Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Animation Converting

21 replies to this topic
Blackadder.
  • Blackadder.

    Luck. Runs. Out.

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2005

#1

Posted 07 November 2006 - 11:13 AM

Now I'm sure all of you have been wondering how to convert animations from SA to VC, so now I made this to help you.

Software Required

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
3ds Max (any version will work)
Kams Maxscripts

Step 1

Open up 3ds MAX
user posted image

Step 2

Open up KAMS Animation Script and press "Import DFF"
user posted image

Step 3

Open up your player.dff (SA or VC)
user posted image

Step 4

Select all the bones and it should look like this if everything is right
user posted image

Step 5

Press the "M" button to save the bones position, you can then press the "R" button to reset the model if you screw something up
user posted image

Step 6
Open up your SA "ped.ifp" (from your San Andreas/Anim folder), to make it easy I have changed it to "pedsa.ifp
user posted image

Step 7
Now pick an animation to convert, for this tutorial we are going to convert the Player running animation known by the game as sprint_civi. Pick the animation and then press "Apply Animation"
user posted image

Once that is done it should look like this
user posted image

Step 8
Now open your VC "ped.ifp" (from your Vice City/Anim folder) which I have named "pedvc.ifp: to make it easier
user posted image

Step 9
Find the animation sprint_civi and press Replace
user posted image

Step 10
Get your new "pedvc.ifp" and rename it to "ped.ifp" Put this back into your anim folder and run VC. Enjoy your converted animation! smile.gif

-/TNT\-
  • -/TNT\-

    not like any other rainbow.

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Aug 2006

#2

Posted 08 November 2006 - 05:52 PM

Cool. I heard you helped FuturamaFreak convert some ifps for the Futurama mod. Nice job icon14.gif


It appears that the tutorial forum is quite abandoned of late.

johnny404
  • johnny404

    (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007

#3

Posted 12 June 2007 - 03:27 PM

i know this is old, very old i was searching a tut like this smile.gif but i got as problem, how i can set the bones, can you put screenshots of how to add all bones because i only see this:
http://aycu40.websho...48688981_rs.jpg
can someone help me with the bones?
thank you for help and sorry for bumping
PS: pic not posted with [IMG] because can make lag.

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#4

Posted 12 June 2007 - 04:09 PM

Just zoom in the scene lol, or press H, select all and go to the white box icon at the right down corner (in you screen you should first click the grey box and select the white one though)

johnny404
  • johnny404

    (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007

#5

Posted 12 June 2007 - 04:14 PM

QUOTE (Jost_Vice @ Jun 12 2007, 16:09)
Just zoom in the scene lol, or press H, select all and go to the white box icon at the right down corner (in you screen you should first click the grey box and select the white one though)

Thank you smile.gif but when i open a ifp and try to use a animations nothing happens, can help me?

B0bby
  • B0bby

    Badass

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2007

#6

Posted 20 July 2007 - 09:17 AM

very nice, i have been lookin for a tutorial like this for a while. biggrin.gif

_F_
  • _F_

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2007
  • United-States

#7

Posted 05 August 2007 - 10:09 AM

cool.gif only thing i didnt understand was KAMS Animation Script, when i go to this KAMS Animation Script topic ther is 2 files, i downloaded both, then ther was folder named script, ther was GTA TOOLS and ther was many tools

and now i want to know wich tool i must pick from ther and is those tools even right tools??? cool.gif

can someone help?? cool.gif cool.gif

_F_
  • _F_

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2007
  • United-States

#8

Posted 16 August 2007 - 10:46 AM

...no one knows??

B0bby
  • B0bby

    Badass

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2007

#9

Posted 28 August 2007 - 10:19 AM

the tool you need to use is "IFP IO"

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#10

Posted 24 March 2008 - 12:09 PM

sorry for the bump but thanks its awesome, also i fixed my own problem by setting every frame as a key frame, hope that helps someone!! biggrin.gif

koycrisologo
  • koycrisologo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2007

#11

Posted 05 April 2008 - 12:48 PM

why is it when i replace the anim ... they get mixed..??
help!!

E_vilestro
  • E_vilestro

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#12

Posted 06 June 2008 - 02:23 AM

Can this work with peds too?

badboy_zay
  • badboy_zay

    :)

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2007
  • None

#13

Posted 13 June 2008 - 04:20 AM

can someone help me????i use gmax but i can't converting:
user posted image

E_vilestro
  • E_vilestro

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2008

#14

Posted 13 June 2008 - 10:39 PM

I've been having the same problem with GMAX, can someone help us plz?

_F_
  • _F_

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2007
  • United-States

#15

Posted 17 June 2008 - 09:20 AM

Great... now after i press replace, it loads for a sec and then when i replace the old ped.ifp with new one and go ingame and nothing is changed...

badboy_zay
  • badboy_zay

    :)

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2007
  • None

#16

Posted 13 July 2008 - 06:52 AM Edited by badboy_zay, 13 July 2008 - 07:22 AM.

can someone help me:when i press Replace,nothing is change

Deji
  • Deji

    Coding like a Rockstar!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2007
  • None

#17

Posted 02 August 2008 - 10:06 AM

How do I edit/make San Andreas Animations? I don't need to convert anything...

Deji
  • Deji

    Coding like a Rockstar!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2007
  • None

#18

Posted 17 August 2008 - 04:31 PM

Okay, so how do I convert from VC to SA? Just the same thing?

Stormydayz
  • Stormydayz

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2009

#19

Posted 12 April 2009 - 11:33 AM

This may seem stupid but what do you mean by "Get your new 'pedvc.ifp'"?
Im using gmax and I believe I followed your steps correctly but in-game I see no change to the anims. For example I replaced the sprinting anim for vice city with the one for san andreas, but there is no change in-game.

Also, I was wondering if these anims apply to all characters or only tommy.
And thanks

arvey
  • arvey

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2009

#20

Posted 28 January 2010 - 12:55 PM

thanks man here's your cookie cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

Sabudum
  • Sabudum

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2010

#21

Posted 28 November 2011 - 03:52 PM

How would be possible to convert animations from 3 to another gta, and vice versa?

Sabudum
  • Sabudum

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2010

#22

Posted 30 November 2011 - 10:19 PM

What would be the process of converting Vice City animation to San Andreas?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users