Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

3dmax script pack

47 replies to this topic
Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#1

Posted 10 May 2007 - 07:35 PM

Here some scripts for easier modding

DOWNLOAD

1. DFF export ...for map objects only

You dont have to reimport your models for NVC. just put your DAY colors into
VertexColor channel... And NIGHT colors to VertexIllumination channel...
if you use VertexPaint modificator, you can selects needed channel in
PARAMETERS \ CHANNEL section..

2. Animation export (for map object)
3. UV anim export + TV anim helper
4. Export col script files (cst) for COLLEDITOR2 (Steve M)...
Mainly usable for big map
5. Brakable objects
6. Train Paths IO
7. CULL IO (Mirrors, no rain zones)
8. OCCLU IO

Sorry, but not all help translated to english... I have problem with this...
But most needed script like DFF export help translated...
  • MasterHK likes this

Ryder35
  • Ryder35

    sheisse

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2006

#2

Posted 10 May 2007 - 08:03 PM Edited by Ryder35, 10 May 2007 - 08:11 PM.

Your script looks cool , what sort of translation do you need ?

By the way i can't read your read me ! my note pad don't display russian letters bored.gif

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#3

Posted 11 May 2007 - 09:07 AM

NICE! any known bugs? What are the plans for the future? How much more work will you [or the author] be putting into GTA max scripts? I'm especially interested in a water.dat info exporter. What is in the future? ty <3

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#4

Posted 12 May 2007 - 01:16 PM

About bugs.. I dont know... But i make and export about 4000 objects in my mod
(Alien city), and no problems. But sometimes have little splits between objects in games.
I dont know why 3dmax writes float numbers not exacly it is (little offset). But its not
problem...
water stript. No i havent it.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    "Segregate and Rearrange" "The Hills"

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 12 May 2007 - 02:37 PM

this looks like a stunning set of max scripts Deniska smile.gif

not had a chance to play with them yet but for those people who like pretty pictures here's one for you ..........

user posted image

thank you for making these script's Deniska, hopefully you will expand the set soon with 2DFX sections etc wink.gif

cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#6

Posted 12 May 2007 - 05:37 PM

yea, those damned floats. I had that problem, but it turned out it was my own error, it was an easy error to make though, I moved some verts.

@Gforce: Thanks for the screen man! Yea, I think I will be trying a few of these. Is this a start up script of do you run them all individually?

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#7

Posted 12 May 2007 - 06:55 PM

QUOTE (dertyjerzian™ @ May 12 2007, 17:37)
Is this a start up script of do you run them all individually?

In startup just script runner utility... Exacly like in KAM's scripts...

And about floats.. From 3dmax script help :
CODE

Input Value___Stored Value______Displayed Value

1.23456789___1.23456788_______1.23457
1.1__________1.10000002_______1.1
1.0001_______1.00010001_______1.0001
1.000001_____1.00000095_______1.0


dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#8

Posted 12 May 2007 - 06:59 PM

yes, I know they're off, but mine was my own error tounge.gif I was lucky wink.gif

Anything big planned for your scripts in the near future?

xrk
  • xrk

    ..

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#9

Posted 12 May 2007 - 08:41 PM Edited by xrk, 12 May 2007 - 08:45 PM.

Wow looked at this just now, that IDE script will be a big time saver for new maps and the batch dff exporter too (exports new models unlike kams), those two have been needed for ages inlove.gif

QUOTE
I'm especially interested in a water.dat info exporter.


There has been one of those for a while, by ocram88.

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#10

Posted 13 May 2007 - 10:45 AM

thats really gud script for max after the kams..!!

