Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Sketchup][SA]Sketchup to SA

43 replies to this topic
Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#1

Posted 01 June 2007 - 03:38 PM

Sketchup to Game...

The tutorial covers, modeling in sketchup, texturing in sketchup, importing / exporting the dff, col file in 3DS Max and Gmax, creating TXDS, and using MEd.

I am going to be making an html version avaible shortly, but at the moment, its in PDF.

http://www.shadowsre....uk/susatut.zip 13MB: sorry about the size.

FelleAndersson
  • FelleAndersson

    Sketchup User

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2005

#2

Posted 09 September 2007 - 09:41 AM

lol, exactly what I needed... Thanks! Downloading it now colgate.gif
Gonna see if it helps icon14.gif

Gta-Modstar-121
  • Gta-Modstar-121

    Sketchup Modeller

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2007

#3

Posted 15 September 2007 - 03:12 PM

what sort off program do you open the file with smile.gif

FelleAndersson
  • FelleAndersson

    Sketchup User

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2005

#4

Posted 15 September 2007 - 03:18 PM

Thanks alot man! It worked like a charm! icon14.gif

- Felle

ps, Adobe reader wink.gif

Ja750
  • Ja750

    Five

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Aug 2005
  • None

#5

Posted 19 September 2007 - 01:57 PM Edited by Ja750, 19 September 2007 - 08:14 PM.

QUOTE (Gta-Modstar-121 @ Sep 15 2007, 16:12)
what sort off program do you open the file with smile.gif

Adobe Reader.

@Gangsta Killa This is really good, Im gonna give this a try. smile.gif


EDIT: Need Help.

I add my col, dff and txd to the archive then rebuild it, open up MED and it loads 95% of map files then quits out. sad.gif
Now when there not in the archive it dont quit out.
Any ideas, how to fix this ?

Maxim
  • Maxim

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2007

#6

Posted 17 November 2007 - 02:37 AM Edited by Maxim, 17 November 2007 - 09:55 PM.

im using gmax and i see that sketchup does not support its format...
Is this possible to do wih the free version of sketchup and gmax?

EVIL_SoMEoNE
  • EVIL_SoMEoNE

    Evil guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2006

#7

Posted 18 November 2007 - 11:40 PM

QUOTE (Maxim @ Nov 17 2007, 02:37)
im using gmax and i see that sketchup does not support its format...
Is this possible to do wih the free version of sketchup and gmax?

nope, free sketchup cant export gmax files.
neither can sketchup pro but it can export in .3ds format and gmax can read that

CroModder
  • CroModder

    Cro Begginer

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2007

#8

Posted 23 January 2008 - 04:40 PM

Why I can't export *.3Ds files with Gmax? confused.gif

Kiragatash
  • Kiragatash

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Nov 2007

#9

Posted 20 March 2008 - 01:36 PM

I got a little prob using MEd v0.32

1) The black screen stays black
2) I don't see scroll bar, tick box, ...

See screen, I think it because of my System

user posted image

Leon Blade
  • Leon Blade

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2008

#10

Posted 24 March 2008 - 07:16 PM

I followed this tutorial and it helped me out a lot!
The only problem is, my model DOES show up in MEd.
But it DOES NOT show up in the game.

I'm making a simple house model for GTA III.
I figured out that the COL file can't be in the image.
The collision file shows up in the game, I ran into it >.<
But I don't see the house.

Why is this?
--Leon Blade

joelzaar
  • joelzaar

    I Am Legend team leader

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008

#11

Posted 07 April 2008 - 08:54 AM

Does it come with the tools or do i have to find them?

E_vilestro
  • E_vilestro

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#12

Posted 14 June 2008 - 11:33 PM

Can this process work with VC?

Potato Boggle
  • Potato Boggle

    Formerly ozzman1

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • None

#13

Posted 16 August 2008 - 05:59 AM

Sorry for the bump but my Google sketchup can't export in 3ds for some reason.

EVIL_SoMEoNE
  • EVIL_SoMEoNE

    Evil guy

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2006

#14

Posted 20 August 2008 - 05:06 PM Edited by EVIL_SoMEoNE, 20 August 2008 - 05:08 PM.

QUOTE (ozzman1 @ Aug 16 2008, 05:59)
Sorry for the bump but my Google sketchup can't export in 3ds for some reason.

thats because you dont have a pro version... only pro version can do that...


QUOTE
Why I can't export *.3Ds files with Gmax?


yeah ive noticed that too suicidal.gif

i can only get the 3ds max 30 day trial...

ReeceMix
  • ReeceMix

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008

#15

Posted 23 August 2008 - 02:13 PM

Hi all,
Im Gonna try out this tutorial , I have all the tools and a knowlege of how to use them but it will be my first attempt at modding gta, I was just wondering if there have been any major changes to the tutorial process decribed in the PDF? (as this post is over a year old now - Jun 1 2007), Thnx

ReeceMix
  • ReeceMix

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008

#16

Posted 24 August 2008 - 02:46 PM Edited by ReeceMix, 24 August 2008 - 02:57 PM.

