Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

The observatory

48 replies to this topic
stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#1

Posted 24 April 2007 - 02:12 PM

How can I get to the observatory on the hill? It's too high for the dodo.

Lymphoid
  • Lymphoid

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2007

#2

Posted 24 April 2007 - 02:33 PM

It's actually not solid. But I think you might be able to fly through it with the Rhino with cheats but I'm not sure.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#3

Posted 24 April 2007 - 03:50 PM

QUOTE (stef_92 @ Apr 24 2007, 09:12)
How can I get to the observatory on the hill? It's too high for the dodo.

You can't. It's not too high for the Dodo, but the Dodo will just fly through it.

speekers
  • speekers

    It's all a conspiracy, I tells ya!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2007

#4

Posted 25 April 2007 - 12:35 AM

What's the obsevertory?

Lymphoid
  • Lymphoid

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2007

#5

Posted 25 April 2007 - 12:54 AM

It just a dome building on top of the mountain behind the house in Ceder Grove. If you drive a car up there you might be able to see.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#6

Posted 27 April 2007 - 08:47 PM

I tried 100 times, but hell I can't get the Dodo so high! How you people can get hte dodo so high to the observatory?

Lymphoid
  • Lymphoid

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2007

#7

Posted 27 April 2007 - 08:56 PM

Theres nothing up the man

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#8

Posted 27 April 2007 - 09:07 PM

QUOTE (Lymphoid @ Apr 27 2007, 20:56)
Theres nothing up the man

Yes, but i just want to learn to fly so high!

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#9

Posted 27 April 2007 - 09:39 PM

Read the guide on GameFAQs. That's what I did. Once you're airborn and stabilized, whenever you see your nose over your wings, nose down just a bit. The plane will fight you and that's a good thing. Eventually, you will start to dip. After a short swoosh down, you'll begin to rise again. Again, tap nose down every time you see it above your wings. For each swoosh->raise you go through, you will be at a slightly higher altitude. Keep this up and I'm not sure what (if any) the vertical limit is.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#10

Posted 27 April 2007 - 09:59 PM

NO NO NO nO!!! You didn't understand me!! I CAN fly with Dodo! But I can't get so high! Once I reached the top of the hill (I didn't know how I did it), but I turned too sharply and the plane crashed.

Bartleby
  • Bartleby

    In Prop Inc, party finds you!

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2004
  • None

#11

Posted 27 April 2007 - 10:02 PM

QUOTE (stef_92 @ Apr 27 2007, 14:59)
NO NO NO nO!!! You didn't understand me!! I CAN fly with Dodo! But I can't get so high! Once I reached the top of the hill (I didn't know how I did it), but I turned too sharply and the plane crashed.

The Dodo being as temperamental as it is, it's no good to just raise the nose up if you want to increase altitude. To achieve maximum elevation and reach the plane's ceiling, just keep flying around Liberty for awhile. Dunno why you're so interested in the Lighthouse though. We're tellin' ya, there's nothing to see or do up there.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#12

Posted 27 April 2007 - 10:56 PM

QUOTE (stef_92 @ Apr 27 2007, 16:59)
NO NO NO nO!!! You didn't understand me!! I CAN fly with Dodo! But I can't get so high! Once I reached the top of the hill (I didn't know how I did it), but I turned too sharply and the plane crashed.

NO NO NO nO!!! YOU didn't understand ME!!

If what you said is happening, then fly for longer before approaching it so that you will be higher.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#13

Posted 28 April 2007 - 12:50 PM

So I have to fly long time to get too high!

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#14

Posted 28 April 2007 - 08:54 PM

Well if you read my post, you'll see that I describe a method that has greater effect the longer you engage in it. So longER, yes.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#15

Posted 29 April 2007 - 12:12 PM

OK! Now I understand everything! I just want to ask : Is there any mod(fix) who fixes the bug with the unique jumps camera!?

