Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How to speed up your page loading

25 replies to this topic
BoBoTheMonkey
  • BoBoTheMonkey

    Corny

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2006

#1

Posted 03 June 2006 - 04:59 PM

If you have firefox and broadband you can speed up your page loading with this! It really works!

Speed Up Firefox

Parky.
  • Parky.

    Where's ya mic..?

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2006
  • None

#2

Posted 03 June 2006 - 05:01 PM

This was posted somewhere last week, don't know the exact link.

weirdal
  • weirdal

    User posted image

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2002

#3

Posted 03 June 2006 - 05:03 PM

yes, and it also slows down page loading for the rest of us. dozingoff.gif

_-playero-_
  • _-playero-_

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#4

Posted 03 June 2006 - 06:39 PM Edited by _-playero-_, 03 June 2006 - 07:10 PM.

Is there anyway to try this on Opera?

edit: lol me stupid, isn't this the same as changing the Max Connections to server in opera?

Celica144db
  • Celica144db

    Venomous

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2004

#5

Posted 04 June 2006 - 08:52 PM

QUOTE (weirdal @ Jun 3 2006, 13:03)
yes, and it also slows down page loading for the rest of us. dozingoff.gif

Me wonders if thats why i'm randomly having a hard time getting pages to come up here on the forums today...

Dom0803
  • Dom0803

    Boss

  • Leone Family Mafia
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2002

#6

Posted 04 June 2006 - 08:59 PM

I doubt we're causing the problem, Celica144db. A few people with this setting can't effect a whole forum.

Besides, even if it was affecting it, I for one would not give a sh*t because my pageloading has just been increased by so much it's hard to believe.

If my uber-fast loading slows the rest of you down - well - suck my tits - because it's staying this way. If you can't beat em, join em, and you wont regret doing so.

Spenc938
  • Spenc938

    Mari'ju'ana is bad M'kay.

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2006

#7

Posted 04 June 2006 - 11:45 PM Edited by spenc938, 04 June 2006 - 11:46 PM.

Holy sh*t, this helps a ton on gtaforums. Does a lot when you open multiple tabs at the same time.

Edit: I like the look of IE7 much better than firefox, any way to do something similar on there?

_-playero-_
  • _-playero-_

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#8

Posted 06 June 2006 - 02:40 AM

QUOTE (spenc938 @ Jun 4 2006, 17:45)
Holy sh*t, this helps a ton on gtaforums. Does a lot when you open multiple tabs at the same time.

Edit: I like the look of IE7 much better than firefox, any way to do something similar on there?

here


http://firefoxie.net/

honestly inlove.gif inlove.gif

fuckindumass
  • fuckindumass

    Pissing the night away

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2005

#9

Posted 06 June 2006 - 03:03 AM

This seems to be working for me...doesn't cure the GTAF takes two minutes to load glitch, but normally loads gtaf pages faster, and other websites seem to go faster too.

ATK
  • ATK

    Drive Slow

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2005

#10

Posted 06 June 2006 - 03:12 AM

I dont have a problem loading pages at all. Everything loads fine, except for this place. Dont know why, even other forums with alot of people on them are good.

GTA3Rockstar
  • GTA3Rockstar

    --------------------

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2002
  • United-States

#11

Posted 06 June 2006 - 06:42 AM

Eh, GTAForums load slower than before, and worked very good before they got rid of the Post Wrappers... As that didn't help, they should bring them back...

SIP YEK NOD
  • SIP YEK NOD

    I drink and I smash because i love

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2003

#12

Posted 06 June 2006 - 06:51 AM

QUOTE (GTA3Rockstar @ Jun 6 2006, 00:42)
Eh, GTAForums load slower than before, and worked very good before they got rid of the Post Wrappers... As that didn't help, they should bring them back...

They did for the people who really matter









kidding. i like having the post wrappers gone. its a little extra work, but its a little extra special.

Tsuroki
  • Tsuroki

    Gone Fishin'

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2002
  • None

#13

Posted 06 June 2006 - 12:41 PM

I'd hate to be a bitch, BUUTTTT....

moved to PC Chat. tounge.gif

K^2
  • K^2

    Vidi Vici Veni

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2004
  • United-States
  • Most Knowledgeable [Web Development/Programming] 2013
    Most Knowledgeable [GTA Series] 2011
    Best Debater 2010

#14

Posted 06 June 2006 - 06:55 PM

Wow. That really does help. Thanks.

