Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA Window Mode

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
28 replies to this topic
Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#1

Posted 07 July 2006 - 11:45 PM Edited by Wolf68k, 07 July 2006 - 11:52 PM.

I've seen people in the past asking about running GTA3 and VC and even SA in window mode, and the answer was always the same...No you can't.
Well it seems now you can. Window Mode (original direct-download).
First let me stress that this file is completely safe, those that know me will know that I mean that.

How to use it is very simple. Unzip the d3d9.dll file and put it in your \Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\ folder and just run the game.
There is a catch, and this is just from my own personally experence. Whatever resolution you normally run the game at, take it down 1 or 2 settings at least. However your mileage my vary.
I normally run at 1600x1200x32 and normally that's fine and I get high frame rates, but with this the system was working over time and just getting to the menu was painfully slow. Running it at 1280x1024x32 wasn't too bad while anything below that was ofcourse even better. So keep this in mind before you run it for the first time, go and set a lower setting in the game first, then come back out and copy the file into the folder.
If you're lucky enough to have dual monitors, then you know the game asks you each time you start up to pick a resolution (using what you have set in the game as the default size) and to pick a monitor. So you folks, like me, will have a slightly easier time than those with single monitors.

I know this "mod", for lack of a better word, will work on the normal game as well as MTA and SA-MP...beyond that I don't know. I don't know if it'll work with GTA3 or VC since I don't have those installed any more. If someone wishes to test those games with the file, please do so and tell me/us of your results.



//edit
Sorry I thought I was still in the SA General PC Chat
Can someone plese move this there?

jarjar
  • jarjar

    Boss

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2005

#2

Posted 08 July 2006 - 12:02 AM

Nice find Wolf, very cool icon14.gif . I requested a move for ya, shouldn't be long now wink.gif .

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003
  • None

#3

Posted 08 July 2006 - 08:50 AM

One of the first mods ever made for SanAndreas was the option to play it in windowed mode. The one i'm talking about was made by Luke a few weeks after SanAn's PC release.

Release Date: June 12 - 2005 - Download Link, its been around over a year. tounge.gif

.Victom
  • .Victom

    rawr!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2005

#4

Posted 08 July 2006 - 10:42 AM

QUOTE (GT-1 @ Jul 8 2006, 08:50)
One of the first mods ever made for SanAndreas was the option to play it in windowed mode. The one i'm talking about was made by Luke a few weeks after SanAn's PC release.

Release Date: June 12 - 2005 - Download Link, its been around over a year. tounge.gif

pwnt.

Justin
  • Justin

    have a cigar

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2004
  • None

#5

Posted 08 July 2006 - 11:17 AM

QUOTE (GT-1 @ Jul 8 2006, 18:50)
One of the first mods ever made for SanAndreas was the option to play it in windowed mode. The one i'm talking about was made by Luke a few weeks after SanAn's PC release.

Release Date: June 12 - 2005 - Download Link, its been around over a year. tounge.gif

That, and 3D Analyze has a windowed function. It hasn't worked for me recently, but did so in the past.

Regardless, thanks for the link. smile.gif icon14.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#6

Posted 08 July 2006 - 11:08 PM

QUOTE (GT-1 @ Jul 8 2006, 03:50)
One of the first mods ever made for SanAndreas was the option to play it in windowed mode. The one i'm talking about was made by Luke a few weeks after SanAn's PC release.

Release Date: June 12 - 2005 - Download Link, its been around over a year. tounge.gif

Might be older, but a butt load more complex.


@Fuzzy Juzzy
I hate that thing. I haven't seen it since GTA3 and I hated it then.




Look if you don't like it, why in the hell do I bother to help anyone?
I get one "thank you" then the rest is me getting crapped on.

Justin
  • Justin

    have a cigar

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2004
  • None

#7

Posted 09 July 2006 - 03:50 AM

Thank you, Wolf. biggrin.gif

I didn't realise you were the one to upload it to FileFront, so cheers for that. Where'd you find it originally? Oh, and I tested it out with Vice City and GTA3 - neither work, unfortunately. Which makes it similar to Luke's effort. I'm wondering if it's easy to make one for Vice City and GTA3 - I'd like that...

crazyanurag
  • crazyanurag

    okthxbai

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005

#8

Posted 27 July 2006 - 03:02 PM

QUOTE (Wolf68k @ Jul 9 2006, 04:38)
I get one "thank you" then the rest is me getting crapped on.

#3...thank you, Wolf inlove.gif

Bump!

You'll Never Walk Alone

Teckizt
  • Teckizt

    Modder of The Mods

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2007

#9

Posted 11 August 2007 - 07:37 PM

i downloaded yet but i havea problem..this "mod" don't work with sa-mp V0.2.1, it just, close without advice. I need to play sa-mp with windowed mode, so please help.

Justin
  • Justin

    have a cigar

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2004
  • None

#10

Posted 12 August 2007 - 03:34 AM

QUOTE (Teckizt @ Aug 12 2007, 05:37)
i downloaded yet but i havea problem..this "mod" don't work with sa-mp V0.2.1, it just, close without advice. I need to play sa-mp with windowed mode, so please help.

