Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Post your desktop/PC

2,554 replies to this topic
Narcis_speed6
  • Narcis_speed6

    The Saint

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008
  • None
  • Most Talented [Expression] 2012
    Most Helpful [Expression] 2012
    Most Helpful 2011
    Most Talented [Expression] 2011
    Most Helpful [Expression] 2011
    Best Member in a Group 2011
    Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2011
    Most Respected 2010
    Most Helpful 2010
    Most Talented [Visual Arts] 2010
    Most Helpful [Visual Arts] 2010
    Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2010

#2041

Posted 22 April 2012 - 08:50 PM

QUOTE (Rebel @ Sunday, Apr 22 2012, 15:14)
How do you guys get even more stuff on the desktop for Win7 though? All I found was weather and CPU monitor.

Here you can find lots of gadgets, you can find this link by doing this:

Right click on desktop->Gadgets->Get more gadgets online.

vertical limit
  • vertical limit

    When in doubt don't pull out.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2010
  • None

#2042

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:36 PM

And there is this really cool program called RainMeter which is awesome gadgets.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#2043

Posted 23 April 2012 - 04:20 AM Edited by Wolf68k, 23 April 2012 - 04:23 AM.

QUOTE (Narcis_speed6 @ Sunday, Apr 22 2012, 14:50)
QUOTE (Rebel @ Sunday, Apr 22 2012, 15:14)
How do you guys get even more stuff on the desktop for Win7 though? All I found was weather and CPU monitor.

Here you can find lots of gadgets, you can find this link by doing this:

Right click on desktop->Gadgets->Get more gadgets online.

Yeah but even that only show a small fraction of what I remember use to be there.
Example: Where's the Pandora Radio gadget? Another? I've got a clock gadget that I keep in my second monitor for when I'm in game I can still see the time, but it's completely different than the one that comes with the OS installed one. On my laptop I have a monitors my wifi, which I don't see there. I've got another on the laptop for TWiT.tv and volume control and WeatherBug (but I think that was installed by HP).
My point being that I can't find any of those or any of the 100s of others that I easily found 1-2 years ago when I first got these.

Then to tease me even more, the clock gadget says "A newer version of Presto's Clock is available. Update Now!" So I click on the Update now and I get the exact same page you just gave and I still don't see it.

Rebel
  • Rebel

    Woop Woop!

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2007
  • Olympics

#2044

Posted 23 April 2012 - 06:32 PM

QUOTE (Wolf68k @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 04:20)
QUOTE (Narcis_speed6 @ Sunday, Apr 22 2012, 14:50)
QUOTE (Rebel @ Sunday, Apr 22 2012, 15:14)
How do you guys get even more stuff on the desktop for Win7 though? All I found was weather and CPU monitor.

Here you can find lots of gadgets, you can find this link by doing this:

Right click on desktop->Gadgets->Get more gadgets online.

Yeah but even that only show a small fraction of what I remember use to be there.
Example: Where's the Pandora Radio gadget? Another? I've got a clock gadget that I keep in my second monitor for when I'm in game I can still see the time, but it's completely different than the one that comes with the OS installed one. On my laptop I have a monitors my wifi, which I don't see there. I've got another on the laptop for TWiT.tv and volume control and WeatherBug (but I think that was installed by HP).
My point being that I can't find any of those or any of the 100s of others that I easily found 1-2 years ago when I first got these.

Then to tease me even more, the clock gadget says "A newer version of Presto's Clock is available. Update Now!" So I click on the Update now and I get the exact same page you just gave and I still don't see it.

Agreed, I've already checked on the little thing that you linked Narc and it doesn't bring up any of the sh*t you guys have. So where do you get them?

Exxon
  • Exxon

    The Obvious Child

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2010

#2045

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:01 PM

QUOTE (Azazel @ Sunday, Apr 8 2012, 16:37)
user posted image

What's your setup?
Looks like a real monster cool.gif

Whiskey
  • Whiskey

    Homie

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2011

#2046

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:12 PM

QUOTE (vertical limit @ Saturday, Apr 7 2012, 17:05)
Azazel, that is indeed sexy.


Whiskey, get sexy monitors.

I would if I had the money. Tbh, I'm quite happy with the two I have now. Both are quite old but the yhave stood the test of time. I don't see any reason to get a new set of moniters.

Azazel: Did you make that tabletop yourself? Could you show me a picture of it? I'm really short on space at the moment and my PC is situated in the same corner of the room as yours and I'd really like to make my own desk. Really nice PC by the way. Cable management is superb!

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#2047

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:29 PM

Here's some hardware porn for you guys:

user posted image
(click to enlarge)


It's my rig.