Gforce
  • Gforce

    "Segregate and Rearrange" "The Hills"

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#11

Posted 16 May 2007 - 01:31 AM

i got around to trying out a few of these scripts and i've got to say they work amazingly well.

i used the train paths script and found that it will allow for exporting a tracks.dat file without the user having set the mandatory 6 stations.

maybe you could include that in any future update as a warning that 6 haven't been set, as the game tends to behave strangely with more or less than 6 stations set.

here is a screenie for you of a train path in max.

user posted image

and one ingame..

user posted image

these really are impressive max scripts biggrin.gif

thank you once again icon14.gif

PS: i did some minor editing of your max scripts for personal use, i hope you don't mind, i renamed a few sections of the scripts to more suit the functions they do, you can see what i've done in the screenshot from max above, i still need to alter ifp exporter to animated dff export wink.gif

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#12

Posted 16 May 2007 - 11:18 AM

about ifp exporter...

1. You need model with heirarchy for animation.. create DUMMY and name it same as
you DFF file name will be... This DUMMY must be at top of heirarchy
2. Export all parts of your model and dummy to DFF... (better if NVC included)
3. Run script, select just DUMMY and press "get hierarhy selected" on script panel...
You will see all subs of DUMMY list... If subobject not used in animation then set
"EXCLUDE" flag for it... If object have just rotation keys then set "SKIP POS" flag for
this object...
4. Press EXPORT and save animation file...
5. in IDE you should write you object in ANIM/END section...

ID, DFFname, TXDname, ANIMATION, DIST, FLAGS

and you should put your DFF, TXD and ANIM file to .IMG

----------------------------------------

about train station - i did make new paths with just one station and it working normal...
actually dont really tested this script...

oCain
  • oCain

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2005

#13

Posted 16 May 2007 - 02:31 PM

Whooohieee!!! *Dance!*
It works perfect... icon14.gif
...just wanna give you an feedback.
user posted image
Here's an Anim-Object-Test-Pic...with NVC!

Greetz!

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#14

Posted 16 May 2007 - 06:23 PM

YAY! thanks! I love the anim objects and for the trains. Just one question:

Does your COL script export the more dark vertex with less bright? that would be awesome.

Does the stations works for the tram?

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#15

Posted 16 May 2007 - 08:25 PM

Col export just exports col script files (cst) for COLLEDITOR2 (Steve-M)...
I use this if making land with many bits. Mainly becose CE2 imports
multiply *.cst files... Little manual :
1. copy your scene with land and open it (ex. COLscene.max)
2. you can use KAMs COL material for defining type of surface,
or if you not use this material then you can define surfase by
face mat id
3. Run script and choose export path
4. Run COLLEDITOR2 (Steve-M) and use EDIT\ADD and select all
creates cst files... Then edit it in CE2 as you want...

This script not needed if you export building etc... For this better use KAMs
COL IO, and CE2 after that for britnes control... Becose building collision needs
more work (boxes, spheres, less faces)

QUOTE
Does the stations works for the tram?


it must... but not tested

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#16

Posted 18 May 2007 - 04:39 PM

Hey Deniska smile.gif

I've installed your tool kit here but I havent done much work in the past three days. I do have a couple questions, maybe you can get me a little more comfy wink.gif I'll quote the readme:

QUOTE
-- If you turn off GEOMETRY LIGHTS flag - you can see effect, like SA tunnels (very dark)


Is that how that is done? And leaving it on... Does that mean that if I create lights around my objects and get it just so that I can export the DFF and it will remember that lighting, or is that flag for how the game's day lighting/atmospheric light itself handles the model? Basically, by exporting with geometry lighting, am I also exporting the lighting I set up in Max or am I thinking wrongly here?

and

QUOTE
supports multiexport. If its ON then files wil be names same as exported objects in directory you choose


Does that mean that the script does not take all the names of my models in Max and name them what they are named in Max, it names according to a directory? I'm a little confused at this one. I like to understand a lot before I dive in. tia <3

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#17

Posted 18 May 2007 - 08:44 PM Edited by Deniska, 18 May 2007 - 08:49 PM.