QUOTE (CroModder @ Jan 23 2008, 16:40)
Why I can't export *.3Ds files with Gmax? :/

AGGGGHHH , wished i'd looked into Gmax a little further because Gmax

Doesnt export 3DS files! and the Tutorial suggests either '3DSmax' or 'Gmax' !

So for anyone else following this tutorial ...


DONT USE GMAX !

There is no Export/Import Script ..as far as im aware


Anyhoo.. I completed the process with 3DSmax
(The only other flaw I found in the tutorial is at the end it says 'choose your IPL and click install. And go to file -> save install. And thatís it, youíve done'

It should be 'Click Save' (also I dont get why his end picture shows the bus ontop of the obect he created and not in it?)

Apart from that its an awesome tutorial for the dumbest of newbie wannabie monkey brain modders.

Here was my result , a storm drain tunnel

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/5038/hi...ybookra8.th.jpg (http://img383.images...torybookra8.jpg)

Why wont this picture display??


Now onto meshing a whole city

Mc Simmo
  • Mc Simmo

    Ravin Whistle Posse

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2008

#17

Posted 24 August 2008 - 03:05 PM

Use Kams scripts to import/export

ReeceMix
  • ReeceMix

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2008

#18

Posted 24 August 2008 - 03:08 PM

QUOTE (Mc Simmo @ Aug 24 2008, 15:05)
Use Kams scripts to import/export

Kams Gmax script Imports the 3DS from sketchup?

W.Thieves
  • W.Thieves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2008

#19

Posted 17 October 2008 - 09:38 PM Edited by W.Thieves, 18 October 2008 - 08:15 AM.

Solved it

W.Thieves
  • W.Thieves

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2008

#20

Posted 18 October 2008 - 06:28 AM Edited by W.Thieves, 18 October 2008 - 08:16 AM.

I have another problem it doesn't show up in gaem but the .col file does show up

kal-el5676
  • kal-el5676

    Zombie Killa

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008

#21

Posted 01 March 2009 - 09:41 AM

QUOTE (W.Thieves @ Oct 18 2008, 06:28)
I have another problem it doesn't show up in gaem but the .col file does show up

sorry bout the bump, but does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004

#22

Posted 01 March 2009 - 02:36 PM

Did you compress the textures in TXD Workshop?

kal-el5676
  • kal-el5676

    Zombie Killa

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008

#23

Posted 01 March 2009 - 06:28 PM Edited by kal-el5676, 01 March 2009 - 06:53 PM.

QUOTE (Prince-Link @ Mar 1 2009, 14:36)
Did you compress the textures in TXD Workshop?

i used txd builder. not sure if that compresses em. ok now i used txd workshop and compressed and that didnt do it. it was previously mentioned it may be a draw distance error. anyone?

adstone1237
  • adstone1237

    I'm just 3 ducks in a man costume!

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2007

#24

Posted 05 March 2009 - 06:09 PM

How would this help if I wnted to, say, create a mountain? And then make a tunnel go through it? I'm planning on totally redesigning the map into a mini Japan with Tokyo and Mt. Fuji. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Funky_Donkey_BG
  • Funky_Donkey_BG

    -AWESOME-

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2008

#25

Posted 14 March 2009 - 09:04 AM

where can i find the coach.3ds? i have a model waiting to be scaled

cj360
  • cj360

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

#26

Posted 28 March 2009 - 01:50 AM Edited by cj360, 30 March 2009 - 10:06 PM.

nvr mind I got it.

REFodra
  • REFodra

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2009

#27

Posted 07 June 2009 - 11:53 PM

Hey, I Can't Export 3ds Files with my Gmax! WHY,WHY,WHY! angry.gif angry.gif angry.gif panic.gif facedesk.gif

kimr120
  • kimr120

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#28

Posted 13 June 2009 - 11:18 AM

ahh finally a tutorial for sketchup. it's the only program im good at
EDIT: oh sh*t its not for the free version. do anybody know a free 3ds plugin for sketchup?

quechus13
  • quechus13

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2008

#29

Posted 13 June 2009 - 02:32 PM

QUOTE (kimr120 @ Jun 13 2009, 11:18)
ahh finally a tutorial for sketchup. it's the only program im good at
EDIT: oh sh*t its not for the free version. do anybody know a free 3ds plugin for sketchup?

Buy the Pro Version

kimr120
  • kimr120

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 May 2008

#30

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:29 AM

QUOTE (quechus13 @ Jun 13 2009, 14:32)
QUOTE (kimr120 @ Jun 13 2009, 11:18)
ahh finally a tutorial for sketchup. it's the only program im good at
EDIT: oh sh*t its not for the free version. do anybody know a free 3ds plugin for sketchup?

Buy the Pro Version

it costs 381 euro that is totally 4 123 swedish kronor i only have 1300 swedish kronor that is to expensive for a 14 year old!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users