Wish I could do more with cable management, but not much more I can do without drilling holes in my Antec Nine Hundred, considering 3 SSDs, 2 HDDs, 2 GPUs, all crammed in there. Believe it or not I actually get great airflow, considering it's a little cramped. I don't want to mess with getting a bigger case, as I love my Nine Hundred. Maybe a twist-tie or two won't hurt, but I didn't want to deal with those until I knew for sure everything was running right (just had to replace the PSU for a bad fan.) Plus, with the side case on, can barely see all the wires.

Specs are in my sig. LOVE the performance. It's quiet too.

Sup3rman
  • Sup3rman

    Legen- wait for it -dary

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2012

#2048

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:38 PM

Jeez...boner time biggrin.gif

That must have cost a fortune, but the case sure seems thight. But if you have great airflow then everything is fine i guess. I don't know if that case has an optional fan inatke on the side, but if it does i would use it. If it doesnt have one i would cut one... tounge.gif

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#2049

Posted 23 April 2012 - 07:53 PM Edited by SyphonPayne, 23 April 2012 - 07:55 PM.

I've had the 900 for 4 years, from before when I had only 1 card (8800GT) and 1 HDD. Things have changed a lot since then, and since I like it a lot anyway, I thought I'd save a little cash on the case since I'm spending so much elsewhere smile.gif .

It has a hole on the side for an intake. I can't find any fan that will fit that works worth a crap as the 120x25mm fans that typically are used for the side fan are too thick. My ginormous heatsink prevents me from using a normal fan. I can use half-height fans but the few that I found really sucked and weren't worth it.

The only area that needs more airflow is the top GPU (as you can see from the picture my sound card is suffocating it.) However I bet a side fan would help that a lot.

Your post got me thinking. I found a fan that might be worthwhile ( http://www.amazon.co...m/dp/B002CYPWTG ) that's half-height. Hell for ten bucks think I'll try it out. That top GPU could use a little more air.

vertical limit
  • vertical limit

    When in doubt don't pull out.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2010
  • None

#2050

Posted 23 April 2012 - 08:49 PM

user posted image

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#2051

Posted 26 April 2012 - 05:58 PM

Here's a few of my PC and desk, which I built myself by the way. smile.gif

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

nWo51289
  • nWo51289

    Outcast

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2008
  • None

#2052

Posted 30 April 2012 - 08:03 AM

user posted image

Benjimino234
  • Benjimino234

    ♤ ♡ ♢ ♧

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2006

#2053

Posted 30 April 2012 - 02:27 PM

QUOTE (nWo51289 @ Monday, Apr 30 2012, 17:33)
user posted image

What is that wallpaper? Is it's some sort of system plugin, that's so cool.

matthew1g
  • matthew1g

    Trust me, I'm a pipe smoker

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#2054

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:00 PM Edited by matthew1g, 30 April 2012 - 06:03 PM.

I'm assuming thats rain meter which gives you a couple of gadgets you can customize to get the time and status like that, the bar below is most probably rocket dock. I'm not sure how he got the OSX like bar on top though.. AFAIK thats windows he's using since fraps doesn't actually run on osx or linux.

:edit: Mine:
user posted image

All excited about getting to watch the movie tomorrow! biggrin.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#2055

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:12 PM

@Ryan
Nice set up but I have seriously suggest replacing that power strip with at least a surge protector or better yet a UPS.
Also you've got something that's not really plugged in all of the way, not good.

Ryan
  • Ryan

    Ginga Ninja

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006
  • Canada
  • Best Forum Ledby 2011
    Best Forum Ledby 2010
    GTANet Contribution Award
    GTANet Helpfulness Award

#2056

Posted 30 April 2012 - 06:31 PM

QUOTE (Wolf68k @ Monday, Apr 30 2012, 15:12)
@Ryan
Nice set up but I have seriously suggest replacing that power strip with at least a surge protector or better yet a UPS.
Also you've got something that's not really plugged in all of the way, not good.

Thanks, and I didn't even notice that the one was only half plugged in.

vertical limit
  • vertical limit

    When in doubt don't pull out.

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2010
  • None

#2057

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:07 PM

QUOTE (nWo51289 @ Monday, Apr 30 2012, 08:03)
user posted image

What Rainmeter skin is that?

Cool set-up Ryan!

Narcis_speed6
  • Narcis_speed6

    The Saint

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008
  • None
  • Most Talented [Expression] 2012
    Most Helpful [Expression] 2012
    Most Helpful 2011
    Most Talented [Expression] 2011
    Most Helpful [Expression] 2011
    Best Member in a Group 2011
    Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2011
    Most Respected 2010
    Most Helpful 2010
    Most Talented [Visual Arts] 2010
    Most Helpful [Visual Arts] 2010
    Most Helpful [GTA Series] 2010

#2058

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:23 PM

QUOTE (nWo51289 @ Monday, Apr 30 2012, 08:03)
user posted image

Just love the simplicity of that.

