Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|Tool] Collision File Editor II

45 replies to this topic
steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#1

Posted 28 December 2005 - 07:06 PM

So yea, here it is. Finally. wink.gif

http://ce2.steve-m.com/

QUOTE
Collision File Editor II, the successor of the popular CollEditor, is a tool for creating and editing collision files (*.col) for GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas.

Built completely from scratch, CollEditor II is much more reliable and flexible, and offers a lot more features than the old one. It fully supports all characteristics of all 3 known .col file formats, and offers several built-in optimization routines to achieve best possible results.


Features:
  • supports version 1, 2 and 3 collision files
  • easy mouse navigation
  • sub-object editing by mouse and type-in
  • several optimization routines
  • support for embedded vehicle collision models
  • drag'n'drop functionality
  • surface lighting generator
  • batch conversion feature
  • ... and many more
  • nick7 likes this

Kurropt Antagonist
  • Kurropt Antagonist

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2004

#2

Posted 28 December 2005 - 07:14 PM Edited by Kurropt Antagonist, 28 December 2005 - 07:17 PM.

About damn time...

I mean, thanks and great work. tounge.gif I have been looking forward to this for quite some time. You rock.

mickarrow
  • mickarrow

    ---

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#3

Posted 28 December 2005 - 09:41 PM

Yes biggrin.gif This is what we need. Thanks Steve...

NathanHenry
  • NathanHenry

    Homeboy

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2005

#4

Posted 29 December 2005 - 03:32 AM

Oh my god I have been waiting for this tool for a really long time.

So can this tool convert GTA3 and VC coll files to SA like convert one big coll file like industNE.col instead of converting one at a time in the industNE.col file?

ParoXum
  • ParoXum

    Proud PC Gamer

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005
  • None
  • Best Texture/Model 2013 "SRt3 2012 Mipmap Edition"

#5

Posted 29 December 2005 - 08:54 AM

Thanks a lot steve for that tool ! Your making the tool I waited for for more than 6 months...

And thanks for the batch converting option, cause more than 300 cols files to convert it's a bit... a lot ^^

cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

Knife
  • Knife

    Tits.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2004
  • None

#6

Posted 29 December 2005 - 10:41 AM

Cool. I was talking about this yesterday and how useful it would be to have a relase.

cookie.gif X lots for you icon14.gif

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#7

Posted 29 December 2005 - 02:32 PM

QUOTE (NathanHenry @ Dec 29 2005, 04:32)
So can this tool convert GTA3 and VC coll files to SA like convert one big coll file like industNE.col instead of converting one at a time in the industNE.col file?

Yea. Click "Edit > Batch Conversion...", add all col files you want to convert, tick "Generate Lighting", "Material Conversion", and "Optimize" (not "Minimize Bounding Volumes"!); select "Col 3" as output version, press OK and in the lighting generator choose your lighting (I'd recommend simple non-directional lighting at ~30%).

AleXXX
  • AleXXX

    (-:-)

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2004

#8

Posted 01 January 2006 - 10:47 AM

Fantastic tool, steve. smile.gif

Dillyracer
  • Dillyracer

    citizen of lost heaven

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2005

#9

Posted 01 January 2006 - 11:00 AM

Now only a lmit hacker, and it would be complete

Supdario
  • Supdario

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2005

#10

Posted 01 January 2006 - 02:46 PM

Cool, thanks cool.gif

You have also a fast server blush.gif

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#11

Posted 01 January 2006 - 05:31 PM

If I open a read-only file, the program opens the previous file loaded. Can you make it so it could turn off the read-only property automatically?

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#12

Posted 01 January 2006 - 06:35 PM

Shouldn't you just de-read-only-ize your whole game directory if you plan to edit files? But yea, will add support for that to the next release.

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#13

Posted 01 January 2006 - 09:04 PM

The man does it again inlove.gif

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#14

Posted 01 January 2006 - 09:42 PM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Jan 1 2006, 14:35)
Shouldn't you just de-read-only-ize your whole game directory if you plan to edit files?

What happens if I want to view it only? Sometimes I can accidentally change the file that was not meant to be changed. If I save it, the read-only file wouldn't be saved and the file would be safe.

