Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Official] Paths and Mission Scripts

405 replies to this topic
Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#1

Posted 07 June 2006 - 06:35 AM

Well, since that the islands are in their final spots, and we're getting settled into SA, we need to get something done with paths and mission scripts. Knife has left, but who did paths before?

Duicuss.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004
  • None

#2

Posted 07 June 2006 - 10:03 AM

The mission scripts from vice city can be converted to sa but it do needs a lot of changes to get it working maybe we need to contact barton again and see if he can start working on it again

Black-hawk
  • Black-hawk

    Boss

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004

#3

Posted 07 June 2006 - 11:05 AM

I'm not even sure that there's a working path editor at this moment.

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#4

Posted 07 June 2006 - 04:19 PM

No there isn't, but I'm currently working on a solution to that, mainly with Myriad in mind.

Mark
  • Mark

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 07 June 2006 - 07:33 PM

Great, I'm getting pissed off being sideswiped by policecars outta nowhere smile.gif

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#6

Posted 08 June 2006 - 12:42 AM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Jun 8 2006, 02:49)
No there isn't, but I'm currently working on a solution to that, mainly with Myriad in mind.

Oh great! biggrin.gif Good to know we'll have a decent editor soon..

@GTAuron atleast you don't have cars driving accross your lot tounge.gif

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004
  • None

#7

Posted 08 June 2006 - 08:03 AM

I may convert the GTI racing missions as soon as i got some time its only moving the coordinates to their final places.

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#8

Posted 08 June 2006 - 11:30 AM

QUOTE (Cran. @ Jun 8 2006, 02:42)
QUOTE (steve-m @ Jun 8 2006, 02:49)
No there isn't, but I'm currently working on a solution to that, mainly with Myriad in mind.

Oh great! biggrin.gif Good to know we'll have a decent editor soon..

Nah, not a decent editor, I really don't have time for that and I thought other people were working on it? I'm decoding the remaining unknown sections in the node files and will make only a small tool for quick and easy path export from Max, although somewhat limited.

@GTAuron: Try this to get rid of the paths.

chickenplucker
  • chickenplucker

    Old school

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2002

#9

Posted 08 June 2006 - 03:24 PM

I've tried a couple of times to get that .oooo1v or whatever version of a path editor for SA to work but with no luck. If we had an editor like the one for VC I would gladly do the paths for the mod. I'm pretty much ticked of at mapping SA, so I'll try to do other stuff to help out.

Mark
  • Mark

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#10

Posted 08 June 2006 - 10:43 PM

I'm happy to do em too lol.

Hmph, in fact I'm just getting into mission scripting, if nobody else with any experience is around to do so, I could make a basic mission script to just place random cars and useful pickups about the place if ya want, and take a look at the mission data required for the other lots that ain't in game etc. Don't mean I'm about to go programming missions, my knowledge is very basic.

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#11

Posted 09 June 2006 - 12:47 PM

QUOTE (GTAuron @ Jun 8 2006, 22:43)
I'm happy to do em too lol.

Hmph, in fact I'm just getting into mission scripting, if nobody else with any experience is around to do so, I could make a basic mission script to just place random cars and useful pickups about the place if ya want, and take a look at the mission data required for the other lots that ain't in game etc. Don't mean I'm about to go programming missions, my knowledge is very basic.

I too, I can place some vehicles and weapons.

Black-hawk
  • Black-hawk

    Boss

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004

#12

Posted 09 June 2006 - 04:56 PM

Can't vehicles also be placed via ipl and whatnot? Or did I crawl out of my cave a bit too late? tounge.gif

Mark
  • Mark

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#13

Posted 09 June 2006 - 05:00 PM

not a clue. I just use the .scm lol.

mickarrow
  • mickarrow

    ---

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#14

Posted 09 June 2006 - 06:50 PM

I believe that in SA cars are (also?) placed through streaming ipl's. There's a topic about it in Editing Discussion. Don't know if they can be edited though...

