Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Tutorial: Enabling Custom Tracks

90 replies to this topic
TheDude5000
  • TheDude5000

    Soak of the year!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#1

Posted 01 November 2006 - 11:41 PM Edited by TheDude5000, 02 November 2006 - 12:27 AM.

Custom tracks in VC Stories work very similar to LCS.

Here we go:



Find your VC Stories save folder on your mem stick. Usually, it is named ULUS10160S92F0.
user posted image
Now, you're going to create a new folder, and name it ULUS10160CUSTOMTRACKS.
user posted image

There are two ways to get your music into the proper format(.gta) so you can listen to it in VC Stories.

CD's-
Download R* Custom Tracks(if you don't have it already) at http://www.rockstarg...es/gta_lcs.html
Install it, and insert the CD with the music you want in VC Stories.
user posted image
Convert your tracks, save them to the desktop. Insert these new files (.gta files) into the ULUS10160CUSTOMTRACKS folder.

PC Music Files-
Download Exact Audio Copy PSP Edition from http://www.megaupload.com/?d=46HIYRIQ
or here(you have to register first).Install the app, and drag your music files onto the client.
user posted image
It will convert them to .toc format. Now, make sure Window's allows you to see file extensions. If it doesn't, go to Tools>Folder Options>View Tab> and uncheck the box next to "Hide extensions for known file types". Now, click the .toc file that EAC created for you, and change the extension from .toc to .gta. Insert all your converted files into the ULUS10160CUSTOMTRACKS folder.

Either way you choose to do it, your ULUS10160CUSTOMTRACKS folder should look something like this:
user posted image
Note: Your file icons will vary, most of them will be the default "Windows Unknown File Format" icon.

Now, run VC Stories. When you load your game, pause. Go to audio options, and change the Custom Tracks option from OFF to ON.

Well, that's how you do it folks. Enjoy.

Rayo Puņo
  • Rayo Puņo

    .

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2002

#2

Posted 02 November 2006 - 02:21 AM

Nice guide, but since a lot of people's folder will be different, it might be a good idea to explain that you take out the S92F0 at the end of it and put it CUSTOMTRACKS. That could loose a lot of people. icon14.gif good job though, it's the exact same as LCS, but hey, I didn't know how.

dj2005
  • dj2005

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2006

#3

Posted 02 November 2006 - 02:33 AM

Nice little guide. I'll have to use this when I get back from class. Thanks.

topdogkiller
  • topdogkiller

    The Unseen

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2006

#4

Posted 02 November 2006 - 03:33 AM

thanks dude 5000, not that I need it but it's good to see it.

GTA3Freak-2001
  • GTA3Freak-2001

    Run out of Cake.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2001

#5

Posted 02 November 2006 - 04:29 AM

Thanks I've pinned the topic for further reference as I am sure many people will be wondering.

Matt01
  • Matt01

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2004

#6

Posted 02 November 2006 - 04:27 PM Edited by Matt01, 02 November 2006 - 05:55 PM.

fianlly got it working, same process for UK version.
I dont like the sound track so I ripped vc music to vcs.

yashrulz
  • yashrulz

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Dec 2005

#7

Posted 03 November 2006 - 06:30 PM

thnx bro

scotty256
  • scotty256

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2005

#8

Posted 05 November 2006 - 01:19 AM

Wasn't there a custom tracks program to use mp3's ?

ScoobyDoo82
  • ScoobyDoo82

    You Silly Goose

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 May 2006

#9

Posted 05 November 2006 - 04:33 AM

when i put custom tracks on my game the first song will play all the way through but the second song wont start playing. the name of the song will show up on-screen but its just silent, the songs works so i dont know what wrong.

migokalle
  • migokalle

    THE CAT-MAN

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2005

#10

Posted 05 November 2006 - 11:23 AM

cool, thanks! but can you use mp3 songs with one of the programs? i mean, so you don't have to buy a cd with the songs? if not, maybe someone should make a ''homebrew'' rockstar custom tracks....(that do not need cd's)

Rayo Puņo
  • Rayo Puņo

    .

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2002

#11

Posted 06 November 2006 - 01:04 AM

QUOTE (migokalle @ Nov 5 2006, 07:23)
cool, thanks! but can you use mp3 songs with one of the programs? i mean, so you don't have to buy a cd with the songs? if not, maybe someone should make a ''homebrew'' rockstar custom tracks....(that do not need cd's)

You don't need a CD... With Exact Audio Copy you just drag your MP3s onto the conversion screen, and it converts them..

snk012
  • snk012

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2003

#12

Posted 07 November 2006 - 04:24 AM

I can't get EAC to work. I drag my MP3's to the client and it gives me a series of errors then EAC closes. Anyone else experience this problem?