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#15

Posted 02 January 2006 - 02:47 AM

QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Jan 1 2006, 22:42)
QUOTE (steve-m @ Jan 1 2006, 14:35)
Shouldn't you just de-read-only-ize your whole game directory if you plan to edit files?

What happens if I want to view it only? Sometimes I can accidentally change the file that was not meant to be changed. If I save it, the read-only file wouldn't be saved and the file would be safe.

Yea, but then it wouldn't help to turn off read-only automatically either... wink.gif

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#16

Posted 02 January 2006 - 04:50 PM

Oh yea, about that... Just make it viewable.

chickenplucker
  • chickenplucker

    Old school

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2002

#17

Posted 02 January 2006 - 06:00 PM

Sweet! What a way to start the new year off with biggrin.gif

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#18

Posted 04 January 2006 - 01:46 PM

wee, finally had a chance to do some serious damage with this now (added real shadows to half the procedural objects biggrin.gif )

i've come up with a few ideas that might be nice for future editions:
-ability to import mesh (JUST the mesh) into the collision mesh for cur obj
-ability to import mesh (JUST the mesh) into the shadow mesh for cur obj (right now you can only generate a shadow mesh from the COL mesh? i cant find any other way, within the program)
-Replace current col. please, please, please bring this back. in the aforementioned procedural objects that i added shadows too, i often had to re-export a new col file from max with the shadow mesh already in it, then replace the current col object in the file. but since there is no "Replace" feature, i had to add it, then delete the original. blah.
-Batch replace! select a bunch of files from a directory that will automatically replace col files of the same name in the current col.

Something i personally do, is since the COLL format now has several versions, i append the type to the name of individual col files. COLL files, are just .col, but i save my COL2 files as .col2 and my COL3 files, as .col3, so i know whats what in my folders, without having to open the files individually and check them. obviously since gta doesn't use this system, you dont have to support it, but if you did, it might be more conveneint for me, or anyone else using this system smile.gif
If nothing else, could you possibly add "All files (*.*)" to the File Open dialog?

Great work otherwise breadfish_by_Moto.gif

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#19

Posted 04 January 2006 - 01:53 PM Edited by Cerbera, 04 January 2006 - 01:55 PM.

Tonywob and I finally got my system running correctly after several hours of tinkering and testing. I'll give this a prod as soon as I can, although I have a couple of other things going on atm. smile.gif

(EDIT) You could use Collision Files (*.col*) as the normal dialogue filter.

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#20

Posted 04 January 2006 - 05:34 PM

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jan 4 2006, 14:46)
added real shadows to half the procedural objects biggrin.gif

Screenshots? tounge.gif

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jan 4 2006, 14:46)
-ability to import mesh (JUST the mesh) into the collision mesh for cur obj
-ability to import mesh (JUST the mesh) into the shadow mesh for cur obj (right now you can only generate a shadow mesh from the COL mesh? i cant find any other way, within the program)

Yea, right now you'd have to import the shadow mesh separately as col mesh, move it to shadow mesh, and then merge with the normal col mesh. I'll add mesh import/replace to the mesh sub-menus.

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jan 4 2006, 14:46)
but since there is no "Replace" feature, i had to add it, then delete the original. blah.

Too lazy to select and press the del button? But yea, I'll simply add a function that checks if an object with that name already exists and give a dialog where you can choose whether to replace, add or ignore. This would also serve as batch replace.

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jan 4 2006, 14:46)
Something i personally do, is since the COLL format now has several versions, i append the type to the name of individual col files. COLL files, are just .col, but i save my COL2 files as .col2 and my COL3 files, as .col3, so i know whats what in my folders, without having to open the files individually and check them.

Why?? You export your files for several game versions? Also, you can mix different versions within one file. If you can give me a convincing explanation I'll do it. tounge.gif
(Otherwise, just enter '*' in the open dialog and you'll see all files.)

JasonB
  • JasonB

    GTA-SA/GTA-VC/GTA3 Modder Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2002
  • None

#21

Posted 04 January 2006 - 11:12 PM

Oooh, awesomeness to the max. Much <3 for Steve.
He has done it again. biggrin.gif

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#22

Posted 07 January 2006 - 10:07 PM Edited by Cerbera, 08 January 2006 - 02:33 PM.

