Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Gmax]Converting cars to SA

51 replies to this topic
plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#1

Posted 16 April 2007 - 02:45 PM Edited by plunk89, 20 September 2007 - 05:30 PM.

Hi ALL!

I want to indroduce this tutorial which is a good one... (I think )
I use Gmax which is a free programme and I want to show it for you. It is simple and the "young brother" of 3DSMax. (because it hasn't got as many features) I converted GTA3 Mafia Sentinel to San Andreas by the help of these tools:
-Gmax 1.2
-Kam's Gmax script
-TXDWorkshop
-IMGTool2

You can download the DOC version of the tutorial HERE.

There are some packed stuff for the tutorial which you can download HERE. In this pack I put a Readme file where I defined everything which is the zip.
Enjoy!

Tutorial on:
“How to convert cars to San Andreas with Gmax”
These are the tools required:
Gmax1.2 - Official site: http://www.turbosquid.com/
KAM’s Gmax script
TXDWorkshop
IMGTool2

To make it easier to download I packed everything but gmax’s setup file. Also there is a

Readme file how and where to extract the files...
You can download the ZIP HERE
The Gmax setup from THIS site.
(If any of these links doesn’t work Google is your friend!!)
(A small problem during the tutorial- NOTE at the end of this message!)

!!!THESE PROGRAMS ARE FREE, BUT THE GMAX WILL NEED A CODE WICH IS GENERATED MONTHLY ON THE

GIVEN SITE. I UPLOADED MINE BUT IT WORKS ONLY FOR 30 DAYS, SO TO SOLVE THIS YOU CAN REGISTER

FREE ON THE SITE AND GET A CODE OR JUST PM ME ON THE GTAFORUMS.COM!!!

!!!!GMAX REGISTRATION CODE HERE!!!!

It isn’t so hard but it takes some time to do it.
Start the IMGtool and open the gta3.img file located in the models folder and choose a car.

(I used the Mafia Sentinel from GTA3) Export its DFF and TXD file in a prepared folder.
Now open TXDworkshop and select “Open txd” and select your file. Click “Export” and “Export

all textures to tga images”. Here select the folder where you want to do all the work. (I

suggest a separate folder from the dff and txd files...)
1ST PIC

Start Gmax (and enter the serial number if u haven’t done it yet).
And click the Tools menu which is marked with a small hammer like

this:2ND PIC

And click DFF I/O and a new menu will pop up. There click the “import dff” button and select

your DFF.
3RD PIC

Now it’ll import you car into Gmax. The model is a bit far so we have to “Zoom extends all”

with this button in the right down

corner:user posted image I suggest a saving

here to that folder where you exported the TGA files! Everything is fine but the textures

aren’t shown in the model and there are some differences in the GTA3 and SA cars’ hierarchy

and the script changes the name of some meshes. All we have to do is to correct these

problems… I suggest frequent saving here!!!
First we make the textures visible by the help of the Material Navigator which is located on

the top right corner of Gmax marked with this icon:

user posted image
And a new window will pop up. There you should check the “Applied” radio button and many

small spheres would be shown which shows the material applied on this sphere.
4TH PIC

There are small blue dots before the spheres which means that the material isn’t visible.

Click double on the first “sphere” and the “material editor” will pop up.
5TH PIC

There you should click to the first sub-material. The material editor will switch to this

sub-material. There you should click this

button:user posted image Now the texture will

show on that part which has this material. We have to do this with all the sub-materials

until all the blue-white box is pressed. We can easily shift to the next sub material by

this button:user posted image
If you finished with this Material switch back to the material navigator and you will se

that the blue dot now red. Click to the next material and do this operation until all the

sub-materials have red dots…
6TH PIC

The end of this process should look similar to this:
7TH PIC

Now we have to remove the unnecessary dummies and rename that parts. If you worked with a

different car I show you a default SA hierarchy:
HIERARCHY

You can edit the names by pressing H and tick “Display sub tree” and select all objects

which contains “_hi” in their name and press Select.
8TH PIC

Now in the viewport where the model is click with right mouse button and click “Hide

unselected”
9TH PIC

NOTE: If you have characters something like wingdings in this menu you can correct it by

going to the “Customize” menu and select “Customize User Interface”. There select Quads and

click advanced options.
10TH PIC

A new window will pop up there switch the font styles from Arial Bold to Arial. That should

do the trick…
11TH PIC


If you have done the hiding of the unselected objects you can see only that parts which have

_hi tag in their name. Click on one of them and correct its name in here by deleting the _hi

part.
12TH PIC
Result:
13TH PIC

Do this with all these objects EXCEPT the “wing_rf_ok” and “wing_lf_ok” meshes because the

SA doesn’t use these. Later we will Attach it to the chassis!

