» «
Photo

Tutorial for spookie's SCM hook (C++)

37 replies to this topic
XcR
  • XcR

Peon

• Members

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:02 PM Edited by XcR, 08 March 2006 - 06:35 PM.

-- Tutorial on spookie's SCM/D3D hook for Vice City --

Okay well.. this is my first tutorial, it's just a basic guide into modding Vice City with spookie's SCM hook. It's how I started coding and I'm very pleased that I got into it all and decided to pass on the stuff that I've learned.

Firstly, there are some basic requirements.

-> A C++ compiler - For this tutorial we'll be using Microsoft Visual C++ version 6.0
-> Basic knowledge of C++
-> The DirectX 8 SDK
-> A copy of Vice City

The first thing you need to do is install the DirectX 8 SDK. It is around 200mb and is downloadable from this site. This has all the required library and header files that you will need to compile your project. The install is pretty self-explanatory, just write down the path you installed it in as you'll need that later on when setting additional header and library directories in MSVC++.

Now, once you have the DirectX, load up MSVC++6. You'll be faced with a blank screen that looks something like this:

user posted image