Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|Tool] Collision File Editor II

45 replies to this topic
steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#31

Posted 25 April 2006 - 05:47 PM

Applying optimization more than once won't help anything. Neither do tons of smilies.

And I don't know any solution other than switching to a "proper" modeling program. tounge.gif

And you are sure your mesh isn't flipped or rotated somehow?

Drakos
  • Drakos

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005

#32

Posted 26 April 2006 - 05:00 PM

lol sorry steve if my smilies are annoying to you. when i clicked to optimized the mesh it was already flipped. i will try optimizing first- then flipping and Mirror X

PlatinumSerb
  • PlatinumSerb

    ...

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2004

#33

Posted 26 April 2006 - 07:44 PM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Apr 24 2006, 17:38)
In the current release CE2's optimize function welds vertices within a distance of 0.01, removes triangles with identical vertices (also duplicated flipped ones), and removes isolated vertices. This gets rid of degenerated triangles and everything that's "invisible", but afaik it doesn't solve all Sketchup related problems.

Would increasing that number(0.01) fix more of the "invisible walls"?

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#34

Posted 26 April 2006 - 07:53 PM

Increasing that distance could run the risk of removing legitimate faces?

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#35

Posted 26 April 2006 - 11:21 PM

Probably. That's hardcoded atm, but I wanted to make it user-definable once I add an options dialog. But I doubt I'll update it anytime soon.

jani201
  • jani201

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2008
  • None

#36

Posted 29 October 2008 - 07:54 PM

when i open sa vehicles.col, it opens the airtrain.col only. how can i change linerun.col o new one and how can i find it? i tried the edit->find option but doesn't find it...

xmen
  • xmen

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005
  • None

#37

Posted 30 October 2008 - 01:52 AM

its not there, its in dff...

fincar
  • fincar

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Apr 2009

#38

Posted 01 April 2009 - 02:21 PM

Very useful tool! biggrin.gif

g4mGunner
  • g4mGunner

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2008

#39

Posted 01 April 2009 - 02:41 PM

yeah nice bump

_Rob_
  • _Rob_

    Game Dev, Graphics Artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • None

#40

Posted 01 April 2009 - 03:20 PM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Dec 29 2005, 14:32)

Yea. Click "Edit > Batch Conversion...", add all col files you want to convert, tick "Generate Lighting", "Material Conversion", and "Optimize" (not "Minimize Bounding Volumes"!); select "Col 3" as output version, press OK and in the lighting generator choose your lighting (I'd recommend simple non-directional lighting at ~30%).

what so does this mean it lights all the col's the same like pre lighting or am i way off the mark, and maybe even holding the wrong end of the stick smile.gif

MrAgentGuy
  • MrAgentGuy

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2009

#41

Posted 03 April 2010 - 12:11 AM

bump!

Will we see this for gta 4?

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004
  • None

#42

Posted 03 April 2010 - 12:22 AM

No, afaik Steve-m left the modding community, don't you think he would have posted some info here if he would be working on this for IV?

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#43

Posted 03 April 2010 - 02:15 AM

Sorry for being part of the big Bump but, there isnt a way to give a lil clean and brushing to this awsome tool, maybe the enough to stop it from creating invisible walls and well the most important to be able to import shadow mesh data into an already made col

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004
  • None

#44

Posted 03 April 2010 - 09:08 PM

QUOTE (vans123 @ Apr 3 2010, 02:15)
Sorry for being part of the big Bump but, there isnt a way to give a lil clean and brushing to this awsome tool, maybe the enough to stop it from creating invisible walls and well the most important to be able to import shadow mesh data into an already made col

the invisable walls are most of the times caused by the modeling proces itself not the tool that is making the colfiles for you, its also caused by the tools you are exporting the files with for making a colfile.

most of the times the model isnt optimized or stripped down enough which causes small faces (long small stretched ones) which can be experienced as walls in the game.

vans123
  • vans123

    Thompson 1928

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2008

#45

Posted 04 April 2010 - 02:14 AM

well at least me , the last wall i had was half year ago, but i was just saying and what about the shadow mesh thingy?

ThumbRehab
  • ThumbRehab

    Denied Access

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2008
  • None

#46

Posted 24 June 2012 - 07:20 AM

Knock knock, hey Steve M., if you're still active, I'm trying to export my vehicle mod for GTA SA from zmod2 but for it to not crash the game the collision mesh has to have an "external state" id number that is applied from the properties menu in zmod2 to the collision mesh, you wouldn't know what it or they are would you? It's been a while since my last mod and I've since forgotten.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users