QUOTE (dertyjerzian™ @ May 18 2007, 16:39)
Hey Deniska smile.gif

I've installed your tool kit here but I havent done much work in the past three days. I do have a couple questions, maybe you can get me a little more comfy wink.gif I'll quote the readme:

QUOTE
-- If you turn off GEOMETRY LIGHTS flag - you can see effect, like SA tunnels (very dark)


Is that how that is done? And leaving it on... Does that mean that if I create lights around my objects and get it just so that I can export the DFF and it will remember that lighting, or is that flag for how the game's day lighting/atmospheric light itself handles the model? Basically, by exporting with geometry lighting, am I also exporting the lighting I set up in Max or am I thinking wrongly here?

and

QUOTE
supports multiexport. If its ON then files wil be names same as exported objects in directory you choose


Does that mean that the script does not take all the names of my models in Max and name them what they are named in Max, it names according to a directory? I'm a little confused at this one. I like to understand a lot before I dive in. tia <3

1. Actually i dont know what is mean "GEOMETRY LIGHTS". This flag have named in
RW analize (Steve M)... So then i tested without this flag, i have seen what surfaces
in game is very dark if used dark prelit (like in some tunnel in SA)

2. Its mean - if you have more then 1 object for export... You turn on multiexport flag,
select all your objects and press export... Objects will be exports to directory, and
your dffs will named same as objects...(ooo...my mother told me : learn english)
another words -
you have objects - box01, sphere01, Union01, House .... Select them all, press export,
choose path and you will have files in this path -
box01.dff , sphere01.dff , Union01.dff , House.dff ...

But if you export by 1 object, you dont need this...Turn off this flag and name you dff
like you want...

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#18

Posted 18 May 2007 - 11:09 PM

excellent. That was clear to me wink.gif Thank you for the fast response.

Any new stuff on these tools themselves? What did you think of Gforce's alterations? Find those to be of use at all?

ParoXum
  • ParoXum

    Proud PC Gamer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005
  • None
  • Best Texture/Model 2013 "SRt3 2012 Mipmap Edition"

#19

Posted 19 May 2007 - 11:38 AM

Wow, nice, years and years after, we have now someone to bring back to life modding eases, this deserve the karma whore.

Nice for the batch feature, smarter than Kams one. turn.gif


JKM
  • JKM

    [BM] Projectleader

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2005

#20

Posted 19 May 2007 - 02:44 PM Edited by JKM, 19 May 2007 - 04:24 PM.

Hi.
Ive got some questions, too.
What is the difference between "type 1" and "type 2"?

And why are the night vertex colors darker with the prelight-option "mapping"?
This is really confusing!

But thanks for the great tool smile.gif

Edit: Another question:
My object has ~11 k Polys. While exporting it with nvc the script damaged.
Following error follows:
"-- Runtime error: Out of scripter memory - use options to increase"

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#21

Posted 19 May 2007 - 06:31 PM

QUOTE (JKM @ May 19 2007, 09:44)
Hi.
Ive got some questions, too.
What is the difference between "type 1" and "type 2"?

And why are the night vertex colors darker with the prelight-option "mapping"?
This is really confusing!

But thanks for the great tool smile.gif

Edit: Another question:
My object has ~11 k Polys. While exporting it with nvc the script damaged.
Following error follows:
"-- Runtime error: Out of scripter memory - use options to increase"

not sure about the lighting, but Deniska's readme says t use type one and that type two is not too good.

Also, your object is about 10000 polies too big tounge.gif

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#22

Posted 19 May 2007 - 08:39 PM

QUOTE (JKM @ May 19 2007, 16:44)
My object has ~11 k Polys. While exporting it with nvc the script damaged.
Following error follows:
"-- Runtime error: Out of scripter memory - use options to increase"

Well, just do what it says. wink.gif In Max, open the Preferences dialog (Customize -> Preferences...), go to the MAXScript tab, and increase the "initial heap allocation" value. That gives the script more memory to work with.

As for that GeometryLight flag, I don't really know what it's for either. But as far as I remember all original model files have it set. Brightness of models should generally be done via vertex colors.