I've finally found time to give this a quick prod. The interface already feels quite mature and well thought out, but there are always things which can be improved. smile.gif

Some little things which could be improved:-
  1. Having to switch between "Edit Mode" and "View Mode" is very clumy, imho. Ideally, the input should allow the user to do either without switching modes.
  2. The current sidebar setup requires the window to be about 825 pixels tall in order to avoid scrolling. This means users with desktop sizes of 800 x 600 will never be able to see all the editing controls at once; they'll have to keep scrolling the container up and down while working.
  3. The editing controls in the sidebar feel extremely cramp; everything is very close together and is sizes so small its hard to click on.
  4. One item in each main menu is emboldened and acts as the "default" item, automatically accessed by double-clicking the menu title. This is highly unconventional, not helpful and causes the emboldened item to distract attention from the other items. It looks bad, too.
  5. Menu layout has unconventional positions for some standard items (especially in the "File" menu) and there is no clear logic to the menu items which are unique to this application.
  6. The menus generally have good accelerator keys (Alt+Key) but some of the shortcut keys conflict with conventional usage. For example, F4 is sometimes used for "Properties" or opening dropdown lists. Ctrl+F4 is used for closing documents in an MDI application (or tabs in a multi-tabbed Web browser). And so on.
  7. Many controls cannot be accessed using keyboard accelerator keys. This makes the interface slower to operate for advanced users as they have to move the mouse between controls instead of pressing the button combination.
  8. Many controls cannot be tabbed to with the keyboard. Keyboard tabbing can speed up user interactions when many related controls are placed near each other on a form (like in the sidebar).
  9. There isn't a "Find as you type" (FAYT) search box for long lists.
These are mostly minor niggles but addressing them will improve this already good application.

Probably the biggest change I'd suggest your make would be to the sidebar, so it became more user-friendly. I think using two sidebars plus a toolbar (or several optional toolbars) would work better, much like the GTA2 Map Editor has. The list of COLs would be on the left and would take up the full height, making it faster to locate and display objects. The detailed editing controls would be placed on the left, with common editing controls placed in a toolbar across the top.

Many of the special editing controls do not seem to be applicable to all available tabs. Controls should only be displayed in a tab if they can actually be used as part of that tab. By removing defunct controls from the tabs, you would have more space and so could lay out the controls in a friendlier manner. This benefit is magnified because they would be in a new, full-height sidebar--there would be fewer controls placed in a larger area. Additionally, the absence of controls which could not be used in that tab would reduce confusion of users (particularly beginners) who would wonder what they had to do to the file in order for those functions to become available.


(EDIT) Having said all of this, in general the interface is very good. Report windows inform the user of any potential problems during file processing. There are some fantastic usability features, such as Edit > Sort by IDE. I hope you decide to refine the interface further and make this even more awesome! tounge.gif

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#23

Posted 08 January 2006 - 09:23 AM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Jan 4 2006, 12:34)
QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jan 4 2006, 14:46)
added real shadows to half the procedural objects biggrin.gif

Screenshots? tounge.gif

http://www.sabrehost.../barrelhand.jpg
Objects dont always generate shadows, depends on the object and how far into the ground its..."submerged", since they dont generate 100& above the ground faces.

QUOTE
Too lazy to select and press the del button? But yea, I'll simply add a function that checks if an object with that name already exists and give a dialog where you can choose whether to replace, add or ignore. This would also serve as batch replace.

well it gets tedious when you have a considerable amount of objects. if you do the dialog, can you have a checkbox, to skip the check for the next objects? confirming 30-50+ objects is still...ugh.

QUOTE
Why?? You export your files for several game versions? Also, you can mix different versions within one file. If you can give me a convincing explanation I'll do it. tounge.gif
(Otherwise, just enter '*' in the open dialog and you'll see all files.)

that was my convincing explanation tounge.gif
its not a big deal, although Cerb's idea might be an even better one. (col*)

QUOTE
The list of COLs would be on the left and would take up the full height, making it faster to locate and display objects.

one more thing about the COl list, is the object sorting. Could you add a "Sort -> Alphabetical" option, so finding specific cols would be faster? i tried selecting an object on the list, typing the first few characters of the object name in the list (just for example, typing "a51", to find "a51_rocketlab") and it does nothing. Essentially its mousescroll, or use the arrow keys to find objects.

