Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

3D-ONE project files converted from gta1 & gta2!

76 replies to this topic
JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#1

Posted 18 August 2006 - 10:03 AM

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

What you are looking at are 3D renders of gta1 liberty city , san andreas and vice city created using 3d studio max 8.

Getting straight to the point: files:

City 1 (nyc / liberty city): http://www.gtatools....one/nyc-max.rar
Contains 3dsmax 8 file, tga textures and txd file with all textures.

City 2 (san francisco / san andreas): http://www.gtatools....ne/sanb-max.rar
Contains 3dsmax 8 file, tga textures and txd file with all textures.

City 3 (miami / vice city): http://www.gtatools....d-one/miami.rar
Contains 3dsmax 8 file, tga textures and txd file with all textures.

FBX format (maps only, use textures from files above)
http://www.gtatools.com/3d-one/fbx.rar

GTA2 MAPS: http://www.gtatools....e/gta2_max8.rar (expect screenshoots soon)

browse project directory:
http://www.gtatools.com/3d-one/

Basicly, i done it, i converted the original gta1 and gta2 maps into 3D mesh and with help of Kam i converted those into 3D studio max 8. i gave the files to some modders to slice them into pieces and create a ide file for them and export them ingame, but nothing happened about it in a few months now, so i'm just releasing this to the general public.

what needs to be done:

- slice up the city into separate object pieces for object placement
- creating cols for those should be little problem
- repair what has to be fixed - like missing roof textures in tunnels
- recreating fences and signs using 3d objects instead flat textures
- delete existing water textures and use proper gta-engine water
- scale the world, so it fits more to the vehicle scale
- create car and ped, boat paths
- recreate original map objects and place them around the city on same places as in original maps.

good luck if you are interested!

xrk
  • xrk

    ..

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#2

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:12 AM

Wow you did it.. I remember that old topic but thought this project had just died off.

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#3

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:19 AM

Looks cool, but the city would be quite, erm... Blocky. But it would make for an awesome mod!

EDIT: I think GTA2 maps would be better, as they're better quality.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#4

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:35 AM

I now created ASE scene files for those that don't have max 8. you will still need a plugin to import those into 3dsmax (i think).

Each rar is 5 MB and extracts to 50 mb:

http://www.gtatools....one/ASE/nyc.rar
http://www.gtatools....ne/ASE/sanb.rar
http://www.gtatools....e/ASE/miami.rar


BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 18 August 2006 - 12:03 PM Edited by Cerbera, 18 August 2006 - 12:39 PM.

Awesome stuff, Delfi!

The old project was called VC-One because SA and LC weren't being converted at that time. I've still got my VC One stuff online. Anyone who works on this 3D-One project can use any of that stuff if they want. smile.gif

My Vice City Chapter 1 Missions file includes a lot of comments for the missions in level. The VC1 Vehicles page has a table of all the vehicles used in this chapter.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002
  • None

#6

Posted 18 August 2006 - 11:32 PM

This would certainly be an interesting mod. any ideas on how to reconcile the edges of the map(s)? i suppose modeling some edge-land that eases into the water wouldnt be too difficult. and what engine to port to, vice or SA? SA seems to jump out as the obvious choice, but Vice somehow seems more appropriate(and less buggy).

Ben
  • Ben

    Retired

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 May 2005

#7

Posted 19 August 2006 - 04:45 AM

Indeed this would be a great mod, especially if the missions can be converted at some stage (I wouldn't expect this to be in the short term anyway) icon14.gif.

As for which engine to use - well, I guess it depends on how "authentic" you want it. As far as I'm concerned, VC would be more appropriate because GTA1 (sorry, Grand Theft Auto tounge.gif) makes little or no use of the extra features in SA (when compared to VC). Furthermore, I think that considering more is known about modding on the VC engine than in SA, it would be a more suitable choice. Of course, I'm not at all involved yet (although I don't think I ever will be - with my time constraints and other commitments, I think I'll just be a keen observer wink.gif) so this is just my two cents.

Best of luck with whatever you decide to do though smile.gif.

MoeRonimoe
  • MoeRonimoe

    I write the songs that make the young girls cry

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2004

#8

Posted 19 August 2006 - 09:33 AM

OMG OMG OMG colgate.gif

Thats cool *download*

I'm trying to help where i can :>

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#9

Posted 19 August 2006 - 09:57 AM

The SA engine would be the best choice. It lets you swim instead of downing if you end up in water. It also has more car slots and a great diversity of vehicles and pedestrians.

All three GTA1 maps should easily fit in GTASA. The zoning system can give each city different weather, vehicles, police cars and so on.