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#23

Posted 21 May 2007 - 11:22 AM

gta3.IMG have 680 model files where geometry light flag set off...

full list

Without geom light models are realy darked... Like in some places between mountains in
original SA...

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#24

Posted 22 May 2007 - 12:52 AM Edited by dertyjerzian™, 22 May 2007 - 01:03 AM.

I have been finally trying out the DFF multiobject export, Deniska.

I tried both times with NVC off, and the first try I had GEOM LIGHT ticked ON, and second not ticked (with and without GEOM LIGHT). both produced roads like this. Notice how the bottom ones, done one by one with KAMS are darker, see my headlights are on? It is dark outside tounge.gif So, notice the top from the multi dff in your script is very bright. Any help? Did I forget a step not mentioned elsewhere for your script?

user posted image

EDIT: And if it helps, I turn off MMC and VCol for my road models with kams, and it seems my new replacements for these bright ones are about average 5kb smaller than each of the four originals made with your script*

great work though, how can I fix this for future exports and any plans for more robust user panels and features?

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#25

Posted 22 May 2007 - 09:19 AM

QUOTE (dertyjerzian™ @ May 22 2007, 00:52)
I have been finally trying out the DFF........

I see probably you dont set NVC (its white)... May be you use VertexPaint just one time..

Here example step-by-step with pictures - DOWNLOAD

It must help you........ This was writen becose i need prelit in game
exacly as in max, and i have too many objects in my mod and can't export models
one by one (and after reimport and export again and after use RWanalize for each object)
Without good NVC all model looks sucks at night, thats why i working more with NVC...
Look at pictures - all models exported by this script...

NIGHT
user posted image
DAY
user posted image

NIGHT
user posted image
DAY
user posted image


If you want less file size - use type2 export... But this case NVC will be not exacly
as in max. But if you dont use additional lights (lamps etc) for NVC then type2 will
give you same result as on you screen bottom...

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#26

Posted 22 May 2007 - 10:31 PM Edited by dertyjerzian™, 23 May 2007 - 02:31 AM.

I actually did not do any lighting at all on my roads, didnt plan to unless the need arises when I start placing the streetlamps around. I'm going to look at the guide now, perhaps you have just helped me to understand new things. thanks in advance:)

EDIT:

Next time locO_G and I are in the myriad IRC together, I am going to beg him to help me prelight so that I can actually use your tut tounge.gif I dont know how yet, what was obviously the reason I didnt understand your DFF tool tounge.gif

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#27

Posted 23 May 2007 - 10:21 AM Edited by xmen, 23 May 2007 - 10:25 AM.

hi to all,
guys i have the same problem which someone have above that is when i export my model with deniska script i always got the same error(pict)
user posted image
i tried as Steve-m said and i increase the 'initial heap allocation' to 1000(Mbytes) but i still have same problem
when i increased param2 to 255 then error line change but the same error occured(pict)
user posted image
every incresement in any param gave new error line but error always same

anyone know why its happening...??

MajesticNL
  • MajesticNL

    Chris

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands

#28

Posted 23 May 2007 - 02:04 PM

Thanks for the tutorial Deniska, but one question,

QUOTE

I have preparations of light sources. Merge it to scene.


QUOTE

Now recustomize light sources or merge preparations for night illumination


What did you do then ?

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#29

Posted 24 May 2007 - 11:33 AM

i found a mistake in this script that is it isnt able to export dff that have more than 10000 faces but kams script can export
i think after some editing it will able to export it too

Deniska
  • Deniska

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2005

#30

Posted 27 May 2007 - 02:43 PM

QUOTE (xmen @ May 24 2007, 11:33)
i found a mistake in this script that is it isnt able to export dff that have more than 10000 faces but kams script can export
i think after some editing it will able to export it too

I dont know why you have this error... Just for test - i create sphere with
150 segments (22200 faces) and it exports OK... But i dont know what
kind of map model have more then 10000 faces... In my mod maximum
what i have - about 5000 faces for buildings or ground...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users