Gforce
  • Gforce

    "Segregate and Rearrange" "The Hills"

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#24

Posted 17 January 2006 - 05:48 PM

wow.gif i only just saw you finally let this loose to the general populous, this tool f***ing Rocks bigtime!! .......... thanks biggrin.gif

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • None

#25

Posted 17 January 2006 - 07:22 PM

QUOTE (DexX @ Jan 8 2006, 09:23)
QUOTE (Cerbera)
The list of COLs would be on the left and would take up the full height, making it faster to locate and display objects.
one more thing about the COl list, is the object sorting. Could you add a "Sort -> Alphabetical" option, so finding specific cols would be faster? i tried selecting an object on the list, typing the first few characters of the object name in the list (just for example, typing "a51", to find "a51_rocketlab") and it does nothing. Essentially its mousescroll, or use the arrow keys to find objects.
If a dual-sidebar layout was used, the extra vertical space for the COLs list would allow space for a "find as you type" (FAYT) box, a lot like the Bookmarks and History sidebars in Firefox have. The list would be emptied of all entries which did not contain the sequence of characters present in the box. When the string changes, all items are checked against the sequence any any which match are displayed. Any results produced would be sorted according to the current order (natural, alphabetcal or by the ordering in a supplied IDE file).

All entries in the list would be restored when the box is emptied, using the current sorting method set by the user. A "Reset" button would be an optional addition to automatically clear the FAYT box.

Drakos
  • Drakos

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005

#26

Posted 23 April 2006 - 09:05 PM Edited by Drakos, 23 April 2006 - 09:08 PM.

First of all i would like to say well done to steve for his great programs/tools.

i a question. i often use Sketchup to make my models, especially buildings. Now i use the CollMaker tool make the collision file for the object. In game, there are many invisible walls within the model they were not supposed to be.


Steve-m Reply to Deathsquad CollMaking tutorial:
QUOTE
Also, to get rid of Sketchup's invisible walls you'd have to use CE2's optimize function, which isn't done automatically when you're importing/opening an existing .col file (as in your tut).


This is the problem i have. Can you explain please how to fix this problem abd what to do with optimize function and so on??

MChanna03
  • MChanna03

    ---CarTel 4 LiFe---

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2006

#27

Posted 23 April 2006 - 09:20 PM

QUOTE
This is the problem i have. Can you explain please how to fix this problem abd what to do with optimize function and so on??


I've been having the same problem with the invisable walls...if you could explain the optimize function.. it would help me out a lot smile.gif

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#28

Posted 24 April 2006 - 05:38 PM

Well, these "invisible walls" are believed to be caused by degenerated triangles, but that has never been confirmed, and I don't use Sketchup myself. Degenerated triangles are those where 2 or 3 vertices are (almost) identical, thus making them effectively lines.

In the current release CE2's optimize function welds vertices within a distance of 0.01, removes triangles with identical vertices (also duplicated flipped ones), and removes isolated vertices. This gets rid of degenerated triangles and everything that's "invisible", but afaik it doesn't solve all Sketchup related problems.

To optimize collision objects, select them, right-click and "Optimize". Alternatively you can use the batch converter. All non-col files you import (i.e. cst and 3ds) get optimized automatically.

MChanna03
  • MChanna03

    ---CarTel 4 LiFe---

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2006

#29

Posted 24 April 2006 - 08:14 PM

cool good job on the program.. im goin to try it on my object that has invisable walls.. colgate.gif

Drakos
  • Drakos

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005

#30

Posted 25 April 2006 - 05:16 PM Edited by Drakos, 25 April 2006 - 05:34 PM.

still NOT working. wow.gif dontgetit.gif dontgetit.gif nervous.gif nervous.gif
I am very f*cking pissed off with these damn invisible walls, please stece is there any other solution?? confused.gif

1) I selected - right click - optimize - save - Run Game : still invisible walls
2) batch converter - optimize + Minimize Bounding Volumes ...... : STILL f*ckING INVISIBLE WALLS devil.gif devil.gif angry.gif devil.gif angry.gif devil.gif angry.gif devil.gif die.gif die.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users