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#16

Posted 29 April 2007 - 12:23 PM

This is the GTA3 forum. VC has the UJ camera bug, which there is a fix for on my site.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#17

Posted 29 April 2007 - 12:24 PM

So there isn't fix for GTA3

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#18

Posted 29 April 2007 - 02:22 PM

There isn't a problem in GTA3. I'm beginning to wonder if you read my posts before you reply to them. confused.gif

ThunderPower
  • ThunderPower

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2005

#19

Posted 29 April 2007 - 05:14 PM

QUOTE (Demarest @ Apr 29 2007, 14:22)
There isn't a problem in GTA3. I'm beginning to wonder if you read my posts before you reply to them. confused.gif

Actually, there IS a Unique Jump camera bug in GTA3: flying the dodo over a larger jump, such as clearing the water at the Portland Docks, will cause you to go into the Unique Jump camera and you won't get out until you land.

TheJkWhoSaysNi
  • TheJkWhoSaysNi

    Goes into lifts and presses all the floors

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2004

#20

Posted 29 April 2007 - 08:00 PM

Yeah, it happens around the airport too.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#21

Posted 29 April 2007 - 08:42 PM

That's not a bug. That's a product of programming without foresight. Some Unique Jumps require passing through a cube to trigger them. Others require passing through a rectangle. The latter means that passing through it at any altitude will trigger it.

Can I fix it? Easily. Can I fix it in a way that would make it a true fix by being compatible with existing saves? I'd have to look at it. Replacing rectangle sniffs with cube sniffs in GTAIII would mean another six bytes pre location. I'd have to HOPE that R* was inefficient in their code in that thread in a manner that I could capitalize on to make room for the extra data.

Somebody want to compile a list of all UJ's that do this?

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#22

Posted 29 April 2007 - 10:00 PM

C'mon, Demarest wath you gonna say about that!? That's I was talking about!

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#23

Posted 29 April 2007 - 11:10 PM

Unlike ThunderPower, you made no effort to explain what you meant. Secondly, it's not a bug. Ignorance is bliss.

nuggs
  • nuggs

    Group: Dopeboys

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2007

#24

Posted 30 April 2007 - 12:10 AM

QUOTE (stef_92 @ Apr 27 2007, 20:47)
I tried 100 times, but hell I can't get the Dodo so high! How you people can get hte dodo so high to the observatory?

Skill, ha jk.. are you trying to beat a mission or do a stunt?

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#25

Posted 01 May 2007 - 08:07 PM Edited by stef_92, 01 May 2007 - 08:11 PM.

QUOTE
Skill, ha jk.. are you trying to beat a mission or do a stunt?

What the hell are you talking about!?

QUOTE
Somebody want to compile a list of all UJ's that do this?

I think that every UJ do this except this one you have to jump trough the window in one of the Staunton shops.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#26

Posted 03 May 2007 - 02:36 PM

I asked about compiling a list, not making a guess. You might be fine with just repeating whatever comes to the tip of your tongue, but I have a reputation for accurate information and quality work that deals with what's actually there.

stef_92
  • stef_92

    GTA3 Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2007

#27

Posted 03 May 2007 - 07:32 PM

The jump through the window, the jump in the boatyard in Staunton, the jump in Chinatown (ON the railroad) and the jump OVER the railroad don't make problems! Every other does! Satisfited?

ms.cooldude
  • ms.cooldude

    The power is in your hands

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2005

#28

Posted 03 May 2007 - 07:57 PM

Hate to stop the off topic camera discussion but there is a brilliant mod that "poussi_pousse" has made that makes the observatory solid and not only flyable, also drivable and thats not the main part. More Info: http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=276451

jjuuaann911
  • jjuuaann911

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Oct 2007

#29

Posted 14 October 2007 - 02:16 AM

cool.gif ok guys see this video it show you naother way to get to the observatorie this is the linkclik here

mccb
  • mccb

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2008

#30

Posted 06 January 2008 - 07:33 AM

how do you fly the dodo?
i cant get it off the ground




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users