Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Official Xbox 360 Topic

10,102 replies to this topic
Andyzoot
  • Andyzoot

    Player Hater

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2005

#31

Posted 18 September 2007 - 08:15 PM

oh you got the HD-DVD drive. Quick question if you don't mind...

When you want to use the HD-DVD drive do you have to have the 360 on at the same time or can you just have the HD-DVD on by itself as I noticed that it has it's own Mains plug...

RMT
  • RMT

    Grr

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2003
  • None

#32

Posted 18 September 2007 - 08:20 PM

Sip, where's the hot air going? can't see any holes at the back for it to escape. Are you just blowing it up via cold air?

Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#33

Posted 18 September 2007 - 08:35 PM

QUOTE (SIP YEK NOD @ Sep 18 2007, 13:50)
It quite simply does not get better ventilated than that.

I dissagree. Yes, you have a good fan, but it's in a small cabinet, and the fan can't blow directly into the 360. I currently have mine set up on a wireframe shelf, directly over a vent that blows cold air 24/7.

user posted image

Not claiming it's the best, but I don't see how a fan that blows out warm air, and has to travel around the 360 in a small closed cabinet right beside a PS3 is better. And like TheDude said, I've left mine on two days straight, no problems. Wasn't smart, granted, but when you have no HDD, you're desperate (was back when I had the corrupt HDD, and was waiting for a new one from MS). Was a little bit louder than usual, but after I left it off for a few minutes, it was back to normal.

I shall now wait for you to show me how yours is better, because I know it'll be true.

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#34

Posted 18 September 2007 - 08:45 PM Edited by SIP YEK NOD, 18 September 2007 - 08:48 PM.

@RMT:
user posted image



the air comes in holes at the back at ground level, goes through a furnace dust filter, gets sucked up by the fan, pushed into the bottom shelf, through holes drilled in the right side of the top shelf, and out holes by the 360. it flows quite heavily throughout the entire case. you can also feel quite heavy airflow coming out the back of the case at the top. not to mention the incoming air charge is further cooled by time spent below the bottom shelf against a 12*c cement floor.

i do, infact have the best cooling solution.




ps. the fact that it is a small cabinet means the air flow faster, and closer to the 360. so while the speed of the air is quickly being dissapated into your room, and maybe 10% of the air coming out of the vent even comes close to the 360, i have large volumes of air rushing through mine.



Pat
  • Pat

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2006

#35

Posted 18 September 2007 - 08:47 PM

Well, it's hard to see much in your first picture. Bah, whatever.

Still no reply from Ben Lomand. Still no XBL. Just sadness. sad.gif

TheDude5000
  • TheDude5000

    Soak of the year!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#36

Posted 19 September 2007 - 03:58 AM

Aah, guess you do have good ventilation. But like you said, you played....Bioshock or w/e for two hours right afterwards with no problems, if I'm correct. Could it have just been a normal crash? I mean I have plenty of other consoles that lock up from time to time, not necessarily due to overheating.

dfrawley888
  • dfrawley888

    Homeboy

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2007

#37

Posted 19 September 2007 - 06:13 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again: Make Driver P/L back compatible!!!!!!

Andyzoot
  • Andyzoot

    Player Hater

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2005

#38

Posted 19 September 2007 - 06:17 PM

QUOTE (me)
When you want to use the HD-DVD drive do you have to have the 360 on at the same time or can you just have the HD-DVD on by itself as I noticed that it has it's own Mains plug...


Quoted for Sip...

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#39

Posted 19 September 2007 - 06:26 PM

QUOTE (Pandazoot @ Sep 19 2007, 12:17)
QUOTE (me)
When you want to use the HD-DVD drive do you have to have the 360 on at the same time or can you just have the HD-DVD on by itself as I noticed that it has it's own Mains plug...


Quoted for Sip...

yes, the 360 has to be on.

Andyzoot
  • Andyzoot

    Player Hater

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2005

#40

Posted 19 September 2007 - 06:30 PM

Thanks Sip oh and I hope you enjoyed those Gummi Candies on your desk smile.gif


GTA3Freak-2001
  • GTA3Freak-2001

    Run out of Cake.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2001

#41

Posted 20 September 2007 - 05:57 AM

QUOTE (TheDude5000 @ Sep 18 2007, 21:16)
QUOTE (SIP YEK NOD @ Sep 18 2007, 03:42)
Just a little FYI, the 360 no likey 8 hour skate sessions. 