Does it work for you with the original SA?

What I'm getting at is that if it's only a problem with SA:MP, your question is better suited for the boys that run it - register and post over this-a-way.

riahc4
  • riahc4

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2008

#11

Posted 26 August 2008 - 01:31 AM

Can someone repost this using rapidshare or something?

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#12

Posted 26 August 2008 - 03:57 AM

QUOTE (riahc4 @ Aug 26 2008, 07:01)
Can someone repost this using rapidshare or something?

Just follow this link:
http://www.gtagarage.com/mods/show.php?id=45 (http://www.gtagarage.../show.php?id=45)

emoskittles
  • emoskittles

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2008

#13

Posted 12 October 2008 - 07:25 PM

Thanks , but how do i turn it back to Fullscreen? i cant delete the file it just jkeeps comming back

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#14

Posted 12 October 2008 - 08:02 PM

QUOTE (emoskittles @ Oct 13 2008, 00:55)
Thanks , but how do i turn it back to Fullscreen? i cant delete the file it just jkeeps comming back

Juts play with the original gta_sa.exe and not with gta_sa_dll.exe.

poopskin
  • poopskin

    Yardie | Not a Clever Man

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 May 2005

#15

Posted 15 October 2008 - 08:02 PM

My antivirus keeps thinking the included DLL is a trojan...

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#16

Posted 15 October 2008 - 08:05 PM

QUOTE (poopskin @ Oct 16 2008, 01:32)
My antivirus keeps thinking the included DLL is a trojan...

Set an exception for it from your anti-virus settings. Simple.

Smiley001
  • Smiley001

    Abandoned all hope...

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2007

#17

Posted 30 October 2008 - 11:40 AM

Is there any way to configure the size of the window?

GTArv
  • GTArv

    #

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Feb 2008

#18

Posted 30 October 2008 - 12:18 PM

Change the resolution through the advanced display settings, and the window size will change accordingly.

Smiley001
  • Smiley001

    Abandoned all hope...

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2007

#19

Posted 30 October 2008 - 12:29 PM Edited by Smiley001, 31 October 2008 - 08:27 PM.

QUOTE (GTArv @ Oct 30 2008, 12:18)
Change the resolution through the advanced display settings, and the window size will change accordingly.

Thx, that helped!

EDIT: Does this also work with other GTA's? Particularly GTA 3.

AB0333
  • AB0333

    ___________

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 29 Jul 2009

#20

Posted 07 February 2010 - 08:39 PM

Thanks! Very useful thing! icon14.gif smile.gif

Dan_The_Noob
  • Dan_The_Noob

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2010

#21

Posted 31 May 2010 - 08:22 AM

bump

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#22

Posted 31 May 2010 - 01:32 PM

QUOTE (girishb MOD @ Sep 11 2009, 15:14)

Bumping old topics:
DO NOT bump old topics if you've nothing substantial to contribute to them.
Unnecessary bumping of topics will result in warnings and the topic getting locked.


Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#23

Posted 03 June 2010 - 03:01 PM

@Dan_The_Noob: Please do not bump topics or post if you don't have anything substantial to contribute.

@lil weasel: Just report the topic; don't add to it.

ninus84
  • ninus84

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2011

#24

Posted 19 February 2011 - 05:24 PM

[FONT=Impact][SIZE=14][COLOR=blue]
will this work if i have m0d s0beit?? i need this to record my gameplay... confused.gif confused.gif ph34r.gif

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#25

Posted 19 February 2011 - 05:32 PM

QUOTE (ninus84 @ Feb 19 2011, 22:54)
[FONT=Impact][SIZE=14][COLOR=blue]
will this work if i have m0d s0beit?? i need this to record my gameplay... confused.gif confused.gif ph34r.gif

I can't tell for sure, but there's no harm in trying it, right?

Btw, the download link in the first post seems to be dead. Here's another one.

ninus84
  • ninus84

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2011

#26

Posted 21 February 2011 - 04:29 AM

rampage_ani.gif umm...will this work if i have m0d s0beit? rampage_ani.gif

Girish
  • Girish

    Leone Family Mafia

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • India
  • Best Moderator 2011

#27

Posted 21 February 2011 - 11:42 AM

Let me rephrase myself. Try it yourself and find out. It's not a tedious process and won't take much time.

Hamodey1
  • Hamodey1

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011

#28

Posted 05 July 2011 - 03:54 AM

I've been registered to this site to just say thank you for helping. tounge.gif cool.gif biggrin.gif
Have a cookie.gif

lil weasel
  • lil weasel

    Shoot Looters, Hang Pirates!

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006
  • None
  • Contribution Award [San Andreas]

#29

Posted 05 July 2011 - 04:14 AM

QUOTE (lil weasel @ Monday, May 31 2010, 13:32)
Bumping old topics:
DO NOT bump old topics if you've nothing substantial to contribute to them.
Unnecessary bumping of topics will result in warnings and the topic getting locked.

Says it all.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users