Mr.Mister
  • Mr.Mister

    Capt. Downtown

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 24 May 2005

#2059

Posted 01 May 2012 - 06:39 AM

Nothing too exciting wink.gif

I'm running on a Acer Aspire 5250

user posted image

Cursed
  • Cursed

    Big Homie

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2007

#2060

Posted 01 May 2012 - 07:13 AM

Mines been the same for ages now

user posted image

nWo51289
  • nWo51289

    Outcast

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2008
  • None

#2061

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:35 PM

Yes the gadgets is from rainmeter using Portal & taboo_vision skins.

Dock is objectdock. Windows theme is a combination of ibaked and a mac osx theme (don't know which one it is lol)

I can't stand messy desktops lol

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#2062

Posted 09 May 2012 - 06:09 AM

QUOTE (SyphonPayne @ Monday, Apr 23 2012, 14:53)
I've had the 900 for 4 years, from before when I had only 1 card (8800GT) and 1 HDD. Things have changed a lot since then, and since I like it a lot anyway, I thought I'd save a little cash on the case since I'm spending so much elsewhere smile.gif .

It has a hole on the side for an intake. I can't find any fan that will fit that works worth a crap as the 120x25mm fans that typically are used for the side fan are too thick. My ginormous heatsink prevents me from using a normal fan. I can use half-height fans but the few that I found really sucked and weren't worth it.

The only area that needs more airflow is the top GPU (as you can see from the picture my sound card is suffocating it.) However I bet a side fan would help that a lot.

Your post got me thinking. I found a fan that might be worthwhile ( http://www.amazon.co...m/dp/B002CYPWTG ) that's half-height. Hell for ten bucks think I'll try it out. That top GPU could use a little more air.

I got this fan, lowered top card temps 10C biggrin.gif . Now both cards have the same temps and fan speeds. Balanced airflow.

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#2063

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:03 PM

Overkill for a home server? Perhaps.
user posted image

First H50 arrived today, guess it's time to start with the further case modifications, order the rest of the H50s, and start shopping for some 939 brackets.

sivispacem
  • sivispacem

    Absolute Dunkel:Heit

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2011
  • United-Kingdom
  • Contribution Award [D&D, General Chat]
    Most Knowledgeable [Vehicles] 2013
    Best Debater 2013, 2012, 2011

#2064

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE (leik oh em jeez! @ Wednesday, May 9 2012, 21:03)
Overkill for a home server? Perhaps.
user posted image

First H50 arrived today, guess it's time to start with the further case modifications, order the rest of the H50s, and start shopping for some 939 brackets.

Would it not be much cheaper and more efficient to build a single or twin loop water cooling system for all the processors, rather than running multiple off-the-shelf H50s which actually aren't very good?

leik oh em jeez!
  • leik oh em jeez!

    The boatman stays with the boat.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007

#2065

Posted 09 May 2012 - 08:26 PM

QUOTE (sivispacem @ Wednesday, May 9 2012, 15:21)
Would it not be much cheaper and more efficient to build a single or twin loop water cooling system for all the processors, rather than running multiple off-the-shelf H50s which actually aren't very good?

Not really. The H50s are $40 a piece and maintenance free. They also leave me room at the bottom of the case for a radiator and pump if/when I can find and afford low profile water blocks for the chipsets. Plus I love the simplistic design of the H50s.

WastedEngland
  • WastedEngland

    Miscreant.

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2006

#2066

Posted 10 May 2012 - 05:46 PM

user posted image
Can't wait to get back to playing on this when I go home in the summer. Really hate having the two 460's that close together though.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#2067

Posted 11 May 2012 - 01:04 AM

Yeah if you look at my rig pic you'll see that my sound card is in between my 560 Ti SLI, thus suffocating the top card. However I fixed that with a side case fan, mentioned in my previous post in this thread.

les
  • les

    Kith the batman.

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2009

#2068

Posted 11 May 2012 - 05:09 AM

QUOTE (Cursed @ Tuesday, May 1 2012, 07:13)
Mines been the same for ages now

[IMG...]http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/9536/screenshot20120501at081.png[.../IMG]

Hey do you have a link for that wallpaper?

Cursed
  • Cursed

    Big Homie

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2007

#2069

Posted 11 May 2012 - 06:41 AM

QUOTE (les @ Friday, May 11 2012, 05:09)
Hey do you have a link for that wallpaper?

Sure, it's from InterfaceLIFT: http://interfacelift...e_at_night.html

les
  • les

    Kith the batman.

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 29 Jan 2009

#2070

Posted 11 May 2012 - 11:55 AM

QUOTE (Cursed @ Friday, May 11 2012, 06:41)
QUOTE (les @ Friday, May 11 2012, 05:09)
Hey do you have a link for that wallpaper?

Sure, it's from InterfaceLIFT: http://interfacelift...e_at_night.html

Thanks, man! Got a new WP on my laptop now.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users