If you finished this boring work you can delete the wing_rf_dam and wing_lf_dam because SA

doesn’t use these too. Now we’ll Attach the fenders to the chassis. Click on the chassis and

select Modify menu marked with this icon:

user posted image
Here you can see many options. Find the Attach List button and click on it. In the new

window select wing_lf_ok and wing_rf_ok.
14TH PIC

Click Attach and in the new menu leave everything alone and click OK.
Attach

Now the fender is added to the chassis. Now we have to unhide all the objects by right click

in the viewport and select Unhide all. Now we have to delete some objects. I show you a

picture where all the deleted parts are marked:
15TH PIC

We almost finished with the 3D model but we need wheels… Don’t worry you don’t have to make

it because I packed one for you and you only have to do the Merging. With this we can merge

2 different gmax files. Just click on File and select “Merge…” and select the wheel.gmax

file where you unzipped that and in the new window select the “wheel” and click ok. After

this another dialogue box appears because there are two same named materials. I suggest you

clicking on Auto-rename material.
16TH PIC

Now the wheel is in the scene but not on the right place and not linked to the

wheel_rf_dummy. First we select the wheel and align it to the dummy by pressing the align

icon:user posted image
Now press “H” key and select wheel_rf_dummy and click Pick. In the new window do the same as

in this picture:
17TH PIC

Now the wheel is in place:
18TH PIC

Now we have to link it to the dummy. Select the wheel and press the link

button:user posted image Next to the

Undo/Redo button. Press “H” key and select wheel wheel_rf_dummy and click Link and the click

on the “Select object

button”:user posted image You can see that

the wheel is under the dummy:
19TH PIC


If you have hidden some objects right click in the viewport and select Unhide all. Now we

are ready to EXPORT!!! Go to the gmax/scripts/GTA_Tools/ folder and start GTAMax.exe
user posted image
A small icon will display on the right corner of the tray.
20TH PIC

Now go back to gmax and select all the objects by pressing h key and select all of them…
In the tools menu (user posted image )

click DFF I/O and click THIS BUTTON

under the export part and select my packed sultan.dff file and then click Export. Here set

the name of the car which you want to replace. I replaced “sentinel” because they are

similar. So type sentinel in the saving location and click save.
21ST PIC

Now Gmax will for some mins dependant on your computer and then gtamax.exe will create the

dff file. After it finished save your work and exit gmax.
The dff file is OK but we have to convert the txd to the SA’s format. Open TXDWorkshop and

open Mafia.txd
And in the corner which shows GTA3 select SA.
22ND PIC

And in the Image menu select Compress All images.
23RD PIC

Now the txd file is in the correct SA format. In file menu select save as and type

“sentinel”.
Now everything is OK we just have to add these files to the SA/models/gta3.img file by the

help of the IMGTool2.
Now open this program and select the gta3.img in the previous folder.
24TH PIC

By pressing F2 you can find by name. Type sentinel and it will jump to the sentinel.dff and

rename it by pressing F4 (something like sentinel_old.dff) Now press F3 now it will jump to

the next sentinel file which is its txd. Rename it also! We have to rename these because we

don’t want to loose the original file.
25TH PIC

Now click Commands and add. First select the sentinel.dff file and again click add and

select the txd file. The program will add them to the end of its list (if it is sort by

Offset). Now we are ready so close everything and test it in the game!
[URL=http://w3.jaisz.hu/~t03dlp/tutorial/images/image_36.jpg[/URL]

I hope you like this tutorial! If you want some modification on the model try some Gmax or

3DsMax tutorials. Sorry for my English…

PM me on GtaForums if you have some question.

NOTE:
I had something like a bug during the makin of the tutorial. I couldn’t make visible the

“white64.tga” in the materials and once “white128.tga” because Gmax shut down... So I

suggest frequent saving and leaving these images alone during this process! And this process

not so necessary so the reason why i put in this tutorial is that to make it easier to

modify the model in the future converting....

Please tell me how did you like this tutorial!!

plunk89[/COLOR]

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#2

Posted 21 April 2007 - 12:06 AM

lol i forgot how to convert the cars and now i thought i had to learn a gain so i tried this but now wen i try nto export as dff it says more than one heireci seletcted u can only seletect one

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#3

Posted 21 April 2007 - 08:47 AM

Is the wheel properly linked tot the wheel_rf_dummy?

You can chech it by pressing H key and tick the display subtree. If there is something in the same level as the main dummy correct it by linking... Or just send here the picture of your hierarchy.

plunk89

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#4

Posted 05 May 2007 - 01:30 AM Edited by jp245, 05 May 2007 - 04:33 PM.

man i converted this car and it shows up in ggmm but not ingame i tried carspawning it and dosent work wat i do wrong


user posted image

l3mmy
  • l3mmy

    Administrator of my own world.