REspawn
  • REspawn

    REgent

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2002
  • None

#10

Posted 19 August 2006 - 11:53 AM

Excellent stuff JernejL

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002
  • None

#11

Posted 19 August 2006 - 07:51 PM

user posted image

well, atleast it will have uniform vertex lighting tounge.gif
I'm suprised at the diversity of buildings, considering its was a top down game.

@ cerb - SA is technically better, yes. i think im more concerned about the lack of stability, and the what, 10? different exe's for the game, including the 2.00 which isn't moddable. something like this requires a team of people, and they all need to be behind it if its going to work out. supporting a version of the engine that a large chunk of people can't use may not be the best idea.

That aside, it should be interesting to see if this turns into a myriad-esque mod that catches on, or falls by the wayside like so many others.
Yes there are 3 full cities here, but they need ALOT of work before they're playable. just chopping the different layers of buildings up, and setting up a working map for one city will be a challenge.

Edit: By the way, anyone working with the max files might want to do this; When you open the max files, most of the vertices on the objects aren't welded, and so max counts every 2 triangles as an element. as you can imagine, this will make chopping the map up at all, into a hellish nightmare. So, select an object, and go to Modifiers / Mesh Editing / Vertex weld. The default threshhold should do just fine. Convert to an editable poly afterwards.
Edit 2: Don't try the above, with all the objects in the scene sleected, unless you like max crashing and Windows telling you that you ran out of virtual memory. just do one object at a time.

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#12

Posted 19 August 2006 - 08:47 PM

I find v1.01 seems to work fairly well. I find parts of the audio cutting out for short times still happens but much less than in v1.0. People who bought GTASA late enough to end up with v2.0 probably aren't interested enough in GTA to spend time following mods, let alone contributing to them? They can get a v1.0 second hand if they are really keen. smile.gif

GTA's landscape is cube-based, with each cube having a side length equal to a typical mid nineties US car. Looks like Delfi's mesh converted the cube geometry directly into polygons, without optimising big faces.

I don't think this will turn into a TC with lots of missions coverted over to it. My guess is that Delfi is doing it as a sort of "technology experiment", although he might have plans for it...

leviatan1001
  • leviatan1001

    Build your own World

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2006

#13

Posted 19 August 2006 - 10:21 PM Edited by leviatan1001, 19 August 2006 - 10:49 PM.

Hi guys. Triple As told me about this project 30 minutes ago, and inmediately, i started to work on it. Here is what i got:

[centre]user posted image[/centre]

But i found some problems. The evident one, no alpha textures. And the worst one: The f*cking always omnipresent walls every where cryani.gif

-What are you doing, CJ ?
-Shut up !, Im just trying to jump this invisible wall:

user posted image

I will not work on it. Its impossible to work with 250 000 polygons. Completely impossible for me. I have 2 gb of RAM, and it isnt enough. AMD 64 3000 Ghz, and it isnt still enough. No way, buddyes.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#14

Posted 20 August 2006 - 06:53 AM

leviatan1001: try the welding trick that DexX shown. i will try to weld maps now myself and re-upload new verions.

Blackadder.
  • Blackadder.

    Luck. Runs. Out.

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2005

#15

Posted 20 August 2006 - 07:18 AM

Hey, I can't help as I kinda suck at Mapping stuff, but it's looking good. Maybe you could make it look less cartoony? The Textures look very cartoony

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#16

Posted 20 August 2006 - 09:20 AM

QUOTE (blackadder18 @ Aug 20 2006, 08:18)
Hey, I can't help as I kinda suck at Mapping stuff, but it's looking good. Maybe you could make it look less cartoony? The Textures look very cartoony

catspider.gif icon13.gif

less cartoony? i didn't even made the textures! i only converted them... you haven't even read what this project is, now get back to the start and read what the project is.

aniway, i'll try to release gta2 maps soon as well, hoping those will bring more interest.

TripleAs
  • TripleAs

    Mack Pimp

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2003

#17

Posted 20 August 2006 - 03:56 PM

QUOTE (JernejL @ Aug 20 2006, 06:20)
QUOTE (blackadder18 @ Aug 20 2006, 08:18)
Hey, I can't help as I kinda suck at Mapping stuff, but it's looking good. Maybe you could make it look less cartoony? The Textures look very cartoony

catspider.gif icon13.gif

less cartoony? i didn't even made the textures! i only converted them... you haven't even read what this project is, now get back to the start and read what the project is.

aniway, i'll try to release gta2 maps soon as well, hoping those will bring more interest.

Emm, do you think you could also upload them in .3ds format (after the vertex welding thingy),
I think a 3ds format would bring a lil bit more interest for those who doens't have 3D Studio (don't get my wrong, i have 3dstudio, it's just it doesn't want to open for some weird license problem blush.gif ).
bye

PS: I think someone will make a HI-Res Textures (kinda SART, San Angelz or something like that) mod when a/the three city/cities are ingame.