Hanney
  • Hanney

    Hardcore VC-MP Fan.

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2004

#15

Posted 06 June 2006 - 09:23 PM

Hey Thanks this helped alot even though my webpage time is okay it is faster me feels greedy. biggrin.gif It also speeds GTAF up a bit aswell but not much.

Dunpeal
  • Dunpeal

    Demon Hands

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#16

Posted 06 June 2006 - 09:38 PM

Just did it, Loading up heaps faster. Thnx.

_-playero-_
  • _-playero-_

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#17

Posted 06 June 2006 - 09:53 PM

anyway to do this with opera? catspider.gif

Barbaneez
  • Barbaneez

    Boss

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2003

#18

Posted 07 June 2006 - 05:39 AM Edited by Barbaneez, 14 December 2008 - 10:10 PM.

...

Forfit
  • Forfit

    nein

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005

#19

Posted 07 June 2006 - 05:46 AM

QUOTE (Barbaneez @ Jun 7 2006, 05:39)
I enabled everything, followed the guide, and currently have it all turned on.
But to be honest I haven't noticed sh*tall of a difference. Don't know what you guys are talking about.

That's because your computer is still pretty new and too uber-fast to notice. tounge2.gif

I wish this was for Opera too sad.gif

fido2
  • fido2

    DDAM

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2004

#20

Posted 07 June 2006 - 07:08 AM

QUOTE (f*ckindumass @ Jun 6 2006, 16:03)
This seems to be working for me...doesn't cure the GTAF takes two minutes to load glitch, but normally loads gtaf pages faster, and other websites seem to go faster too.

Thats because gtaforums is hosted on a small calculator. The kind that cant do trig. And I get the impression that all GTANet is hosted on the one server... I cant be right though.

This sometimes causes problems with older servers because they dont have the threading to handle pipelining properly. Bad luck for them imo. I doubt it affects other people's speeds too much, the sooner someone finishes raping the server the better.

Good tweak. icon14.gif

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#21

Posted 07 June 2006 - 11:39 PM

I've already posted this a long time ago
http://www.gtaforums...dpost&p=2681253

And no this won't help GTAF because the problem with GTAF is something completely different. And that's all I feel that I'm allowed to say.

_-playero-_
  • _-playero-_

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#22

Posted 08 June 2006 - 04:53 AM

QUOTE
Opera pipelines by default - and uses heuristics to control the level of pipelining employed depending on the server Opera is connected to{1} . In Firefox, pipelining is OFF by default and needs to be turned on (see about:config[1]), Firefox also uses some heuristics, especially to turn pipelining OFF for IIS servers. IE doesn't pipeline at all.


So yeah, this answers my question.

http://operawiki.info/HttpProtocol

Pilate
  • Pilate

    Big Homie

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2002

#23

Posted 08 June 2006 - 05:37 AM

QUOTE (wolf68k @ Jun 7 2006, 18:39)
I've already posted this a long time ago
http://www.gtaforums...dpost&p=2681253

And no this won't help GTAF because the problem with GTAF is something completely different. And that's all I feel that I'm allowed to say.

Thank you.

This has been posted more than goatse.
Infact there is now a firefox plugin called FasterFox that does just about the same thing. It even explains what exactly those settings you're dicking around with do.
These settings are good in moderation. But like someone said before, when given the incorrect(or just not good) values, they f*ck over a server with requests and cause increase/unnessisary load on the server.

So read something before you f*ck around.

|Zephyr|
  • |Zephyr|

    Street Cat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2006

#24

Posted 08 June 2006 - 05:56 AM

QUOTE (wolf68k @ Jun 7 2006, 23:39)
I've already posted this a long time ago
http://www.gtaforums...dpost&p=2681253

Yeah, but wolf, thats in the 'READ BEFORE YOU POST A TOPIC' topic, written in capital letters, and pinned at the top of the page.

So who on earth is going to read that, god. tounge.gif

Dalpura
  • Dalpura

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2003

#25

Posted 08 June 2006 - 08:02 AM

What's the catch though, hardware rape?

Pilate
  • Pilate

    Big Homie

  • The Precinct
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2002

#26

Posted 08 June 2006 - 09:34 AM

QUOTE (Dalpura @ Jun 8 2006, 03:02)
What's the catch though, hardware rape?

server rape




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users