help i followed this bullcrap 200000000 page essay and i gave up but i want police sirens so bad so im not giving up my problem is when i tell my command propt saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\temp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
it says : well belows is what i put in


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright © 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Sean>cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>
C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\t
emp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
San Andreas Audio Toolkit (SAAT) SFX Tool Version 1.10

Error: Could not match filename audio/SFX/GENRL to a valid sound bank
lookup index; SAAT sfx exporter can currently only correctly export files which
are
named the same as the original game files because it needs to read length inform
ation
for some sounds in the archive from the lookup file. Future versions may include
a way
to specify the index via argument switches or a configuration file.

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#3

Posted 25 November 2007 - 11:33 AM

QUOTE (viper2kool @ Nov 24 2007, 16:11)
pleaseeeeeeee help i followed this bullcrap 200000000 page essay and i gave up but i want police sirens so bad so im not giving up my problem is when i tell my command propt saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\temp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
it says : well belows is what i put in


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Sean>cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>
C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\t
emp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
San Andreas Audio Toolkit (SAAT) SFX Tool Version 1.10

Error: Could not match filename audio/SFX/GENRL to a valid sound bank
lookup index; SAAT sfx exporter can currently only correctly export files which
are
named the same as the original game files because it needs to read length inform
ation
for some sounds in the archive from the lookup file. Future versions may include
a way
to specify the index via argument switches or a configuration file.

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>

Sometimes it seems to happen. You can watch this video here
He explains it better then me.

Morphexys
  • Morphexys

    nOOb... xD

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2007

#4

Posted 25 November 2007 - 12:08 PM

It is the same mistake that gives me to my!
To seeing since I it can solve...
A greeting! smile.gif

viper2kool
  • viper2kool

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jul 2007

#5

Posted 26 November 2007 - 09:17 PM

angry.gif screw that its too hard i already tryed to follow that instrutions but its way to hard how do you extract alll sounds alll i want is just some new police sirens

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#6

Posted 27 November 2007 - 04:16 PM

QUOTE (viper2kool @ Nov 26 2007, 21:17)
angry.gif screw that its too hard i already tryed to follow that instrutions but its way to hard how do you extract alll sounds alll i want is just some new police sirens

Ok, so go to command promt, then type in cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas
Then type saat_sfx -i audio\SFX\GENRL c:\temp\saat\GENRL\sfx_import.ini audio\CONFIG\BankLkup.dat. But make sure you have the following files below in San Andreas folder

Make sure you have copyed these files to your San Andreas folder!
saat_stream
saat_sfx
metadata-full
metadata-generic.

Now press enter, it should start extracting the sounds into C:\Temp\SAAT\Genrl
Now download your mod, it should have folders like bank_076. Copy the bank folders that came with the mod you downloaded, into C:\Temp\SAAT\Genrl
Now replace them, but only when you have backup'd orginal's.

Now in command prompt, type this in.
saat_sfx -i audio\SFX\GENRL c:\temp\saat\GENRL\sfx_import.ini audio\CONFIG\BankLkup.dat

Then wait for it to finish.

If this doesn't work, i have no idea why it won't work for you.



Morphexys
  • Morphexys

    nOOb... xD

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2007

#7

Posted 27 November 2007 - 11:47 PM

In order that you could decomprime the files what you have to do is to take him " only reading " to the folder audio, this way you will be able to access to the files without any problem!! tounge2.gif tounge2.gif

derty
  • derty

    My member's custom title is "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2007

#8

Posted 27 November 2007 - 11:49 PM

There is a GUI for SAAt, google is your friend. No command line necessary wink.gif

kmssd
  • kmssd

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2007

#9

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:02 PM

Is this only for version one?

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#10

Posted 03 December 2007 - 04:50 PM

QUOTE (kmssd @ Dec 2 2007, 23:02)
Is this only for version one?

Yes. If you have V2 you need to get a downgrader to downgrade game to V1.

kmssd
  • kmssd

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2007

#11

Posted 03 December 2007 - 06:51 PM

The only thing with that is, I'm using xbox, and I can change car sounds from other cars (game files only), but when I try to install a modded sound, it freezes when I enter the vehicle. Then I changed the tempo to match the original file, then it plays but the sound sucks.