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2006

#5

Posted 05 May 2007 - 04:46 PM

Try the Car without a Modified .txd, It sometimes Tends to be that, if it works, add one at a Time and you can see which one is Going Wrong (If you do get one thats Wrong make Sure it's Compressed colgate.gif)

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#6

Posted 05 May 2007 - 10:17 PM Edited by jp245, 05 May 2007 - 10:20 PM.

the car dosent have a modified txd it just is like that it has working sa lights and uses the lspd from the vehicle.txd but dont worry it works now
------------------------------------------------------------------edit
i need the original gtasa police car files i cant find my backups

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#7

Posted 06 May 2007 - 07:48 PM Edited by jp245, 07 May 2007 - 10:13 PM.

hey sry for duble post but i forgot how to map interiors and map tailights and headlights can u put a tutorial on here tat taches you how to do tat i forgot and my friend needs a conversion

edit-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
how come sometimes when i try to export aftaer it about to make file it says '=' not valid integer

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#8

Posted 09 May 2007 - 07:01 PM

QUOTE (jp245 @ May 6 2007, 19:48)
how come sometimes when i try to export aftaer it about to make file it says '=' not valid integer

I don't know what is that exactly.... I had this problem with my Idaho too. Some part of the car is wrong (don't know why for me it can't let the trunk to be exported) or corrupted or something...
Try exporting some parts (first chassis then windshield then bumpers etc.)
When you get this message you have to remake that part or reimport or remap it...

I hope i helped you....

plunk89

w³bster
  • w³bster

    Crackhead

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2006

#9

Posted 12 May 2007 - 06:47 AM

I don't understand one thing: Below your usual tools menu you have Kam's GTA Script, but I don't have that, but I do have the map GTA_Tools in my scripts folder.

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#10

Posted 13 May 2007 - 01:02 AM

so can u post a tutorial on how to put sa lights, grunge and interior on models

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#11

Posted 14 May 2007 - 09:18 AM Edited by plunk89, 14 May 2007 - 09:23 AM.

QUOTE (w³bster @ May 12 2007, 06:47)
I don't understand one thing: Below your usual tools menu you have Kam's GTA Script, but I don't have that, but I do have the map GTA_Tools in my scripts folder.

For me it worked without a problem. Try "Run script" in the MAXscript menu and select DFF I/O script...

@jp245
sorry i can't do this grunge stuff with gmax and even 3dsmax... (also the patch1.01 doesn't work 4 me so i think it's useless...)
You can make SA light easily... Just export the vehicle_light texture from vehicles.txd. Detach the lights and name it differently (front left, back right...) With material editor add a new GTA Material and select vehicle_light tga (different maps for the different lights!!!) In the different maps select the different GTAColors correctly(front left light etc...). Attach the lights back to the chassis. Export->TEST.
Interior similar (new map create texture)tc. but you MUSTN'T set the color either primar or secondary just set "none"... (because the interior will have the same color as the chassis, if you'd like to change the color of the interior just set the color Secondary)

plunk89

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#12

Posted 14 May 2007 - 09:11 PM

i dont get what you mean for the lights

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#13

Posted 14 May 2007 - 10:43 PM Edited by jp245, 21 May 2007 - 12:32 AM.

sry for duble post but something is wrong with my gmax it dont show my main toolbar very well
----------------------------edit
i fixed the tool bar thing and how do you put 3d engines into cars man

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#14

Posted 21 May 2007 - 07:54 PM

Open an existing SA car (I used Club) select the engine->Detach it and Merge with the GTA3 file-> attach to the chassis.... (you should create the iterior of the fenders...) Get the requested TGA files from club.txd or vehicles.txd to your own txd.
------------------------------

Next week I'll post you that Idaho BETA version...(because i have that not valid integer thing... suicidal.gif )
plunk89

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#15

Posted 21 May 2007 - 08:26 PM

can you post pics on how to detach engine and make the interior renders

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#16

Posted 22 May 2007 - 05:40 PM

QUOTE (jp245 @ May 21 2007, 20:26)
can you post pics on how to detach engine and make the interior renders

Just import my Idaho and you can see that it is simple...
(Detach: select the requested poligons [poligon selection button] and then click Detach button and give it a name...)