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#18

Posted 20 August 2006 - 05:09 PM

The current textures will 64 by 64 pixels with 24 bit colour depth. There is one repetition of the texture per cube, with each cube being about 4.5 metres big. That means one pixel will be about 7cm, which could look quite grainy when near buildings.

However, the style of the texture should be kept if hi-resolution textures are made because that's what made GTA, GTA. GTA2 had the same texture detail but it's colouring is a lot more realistic.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#19

Posted 20 August 2006 - 06:28 PM

QUOTE (TripleAs @ Aug 20 2006, 16:56)
I think a 3ds format would bring a lil bit more interest for those who doens't have 3D Studio (don't get my wrong, i have 3dstudio, it's just it doesn't want to open for some weird license problem blush.gif ).
bye

PS: I think someone will make a HI-Res Textures (kinda SART, San Angelz or something like that) mod when a/the three city/cities are ingame.

thats why i already supplied ASE ascii scene files for older 3ds-max-es.

and btw: i have not managed to figure out how to weld vertices in max 8 so that is a no-go for me.

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#20

Posted 20 August 2006 - 10:08 PM

Select an object, go to Vertex mode, Select All, and search for Weld. Click on it. (Click the square next to it first to see if the multiplier is 0.1.) smile.gif

It looks kinda cool ingame, but it needs a lot of work. biggrin.gif

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#21

Posted 17 September 2006 - 10:17 AM

just wondering, did anyone try to get more of it into the game?

MoeRonimoe
  • MoeRonimoe

    I write the songs that make the young girls cry

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2004

#22

Posted 18 September 2006 - 01:31 PM

I tried to do the GTA1 machine gun biggrin.gif

user posted image

But i guess that doesn't count confused.gif

xrk
  • xrk

    ..

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#23

Posted 22 September 2006 - 06:51 PM

A bridge lol
user posted image

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

wouldn't take that long to get it in game, if max didn't slow down so much



JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#24

Posted 04 November 2006 - 02:11 PM

QUOTE (xrk @ Sep 22 2006, 19:51)
A bridge lol
user posted image

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

wouldn't take that long to get it in game, if max didn't slow down so much

just wondering, have you tried adding any more pieces? it really looks good so far..

Mark
  • Mark

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#25

Posted 06 November 2006 - 03:29 PM

WOW! Home come I've missed this til now? This is excellent! smile.gif

Taigo
  • Taigo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2006

#26

Posted 06 November 2006 - 11:34 PM

Heh
I got Travis almost done tounge2.gif
I did it from scrach, just needs some cool textures cool.gif

user posted image
Im also modelling the other characters.
Anyone is up for a team work? turn.gif

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002
  • None

#27

Posted 07 November 2006 - 11:06 AM

QUOTE (Taigo @ Nov 7 2006, 00:34)
Heh
I got Travis almost done tounge2.gif
I did it from scrach, just needs some cool textures cool.gif

user posted image
Im also modelling the other characters.
Anyone is up for a team work? turn.gif

Haha, this is really nice, the classic "yellow shirt, blue jeans guy" biggrin.gif

xrk
  • xrk

    ..

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#28

Posted 07 November 2006 - 11:21 AM

QUOTE
just wondering, have you tried adding any more pieces? it really looks good so far..




I haven't, no, but only because it seemed no-one was intrested.
adding wont be a problem though the only pain's are the tediousness of cutting it up and the slowdown in max


Funny how people start talking in this topic again just after I re-format
now I'll have to hunt through dvd's suicidal.gif



Blackadder.
  • Blackadder.

    Luck. Runs. Out.

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2005

#29

Posted 07 November 2006 - 11:35 AM

Lol, anyway I love the idea of this, I have an even crazier idea! 2d SA! We have topdown images of it, wouldn't be too hard for GTA1/2 Modders smile.gif

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003
  • None

#30

Posted 07 November 2006 - 11:55 AM

QUOTE (xrk @ Nov 7 2006, 05:21)
I haven't, no, but only because it seemed no-one was intrested.
adding wont be a problem though the only pain's are the tediousness of cutting it up and the slowdown in max

Just cut the whole map into 4 smaller pieces and throw 3 of them in a new layer. Just keep slicing/detaching buildings out, and each part you have done just throw in a new layer or display as a bounding box. Thats based on the idea that the map is one large object to begin with.

QUOTE (blackadder18)
Lol, anyway I love the idea of this, I have an even crazier idea! 2d SA! We have topdown images of it, wouldn't be too hard for GTA1/2 Modders
.
Images? GTA1/2 are 3D, perhaps you failed to realise exactly what this topic is about (Converting GTA1's 3D files to SanAn). SanAn would be far too detailed to GTA1/2 gameplay also.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users