Really dude? I believe I once passed out with my 360 still on with the Office Space DVD still idling at the main menu...when I woke up the 360 was still doing just fine, wasn't really that hot, no RROD...and I've read many testimonies from people about playing launch consoles into the wee hours of the night and following morning/afternoon and claiming no RROD or problems. If you keep the thing ventilated, you shouldn't have problems. I'm hoping you already know that...

EDIT: Actually it was either Tommy Boy or Office Space..

Having your 360 running the menu of a DVD is hardly going to strain the system and cause excessive heat compared to the system playing a graphic intensive game for 8 hours straight.

Potato Boggle
  • Potato Boggle

    Formerly ozzman1

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • None

#42

Posted 20 September 2007 - 09:12 PM

This is real f*cking nice.The 360 just got back today.My bro plays C0D3 for about half an hour then the color goes kind of weird and we shut it off when we turn it back on we got the blue screen with sound.This sucks so bad.

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#43

Posted 21 September 2007 - 02:28 AM

for any canadians in the hizzouse, walmart now has the premium 360 + forza 2 + NHL 08 for 347 bucks.

thats less than the american price, with 2 games bundled. i can't wait for next weeks flyers.


ChaosAlert
  • ChaosAlert

    Gaming enthusiast.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2004

#44

Posted 21 September 2007 - 03:28 PM

Hmm, have a problem with the 360, and I don't think it's very common either.

I have yet to download the update for the 'Big Button' controller, but after booting up, the 360 freezes on the dashboard, most likely before I get the message prompt to get the new update.

Is there anything I can do to get around this problem, or is it time to get a replacement?

Torcidas
  • Torcidas

    rm -rf /

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2006

#45

Posted 21 September 2007 - 07:24 PM

QUOTE (SIP YEK NOD @ Sep 20 2007, 21:28)
for any canadians in the hizzouse, walmart now has the premium 360 + forza 2 + NHL 08 for 347 bucks.

thats less than the american price, with 2 games bundled. i can't wait for next weeks flyers.

Looks like my opportunity to finally get one.

Just a couple questions if you may.

Is the premium the one that had all the problems with the 360? Or was that another version? I really don't know the whole story about how there were so many malfunctioning 360's.

Will I be able to play DVDs right away on it? Or will I have to purchase a remote like the previous Xbox?

How stable is the price? What do you expect of the price by Christmas time?

Thanks in advance for any help.

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#46

Posted 21 September 2007 - 07:59 PM

QUOTE (Torcidas @ Sep 21 2007, 13:24)

Is the premium the one that had all the problems with the 360? Or was that another version? I really don't know the whole story about how there were so many malfunctioning 360's.


they all had issues. the new premiums have a GPU heatsink, and a 3 year warranty, there really shouldn't be an issue


QUOTE

Will I be able to play DVDs right away on it? Or will I have to purchase a remote like the previous Xbox?


Right away, no remote needed

QUOTE

How stable is the price? What do you expect of the price by Christmas time?


with the line-up of games this holiday, i doubt they will need to lower the price, so i doubt they will. it will probably go back up at other retailers to 400, and drop back to 350 by christmas(in canada)





manofpeace
  • manofpeace

    Stay Gold

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2007

#47

Posted 21 September 2007 - 10:36 PM

Quick Clarification Question:
What exactly is the difference between the Pro and the Elite? Some kid at my school says he's getting the Pro. But I'm guessing the Elite would still pwn the Pro.

JayC
  • JayC

    WWJCD

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2002

#48

Posted 21 September 2007 - 10:56 PM

Well now that the Pro has HDMI the only things the elite has going for it are that it is black and that it has a 120GB hard drive.

Grandthefter
  • Grandthefter

    I am not a member!