2oMicko7
  • 2oMicko7

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 May 2007

#17

Posted 28 May 2007 - 01:38 PM

Yes thanks for giving me that Gmax link i can finally play my game ''bus driver'' bye biggrin.gif [

RaifalM3n
  • RaifalM3n

    ~ BMW Specialist ~

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2005
  • Romania

#18

Posted 28 May 2007 - 02:33 PM Edited by R1fl3m4n, 28 May 2007 - 02:36 PM.

nice tutorial mate really wanted to know how to make SA lights' but i was unsure how


icon14.gif

Ryder35
  • Ryder35

    sheisse

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2006

#19

Posted 28 May 2007 - 05:30 PM

You have to detach your headlight or taillight then map it and you have some color diffuse code :
look here there is english ver.
if you have any problems reply wink.gif .

RaifalM3n
  • RaifalM3n

    ~ BMW Specialist ~

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2005
  • Romania

#20

Posted 30 May 2007 - 10:58 AM Edited by R1fl3m4n, 30 May 2007 - 11:46 AM.

this is strange..i found that the right color is in fact the left colour...i mean this is how they show up in 3dmax confused.gif in the Material Editor

i see that all of the lights are using the same color patern like the chassis :| how exactly do i make the detached light to use the new color ? im using 3dmax8

and if im using the old one and i select a new color all of them are using it :|

faded_bro4life
  • faded_bro4life

    Trevor's Dealer

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2007

#21

Posted 10 June 2007 - 01:54 AM

when i go to export, it says hierarchy error - more than one hierarchy error were selected

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#22

Posted 10 June 2007 - 07:37 PM

QUOTE (faded_bro4life @ Jun 10 2007, 01:54)
when i go to export, it says hierarchy error - more than one hierarchy error were selected

Hi there!

It is because you didn't select all the parts of the car.
user posted image

In this picture you can see that all parts are linked to the main dummy. If you want to select 1 hierarchy just tick the "Select subtree" and the "Display subtree" box and click on the main dummy then export. If there is any part that isn't linked to this main dummy link it there! In THIS picture you can see the correct SA hierarchy.

plunk89

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#23

Posted 12 June 2007 - 03:57 PM Edited by jp245, 13 June 2007 - 10:24 PM.

i think i know how to add grunge to cars now but i cant place it correctly hmmmm i keep trying and how do you add a xvehicle reflection and how do you make a car you converted paint jobs compatible but mostly reflections

gtaGecko
  • gtaGecko

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2007

#24

Posted 15 June 2007 - 01:14 PM

Hi there, I tried you tutorial, which i found i convincing, but when i do the same procedure, when i click on the blue icon to the sub-materials with blue spheres, when i do this, after doing several, it closes atomatically. I couldnot complete making all blue spheres to red!!

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#25

Posted 15 June 2007 - 01:35 PM

gtaGecko you dont really need to put all spheres red i figured that out one day when i forgot to do that and the car still worked in sa

Alluz
  • Alluz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2007

#26

Posted 26 July 2007 - 12:20 PM Edited by Alluz, 26 July 2007 - 12:31 PM.

When I export my vehicle, it goes side down. Why?

Before. Textures are messed up.
http://img73.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pvml3.png


After Export:
http://img527.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pv2uw8.png

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#27

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:20 PM

QUOTE (Alluz @ Jul 26 2007, 12:20)
When I export my vehicle, it goes side down. Why?

Before. Textures are messed up.
http://img73.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pvml3.png


After Export:
http://img527.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pv2uw8.png

I don't know what is the problem with it. Maybe the objects pivot doesn't aligned to the world's pivot... Or the main dummy (head of the hiearchy) isn't created in the TOP viewport!!

Does it works ingame?

plunk89

OXYMORON29
  • OXYMORON29

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2007

#28

Posted 16 September 2007 - 11:20 PM Edited by OXYMORON29, 16 September 2007 - 11:23 PM.

Will this tutorial work for converting cars from games like NFS, or any game for that matter? I am seeing a lot of cars lately from NFS. Thanks.

plunk89
  • plunk89

    Cr4zy Driv3r

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2006

#29

Posted 20 September 2007 - 05:14 PM

QUOTE (OXYMORON29 @ Sep 16 2007, 23:20)
Will this tutorial work for converting cars from games like NFS, or any game for that matter? I am seeing a lot of cars lately from NFS. Thanks.

Hi!

Actually it works but you must do some other operations on your car, like rename parts door_lf (etc.) make a damaged one and retexture them with GTA Material. You will need such tools as Unwrap UVV, Attach-Detach, create dummy and linking. At first you should do the tutorial and then try convertin a VC car to SA. Converting from other games are a bit harder.

P.S.(This forums doesn't support converting cars from other games like NFS)

plunk89

jp245
  • jp245

    Retired Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jul 2006

#30

Posted 29 September 2007 - 11:59 PM

hey plunk long time no see i use 3ds max 7 now and i kow how to add grunge map lights map interiors add sa engine and add sa style reflections




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users