Mark
  • Mark

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#15

Posted 09 June 2006 - 09:00 PM

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=214321

Me just use that for car generating hehehe.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004
  • None

#16

Posted 10 June 2006 - 09:35 AM

QUOTE (mickarrow @ Jun 9 2006, 18:50)
I believe that in SA cars are (also?) placed through streaming ipl's. There's a topic about it in Editing Discussion. Don't know if they can be edited though...

Cars can Also be added trough IPL files in the data map but they wont work right with missions since in missions you need a car number and IPL generated cars are random so only cars used in missions need to be coded in misisons. And maybe some small update for now i will now do an attemp on converting the race missions in SA. And dont expect much work from me this week got some bad news to my grandpa just has died in hospital cry.gif sad.gif sad.gif

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#17

Posted 18 June 2006 - 04:44 PM

Sorry to hear that, aad.

I made the first paths for illCOM. Illspirit then neatened up the linking method and I continued them in that style for all the roads which existed at the time. I think I did ped paths around the four lane freeway, but someone else did all the other ped paths and probably tidied the car paths some more.

Much later on, I made some boat paths. I think these have since been refined and added to. This was all for GTAVC, using PlayerPos and Notepad.

I don't know of any usable paths editor for GTASA because the SA paths system is more complicated and uses a binary format, so you can't even attempt them in Notepad.

An export script might be the most practical way to do it, so good luck Steve! smile.gif

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#18

Posted 18 June 2006 - 10:46 PM

Some test paths (peds only):

user posted image

Still much to do before I get car paths working, though... confused.gif

locO G
  • locO G

    LocO by name... But keeping an even keel.

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2005

#19

Posted 18 June 2006 - 11:08 PM Edited by locO G, 18 June 2006 - 11:44 PM.

This is monumental news, steve-m. Without this, any TC mod for GTA-SA would be dead in the water.

If it could be done, you'd be the one to crack it.

Well done sir, you've made someone with three and a half dead PC's on his hands very happy for the first time all day.

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#20

Posted 19 June 2006 - 06:18 AM

Mmm, looking good! Those SA road textures look pretty good, too!

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#21

Posted 19 June 2006 - 09:36 PM

biggrin.gif

user posted image

JostVice
  • JostVice

    realtime, not prerendered

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2005
  • None

#22

Posted 19 June 2006 - 09:55 PM

wooo! big jump in the modding line! finally car paths.

really very good work steve, you're the boss on the gta tools.

lord fido
  • lord fido

    Retired gangbanger

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2005

#23

Posted 19 June 2006 - 10:31 PM

Wow! Finally!

Well can you make your own pedgrp.dat? Im doing in my 2 lots a little mexico and i need a pedgrp.dat with Vagos and beachy like peds.

mickarrow
  • mickarrow

    ---

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#24

Posted 19 June 2006 - 10:32 PM

Once again, the magic M to the rescue biggrin.gif

Great job Steve!

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#25

Posted 20 June 2006 - 07:15 AM

You've already got cars working? Kickass. You going to be doing the rest of the paths in myriad?

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#26

Posted 20 June 2006 - 09:07 AM

Hmm, I'll probably do the car paths on illnorth, maybe even those on the other islands. But ped paths are much more work (since most of them can't be done by simply extracting splines from existing geometry), so I'll definitely appreciate some help with that. Anyway, there's still some coding and much testing to do before I (or anyone else) can start building paths, so no hurry. And they could always be extended at a later time, maybe just having cars everywhere is fine for a start.

lord fido
  • lord fido

    Retired gangbanger

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2005

#27

Posted 20 June 2006 - 08:31 PM

Are you gonna release it? Make some lemmings please!!

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#28

Posted 20 June 2006 - 10:03 PM

QUOTE (lord fido @ Jun 20 2006, 22:31)
Make some lemmings please!!

user posted image

lord fido
  • lord fido

    Retired gangbanger

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2005

#29

Posted 20 June 2006 - 10:28 PM

Finally my dream has came true.

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#30

Posted 21 June 2006 - 03:57 AM

Hahahaha! TOO COOL! biggrin.gif You figured out how to handle gang spawning areas yet?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users