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2002

#49

Posted 21 September 2007 - 10:57 PM

No performance differences. The elite comes with HDMI - so better picture/sound quality (if your tv accepts HDMI), its black and it has 120Gb HDD as opposed to the pro's 20Gb

manofpeace
  • manofpeace

    Stay Gold

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2007

#50

Posted 21 September 2007 - 11:00 PM

QUOTE (grandthefter @ Sep 21 2007, 17:57)
No performance differences. The elite comes with HDMI - so better picture/sound quality (if your tv accepts HDMI), its black and it has 120Gb HDD as opposed to the pro's 20Gb

So I'm fine then. Good.

Torcidas
  • Torcidas

    rm -rf /

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Feb 2006

#51

Posted 22 September 2007 - 01:17 AM

SIP, is that bundle available at all Walmart stores in Ontario as well? I was browsing through the local flyers today, and all I see is the Halo 3 Template Xbox for 449.

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#52

Posted 22 September 2007 - 01:23 AM

QUOTE (Torcidas @ Sep 21 2007, 19:17)
SIP, is that bundle available at all Walmart stores in Ontario as well? I was browsing through the local flyers today, and all I see is the Halo 3 Template Xbox for 449.

it start on septmber 28th, so it will likly be in next weeks flyer.

matt11504
  • matt11504

    drug free since '93

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jul 2006

#53

Posted 22 September 2007 - 01:26 AM

i was thinking about buying the Xbox 360 core system, did microsoft fix the core systems or only the Pro and Elite systems?
and another question
im getting this new DSL thing from AT&T and it plugs into my PC's USB port, can i plug it into the xbox 360's USB port and have it work for xbox live?

manofpeace
  • manofpeace

    Stay Gold

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2007

#54

Posted 22 September 2007 - 01:41 AM

I heard that Halo 3 is coming out on the Picture Day at our school. XD That's gonig to be interesting...

matt11504
  • matt11504

    drug free since '93

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jul 2006

#55

Posted 22 September 2007 - 03:10 AM Edited by matt11504, 22 September 2007 - 03:13 AM.

QUOTE (manofpeace @ Sep 22 2007, 01:41)
I heard that Halo 3 is coming out on the Picture Day at our school. XD That's gonig to be interesting...

i think my school has picture day on that day too. smile.gif
the hardcore Halo fans will skip school.

Made
  • Made

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2004

#56

Posted 22 September 2007 - 04:55 AM

QUOTE (matt11504 @ Sep 21 2007, 17:26)
i was thinking about buying the Xbox 360 core system, did microsoft fix the core systems or only the Pro and Elite systems?
and another question
im getting this new DSL thing from AT&T and it plugs into my PC's USB port, can i plug it into the xbox 360's USB port and have it work for xbox live?

Don't get the Core, it's not worth it. Especially if you're thinking of hooking up your 360 to Live. With all the free demos you can download and possible downloadable content (like for GTA IV). For $70 dollars more you get a headset, wireless controllers, hard drive, component cables. I think if you buy the hard drive separate that alone costs $100, unless they dropped the price on that too.

Potato Boggle
  • Potato Boggle

    Formerly ozzman1

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • None

#57

Posted 22 September 2007 - 05:01 AM

OMG NOW I HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER MONTH TO GET A SECOND DAMN XBOX.

Potato Boggle
  • Potato Boggle

    Formerly ozzman1

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • None

#58

Posted 22 September 2007 - 12:22 PM

for the 3 red rings. so i wait and wait and it finally comes on Thursday the 20th. i open it and it says they couldnt fix it, so they send a new one. i hook it up, put a game in and play 1 game of Call of Duty 3 online. i shut it off, and when i turn it back on, i get sound, but no picture. so i call support, and they told me to buy a new cord to see what the problem was. i buy a new one, and get the same thing. so i call again. They are sending another box, so they can fix it again. is this B.S. or what? im so angry right now suicidal.gif

Damo.
  • Damo.

    Gangsta

  • Awaiting Authorisation
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2007

#59

Posted 22 September 2007 - 12:44 PM

Post here.

XN22
  • XN22

    Breathe.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2007

#60

Posted 22 September 2007 - 04:02 PM

QUOTE (ozzman1 @ Sep 22 2007, 05:01)
OMG NOW I HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER MONTH TO GET A SECOND DAMN XBOX.

Cry about it. I'm on my fifth.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users