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#12

Posted 04 December 2007 - 05:37 PM

QUOTE (kmssd @ Dec 3 2007, 18:51)
The only thing with that is, I'm using xbox, and I can change car sounds from other cars (game files only), but when I try to install a modded sound, it freezes when I enter the vehicle. Then I changed the tempo to match the original file, then it plays but the sound sucks.

This is for PC And not Xbox. It is possible maybe on XBOX, But i ain't sure how to do it on Xbox.

kmssd
  • kmssd

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2007

#13

Posted 04 December 2007 - 09:54 PM

I can change sounds (game files) to another car, I just can't add modded sounds, yet, I'm trying to figure it out.

inzann
  • inzann

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2007

#14

Posted 10 December 2007 - 06:41 PM

How do i get rid of the f*cking
C:\Documents and Settings\Daniel Misic>

so that i can do that command to export the files -.-

user posted image

Dolven
  • Dolven

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2007

#15

Posted 10 December 2007 - 07:23 PM Edited by Dolven, 01 June 2008 - 02:54 AM.

Edit: what pdescobar said.

pdescobar
  • pdescobar

    Conformist Scum Panda

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2005

#16

Posted 11 December 2007 - 06:21 AM

QUOTE (inzann @ Dec 10 2007, 13:41)
How do i get rid of the f*cking
C:\Documents and Settings\Daniel Misic>

so that i can do that command to export the files -.-

http://img222.images...izzkebabpg5.jpg

Quoting the online version of the SAAT Manual:

QUOTE
To install, simply unzip the archive and copy/move saat_stream.exe, saat_sfx.exe, and all INI files to a useful location such as the GTASA main directory. To use, follow the directions below and then follow the usage or examples.

  1. Open a Command Prompt window. On Windows XP this is done by choosing Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt.
  2. In the Command Prompt window, type the name of the drive where you installed the executables and hit return. For example, if you installed the executables to drive D: you would type

        D:

      and then return.
  3. Change to the directory where you installed the executables by using the cd command. For example, if you installed the executables to D:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas you would type

        cd "D:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas"

      and then return.
  4. You are now ready to use the program; see the usage or examples for more.

Note the command in step 2:
CODE
d:

That switches you to the D: drive and you can "cd" to your directory from there. However, if you are that unfamiliar with the command prompt, you are probably better off using one of the 3rd-party GUI add-ons as Dolven suggested. There are links to Pho3niXx's GUI for SAAT in the first post of the SAAT topic and there is also Alci's SAAT GUI FrontEnd but I don't have any links for that currently.

gk787
  • gk787

    Guitar Master 2008

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2007

#17

Posted 16 December 2007 - 09:33 PM

Ok I've been sound modding for some time, but if i replace, lets say the cheetah/turismo sound, it seems it also replaces the footsteps of Cj after he gets out of the car "they turn into car revs" Is there a way to fix this?

Firewalker999
  • Firewalker999

    Liberty City

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2007
  • Lithuania

#18

Posted 17 December 2007 - 02:26 PM

There is many mistakes in your guide. I followed your guide and it didn`t worked. But when i realised what mistakes you made i made it work. But when i made it work gta-worlmos where is all sound mods closed(Under Construction). Why today WHYYY!!! suicidal.gif tounge.gif

gtamodder
  • gtamodder

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2007

#19

Posted 17 December 2007 - 03:35 PM

@Firewalker999: Sorry for mistakes, because when i tryed it it worked for me.
And for the website, you'll just have to wait until it's back up.

@gk787: Try reinstalling San Andreas and try reinstalling sound mod.

gk787
  • gk787

    Guitar Master 2008

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2007

#20

Posted 18 December 2007 - 06:48 AM

QUOTE (gtamodder @ Dec 17 2007, 15:35)
@gk787: Try reinstalling San Andreas and try reinstalling sound mod.

yeah i tried it all, reinstalled it, even used new mods
For example Bank_098, no matter what sound i use EVERY sound replaces the foot step (by evey sound i mean every new sound mod, ferrari, lamborghini, mitusbishi, they all do it.)
Supahfly said it might be a bitrate problem, but ill look into it more