Kanney
  • Kanney

    4-8-15-16-23-42

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2002

#13

Posted 08 November 2006 - 11:34 PM

Its not working for me. I have converted and put them into the right folder, and they come up in Custom Tracks but they are silent then.

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#14

Posted 08 November 2006 - 11:45 PM Edited by plunkett, 08 November 2006 - 11:58 PM.

in R*CT the PSP to CD icon is still greyed out even though I have my PSP in USB mode and is correctly connected and a CD is in and recognized by R*CT.


user posted image

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#15

Posted 09 November 2006 - 01:58 AM

ze bump lol soz im just like cry.gif that i cant fix it

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#16

Posted 10 November 2006 - 03:37 AM

im so sorry bumping again but PLEASE the EAC has same problem HELP cry.gif

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#17

Posted 11 November 2006 - 04:14 AM

suicidal.gif

cry.gif

ughhh

XschecterX
  • XschecterX

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2005

#18

Posted 11 November 2006 - 05:56 AM

I have a problem with doing this. I upload my songs and when i go to enable them it says its unavailable. And under saved data on my card, it says its corrupt data. I have tried re-installing RCT and it still does not work. Whats the deal?

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#19

Posted 11 November 2006 - 06:05 AM

at least you can convert and save.. EAC and R*CT dont even recognize that the PSP is plugged in...

suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif

TheDude5000
  • TheDude5000

    Soak of the year!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#20

Posted 11 November 2006 - 02:09 PM

The client should recognize your PSP. If not, it's a problem with your PC or PSP, not the client.

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#21

Posted 11 November 2006 - 02:46 PM Edited by plunkett, 11 November 2006 - 03:09 PM.

hmm.. i guess ill try it on my moms pc..

EDIT: suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif suicidal.gif
i can only hope its the USB, i cant see how it would be my psp
its brand new, little over a month old.. taken good care of it.. hmm

Timpo
  • Timpo

    Trash

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2005

#22

Posted 11 November 2006 - 05:36 PM

it works fine for me, but don't you all wonder why you can't convert the tracks with R* CT and place them directly in the VCS custom tracks folder? I mean, it's called Rockstar Custom Tracks. not LCS Custom Tracks. wasn't it meant to work with other R* PSP titles as well?

TheDude5000
  • TheDude5000

    Soak of the year!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#23

Posted 12 November 2006 - 01:11 AM

QUOTE (Timpo @ Nov 11 2006, 17:36)
it works fine for me, but don't you all wonder why you can't convert the tracks with R* CT and place them directly in the VCS custom tracks folder? I mean, it's called Rockstar Custom Tracks. not LCS Custom Tracks. wasn't it meant to work with other R* PSP titles as well?

What are you talking about? Does the converter automatically try to save them in the LCS Custom Tracks folder or something? If so, just move them to the VC Stories folder.

plunkett
  • plunkett

    Ehhh... Sure, why not..

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006

#24

Posted 12 November 2006 - 03:32 AM

he was asking why you to save in desktop and move to VCS folder i think.

game lover25
  • game lover25

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2006

#25

Posted 12 November 2006 - 04:16 PM

man for some reason whenever i put in riding dirty and some other songs they dont work but some do work thats wierd can someone help me here?

silenscer
  • silenscer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2006

#26

Posted 21 November 2006 - 03:58 AM

[FONT=Courier]How do you listen to the songs? Using the radio?

TheDude5000
  • TheDude5000

    Soak of the year!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#27

Posted 21 November 2006 - 04:08 AM

QUOTE (TheDude5000 @ Nov 1 2006, 23:41)
Now, run VC Stories. When you load your game, pause. Go to audio options, and change the Custom Tracks option from OFF to ON.

Well, that's how you do it folks. Enjoy.

There you go.

MC.
  • MC.

    LS Menace

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2006

#28

Posted 26 November 2006 - 06:47 AM

OMG I am surprised the Exact Audio Copy PSP thing works with GTA: Liberty City Stories too. Thanks man. You're the best.

tekkenfreek233
  • tekkenfreek233

    Scheisse!

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2006

#29

Posted 26 November 2006 - 09:44 AM

plunkett, you're not the only person having problems with getting this to work. My PSP is hooked up and in USB mode, my computer recognizes that it's there but not the program. It pisses me off to the Nth degree!

Why can't they just read music off of your music folder on your PSP? suicidal.gif

makaveli 7
  • makaveli 7

    rebel

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2005

#30

Posted 30 November 2006 - 02:23 AM

when i put were i want my songz uploaded 2 it says error like i put it in the wrong




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users