UlTrA_DrIfTeR
  • UlTrA_DrIfTeR

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2008

#21

Posted 31 May 2008 - 04:46 PM

QUOTE (viper2kool @ Nov 24 2007, 16:11)
pleaseeeeeeee help i followed this bullcrap 200000000 page essay and i gave up but i want police sirens so bad so im not giving up my problem is when i tell my command propt saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\temp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
it says : well belows is what i put in


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Sean>cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>
C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>saat_sfx -e audio/SFX/GENRL c:\t
emp\saat audio/CONFIG\BankLkup.dat
San Andreas Audio Toolkit (SAAT) SFX Tool Version 1.10

Error: Could not match filename audio/SFX/GENRL to a valid sound bank
lookup index; SAAT sfx exporter can currently only correctly export files which
are
named the same as the original game files because it needs to read length inform
ation
for some sounds in the archive from the lookup file. Future versions may include
a way
to specify the index via argument switches or a configuration file.

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas>

Hey u guys watch this video: Link

It helped me.... before it didn't work for me either....

Just type it by ur self ... dont copy that it says and past it in command prompt .... type it by ur self .... it work for me 100%

Tornronim
  • Tornronim

    Gunsmith

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2007

#22

Posted 01 June 2008 - 07:08 AM

QUOTE (gk787 @ Dec 18 2007, 06:48)
QUOTE (gtamodder @ Dec 17 2007, 15:35)
@gk787: Try reinstalling San Andreas and try reinstalling sound mod.

yeah i tried it all, reinstalled it, even used new mods
For example Bank_098, no matter what sound i use EVERY sound replaces the foot step (by evey sound i mean every new sound mod, ferrari, lamborghini, mitusbishi, they all do it.)
Supahfly said it might be a bitrate problem, but ill look into it more

Well seeing as UlTrA_DrItER bumped the topic i might as well join in. The 'farting' noises always get me when I install multiple sounds, however installing them one at a time seems to work. e.g Replace sound, Recompile, test etc However I've been using SAAT GUI Frontend rather than the commandline version, maybe you've started using it since your 07 post biggrin.gif

UlTrA_DrIfTeR
  • UlTrA_DrIfTeR

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2008

#23

Posted 02 June 2008 - 02:29 PM Edited by UlTrA_DrIfTeR, 02 June 2008 - 02:32 PM.

ph34r.gif rampage_ani.gif rampage_ani.gif rampage_ani.gif rampage_ani.gif ph34r.gif

slap knot
  • slap knot

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2008

#24

Posted 05 June 2008 - 04:06 PM

i dont have the temp file lol..help plz

Bad~Boy#17
  • Bad~Boy#17

    duh

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2007

#25

Posted 05 June 2008 - 07:58 PM

QUOTE (slap knot @ Jun 5 2008, 17:06)
i dont have the temp file lol..help plz

lol, create it yourself

unixasas
  • unixasas

    GTA SA PRO

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2008

#26

Posted 01 July 2008 - 06:19 PM

I used SAAT to change some sounds in SA, but when I change any of sounds, strange ping can be heard in the game and cars break with unknown sound. Is there anything that could solve the problem?

san9899
  • san9899

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2007

#27

Posted 22 July 2008 - 10:28 AM

the easiest way to import is to make a text document and write in it
CODE
cd C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas
saat_sfx -i audio\SFX\GENRL c:\temp\saat\GENRL\sfx_import.ini audio\CONFIG\BankLkup.dat


C can be another letter depending on where SA has been installed.
when you've done it rename it to anything but it has the have .bat in the end

fottyman123
  • fottyman123

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2008

#28

Posted 05 October 2008 - 06:07 PM

Hi

I don't hav whatever "bank folders" are all i have is
sound_011.wav
sound_012.wav

plz help.

FlyingShadow
  • FlyingShadow

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2008

#29

Posted 05 November 2008 - 04:31 PM

hi, followed your instructions. and they worked perfectly biggrin.gif good job!
But i want to replace songs on the radio, i know it works, but how do I do it?

unixasas
  • unixasas

    GTA SA PRO

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2008

#30

Posted 04 December 2008 - 11:09 PM

If you noticed, every song is split into 3, so you have to do this to your own songs and add..




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users